Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 48
  • *Total: 50

Our Discord

Author Topic: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?  (Read 1134 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« on: September 08, 2017, 07:56:44 PM »
I am wondering if I need to install addons for scenery such as Orbx etc. on my server computer which does not actually run scenery video but only Views: Panel Only.

I am running this server to control 3 computers for Video onto 3 Projectors which have all the addon scenery installed.

So I am assuming that the server computer with WideView would not need the extra burden of installing these scenery addons.

Perhaps someone might be able to comment that is using WideView.

Regards................Brian W.

Offline MCrevot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • A320-like cockpit builder
  • First Name: Michel Crevot
  • Home Location: Pornic - France
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2017, 06:21:21 AM »
Hi Brian,

i use wideview with P3DV4, but in a different configuration : my server (7700k) run P3D for the front view, and the server component of A320 fmgs.

Anyhow, if your addon contain data impacting the plane position (long, lat, alt) or its attitude (pitch, roll, yaw), i think that you must instal it on your server, because it is him witch will send position and atitude to the others FSX/P3D.

Michel
4970k, 2600k, i7 920, XP pro 64, FSX and A320 FMGS, 3 views on 3 vdp with wideview, 180 deg screen

Offline rs3tier

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2017, 06:25:13 AM »
Hi

I run a similar setup.
I always install scenery packs on the server, otherwise the taxiways and runways don't match up between server and clients.  so it could like like you are on a taxiway based on the scenery pcs, but the server might think you are on the grass!

Regards,

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 403
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2017, 09:09:29 AM »
rs3tier is correct - not only will ramps, taxiways etc potentially be off, you may even have elevation issues if you do not synch all PCs in your visual system.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,345
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2017, 01:56:43 PM »
If all you are running are panel views, you may not have to. Are you having an issue? I can not see any of the mentioned issues arising from a panel view.

Offline iwik

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • GA Jockey
  • First Name: Les
  • Home Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2017, 02:49:20 PM »
Guys,
In the manual i once read Luciano said that is best to have all pc's the same and this meant all
to have sceneries installed.
les

Offline Nat Crea

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 548
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Nat
  • Home Location: Australia
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2017, 10:01:03 PM »
YES you will need to install scenery/airports on your Server,
otherwise you will have elevation/runway/taxiway/ILS issues
REGARDLESS of the fact you only have a panel view on the Server.

Nat

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2017, 02:16:13 AM »
Thank you all for chiming in on this. I just did some testing without the add-ons installed and the only fault really that I spotted was the IA aircraft that were parked in some incredible places !!

Also the taxiways would not be the same, but that really had no effect as you fly and taxi visually. Not sure about the ILS etc.

I will install them all back in, as the server in basically a blank mode and will not take any extra resources.

I guess we are always looking at ways to speed things up.

I did notice on re-installing the Server that the whole sim was a lot better.

Thanks again.................Brian W.

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

P3D v4 Multichannel, still an expert request for an optimal setting
by sisoffi
[Today at 05:00:47 PM]
PM Mcp error log saying: failed to access thrust bin
by jr2mey
[Today at 04:46:31 PM]
AYUDAAAA!!!!! CON WIDECLIENT
by FredK
[Today at 04:41:22 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 02:06:50 PM]
Memphis 727 Build
by dougsnow
[Today at 01:21:24 PM]
For Sale : Prosim 737 license, old price
by jmlohrenz
[Today at 12:57:39 PM]
Wanted: OEM gear lever 737
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 12:20:20 PM]
737 seat
by jackpilot
[August 18, 2018, 09:33:31 PM]
Beechcraft 1900 Yoke Angle
by RayS
[August 18, 2018, 06:14:09 PM]
mycockpit.org Gone?
by navymustang
[August 18, 2018, 03:37:09 PM]
NO HAN ENVIADO LA SERIAL KEY
by a320kH
[August 17, 2018, 06:15:56 PM]
Opencockpit IO cards
by Sampick
[August 17, 2018, 11:43:47 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by blueskydriver
[August 17, 2018, 01:19:46 AM]
My project, 737 in the basement.
by Goteborg
[August 13, 2018, 06:01:37 AM]
My 737 Desktop Cockpit
by Nolatron
[August 11, 2018, 11:32:17 PM]
Monitor setup - mixing screen sizes
by mdavenport
[August 11, 2018, 06:37:18 PM]
Wanted! Real Boeing 737 TQ
by Philip
[August 11, 2018, 01:23:21 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[August 10, 2018, 06:27:19 PM]
Boeing light gray paint color
by bernard S
[August 10, 2018, 12:05:45 PM]
727 Builder Intro
by skyline223
[August 10, 2018, 10:52:43 AM]
Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
by ScottThePilot
[August 09, 2018, 12:54:14 AM]
The eagle has landed
by simlady/ Karen
[August 08, 2018, 09:08:18 PM]
Need Information on World Flight 2018
by simlady/ Karen
[August 08, 2018, 09:05:36 PM]
Honeywell OEM Overhead Toggle Switch Caps - Replacement Instructions & Part Nos.
by mickc
[August 08, 2018, 03:25:09 AM]
Wanted Pair of Headrests of this type!
by mgovernali
[August 06, 2018, 03:58:03 PM]
FOR SALE - Precision Flight Controls Cirrus II and Remote Instrument Console USB
by XOrionFE
[August 06, 2018, 12:17:59 PM]
737 Overhead and Flaps Gauges For Sale
by navymustang
[August 06, 2018, 10:11:05 AM]
Ozsim International Airlines Goes 4K
by tennyson
[August 05, 2018, 05:31:18 AM]
X-Plane 737-800 Build
by Steenos
[August 03, 2018, 08:23:11 PM]
Teensy joystick quits after calibrated in X-Plane
by kurt-olsson
[August 02, 2018, 06:46:48 PM]