Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 46
  • *Total: 47

FlightSimExpo 2018

Author Topic: Sismo modules shut down with P3D 4.1 and WideTraffic/WideView 64  (Read 444 times)

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 298
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Sismo modules shut down with P3D 4.1 and WideTraffic/WideView 64
« on: December 17, 2017, 03:38:00 PM »
I have an odd problem. My host computer has both v3 and v4.1 of P3D. It also runs Prosim and all five scripts for the Sismo modules (MIP, Ped, MCP and both overheads).
With V3n of P3D, everything runs fine. When I run P3d v4.1, as soon as I turn on WideView and WideTraffic, one or more of the Sismo modules shuts down, as in the Ethernet interface quits responding (can't ping).

Again - the sim runs just fine as long as I don't turn on the Wide stuff. And again - works great with the 32 bit version on P3D v3.

This could be just a coincidence or not - just can't figure this one out. Anyone else having network interface issues with Sismo equipment on the WideTraffic/WideView 64 bit versions?
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline ifeliciano

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Ivan
  • Home Location: Arlington, Texas
Re: Sismo modules shut down with P3D 4.1 and WideTraffic/WideView 64
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2017, 04:11:08 PM »
Disregard...
« Last Edit: December 17, 2017, 04:11:45 PM by ifeliciano »

Offline FredK

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 394
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Sismo modules shut down with P3D 4.1 and WideTraffic/WideView 64
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2017, 06:14:54 PM »
Jim

Did this happen on your first attempt using WV with P3Dv4?  Or did it suddenly just stop working?

Could be a hardware problem of course.  Pop in a separate network card on the mobo to see if it makes a difference is all I can suggest.  They are not that expensive.

Fred K
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v3.35, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GT projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 298
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Sismo modules shut down with P3D 4.1 and WideTraffic/WideView 64
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2017, 10:32:06 AM »
What is a mobo?  :) 

As I mentioned in the post - all networking seems perfect, I can ping all 4 other computers on the network when this is happening. Just cant ping random failures on one or more of the Sismo modules. In fact, the handshake signal light on the Sismo MIP board quits blinking, indicating the network interface has stopped. Can't see the network cards on any of the other modules without dismantling the sim. And as mentioned in my post - P3D v3 works fine on my network.

Replaced the 16 port network switch with no effect on the issue. Sismo says they don;t have a copy of WideView running to test with so I'm apparently on my own to resolve this one.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,429
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Sismo modules shut down with P3D 4.1 and WideTraffic/WideView 64
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2017, 11:04:52 AM »
Hi Jim,

Do you by chance have any anti-virus (AV) programs or windows defender (WF) running on the host PC? Just a thought here, but maybe with P3V4 install there is a new file(s) that gets blocked via AV or WD when using WideView (WV); try shutting down AV and WD before running WV.

I don't have any Sismo products, but what are the scripts used for? Could those be the problem and they need editing for P3DV4? Or, can it be the P3V4 program folder location? If you are using Windows 64bit, the 64bit programs folder location is not the same as for those of the 32bit. Look where your P3DV3 is located, that is or will be tied to the 32bit programs folder somehow, whereas the V4 will be in or tied to the 64bit programs folder. Thus, maybe WV or Sismo is not looking in the right place.

Oh, MOBO is the acronym for PC Motherboard and Fred was suggesting that you try a separate network interface card and port in a PCI slot of the host computer over using the one that is a part of the motherboard...

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 298
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Sismo modules shut down with P3D 4.1 and WideTraffic/WideView 64
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2017, 01:43:12 PM »
John,
In the current version of Prosim, the Sismo Pascal scripts are the softrware that talks with the embedded computers in the Sismo modules to Prosim and to some extend P3D.

The Sismo gear works perfect with P3D v4.1 as long as I don't run WideTraffic / WideView - so it's not a Sismo and P3D problem.

And since the network is still working perfectly on everything other than Sismo modules, it's not a Switch or interface card problem.

I'll re-visit the firewall anti-virus aspect and make sure I eliminate that as a cause.
Thanks
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,429
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Sismo modules shut down with P3D 4.1 and WideTraffic/WideView 64
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2017, 03:27:04 PM »
Hi Jim,

Okay, I understand now. I am thinking more on the firewall/antivirus side; although, since WV uses IPX/TCP IP and Sismo also uses the same, may I suggest you look at WideView settings in that regard, along with the Sismo settings. Then compare your WV 32bit vs WV 64bit version settings, side by side...

