Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 20
  • *Total: 22

Author Topic: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?  (Read 723 times)

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:26:25 PM »
Just thinking outside the box on this one... Has anyone used the "guts" of a goflight GF166 in order to make a scale 737 VHF/NAV/XPDR ?  If so, can anyone give me some pointers, tips, or how to's? I'm thinking of building a 737 pedestal, but would like to have my radios be scale size, and the GF radios are way to long.

Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,456
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 09:42:13 AM »
Yes can be done
Had it for years in my pedestal
You have to open the GF166 carefully and figure out what's what.
If I did it you can do it...lol
Here are pics from my archives.
The boards came in different shapes but the one of the left (elongated one ) is probably what you will end up with.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 09:44:41 AM by jackpilot »
Jack

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 03:39:17 PM »
Jack, thanks so much -its great to know it's possible. If you remember, can you inform me what modifications are necessary? It looks like you move the board and the desolder the digit display and reattach using ribbon wiring?

Anything else I should be aware of?
Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,456
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 03:45:04 PM »
Hi Matt
Years and years ago...do not remember exactly !
Old age kicked in  :D
Try on one, they are all the same boards.
 :2cw:
Jack

Offline rprather

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 96
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • The 777 Project
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: U.S.A.
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 05:21:56 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,054
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 07:48:52 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Hi Robert, nice to see you here. Unfortunately, GoFlight no longer offers these kits.

Offline RayS

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 588
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2017, 08:15:59 PM »
With some patience and good soldering skills it can be done. I "Reverse-engineered" 2 GF-266 modules and put the guts into some Sperry 1048 radio carcasses. Every once in while I'll open one up and wonder "What the hell was I thinking?" It can be tedious work but done correctly, the payoff is really nice.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Joe Lavery

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 495
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 09:15:30 PM »
I constructed all my radios using the RMK units, but as has alrady been mentioned Go Flight don;t make these any more. I did ask a couple of years ago but they said the chips needed to make them don't exist any more. Well that;s what they told me.

If it's any help I used the 6 segment boards sold by Open Cockpits and wired them directly to the boards, it's easier than de-soldering the displays on the GF166 units. I then mounted the boards remotely inside the pedestal, It's a bit time consuming but they are still working some five years on.

I'm afraid I don't have any schematics to offer, as I recall it was trial and error to get them wired correctly. At least you know it can be done.  ;)

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2017, 03:37:17 PM »
Many thanks for the help. I'm currently contemplating using a ardunio mega card and make some radios on my own. I've picked up a card and some rotary encoders to see if it's something worth pursuing.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 03:39:27 PM by mynamismatt »
Matt Wohlford

 

Recent Posts

Help with some measurements (737)
by navymustang
[Today at 08:09:10 PM]
Oasis 737 Project
by Goodenough
[Today at 07:41:40 PM]
B737 Circuit Breakers Measurements
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 07:30:44 PM]
Immersive Calibration Pro........HELP.
by ammarmalhas
[Today at 06:57:36 PM]
FLIGHTSIMCON June 10-11, 2017
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 05:55:59 PM]
MLeavy737 Sim (3rd Times a Charm!)
by Flying_Fox
[Today at 04:28:04 PM]
Simulator Business Seekers...
by blueskydriver
[Today at 02:02:50 PM]
My adaptation to Saitek's real-scale Embraer Phenom 100 or 300!
by Stinger2k2
[Today at 10:47:10 AM]
737 MIP and best monitor layout
by XOrionFE
[March 28, 2017, 11:11:19 PM]
Opencockpits 737 gear lever (edited:SOLD)
by pierclav
[March 28, 2017, 07:58:29 PM]
A start down the dark side
by Bob Reed
[March 28, 2017, 03:55:58 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[March 28, 2017, 12:28:29 PM]
TBM850 Cabin Measurements
by Bigpenze
[March 27, 2017, 04:22:21 PM]
WTB: Throttletek 744 TQ
by fly747s
[March 27, 2017, 01:31:44 PM]
737-800 galley measurements
by navymustang
[March 27, 2017, 01:00:11 PM]
WANTED: PhidgitLed-64 Cards
by Ed
[March 26, 2017, 02:07:04 PM]
Fresh out of the Paint Booth....... aaaaand there goes an engine.
by RayS
[March 26, 2017, 02:54:14 AM]
New Low cost Company in Canada
by Flying_Fox
[March 24, 2017, 03:56:47 PM]
Jetmax 777SK $2800
by fly747s
[March 23, 2017, 07:41:58 PM]
Hello from Oakville Canada
by JayJay
[March 23, 2017, 03:23:49 PM]
German B738NG Homecockpit-Projekt
by MjTom
[March 23, 2017, 12:11:00 PM]
Cleaning OEM panels
by jackpilot
[March 23, 2017, 09:01:38 AM]
220 FOV screen
by blueskydriver
[March 23, 2017, 08:16:18 AM]
Need FS Panel Studio and FSUIPC
by Goodenough
[March 23, 2017, 07:14:40 AM]
Custom panels for your sim
by Fcoq
[March 22, 2017, 07:12:21 PM]
More (or similar) 836x overheat issues
by iwik
[March 22, 2017, 07:04:17 PM]
Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
by mynamismatt
[March 22, 2017, 03:37:17 PM]
Cockpitbuilders EULA UPDATE MARCH 22nd, 2017
by Trevor Hale
[March 22, 2017, 09:34:35 AM]
APU won't stay lit
by airupthere
[March 21, 2017, 01:15:49 PM]
AFT OVH for sale (SOLD)
by jackpilot
[March 21, 2017, 10:47:17 AM]