Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 50
  • *Total: 51

Author Topic: ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone  (Read 597 times)

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 261
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« on: August 01, 2017, 08:38:48 AM »
Has anyone been successful (or is it even possible) to run Active Sky 16 on a server PC and let it talk to multiple client PCs running their own copies of P3D?

For example, a server PC running P3D (v3) with 3 client PCs all running P3D driving their own projectors.

Couldn't find a comment on this topic when I searched the archives.
Thanks
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline FredK

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 365
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2017, 10:39:55 AM »
Hi Jim

I have looked at ActiveSky for my WideView setup.......

First...you do need multiple licenses for ActiveSky since it is PC specific....I did make that investment.

I tried it two ways....(1) weather transfer through WV and (2) independent weather download on my WV server and each WV client.

I was not happy either way....

I found that weather transfer via WV for ActiveSky really bogs down the system causing unacceptable stuttering in moderate-heavy weather situations.  Synchronization is also a problem for heavy weather (i.e., missing clouds). There is just two much data being transferred with AS for WV to handle.

Likewise, the issue with independent weather loading method is that the weather does not stay synchronized across clients for more than 10 minutes or so....so that is a big issue. 

As I have mentioned in previous posts I am using FS Global Real Weather for my weather engine and that really works terrifically with WV since it transfers weather to the clients independent of WV via a separate "network bridge".  The result is perfect weather synchronization even in the heaviest weather without any impact on WV performance whatsoever as I can perceive.

One big caveat though...All of this was with P3Dv3....I have not explored anything with P3Dv4 as yet.   I am awaiting release of FSGRW for V4 for that and probably will also wait until the end of the year to let the dust settle and bugs to be worked out for V4.   My ultimate plan however is to continue to use WV with FSGRW along with upgrading my WV clients to I9 CPUs if the price falls somewhere to a reasonable level by year-end.

Also,  FSGRW claims to be working on a much improved version for P3Dv4 which will include radar weather depiction like AS and other improvements.

Finally as I have stated previously I tend to actually like the appearance of FSGRW better than AS.  FSGRW does provide for complex weather formations as does AS including winds aloft etc.  So you do get varied weather level depictions that transition nicely.  I characterize AS to have a more "artsy" and dramatic kind of appearance that in my opinion gets a bit dramatic.  But that comes down to a matter of personal preference of course.

Fred K
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 10:46:22 AM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v3.35, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GT projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline Ridgenj

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 285
  • 737NG Builder - x-plane
  • First Name: Luis
  • Home Location: New Jersey
ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2017, 11:21:07 AM »
Dear Fred, in your clients do you have copies of FSGRW and Mytraffic residing in the same disk as P3D3? Due to the OOM issue I never installed all my add-ons, what I will do now. Are 4 cloned Firecuda's 2TB good enough? Today I have 4 Samsung 950 Pro 512 but FS Global NG alone is already 100 gigabytes plus Orbx and I ran out of space.For Win10 I use
a dedicated Samsung 960 Evo stick and my farm has 7 PC's in total.
Any suggestions how to make all these more efficient?
Cheers
Luis
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 11:28:09 AM by Ridgenj »

Offline FredK

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 365
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2017, 01:12:46 PM »
Luis...

For my 4 WV computers I have everything loaded on a single 2TB optical disk.  I previously had my OS on a separate SSD hard drive, but with the WIN 10 update that happened about a year ago that config did no longer work and irretrievably crashed all 4 computers.

As add-ons I am using Ultimate Terrain, GEX, REX HD, MyTraffic, FSGRW, and about 30 airport upgrades.

FSGRW does not require a lot of space.

The next time around my plan is to keep the airport scenery upgrades on a separate disk simply for convenience for major upgrades.  WV does require a fair bit of effort in setting up since everything has to be installed on separate computers.  That can be short-cutted by keeping the scenery on a separate drive.  Cloning as you have is a very good idea.

Currently I never have any crashes happening including OOMs. The key point is that with WV I am running FSX for my WV server with all sliders minimized since I do not use my WV server for visual display.  For my WV clients I am using P3Dv3 in each case with sliders towards the max.  It is interesting to note...when I was using P3D for my WV server I would have periodic occasional unexplained crashes occurring on the server requiring a complete reboot of the flight, however the WV clients never crashed even though the loading on those were much more than for the server.  I honestly say that since I moved to FSX for my server I have yet to have a single crash.  So my surmise is that something involved with FSUIPC or SimConnect was affecting the crashes with P3D.  My setup right now is extremely stable. So I intend to keep FSX for my server when I move to P3Dv4.  It is reported that it can still run that way.

