Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 52
  • *Total: 54

FlightSimExpo 2018

Our Discord

Author Topic: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?  (Read 978 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« on: September 08, 2017, 07:56:44 PM »
I am wondering if I need to install addons for scenery such as Orbx etc. on my server computer which does not actually run scenery video but only Views: Panel Only.

I am running this server to control 3 computers for Video onto 3 Projectors which have all the addon scenery installed.

So I am assuming that the server computer with WideView would not need the extra burden of installing these scenery addons.

Perhaps someone might be able to comment that is using WideView.

Regards................Brian W.

Offline MCrevot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • A320-like cockpit builder
  • First Name: Michel Crevot
  • Home Location: Pornic - France
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2017, 06:21:21 AM »
Hi Brian,

i use wideview with P3DV4, but in a different configuration : my server (7700k) run P3D for the front view, and the server component of A320 fmgs.

Anyhow, if your addon contain data impacting the plane position (long, lat, alt) or its attitude (pitch, roll, yaw), i think that you must instal it on your server, because it is him witch will send position and atitude to the others FSX/P3D.

Michel
4970k, 2600k, i7 920, XP pro 64, FSX and A320 FMGS, 3 views on 3 vdp with wideview, 180 deg screen

Offline rs3tier

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2017, 06:25:13 AM »
Hi

I run a similar setup.
I always install scenery packs on the server, otherwise the taxiways and runways don't match up between server and clients.  so it could like like you are on a taxiway based on the scenery pcs, but the server might think you are on the grass!

Regards,

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2017, 09:09:29 AM »
rs3tier is correct - not only will ramps, taxiways etc potentially be off, you may even have elevation issues if you do not synch all PCs in your visual system.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,329
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2017, 01:56:43 PM »
If all you are running are panel views, you may not have to. Are you having an issue? I can not see any of the mentioned issues arising from a panel view.

Online iwik

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 310
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • GA Jockey
  • First Name: Les
  • Home Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2017, 02:49:20 PM »
Guys,
In the manual i once read Luciano said that is best to have all pc's the same and this meant all
to have sceneries installed.
les

Offline Nat Crea

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Nat
  • Home Location: Australia
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2017, 10:01:03 PM »
YES you will need to install scenery/airports on your Server,
otherwise you will have elevation/runway/taxiway/ILS issues
REGARDLESS of the fact you only have a panel view on the Server.

Nat

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2017, 02:16:13 AM »
Thank you all for chiming in on this. I just did some testing without the add-ons installed and the only fault really that I spotted was the IA aircraft that were parked in some incredible places !!

Also the taxiways would not be the same, but that really had no effect as you fly and taxi visually. Not sure about the ILS etc.

I will install them all back in, as the server in basically a blank mode and will not take any extra resources.

I guess we are always looking at ways to speed things up.

I did notice on re-installing the Server that the whole sim was a lot better.

Thanks again.................Brian W.

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Playing with Arduino
by iwik
[Today at 03:07:03 PM]
My Cockpit homemade - Brasil
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 12:50:00 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 12:43:27 PM]
Cockpits, INCOME TAX SEASON SALE!
by blueskydriver
[Today at 01:42:51 AM]
Aircraft config and question
by Bob Reed
[April 19, 2018, 04:43:44 PM]
SIOC Script needed for Opencockpit USBDCMOTORPLUS Card and Prosim
by jfuenmayor
[April 19, 2018, 09:07:20 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by kurt-olsson
[April 19, 2018, 06:18:50 AM]
Hello from Indiana
by mickc
[April 18, 2018, 10:15:56 PM]
Building a MIP out of MDF
by Aerosim Solutions
[April 18, 2018, 06:49:50 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[April 18, 2018, 04:28:22 AM]
My 737 Desktop Cockpit
by Bob Reed
[April 17, 2018, 10:29:53 PM]
Today's flight through that massive storm system on the East coast...
by RayS
[April 16, 2018, 09:37:34 PM]
[SOLVED] Opencockpits Displays II card Microcontroller
by KyleH
[April 16, 2018, 09:28:49 PM]
Server Update:
by Trevor Hale
[April 16, 2018, 07:52:10 PM]
Landing lights PM aircraft
by Bob Reed
[April 16, 2018, 07:50:45 AM]
A Sad day for the Sim last week
by Trevor Hale
[April 16, 2018, 12:57:12 AM]
Looking for Go Flight EFIS
by al23
[April 15, 2018, 03:40:33 PM]
Do you live in the Calgary AB area?
by iwik
[April 15, 2018, 12:35:40 PM]
B737NG OEM build
by jeffreyk
[April 15, 2018, 01:51:26 AM]
Fly-Elise Tutorial
by tennyson
[April 15, 2018, 12:18:44 AM]
Wanted: Real Boeing 737 TQ
by Joe Lavery
[April 13, 2018, 04:53:26 PM]
Sun-N-Fun Lakeland
by Caflyt
[April 13, 2018, 10:59:50 AM]
New video presentation about my OEM Boeing 737 cockpit conversion
by navymustang
[April 12, 2018, 02:09:19 PM]
Already ready for WF2018!
by Sam Llorca
[April 12, 2018, 07:27:29 AM]
Electric Panel Window opening size
by ifeliciano
[April 11, 2018, 11:32:14 PM]
Dummy Oxygen Mask
by carlostxnl
[April 11, 2018, 06:38:52 AM]
The Progression of a build [Phase One]
by GyverX
[April 10, 2018, 09:29:52 PM]
Temporary throttle needed !
by Caflyt
[April 10, 2018, 10:28:45 AM]
SOLD!!! For Sale, a GoFlight MCP I/O card and 2 GoFlight I/O cards.
by blueskydriver
[April 09, 2018, 08:35:59 PM]
FlightSimExpo - June 9 - 10 2018
by FlightSimExpo
[April 09, 2018, 04:55:53 PM]