Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 3
  • *Guests: 51
  • *Total: 54

FlightSimExpo 2018

Our Discord

GDPR - Important Notice


From the 26th of May, ALL USERS CONTINUING TO USE THIS WEBSITE - Agree to the amended "End User License Agreement"
This includes the European GDPR changes, whereby continuing to use this forum you agree to those amended terms as we have them stated.

If any user is unwilling to accept the AMENDED EULA with regard to the European GDPR Changes, He/She can email me directly and request their account be deleted.

Thank You, Trevor Hale

Author Topic: My 737 Desktop Cockpit  (Read 1693 times)

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« on: November 07, 2017, 12:04:31 PM »
After taking a few years off from flight simming, I've recently got back into the swing of things after P3D V4 came out.

A few years ago I was planning on doing a full-scale build but that idea got scratched (or hopefully just put on hold till kids move out :) ), so now I'm doing another "Desktop" build using custom made panels and such.

You can check out the blog here for the full history of the current and previous 'pits:  http://www.tronaviation.com

« Last Edit: November 07, 2017, 12:04:47 PM by Nolatron »

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2017, 12:06:40 PM »
My two custom fabricated panels arrived yesterday afternoon and they came out great.



My two main concerns were the opening for the FMC and the AFDS panel, but luckily they came out perfect and the items fit right in. I ordered these from Front Panel Express this time around. Order to delivery took 12 days and the panels came extremely well packaged as well.

With the panels in hand, I can now work on building up the MIP frame and a housing for what I’ll just call the CDU panel.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2017, 12:08:36 PM by Nolatron »

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,337
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2017, 12:44:40 PM »
Very cool and welcome back.

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2018, 08:59:35 PM »
Winter time has kept working in the garage to a minimum but we've been having some warmer weeks lately, letting me get some work on the cockpit hardware done.

I've managed to nearly finish the CDU Bay/Throttle Pedestal.  Only thing left if a couple wires that will need to be connected to the PCB board once it arrives.



With that pretty much done, I'll focus on getting my MIP display frames 3d printed from Shapeway and begin the MIP wiring.  Since I made the unit rather short on depth, figuring out a decent layout for the hardware should be fun.  Here's it's current state:




'til next time. :)

« Last Edit: February 04, 2018, 09:00:14 PM by Nolatron »

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 379
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2018, 09:24:07 AM »
This is a great way to enjoy flying the 737. And economical too !  :)

I flew with a desktop rig for 20 years before I finally bit the bullet. Will probably go back to it once I retire and move to a smaller place.

Looks great!
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2018, 11:41:52 AM »
This weekend I was able to get the final bits of wiring done on the Throttle Bay and began programming all the inputs.  As of last night I was able to get everything setup in FSUIPC in P3D V4 except for the FMC keys.  I'll need to use opencockpits SIOC for that, so that'll be this week's project.



Of course it wasn't until I was programming the toggle switches that I noticed I have the "off" and "on" labels for the logo and collision lights reversed.  Whoops.

I was hoping to make some progress on the MIP wiring but I ended up running out of wire, so that's on hold till my reorder of wire arrives this week.




So in the mean time I started working on a overhead panel project.  For this panel I was thinking rather than having all the text and such etched on the panel directly, I'd create a printed overlay with it all along with some colored panels.  This way the panel could just be made with the cutouts for indicators and switches, cutting it's cost by 50%.  It's an early look at the photoshop file for the overlay.

« Last Edit: February 19, 2018, 11:43:26 AM by Nolatron »

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2018, 11:46:04 AM »
This is a great way to enjoy flying the 737. And economical too !  :)

I flew with a desktop rig for 20 years before I finally bit the bullet. Will probably go back to it once I retire and move to a smaller place.

Looks great!

Thanks!

Offline Steenos

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Justin
  • Home Location: KCHA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2018, 12:34:39 AM »
Which Throttle Quadrant did you go with?

