Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 41
  • *Total: 41

FlightSimExpo 2018

Our Discord

Author Topic: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?  (Read 1689 times)

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:26:25 PM »
Just thinking outside the box on this one... Has anyone used the "guts" of a goflight GF166 in order to make a scale 737 VHF/NAV/XPDR ?  If so, can anyone give me some pointers, tips, or how to's? I'm thinking of building a 737 pedestal, but would like to have my radios be scale size, and the GF radios are way to long.

Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,920
  • Karma: +38/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 09:42:13 AM »
Yes can be done
Had it for years in my pedestal
You have to open the GF166 carefully and figure out what's what.
If I did it you can do it...lol
Here are pics from my archives.
The boards came in different shapes but the one of the left (elongated one ) is probably what you will end up with.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 09:44:41 AM by jackpilot »


Jack

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 03:39:17 PM »
Jack, thanks so much -its great to know it's possible. If you remember, can you inform me what modifications are necessary? It looks like you move the board and the desolder the digit display and reattach using ribbon wiring?

Anything else I should be aware of?
Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,920
  • Karma: +38/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 03:45:04 PM »
Hi Matt
Years and years ago...do not remember exactly !
Old age kicked in  :D
Try on one, they are all the same boards.
 :2cw:


Jack

Offline rprather

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • The 777 Project
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: U.S.A.
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 05:21:56 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,334
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 07:48:52 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Hi Robert, nice to see you here. Unfortunately, GoFlight no longer offers these kits.

Offline RayS

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2017, 08:15:59 PM »
With some patience and good soldering skills it can be done. I "Reverse-engineered" 2 GF-266 modules and put the guts into some Sperry 1048 radio carcasses. Every once in while I'll open one up and wonder "What the hell was I thinking?" It can be tedious work but done correctly, the payoff is really nice.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 09:15:30 PM »
I constructed all my radios using the RMK units, but as has alrady been mentioned Go Flight don;t make these any more. I did ask a couple of years ago but they said the chips needed to make them don't exist any more. Well that;s what they told me.

If it's any help I used the 6 segment boards sold by Open Cockpits and wired them directly to the boards, it's easier than de-soldering the displays on the GF166 units. I then mounted the boards remotely inside the pedestal, It's a bit time consuming but they are still working some five years on.

I'm afraid I don't have any schematics to offer, as I recall it was trial and error to get them wired correctly. At least you know it can be done.  ;)

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2017, 03:37:17 PM »
Many thanks for the help. I'm currently contemplating using a ardunio mega card and make some radios on my own. I've picked up a card and some rotary encoders to see if it's something worth pursuing.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 03:39:27 PM by mynamismatt »
Matt Wohlford

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Faceplates for instruments
by ifeliciano
[May 19, 2018, 04:01:07 PM]
Homebuilt TQ has been sold
by Maurice
[May 18, 2018, 04:18:29 PM]
Wanted: Boeing 737 Throttle
by jackpilot
[May 18, 2018, 03:35:46 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by jackpilot
[May 18, 2018, 09:23:59 AM]
TQ 737 Jet Max for sale
by pilota1748
[May 18, 2018, 07:29:52 AM]
Inclinometer
by Atomic_Sheep
[May 18, 2018, 04:55:33 AM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[May 17, 2018, 06:10:56 PM]
Hola from Spain
by seedosip
[May 17, 2018, 05:36:44 AM]
FDS 747 MIP Price reduced!
by ncska21
[May 17, 2018, 12:41:58 AM]
Gas strut newton for elevation
by kurt-olsson
[May 16, 2018, 03:44:25 PM]
Vendor Questions
by Trevor Hale
[May 16, 2018, 03:20:56 PM]
Another AC/DC Panel dimenssion request
by bernard S
[May 16, 2018, 12:23:58 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by seedosip
[May 16, 2018, 05:10:28 AM]
PMDG 737 on P3dV4 and 1PC Setup
by seedosip
[May 15, 2018, 03:46:49 AM]
New member - new topic - Hagstrom KEUSB 108 - windows 7 problem
by sedge
[May 14, 2018, 10:34:35 PM]
Purchased: Real Boeing 737 TQ
by Steenos
[May 14, 2018, 03:20:34 PM]
U.S. holiday booked!
by Aerosim Solutions
[May 13, 2018, 06:20:31 PM]
My Cockpit homemade - Brasil
by HighTechGG
[May 12, 2018, 12:33:05 PM]
Two Cockpits For Sale
by blueskydriver
[May 11, 2018, 10:51:12 PM]
FlightControlReplay Professional Edition v4 Features Announcement
by karijno
[May 11, 2018, 06:29:27 PM]
B767 MIP
by Goodenough
[May 11, 2018, 05:13:28 PM]
a must have
by bernard S
[May 11, 2018, 04:41:45 PM]
Great pic of 737 over Tampa
by fsaviator
[May 11, 2018, 09:22:55 AM]
Game Controller as Tiller
by Joe Lavery
[May 10, 2018, 08:12:32 PM]
737 Rudder Pedal Recommendations?
by AngeloC
[May 10, 2018, 12:01:14 PM]
DZUS Fasteners from Simvionics
by ifeliciano
[May 10, 2018, 10:11:57 AM]
Pressurization Panel 737
by ifeliciano
[May 10, 2018, 02:35:59 AM]
Panel Material
by ifeliciano
[May 10, 2018, 02:23:29 AM]
MIP Position
by awdoman
[May 09, 2018, 02:57:43 PM]
FlightSimExpo - June 9 - 10 2018
by Vincent T.
[May 09, 2018, 01:47:09 PM]