If it works on P3Dv4.1, but when WV is started it causes the problem, it sounds more like protocol conflicts or the network port values may be within the same ranges. Still, it could be a file or two in the WV 64bit that the AV is stopping or it's not getting through correctly.

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 298
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Sismo modules shut down with P3D 4.1 and WideTraffic/WideView 64
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2017, 05:46:29 PM »
OK - further testing tonight proves that the bad actor is WideTraffic 64 only, not WideView 64.

Using a ping test tool I was able to confirm that the Sismo network interface was slowing down immediately after starting WideTraffic (ran fine with WideView).
Ping results went from 2 ms average on each of the five modules to over 11 ms. Then within 15 seconds of WideTraffic 64 running, 4 of the 5 Sismo modules shut down. And I mean shut down as in the NIC interface handshake signal dropped and no ping results were available.

I've heavily documents my testing results and sent it to Sismo. I will also reach out to the author of WideTraffic.

It will be interesting to see if Prosim v2.0, which eliminates the need for the Sismo scripting software, will solve this - but I don't think it will.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

SimWorld Simbox disconnecting from Windows 10
by Caflyt
[Today at 08:16:40 AM]
searched: connector Boeing stickshaker
by Aerosim Solutions
[January 21, 2018, 05:20:04 PM]
Immersive Calibration Pro V2 in P3D v4 ?
by navymustang
[January 21, 2018, 02:25:05 PM]
Scott (and Rob's...) Chicago 737-300 Build
by Ed
[January 21, 2018, 07:48:33 AM]
Beechcraft Speaker Grills
by Joe Lavery
[January 21, 2018, 01:09:38 AM]
Going Live!
by Bob Reed
[January 20, 2018, 11:23:56 PM]
Jetmax 737 for sale !
by alexbaudi
[January 19, 2018, 10:09:07 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by Trevor Hale
[January 19, 2018, 10:02:25 AM]
Windows 7/10 updates
by RayS
[January 18, 2018, 07:32:17 PM]
Tons of 737 OEM stuff for Sale
by XOrionFE
[January 17, 2018, 12:22:29 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by jackpilot
[January 16, 2018, 07:27:12 PM]
Jeehell: The AP does not follow the lateral guidance from the FD
by emulov
[January 16, 2018, 02:58:37 PM]
Real Harrier sim, voice comms help needed
by RayS
[January 15, 2018, 07:36:17 PM]
My Generic GA Build
by fsaviator
[January 15, 2018, 12:22:39 PM]
Flight Control Pot bleedover
by brianwilliamson
[January 15, 2018, 12:48:59 AM]
SOLD, for sale: OEM cables + connectors from FWD OVHD 737 classic
by jameas
[January 14, 2018, 03:28:59 PM]
Cockpits for Sale...mine?
by blueskydriver
[January 14, 2018, 07:28:29 AM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Caflyt
[January 12, 2018, 05:17:32 AM]
Projector issue advice
by fsaviator
[January 09, 2018, 11:36:18 PM]
CPFlight MIP board
by fsaviator
[January 09, 2018, 11:33:17 PM]
PFC Yokes and Pedals, B727, and B737 Cockpits For Sale
by jackpilot
[January 09, 2018, 08:30:14 PM]
Weather set problem
by BABA767
[January 09, 2018, 05:46:56 PM]
737-800 aluminium MIP backplate
by kurt-olsson
[January 09, 2018, 02:30:31 PM]
Sismo equipment suite with WideTraffic - failed Ethernet interafaces
by FredK
[January 09, 2018, 11:14:49 AM]
I want your feedback!
by archen
[January 08, 2018, 02:22:52 PM]
B767 MIP
by 737NGer
[January 07, 2018, 09:54:02 AM]
Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
by DaveA320
[January 06, 2018, 09:56:08 PM]
Boeing 737-800 MIP announciators
by 737NGer
[January 06, 2018, 10:56:11 AM]
German B738NG Homecockpit-Projekt
by MjTom
[January 06, 2018, 09:05:26 AM]
737 toe brake force
by Gallie
[January 05, 2018, 11:00:52 AM]