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2018, 08:02:28 AM »
I'm using a JetMax 737 Throttle Quadrant.  Managed to pickup one up off Ebay after JetMax stopped selling them as a standalone product.

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2018, 03:04:27 PM »
Time for a progress update :)

One of the things holding back MIP work- was the assembly of the COM and NAV panels.  I finally picked up some window tint for the displays and was able to get them assembled and installed.



In the middle of doing that I found the microcontroller on one of the Display Cards was bad. Luckily I had a PIC programmer already from my last cockpit project still, so I was able to purchase a replacement chip from DigiKey, copy the HEX code from the working chip and write to the new one.  Both Display cards are operational now! Yay!

With the radio panels installed I was able to get nearly all the wiring completed as well.  I decided to make a small PCB for making the connection from the Flaps LED board to my custom I/O board a little easier.  So once that board arrives that I think will round out the wiring for switches and indicators.

Here's a look at the back side so far. Not as "clean" as I'd like as you sometimes just gotta roll with those "gotchas" :) Also got a close-up shot of a I/O PCB I made as a cheaper and smaller alternative to the OpenCockpits Input/Outboard puts.  One side is for Inputs, the other for outputs and you can put female headers on and plug directly into a MasterCard or male headers and connect with a ribbon cable.  So far they seem to be working well.



My 3D Printed display bezels also arrived on Saturday from Shapeways and they turned out pretty good. Just need to paint them boeing gray now.



And just a look at the front side of the MIP while testing indicators.



I'm waiting on a order of ribbon cable now to finish up the connections to the OpenCockpits Mastercard, then it'll be time to move it over to the office desk and start programming things.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2018, 10:20:22 PM by Nolatron »

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,337
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2018, 10:29:53 PM »
This looks great! Very nice job.

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2018, 11:17:39 AM »
A look at the Main Instrument Panel fully lit up.  Once my Flaps PCB adaptor board arrives and gets installed, all that’s left is the installation of the Display frames.  Those I began painting on Sunday.



The Opencockpits MCP v3 model came backlit already (though not sure if you can actually turn off backlighting yet). The EFIS and radio panels won’t be backlit for a variety of reasons.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2018, 11:20:35 AM by Nolatron »

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2018, 03:56:47 PM »
Testing out the SIOC code for the LED Flaps Gauge.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGFqDC8slkE

I tried having the indicators blink while the flaps are cycling through to give an indication of movement, but the blink came out like a bad flickering led, so I took it out for now.

Hmm.  Maybe a dual color setup on a new PCB. One color for transition and then green when achieved. I'll have to test that out.

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #13 on: May 08, 2018, 01:50:55 PM »
Here's a look at the MIP installed on the desk while doing some test flying to check out switches and what:



With MIP just about done, it's time to move on to the next project, the overhead.  I've got a long post here about picking an overhead and what not:  http://www.tronaviation.com/2018-05-04/picking-an-overhead-panel/

But to sum up, I purchased an overhead panel set, gauge set and indicator set from PCFlights.

Once I received my PCFlights package I didn’t waste much time to get everything out the box to check it out. I was pretty anxious/nervous about seeing everything, hoping everything turned ok, but in the end I’m very pleased with my purchase.

I filmed the whole unboxing of everything. It’s not the most exciting video but I did it to A) show yall how everything came packaged and what not, and B) in case something came damaged I’d have it on video showing it came out the box that way.  I have that video embedded below.

Here’s a look at each set of items:
 

My first impression: Great looking hardware.

All of the panels look and feel great. Everything was nice and sharp and well packaged. I did notice a few of larger black plates they had a slight curve to them, but I think once they are screwed down to the frame that shouldn’t be an issue. The gauges are well built using thick acrylic plates and brass standoffs for the housing, and are backlightable.  The biggest surprise was the indicators.  I wasn’t sure how they were going to arrive, but I was happy to see the all came preassembled, even with resistors on the PCBs (I didn’t think they would). They even color coded every indicator on the pin connector. They light up great too.



