Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 20
  • *Total: 21

Author Topic: XPlane and Avionics softwares.  (Read 384 times)

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,631
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« on: July 25, 2017, 10:00:14 AM »
Starting a new topic on compatibility with Prosim, PM, Simavionics etc
Go Guys ;)


Jack

Offline Fcoq

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Franck
  • Home Location: Eure et loir, France
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2017, 10:09:47 AM »
Thanks for the idea Jack!
I was really interested to know the compatibility for interfacing an A320 with xplane.......

Offline booky

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Stephan
  • Home Location: Munich
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2017, 03:35:24 PM »
Still setting up ProSim and XP and looking for help. First repsonse in FB home cockpit builder group was a clever one:
ProSim doesn´t support X-Plane.

Displays are working, MCP and EFIS dials/buttons not. Well, the Course dial works: XP follows ProSim. Don´t quite understand yet where the logic is when there is no PS flight model installed...should be XP acf. , no?

UPDATE:
Doesn´t work. MCP functions don´t work together. Test ended.
Feedback in other forums: doesn´t work.
sad.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2017, 04:57:15 PM by booky »

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,605
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2017, 08:04:47 PM »
Booky,

Many in these forums and others have already tried many times.   It is a dead subject.  Prosim is not going to support X-Plane and as you have found out after trying in vane and wasting your time it doesnt work.  That "clever" response as you put it in another forum was probably someone just trying to help you from wasting your time.

There is a lot of combined experience here.  Not saying you should trust everything you read or any one person but if you domyour research and use the search functions you will find a wealth of information including the fact above.


Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,605
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2017, 08:27:58 PM »
The best chance of a full 737 suite working in X-plane would be using Sim-Avionics, xpuipc, and the x737 with its plug in disabled so it doesnt interfere with Sim-Avionics.   Basically you would just be using the x737 flight model.   There are a number of tweaks that have to be done (last time I tested) in planemaker to the engines but it did work.   Other than that, if you want an NG the second best may be to use the Zibo modded version along with arduino (I would recommend Teensy from PRJC) as they have some flight sim specific libraries.   The main issue with this setup is that there are I believ no undockable DU, ND or EICAS displays.   Also no CDU support with current manufactures (possibly...but I havent heard of any).

In short, if you want to do an NG...save yourself the headaches and do the tried and tested Prepared/FSX with Prosim or Sim-A.    X-plane right now will be an uphill battle.

If however you want to do a 727,737-200, or 737-300 then use the FlyjSim 727 and 732 or use the IXEG 733.   They have all the datarefs one needs to interface with arduino.  You just need to get OEM panels or somehow make them.

Probably much easier on the build it yourself side would be X-Plane using GA type planes or a KingAir like Ray did using panels from Ruscool.   Plenty of options and X-Plane ia a fantastic builders platform.

My experience and a little .02 for what its worth.  If I am incorrect on any of the above and someone has new information feel free to correct me and share.

Scott
« Last Edit: July 25, 2017, 08:30:09 PM by XOrionFE »

Offline booky

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Stephan
  • Home Location: Munich
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2017, 09:56:54 AM »
Hi Scott,

thanks so much for your reply. It helps me to discuss this complex topic and I´m feeling less alone. Why alone?

Well - I´m on X-Plane/Mac for some 15 years I guess. My first Sim was MS FS4 on a Mac IIci. So I wanted finally build a proper IMMERSIVE cockpit, an Embraer 195. E195 because "everybody" does a 737 ;-) And why not on the Mac - it runs and I have much less issues with drivers, viruses, hick-ups and can just fly ...(build a top PC some weeks ago and form that day on I was only building tiles and installing stuff and stopped flying).

And real / immersive can mean something very different to people: For one pilot it´s 110% exact systems and buttons. For me it´s great visuals and possibly a motion platform. Do I care for passenger noise or romatic P3D clouds or perfect IRS alignment process? Couldn´t care less. And then I flew the "flycravelle.com" the other day - based on XP10. Man, what a great Sim, take a look.

The first board i used with XP was Teensy, then Arduinos. I bought some OC boards. I like Arduino but I´m open for other PnP solutions.
I trashed the Embraer plan because no hardware is available. For 320 and 737 there is.
I don´t do a GA because I´m a pilot since 2015 for small aircrafts so I can fly them in real world myself, so I want a Jet for my Sim.

So 737. And you come to the point where time is more valuable than some Euros. So I wanted to use a real good MCP, and possibly almost "ready to use" panels. Oh, wait - none of that stuff works with X-Plane, despite it´s such a wonderful Sim?!
ProSim? P3D? Installed P3D yesterday. Well. Wasn´t 64 bit until recently? really?

