Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 16
  • *Total: 17

Our Discord

Author Topic: Windows 7/10 updates  (Read 1486 times)

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,040
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Windows 7/10 updates
« on: January 16, 2018, 11:32:33 AM »
Updates are obviously a pain...
Our PC being used for sim purposes only what are the steps to be taken to totally inhibit updates in W7 and W10.
( I mean precise steps, being fairly illiterate on that matter   >:()

Pretty sure many would be interested..
Jack


Jack

Offline Ridgenj

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 299
  • 737NG Builder - x-plane
  • First Name: Luis
  • Home Location: New Jersey
Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2018, 11:34:45 AM »
+1 and probably what Win10 services need to be inhibit before running the Sim
« Last Edit: January 16, 2018, 11:35:11 AM by Ridgenj »

Offline KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 418
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2018, 12:16:13 PM »


I do not know the answer to this. You'll have to google.

This is why I advise that unless you need Win10 for hardware reasons....stick with 7.

Offline RayS

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2018, 12:23:15 PM »
I recently experienced this issue.

In WIN10, you will need to google "Set Network Card to 'metered'.

Windows 10 auto-forces downloads and updates with no real way to stop it from happening unless you set the Ethernet network card to "Metered".

Windows 10 won't auto-update your system if you are using a wireless NIC.

You'll have to dive into the registry to set the Ethernet connection to metered.

Here's perhaps a good tutorial....
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-set-ethernet-connection-metered-windows-10
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,040
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2018, 09:31:46 AM »
So if you use wifi to the W10 PC no updates ?
Can you confirm that

Jack


Jack

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 485
  • P3D/Win7-64/FDS/3 x Optoma GT1080Darbee
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2018, 09:38:55 AM »
Hi Jack,

Main thing is to turn off Windows Update service. See here:
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/turn-off-windows-update-in-windows-10

Nick

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,040
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2018, 01:05:14 PM »
Hi Nick

Did you do it like that and is it permanent ?

Jack


Jack

Offline iwik

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 359
  • GA Jockey
  • First Name: Les
  • Home Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2018, 02:47:52 PM »
Jack,
I dont think anything can be guaranteed with Microsoft. Still need to check periodically.
Les

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 485
  • P3D/Win7-64/FDS/3 x Optoma GT1080Darbee
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2018, 03:26:12 PM »
Hi Nick

Did you do it like that and is it permanent ?

Jack

Hi Jack,

Yes, I did that on my Win 10 computers and so far it holds, but yes, like people say, -  nothing is guaranteed with Microsoft Win 10  - they may have other ways to enable the service if they want.

In my sim I only have Windows 10 on instructor station and Capt/FO tablets, the rest is Windows 7.

Nick

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 188
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2018, 05:17:24 PM »
I've turned auto updates off on all my W10 PC's . but a message came up that I cannot disable Security Updates which continue to come. I don't know how to disable the Security Update part and they are probably as bad or worse than the regular updates?
Ed
FSX-SE,P3D4,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC 4 + 5,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline RayS

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2018, 07:32:17 PM »
I've had experience with security updates re-enabling firewall configs and resetting allowed programs/network traffic.

The more Microsoft tries to 'Play nice' the more I want to kick them off the playground.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline jfuenmayor

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 147
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Joaquin
  • Home Location: Miami
Re: Windows 7/10 updates
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2018, 03:47:11 PM »
Hi guys, long time away. I also recently went through the pain of "upgrades" to P3d4.1, ProSim-2.0 and one new machine with an AMD Ryzen Processor that absolutely refuses to install Win7, AMD states that the processor does not support Win7 or lower.The tool?, it will not recognize your USB ports for mouse and keyboard operation and the installation stalls. If you find a motherboard that accepts the processor with PS2 ports, then it may  work. But anyway, the subject is Win10 and updates etc. My solution has been very simple. I set up two networks, one running the machines with Win10, isolated from the internet and one machine running Win7 connected to the INET. This machines has two ethernet cards, one that talks to the router, in my case 192.168.0.1 and has a 192.168.0.--- address, and a second card configured with  192.168."2".--- that talks to the subnet. These computers had their Automatic Updates turned off and  IP addresses changed immediately after installation as well.  They do not have direct access to the Internet. Their subnet masks are 255.255.255.0 but no default gateway is given. Of course DNS servers are not necessary.

My 2 c.

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

What have you done for your simulator today?
by RayS
[Today at 07:03:58 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 04:53:54 PM]
Help in building a GTN 650/750 for Reality XP
by blueskydriver
[Today at 04:18:47 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 03:02:46 PM]
Display help with FSX
by N606DL
[Today at 12:37:57 PM]
B737 OEM Throttle Quadrant and more to come
by archen
[Today at 09:30:37 AM]
3D Printer Users with Glass Bed
by iwik
[January 21, 2019, 05:58:11 PM]
Prosim737 license for sale
by Captbrian
[January 20, 2019, 08:50:40 PM]
JetMax components for sale
by 737SimGuy
[January 20, 2019, 08:01:46 PM]
Cockpit Components
by awdoman
[January 18, 2019, 01:06:21 PM]
Aerosoft Australia Strikes Again!
by spencerc19
[January 18, 2019, 09:10:41 AM]
12v power supply for map light
by blueskydriver
[January 18, 2019, 07:49:31 AM]
Windscreen/windshield Wipers
by bernard S
[January 17, 2019, 10:50:36 PM]
B767 MIP
by jackpilot
[January 17, 2019, 08:41:47 PM]
Wrong hiegth above ground when landing and P3D set for Panel Only
by navymustang
[January 17, 2019, 08:30:23 AM]
STEERING AND YOKE 737 PROMO
by blueskydriver
[January 16, 2019, 06:07:16 PM]
YOU CAN HELP SHAPE FLIGHTSIMEXPO: 2020
by Trevor Hale
[January 16, 2019, 01:10:08 PM]
Streaming with Elgato tools.
by RayS
[January 15, 2019, 03:43:59 PM]
Complete 737-800 cockpit - moving sale
by navymustang
[January 14, 2019, 11:07:28 AM]
Wanted: B737 Linked Yoke,
by dvst8r
[January 14, 2019, 10:55:31 AM]
Replace display Flyengravity CDU
by flymo
[January 13, 2019, 01:10:55 PM]
It's been a while. a new picture of my baby!
by Trevor Hale
[January 13, 2019, 09:21:19 AM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by blueskydriver
[January 13, 2019, 08:25:21 AM]
Three Projector 210 degree with P3D4
by blueskydriver
[January 10, 2019, 04:12:26 AM]
Aircraft Registration Placard
by jackpilot
[January 07, 2019, 10:19:13 AM]
How do you manage power amperage for your sim
by kurt-olsson
[January 07, 2019, 10:12:23 AM]
Trim Wheels
by Joe Lavery
[January 07, 2019, 04:18:15 AM]
ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
by FredK
[January 06, 2019, 10:54:28 PM]
ACE 737 Pro Yoke stab trim switch issue help needed
by dornier
[January 06, 2019, 08:23:42 PM]
Help In wiring LED and Fan
by GyverX
[January 06, 2019, 03:54:28 PM]