After I got everything unboxed, I took photos of each panel and gauge, along some a few closeups of the indicators.
You can view all of those here:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/129462228@N06/albums/72157696396483805

And here’s the unboxing video of everything.  I’ll warn ya now, it’s kinda long and boring with not so great audio, lol

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7zZMDUnLQg
« Last Edit: May 08, 2018, 01:55:50 PM by Nolatron »

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #14 on: May 08, 2018, 01:53:17 PM »
My COM and NAV radio panels currently use a Single Rotary encoder instead of a Dual Rotary Encoder, so I had to modify the OC4BAv4 script to make this work.  I was able to set it up so pushing the encoder’s pushbutton toggles between changing the whole number and the decimal point.

Here’s the changes I made for COM1 and NAV1 radio panels.  You’ll need to adjust the Device and Input numbers for your hardware, and possibly the rotation value, adding a negative (-) or not, also depending on your hardware setup.

Find this block of code for the COM1 panel:

Var 0502, name ROT_COM1_SW, Link IOCARD_ENCODER, Device 31, Input 57, Aceleration 1, Type 2
{
L0 = &ROT_COM1_SW * 1 // change turning direction
&ST_COM1High = ROTATE 18 ,36 ,L0
CALL &Com1ToNGX
}

Var 0503, name ROT_COM1_SF, Link IOCARD_ENCODER, Device 8, Input 4, Aceleration 1, Type 2
{
L0 = &ROT_COM1_SF * 25 // instead of acceleration that doesn't wor
&ST_COM1Low = ROTATE 0 ,999 ,L0
CALL &Com1ToNGX
}

and replace with the following

Var 8600, name COM_SWITCH, Link IOCARD_SW, Device 31, Input 62 Type P // in the shaft

Var 8601, name ROT_COM1_SW, Link IOCARD_ENCODER, Device 31, Input 57, Aceleration 1, Type 2
{
L0 = v8601 // * -1 make sure turning right increments
IF v8600 = 0
{
L0 = &ROT_COM1_SW * 1 // change turning direction
&ST_COM1High = ROTATE 18 ,36 ,L0
CALL &Com1ToNGX
}
ELSE
{
L0 = &ROT_COM1_SW * 25 // instead of acceleration that doesn't wor
&ST_COM1Low = ROTATE 0 ,999 ,L0
CALL &Com1ToNGX
}
}

======

Find this block of code for the NAV1 panel:

Var 0524, name ROT_NAV1_SW, Link IOCARD_ENCODER, Device 31, Input 55, Aceleration 1, Type 2
{
L0 = &ROT_NAV1_SW * -1 // change turning direction
&ST_NAV1High = ROTATE 8 ,17 ,L0
CALL &Nav1ToNGX
}

Var 0525, name ROT_NAV1_SF, Link IOCARD_ENCODER, Device 9, Input 4, Aceleration 1, Type 2
{
L0 = &ROT_NAV1_SF * -5 // instead of acceleration that doesn't wor
&ST_NAV1Low = ROTATE 0 ,99 ,L0
CALL &Nav1ToNGX
}

and replace with the following

Var 8602, name NAV_SWITCH, Link IOCARD_SW, Device 31, Input 61 Type P // in the shaft

Var 8603, name ROT_NAV1_SW, Link IOCARD_ENCODER, Device 31, Input 55, Aceleration 1, Type 2
{
L0 = v8603 // * -1 make sure turning right increments
IF v8602 = 0
{
L0 = &ROT_NAV1_SW * -1 // change turning direction
&ST_NAV1High = ROTATE 8 ,17 ,L0
CALL &Nav1ToNGX
}
ELSE
{
L0 = &ROT_NAV1_SW * -5 // instead of acceleration that doesn't wor
&ST_NAV1Low = ROTATE 0 ,99 ,L0
CALL &Nav1ToNGX
}
}

Here’s a video of the panels in action:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jpovN2mLImQ

Offline Nolatron

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Tron Aviation
  • First Name: Shaun
  • Home Location: New Orleans, LA
Re: My 737 Desktop Cockpit
« Reply #15 on: May 08, 2018, 02:02:15 PM »
This weekend I also started working on the overhead frame.  I’m using 1/2? x  3.5? wood for the exterior pieces and currently planning on using 1? x 2? (.75? x 1.5? actual) wood for interior beams.  For securing everything together, my plan is using some pocket screws on the interior pieces with wood glue.

