Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 48
  • *Total: 50

Our Discord

Author Topic: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?  (Read 1124 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« on: November 29, 2017, 11:45:02 PM »
Basically a question only for full size Simpits that use full 220 degrees x 3 Projectors.

I have just upgraded my computers to 6700k,s and GTX1070,s  so just would be interested in any comments from anyone that has changed over to V4.
Do not feel like changing, if at this stage there is no great benefit !

Looking forward to your replies....................Brian W.

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,545
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 06:27:12 AM »
Brian,

We just switched Sam to V4.  He is running an I9 With 32GB Ram and a 1880TI.  3 Projectors warped after joining them through Nvidia Surround.  Really decent settings Gives him 40-60 Frames at airports on the ground with weather and ORBX...  In the Air, about 140 Frames..  A very smooth flight though.

Still the occasional flicker during scenery load, on an m.200 SSD.

Trev
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 06:27:47 AM by Trevor Hale »
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-1
  • P3D / Win7-64 / FDS / 3 x Optoma GT1080
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2017, 10:16:38 AM »
I switched to P3Dv4.1 last month and not going back.
Running on single computer I7 4790K at 4.6Gh, 16GB RAM and 980ti and on 3 x Optoma 1080ST. Have at least 30 frames in most of airports (not in Brisbane - sorry, Brian  :P ). The picture is much more fluid than in P3Dv3.4.

AS4 + ASCA +Envshade and pretty aggressive graphic settings.
full ORBX (Global + Vector + Open LC)
GSX
Ultimate Traffic Live at 80%

Here is the first test video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niV3tleOpIQ

 :2cw:

Nick

Offline Aerosim Solutions

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 690
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Simulator part supplier
    • Aerosim Solutions
  • First Name: Gwyn Perrett
  • Home Location: Perth, Western Australia
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 05:21:47 PM »
It will be a very worthwhile leap Brian, I will be doing it early next year when Prosim2 is released. There will be at least a 20FPS increase, I have v4 on the house PC and it runs 60FPS on a basic video card. Pushing the default F35 jet to a thousand knots at ground level still returns 50FPS, it is silky smooth!
Cheers Gwyn
Boeing 737NG using Prepar3D v3.35, Prosim737, FDS SYS cards, FDS CDUs, CP Flight EL MCP & EFIS & Aerosim Solutions hardware of course!
Check out my website here -
http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2017, 05:55:31 PM »
Thanks to Trev, Nick and Gwyn for the updates. Seems, as I suspected that it has to be the way to go .
Hopefully most problems have been sorted out by now and as well, the add-ons are getting organised.

Great Video Nick, especially with one computer doing all the work.

Regards..............Brian W.

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,262
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2017, 08:50:00 PM »
I'm not switching to P3D until I'm back up and running...  then it will be straight to v4.  Like Gwyn, I'm waiting for the Prosim 2 release so I can just pile all the unknowns up together and beat my head against the wall once
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2017, 11:30:43 PM »
Luckily Jeehell software for the Airbus is up and running on V4.

I was just about to take the plunge when one of my 3 Optoma projectors decided to have an attack of the bends. So it is off to repairs and at this time of year, not sure how long that will take.

Xmas greetings all..................Brian W.

Offline Sam Llorca

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 708
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2017, 10:37:35 AM »
P3D V4 and happy so far!!

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 389
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2017, 11:36:43 AM »
P3D v4 here also on all three projector PCs and the host visual.

Very happy now that WideTraffic is fixed.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,345
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2017, 09:39:42 AM »
I am using it and I really see very little difference other than a lot of my add on software does not work.....  :)

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Remotely starting programs
by navymustang
[Today at 04:07:34 PM]
The eagle has landed
by Caflyt
[Today at 11:04:10 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 07:53:21 AM]
trouble with monitor! Keystone?
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 04:34:29 AM]
Rudder stops at 60 knots XP11 - Need Help Fixing
by Joe Lavery
[Today at 01:53:12 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by RayS
[July 20, 2018, 09:57:41 PM]
X-Plane 737-800 Build
by FredK
[July 20, 2018, 06:43:02 PM]
J-Rail Project for my 737 Sim
by FredK
[July 20, 2018, 06:29:44 PM]
ACE - Officially buyer beware
by Bob Reed
[July 20, 2018, 10:55:52 AM]
How to turn all MIP LCDs on at once?
by jackpilot
[July 20, 2018, 08:06:44 AM]
URGENT-HELP NEEDED FROM FELLOW HELI-SIMMERS
by mgovernali
[July 19, 2018, 02:49:54 PM]
Bought a FSC.IT Throttle on ebay (Question)
by ifeliciano
[July 18, 2018, 03:50:17 PM]
Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
by jr2mey
[July 17, 2018, 07:24:07 PM]
SOLD!! Real Aircraft Cannon Plugs
by bernard S
[July 16, 2018, 11:14:56 AM]
FlightControlReplay v4 OUT NOW (with also Re-Live and Video Render features!)
by karijno
[July 16, 2018, 08:00:12 AM]
Software Interface
by Bob Reed
[July 15, 2018, 07:42:31 AM]
Looking for this!!
by Caflyt
[July 14, 2018, 10:35:37 AM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[July 14, 2018, 06:32:03 AM]
737NG Simulator DOWN!
by jmlohrenz
[July 13, 2018, 01:48:28 PM]
Two new 19" for my PDF and ND. Check before buy
by kurt-olsson
[July 11, 2018, 12:59:26 PM]
Aerosoft MCP
by jackpilot
[July 09, 2018, 02:26:51 PM]
P3D WideView vs P3D SimConnect cleint/server configuration
by FredK
[July 09, 2018, 10:22:58 AM]
Post Your Pit!!!! 1000 Member Show and Tell
by Trevor Hale
[July 09, 2018, 09:40:59 AM]
3D printers
by Bob Reed
[July 08, 2018, 05:54:51 PM]
Boeing 737 OEM 4xAFDS, 3x CDU and 1 HUD with combiner and others
by fly_ebos
[July 08, 2018, 07:27:28 AM]
Wanted: ATC and ADF pedestal modules
by jmlohrenz
[July 06, 2018, 09:37:54 PM]
Trying to Source Garmin 430 Parts...
by RayS
[July 06, 2018, 08:24:39 PM]
737 parts for sale!
by Ed
[July 06, 2018, 07:29:31 AM]
737 Max
by sacrayton
[July 05, 2018, 04:04:14 PM]
P3D4.3 viewgroups
by Bob Reed
[July 05, 2018, 12:48:42 PM]