A year ago I started talking to most of the hardware suppliers, asking for XP support, as well as to Laminar.
And they seem to have enough business on ProSim, and say ProSim should support X-Plane. They won´t.

So, X737 & CPFlight might be part of the build, as might be Sim Avionics as XHSI is porbably a notch too low.
Too bad I can then not benefit from the latest developments such as Zibo - agree with you here.
The rest is "easy" - interfacing Overhead with ArdSim and PnP pedestral panels should be straight forward.

Yoke, TQ is ordered. Seats are there. So let´s go for the uphill battle. I flew the Baron this morning in P3D as there seemed to be no stock 737. I was not impressed 🙄 So now you guys a bit more.

Stephan






Offline kurt-olsson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2017, 03:35:04 AM »
I will use teensy and go for the zibo 737. The developer is active and the support for dockable cdu nd pfd will probably come in soon future.

Offline Ridgenj

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 277
  • 737NG Builder - x-plane
  • First Name: Luis
  • Home Location: New Jersey
XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2017, 08:59:32 PM »
Peter, Zibo might be located in Sweden or surroundings.
He asked me what do we need to eliminate from the virtual cockpit to make it work for cockpitbuilders.
I was traveling and forgot to answer him.
I am busy with P3D4 but you can post what can be eliminated when using hardware. He has also posted data-ref.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: August 08, 2017, 09:00:40 PM by Ridgenj »

 

Recent Posts

New supplier for your sim
by jackpilot
[Today at 08:29:27 AM]
OEM MCP conversion worth the hassle?
by 727737Nut
[August 18, 2017, 06:54:49 PM]
Projector screens changing brightness
by ZK CWD
[August 18, 2017, 01:03:36 AM]
The Sim
by jackpilot
[August 17, 2017, 06:34:23 PM]
Solenoid Engines Start Switch Installation
by zeineddine
[August 17, 2017, 12:01:21 AM]
Back to School SALE event - 50% discount
by luisgordo
[August 16, 2017, 10:09:23 PM]
New here
by 737NGer
[August 16, 2017, 10:23:47 AM]
Telex 750 Headset 4 sale
by jackpilot
[August 15, 2017, 03:16:42 PM]
Boeing 737 Homecockpit parts
by mellox90
[August 14, 2017, 09:02:27 AM]
Hello from New US Based Supplier!
by navcom
[August 14, 2017, 05:44:37 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[August 13, 2017, 05:36:15 AM]
MH-60 Helicopter (retired Navy simulator) for sale
by navymustang
[August 11, 2017, 08:58:38 PM]
Oasis 737 Project
by 737NGer
[August 11, 2017, 05:11:40 PM]
Project Magenta sounds and PM Systems
by jr2mey
[August 11, 2017, 09:41:58 AM]
In search of this panel...
by XOrionFE
[August 09, 2017, 03:07:23 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by bernard S
[August 09, 2017, 08:21:22 AM]
Upgrade advice and final items clarification
by N606DL
[August 09, 2017, 06:19:22 AM]
XPlane and Avionics softwares.
by Ridgenj
[August 08, 2017, 08:59:32 PM]
Source for Color 5.7" LCD Flat Panels
by gjha97
[August 08, 2017, 12:38:20 PM]
back lite Lamps help needed
by jackpilot
[August 08, 2017, 11:19:56 AM]
CP flight, CDU, throttle
by Orphee
[August 06, 2017, 06:34:10 AM]
Extremely Close Call!
by Joe Lavery
[August 06, 2017, 02:34:29 AM]
P3D v4 Multi Channel
by Ed
[August 05, 2017, 10:38:44 PM]
German B738NG Homecockpit-Projekt
by kurt-olsson
[August 05, 2017, 09:12:08 AM]
mycockpit.org Gone?
by Bob Reed
[August 05, 2017, 08:05:51 AM]
Backlit Knobs Source?
by mickc
[August 04, 2017, 06:33:31 PM]
ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
by tennyson
[August 04, 2017, 08:46:21 AM]
Orlando Approach 17L - Working on Atmospheric Conditions & 3rd Party Airports
by Michael_B737_ATP
[August 04, 2017, 08:14:05 AM]
Go home Boeing, you're drunk....
by RayS
[August 03, 2017, 05:53:08 PM]
GoFlight Radio RMK (SOLD)
by jackpilot
[August 03, 2017, 08:38:35 AM]