Here’s a look at the frame and the beveled pieces I made for the bottom angles.  Hoping these all work ok for getting the needed angles made.


Then just test fitting the panels in place to see how everything fits.


 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

What have you done for your simulator today?
by jackpilot
[Today at 10:17:49 AM]
SOLD! Two Cockpits For Sale
by blueskydriver
[June 19, 2018, 05:51:06 PM]
For Sale-Real B727/B737 Wall and Ceiling Panels with a set of Eye Brows...
by blueskydriver
[June 19, 2018, 05:49:37 PM]
SITE BACK
by Trevor Hale
[June 19, 2018, 03:07:27 PM]
Monitor setup - mixing screen sizes
by mdavenport
[June 17, 2018, 06:35:10 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[June 17, 2018, 05:23:06 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[June 17, 2018, 03:15:49 PM]
FlightSim Expo - Las Vegas
by jr2mey
[June 17, 2018, 10:30:03 AM]
Bought a FSC.IT Throttle on ebay (Question)
by FredK
[June 17, 2018, 09:11:41 AM]
737 yoke with elbow
by pierclav
[June 15, 2018, 08:39:05 PM]
Securing Overhead Indicators
by jackpilot
[June 15, 2018, 06:00:29 PM]
737 Circuit Breaker panel lights
by B737NG
[June 14, 2018, 06:28:06 PM]
Just Cockpit Shell For Sale! (no inside items)...
by blueskydriver
[June 14, 2018, 02:51:04 AM]
Simparts 737 Throttle build thread
by blueskydriver
[June 13, 2018, 09:10:17 PM]
How did you mount the forward overhead frame?
by kurt-olsson
[June 13, 2018, 02:41:07 PM]
Citation Mustang Builder
by Jmg225
[June 13, 2018, 07:18:43 AM]
Interfacing Phidgets Boards with X-Plane 11
by kenrosefire
[June 12, 2018, 10:20:18 PM]
Full synoptics on the SimAvionics 737
by jackpilot
[June 12, 2018, 04:54:46 PM]
PHIDGET 64 LED PROGRAMMING FOR XPLANE 11 ZIBO 737
by Tinobfc
[June 11, 2018, 03:58:29 PM]
Cockpitforyou, Opencockpits no support from both
by FredK
[June 11, 2018, 03:40:37 PM]
B737-800 Flight Sim for sale $85,000.00
by Lee737
[June 11, 2018, 07:59:42 AM]
Lohrenz Hanger
by jmlohrenz
[June 10, 2018, 11:43:55 PM]
Video Recording
by jmlohrenz
[June 10, 2018, 10:59:49 PM]
Any way to make a keyboard key pause an external device?
by mgovernali
[June 10, 2018, 03:23:18 PM]
Aircraft config and question
by Patt737
[June 09, 2018, 05:37:42 PM]
Pokeys 55 Interfaces SOLD
by iwik
[June 09, 2018, 03:47:44 PM]
Prepare3d
by iwik
[June 09, 2018, 03:44:39 PM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[June 09, 2018, 12:52:32 PM]
For Sale-Real Cockpit Gauges...
by blueskydriver
[June 09, 2018, 12:45:03 PM]
SOLD! Cockpit Seats for Sale NEW LOW PRICE NOW $500 for set!
by blueskydriver
[June 09, 2018, 12:43:28 PM]