Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 38
  • *Total: 38

Author Topic: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?  (Read 1240 times)

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:26:25 PM »
Just thinking outside the box on this one... Has anyone used the "guts" of a goflight GF166 in order to make a scale 737 VHF/NAV/XPDR ?  If so, can anyone give me some pointers, tips, or how to's? I'm thinking of building a 737 pedestal, but would like to have my radios be scale size, and the GF radios are way to long.

Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,667
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 09:42:13 AM »
Yes can be done
Had it for years in my pedestal
You have to open the GF166 carefully and figure out what's what.
If I did it you can do it...lol
Here are pics from my archives.
The boards came in different shapes but the one of the left (elongated one ) is probably what you will end up with.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 09:44:41 AM by jackpilot »


Jack

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 03:39:17 PM »
Jack, thanks so much -its great to know it's possible. If you remember, can you inform me what modifications are necessary? It looks like you move the board and the desolder the digit display and reattach using ribbon wiring?

Anything else I should be aware of?
Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,667
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 03:45:04 PM »
Hi Matt
Years and years ago...do not remember exactly !
Old age kicked in  :D
Try on one, they are all the same boards.
 :2cw:


Jack

Offline rprather

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • The 777 Project
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: U.S.A.
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 05:21:56 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,134
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 07:48:52 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Hi Robert, nice to see you here. Unfortunately, GoFlight no longer offers these kits.

Offline RayS

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 628
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2017, 08:15:59 PM »
With some patience and good soldering skills it can be done. I "Reverse-engineered" 2 GF-266 modules and put the guts into some Sperry 1048 radio carcasses. Every once in while I'll open one up and wonder "What the hell was I thinking?" It can be tedious work but done correctly, the payoff is really nice.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 527
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 09:15:30 PM »
I constructed all my radios using the RMK units, but as has alrady been mentioned Go Flight don;t make these any more. I did ask a couple of years ago but they said the chips needed to make them don't exist any more. Well that;s what they told me.

If it's any help I used the 6 segment boards sold by Open Cockpits and wired them directly to the boards, it's easier than de-soldering the displays on the GF166 units. I then mounted the boards remotely inside the pedestal, It's a bit time consuming but they are still working some five years on.

I'm afraid I don't have any schematics to offer, as I recall it was trial and error to get them wired correctly. At least you know it can be done.  ;)

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2017, 03:37:17 PM »
Many thanks for the help. I'm currently contemplating using a ardunio mega card and make some radios on my own. I've picked up a card and some rotary encoders to see if it's something worth pursuing.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 03:39:27 PM by mynamismatt »
Matt Wohlford

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2017


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Simulator REBUILD will begin in

Recent Posts

Greetings from Memphis TN
by dougsnow
[October 20, 2017, 04:43:16 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by 737NGer
[October 20, 2017, 04:15:26 PM]
MyCockpit.org hack issues
by Trevor Hale
[October 20, 2017, 01:43:21 PM]
Descent into NZQN (Queenstown NZ)
by blueskydriver
[October 20, 2017, 10:56:16 AM]
PoKeys and Potentiometer Jitters
by ifeliciano
[October 19, 2017, 03:30:52 PM]
Correct Amber LEDs for 737 Overhead?
by MistyBlue
[October 19, 2017, 10:19:10 AM]
Worldflight 2017 Donations!
by Trevor Hale
[October 18, 2017, 07:01:34 PM]
Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
by Trevor Hale
[October 18, 2017, 12:23:20 PM]
PFC Jetliner Column Yoke USB
by AngeloC
[October 18, 2017, 10:22:18 AM]
Minor Sim Milestone: I-1 on PilotEdge...
by Ed
[October 18, 2017, 07:09:43 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[October 18, 2017, 01:42:47 AM]
Rob's 733 Sim
by 737NGer
[October 17, 2017, 12:41:53 PM]
727-200 sim for sale
by blueskydriver
[October 17, 2017, 01:33:47 AM]
Post Your Pit!!!! 1000 Member Show and Tell
by Nlgravity
[October 17, 2017, 01:10:33 AM]
For Sale B737 Circuit Breaker Panels Kit...
by jackpilot
[October 16, 2017, 09:16:13 PM]
P3D v4 and WideTraffic crashing
by Trevor Hale
[October 16, 2017, 04:11:26 PM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by jackpilot
[October 16, 2017, 08:13:26 AM]
Cockpits for Sale...mine?
by blueskydriver
[October 15, 2017, 11:48:20 PM]
Bezels and Panels For Sale - B738
by hillbilly20
[October 14, 2017, 04:54:37 AM]
Side views
by Bob Reed
[October 13, 2017, 05:51:07 PM]
Cockpit Seats for Sale $700 or obo.
by blueskydriver
[October 13, 2017, 02:40:48 PM]
full working huds for sale
by navymustang
[October 13, 2017, 09:44:08 AM]
Auto Brake Panel for 30 degree rotary switches
by ifeliciano
[October 12, 2017, 01:49:50 PM]
Hi guys - new here with a question
by Blackhawk
[October 12, 2017, 01:30:29 PM]
Backlit Knobs Source?
by ifeliciano
[October 12, 2017, 10:34:12 AM]
Rotary Switch with Encoder
by Coco737
[October 12, 2017, 09:50:48 AM]
737 Landing Light Bar - Anyone know where to get one?
by XOrionFE
[October 11, 2017, 08:30:05 PM]
Lego Sets for Cockpit Items...trading?
by blueskydriver
[October 11, 2017, 03:18:29 PM]
I'm now using EUR & USD in my shop
by Bob Reed
[October 11, 2017, 11:26:53 AM]
That Annoying 400Hz Tone
by 727737Nut
[October 11, 2017, 11:02:56 AM]