Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 44
  • *Total: 46

Author Topic: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?  (Read 1340 times)

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:26:25 PM »
Just thinking outside the box on this one... Has anyone used the "guts" of a goflight GF166 in order to make a scale 737 VHF/NAV/XPDR ?  If so, can anyone give me some pointers, tips, or how to's? I'm thinking of building a 737 pedestal, but would like to have my radios be scale size, and the GF radios are way to long.

Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,714
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 09:42:13 AM »
Yes can be done
Had it for years in my pedestal
You have to open the GF166 carefully and figure out what's what.
If I did it you can do it...lol
Here are pics from my archives.
The boards came in different shapes but the one of the left (elongated one ) is probably what you will end up with.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 09:44:41 AM by jackpilot »


Jack

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 03:39:17 PM »
Jack, thanks so much -its great to know it's possible. If you remember, can you inform me what modifications are necessary? It looks like you move the board and the desolder the digit display and reattach using ribbon wiring?

Anything else I should be aware of?
Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,714
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 03:45:04 PM »
Hi Matt
Years and years ago...do not remember exactly !
Old age kicked in  :D
Try on one, they are all the same boards.
 :2cw:


Jack

Offline rprather

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • The 777 Project
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: U.S.A.
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 05:21:56 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,181
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 07:48:52 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Hi Robert, nice to see you here. Unfortunately, GoFlight no longer offers these kits.

Offline RayS

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 650
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2017, 08:15:59 PM »
With some patience and good soldering skills it can be done. I "Reverse-engineered" 2 GF-266 modules and put the guts into some Sperry 1048 radio carcasses. Every once in while I'll open one up and wonder "What the hell was I thinking?" It can be tedious work but done correctly, the payoff is really nice.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 549
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 09:15:30 PM »
I constructed all my radios using the RMK units, but as has alrady been mentioned Go Flight don;t make these any more. I did ask a couple of years ago but they said the chips needed to make them don't exist any more. Well that;s what they told me.

If it's any help I used the 6 segment boards sold by Open Cockpits and wired them directly to the boards, it's easier than de-soldering the displays on the GF166 units. I then mounted the boards remotely inside the pedestal, It's a bit time consuming but they are still working some five years on.

I'm afraid I don't have any schematics to offer, as I recall it was trial and error to get them wired correctly. At least you know it can be done.  ;)

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2017, 03:37:17 PM »
Many thanks for the help. I'm currently contemplating using a ardunio mega card and make some radios on my own. I've picked up a card and some rotary encoders to see if it's something worth pursuing.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 03:39:27 PM by mynamismatt »
Matt Wohlford

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 12:45:44 PM]
Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
by Flying_Fox
[Today at 11:40:47 AM]
My Simming Year in Review
by tennyson
[Today at 09:59:39 AM]
Weather set problem
by luisgordo
[Today at 09:25:08 AM]
737 Document Holder
by GarethH
[Today at 06:52:16 AM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by B747-400
[Today at 06:21:29 AM]
Lian Li Purchase?
by ifeliciano
[Today at 01:17:30 AM]
WANTED: Real 737 Dual Linked Yokes
by bernard S
[December 14, 2017, 04:23:52 PM]
Shell MIP Move
by jackpilot
[December 14, 2017, 08:10:46 AM]
So this thing is on it's way....
by RayS
[December 13, 2017, 10:42:56 PM]
Older USB CPFlight MCP for sale
by jr2mey
[December 13, 2017, 08:35:25 AM]
RAL 7011 - Paint Options
by GarethH
[December 13, 2017, 08:20:51 AM]
Sismo IRS Panel - Anyone Have One?
by blueskydriver
[December 13, 2017, 08:01:17 AM]
737 control columns Capt & FO
by Joe Lavery
[December 13, 2017, 06:14:31 AM]
Gas strut newton for elevation
by Trevor Hale
[December 11, 2017, 05:11:30 PM]
MIP Dimmer Panels
by ifeliciano
[December 11, 2017, 01:51:13 PM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[December 11, 2017, 02:59:18 AM]
Got My Flightdeck Solutions Oxygen Panels...
by blueskydriver
[December 10, 2017, 12:35:54 AM]
737 Aft Overhead EEC Switches - Where do I get one?
by MistyBlue
[December 09, 2017, 01:53:43 PM]
P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
by Bob Reed
[December 09, 2017, 09:39:42 AM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by fsaviator
[December 09, 2017, 07:59:51 AM]
PFC Jetliner Column Yoke USB -SOLD-
by blueskydriver
[December 08, 2017, 06:46:26 PM]
Interfacing BENDIX/KING KMD-150 GPS and X-Plane
by RayS
[December 07, 2017, 07:56:39 PM]
CraigSim 737 update
by fsaviator
[December 07, 2017, 07:30:58 PM]
Question for those that have converted real TQs
by kurt-olsson
[December 07, 2017, 04:50:44 PM]
Jorge from NAVCOM
by Bob Reed
[December 07, 2017, 12:12:12 PM]
Cockpitbuilders roofing services llc
by Trevor Hale
[December 07, 2017, 10:39:29 AM]
Shopping at AliExpress or Alibaba - Your experiences
by Sam Llorca
[December 07, 2017, 10:35:12 AM]
PA34 Seneca Wings on VC
by jackpilot
[December 07, 2017, 07:54:51 AM]
Auto Brake Panel for 30 degree rotary switches
by Coco737
[December 06, 2017, 11:34:55 AM]