Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 49
  • *Total: 50

Author Topic: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?  (Read 480 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« on: November 29, 2017, 11:45:02 PM »
Basically a question only for full size Simpits that use full 220 degrees x 3 Projectors.

I have just upgraded my computers to 6700k,s and GTX1070,s  so just would be interested in any comments from anyone that has changed over to V4.
Do not feel like changing, if at this stage there is no great benefit !

Looking forward to your replies....................Brian W.

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,324
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 06:27:12 AM »
Brian,

We just switched Sam to V4.  He is running an I9 With 32GB Ram and a 1880TI.  3 Projectors warped after joining them through Nvidia Surround.  Really decent settings Gives him 40-60 Frames at airports on the ground with weather and ORBX...  In the Air, about 140 Frames..  A very smooth flight though.

Still the occasional flicker during scenery load, on an m.200 SSD.

Trev
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 06:27:47 AM by Trevor Hale »
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 428
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • P3D / Win7-64 / FDS / 3 x Optoma GT1080
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2017, 10:16:38 AM »
I switched to P3Dv4.1 last month and not going back.
Running on single computer I7 4790K at 4.6Gh, 16GB RAM and 980ti and on 3 x Optoma 1080ST. Have at least 30 frames in most of airports (not in Brisbane - sorry, Brian  :P ). The picture is much more fluid than in P3Dv3.4.

AS4 + ASCA +Envshade and pretty aggressive graphic settings.
full ORBX (Global + Vector + Open LC)
GSX
Ultimate Traffic Live at 80%

Here is the first test video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niV3tleOpIQ

 :2cw:

Nick

Offline Aerosim Solutions

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Simulator part supplier
    • Aerosim Solutions
  • First Name: Gwyn Perrett
  • Home Location: Perth, Western Australia
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 05:21:47 PM »
It will be a very worthwhile leap Brian, I will be doing it early next year when Prosim2 is released. There will be at least a 20FPS increase, I have v4 on the house PC and it runs 60FPS on a basic video card. Pushing the default F35 jet to a thousand knots at ground level still returns 50FPS, it is silky smooth!
Cheers Gwyn
Boeing 737NG using Prepar3D v3.35, Prosim737, FDS SYS cards, FDS CDUs, CP Flight EL MCP & EFIS & Aerosim Solutions hardware of course!
Check out my website here -
http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2017, 05:55:31 PM »
Thanks to Trev, Nick and Gwyn for the updates. Seems, as I suspected that it has to be the way to go .
Hopefully most problems have been sorted out by now and as well, the add-ons are getting organised.

Great Video Nick, especially with one computer doing all the work.

Regards..............Brian W.

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,173
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2017, 08:50:00 PM »
I'm not switching to P3D until I'm back up and running...  then it will be straight to v4.  Like Gwyn, I'm waiting for the Prosim 2 release so I can just pile all the unknowns up together and beat my head against the wall once
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2017, 11:30:43 PM »
Luckily Jeehell software for the Airbus is up and running on V4.

I was just about to take the plunge when one of my 3 Optoma projectors decided to have an attack of the bends. So it is off to repairs and at this time of year, not sure how long that will take.

Xmas greetings all..................Brian W.

Offline Sam Llorca

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 665
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2017, 10:37:35 AM »
P3D V4 and happy so far!!

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 273
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2017, 11:36:43 AM »
P3D v4 here also on all three projector PCs and the host visual.

Very happy now that WideTraffic is fixed.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,181
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2017, 09:39:42 AM »
I am using it and I really see very little difference other than a lot of my add on software does not work.....  :)

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
by bernard S
[Today at 08:20:29 AM]
737 Document Holder
by GarethH
[Today at 06:52:16 AM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by B747-400
[Today at 06:21:29 AM]
Lian Li Purchase?
by ifeliciano
[Today at 01:17:30 AM]
WANTED: Real 737 Dual Linked Yokes
by bernard S
[December 14, 2017, 04:23:52 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[December 14, 2017, 03:40:28 PM]
Weather set problem
by Steph95
[December 14, 2017, 12:56:37 PM]
Shell MIP Move
by jackpilot
[December 14, 2017, 08:10:46 AM]
So this thing is on it's way....
by RayS
[December 13, 2017, 10:42:56 PM]
Older USB CPFlight MCP for sale
by jr2mey
[December 13, 2017, 08:35:25 AM]
RAL 7011 - Paint Options
by GarethH
[December 13, 2017, 08:20:51 AM]
Sismo IRS Panel - Anyone Have One?
by blueskydriver
[December 13, 2017, 08:01:17 AM]
737 control columns Capt & FO
by Joe Lavery
[December 13, 2017, 06:14:31 AM]
Gas strut newton for elevation
by Trevor Hale
[December 11, 2017, 05:11:30 PM]
MIP Dimmer Panels
by ifeliciano
[December 11, 2017, 01:51:13 PM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[December 11, 2017, 02:59:18 AM]
Got My Flightdeck Solutions Oxygen Panels...
by blueskydriver
[December 10, 2017, 12:35:54 AM]
737 Aft Overhead EEC Switches - Where do I get one?
by MistyBlue
[December 09, 2017, 01:53:43 PM]
P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
by Bob Reed
[December 09, 2017, 09:39:42 AM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by fsaviator
[December 09, 2017, 07:59:51 AM]
PFC Jetliner Column Yoke USB -SOLD-
by blueskydriver
[December 08, 2017, 06:46:26 PM]
Interfacing BENDIX/KING KMD-150 GPS and X-Plane
by RayS
[December 07, 2017, 07:56:39 PM]
CraigSim 737 update
by fsaviator
[December 07, 2017, 07:30:58 PM]
Question for those that have converted real TQs
by kurt-olsson
[December 07, 2017, 04:50:44 PM]
Jorge from NAVCOM
by Bob Reed
[December 07, 2017, 12:12:12 PM]
Cockpitbuilders roofing services llc
by Trevor Hale
[December 07, 2017, 10:39:29 AM]
Shopping at AliExpress or Alibaba - Your experiences
by Sam Llorca
[December 07, 2017, 10:35:12 AM]
PA34 Seneca Wings on VC
by jackpilot
[December 07, 2017, 07:54:51 AM]
Auto Brake Panel for 30 degree rotary switches
by Coco737
[December 06, 2017, 11:34:55 AM]
Flickering/ Jitters
by ifeliciano
[December 06, 2017, 11:21:51 AM]