Fred K
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 01:16:21 PM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v3.35, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GT projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline Ridgenj

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 285
  • 737NG Builder - x-plane
  • First Name: Luis
  • Home Location: New Jersey
ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2017, 01:37:52 PM »
Many thanks for the detailed response.
Apparently P3D4 seems to be stable and crashes happen only when loading add-ons that are not ported with the new SKD.
For my visual server I have Strix GTX1080Ti and all levers at zero. The IG's are I5-6500 and GTX1070 all at max. I have OPUS, Rex, AS and FSGRW. Like you, FSGRW is my preferred engine with Rex clouds.
With WV and WT for 64Bit it should work like a charm


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 261
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2017, 07:57:43 PM »
Luis, what do you use Opus for since you have WideView and a weather engine on your system?
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Ridgenj

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 285
  • 737NG Builder - x-plane
  • First Name: Luis
  • Home Location: New Jersey
ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2017, 11:03:58 PM »
Hi Jim, I don't use it, I just own it....lol Typical  Software wanderlust, was the first to offer networking capabilities as a weather engine


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 261
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2017, 03:26:45 PM »
Oh my - if any of us went through our chest of thrown away software, then added up the cost - we would faint   :)

Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Ridgenj

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 285
  • 737NG Builder - x-plane
  • First Name: Luis
  • Home Location: New Jersey
ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2017, 05:44:47 PM »
Almost as bad as with OEM and aftermarket panels and equipment


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: August 02, 2017, 05:50:14 PM by Ridgenj »

Offline tennyson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Frank
  • Home Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2017, 08:46:21 AM »
.....and let's not forget the 40-50 dollars sceneries just piling up around our ears.

On my last US/Canadian/Alaskan Tour, I bought over 700 bucks of airports around those areas.
Not that they are wasted, tho. Most have been updated to P3D V4 now and some in the imminent future.

As for ASP4, I'm a bit busy doing house reno's at the moment, but I've managed to load my cockpit PC's with all V4 stuff and when I finally get it all back running with V4, I'll be testing ASP4 in a networked three PC to projectors set-up.
So, I'm happy to pass on my results when I get them going.


Frank

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2017


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Simulator REBUILD will begin in

Recent Posts

FDS Shell Black or Raw Aluminum
by blueskydriver
[Today at 09:50:38 PM]
Homebuilt backlit panels
by kazmin
[Today at 05:28:47 PM]
XPlane and Avionics softwares.
by Pinello
[Today at 12:57:33 PM]
Cockpits for Sale...mine?
by simlady/ Karen
[Today at 11:48:42 AM]
Think about a VA
by Nlgravity
[October 21, 2017, 11:43:37 PM]
Lego Sets for Cockpit Items...trading?
by simlady/ Karen
[October 21, 2017, 11:18:52 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by 737NGer
[October 21, 2017, 06:10:34 AM]
Post Your Pit!!!! 1000 Member Show and Tell
by Nlgravity
[October 21, 2017, 01:42:11 AM]
MyCockpit.org hack issues
by ifeliciano
[October 21, 2017, 01:37:09 AM]
Descent into NZQN (Queenstown NZ)
by Nlgravity
[October 21, 2017, 01:37:09 AM]
Greetings from Memphis TN
by dougsnow
[October 20, 2017, 04:43:16 PM]
PoKeys and Potentiometer Jitters
by ifeliciano
[October 19, 2017, 03:30:52 PM]
Correct Amber LEDs for 737 Overhead?
by MistyBlue
[October 19, 2017, 10:19:10 AM]
Worldflight 2017 Donations!
by Trevor Hale
[October 18, 2017, 07:01:34 PM]
Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
by Trevor Hale
[October 18, 2017, 12:23:20 PM]
PFC Jetliner Column Yoke USB
by AngeloC
[October 18, 2017, 10:22:18 AM]
Minor Sim Milestone: I-1 on PilotEdge...
by Ed
[October 18, 2017, 07:09:43 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[October 18, 2017, 01:42:47 AM]
Rob's 733 Sim
by 737NGer
[October 17, 2017, 12:41:53 PM]
727-200 sim for sale
by blueskydriver
[October 17, 2017, 01:33:47 AM]
For Sale B737 Circuit Breaker Panels Kit...
by jackpilot
[October 16, 2017, 09:16:13 PM]
P3D v4 and WideTraffic crashing
by Trevor Hale
[October 16, 2017, 04:11:26 PM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by jackpilot
[October 16, 2017, 08:13:26 AM]
Bezels and Panels For Sale - B738
by hillbilly20
[October 14, 2017, 04:54:37 AM]
Side views
by Bob Reed
[October 13, 2017, 05:51:07 PM]
Cockpit Seats for Sale $700 or obo.
by blueskydriver
[October 13, 2017, 02:40:48 PM]
full working huds for sale
by navymustang
[October 13, 2017, 09:44:08 AM]
Auto Brake Panel for 30 degree rotary switches
by ifeliciano
[October 12, 2017, 01:49:50 PM]
Hi guys - new here with a question
by Blackhawk
[October 12, 2017, 01:30:29 PM]
Backlit Knobs Source?
by ifeliciano
[October 12, 2017, 10:34:12 AM]