Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 62
  • *Total: 63

Author Topic: Rotary with a button  (Read 854 times)

Offline Atomic_Sheep

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Dmitry
Rotary with a button
« on: April 15, 2017, 09:30:38 AM »
Hi,

I'm looking for a rotary with a button in the middle. From what I can gather, the rotary bit doesn't move when you press the central button. All the rotaries that I can find, the whole rotary bit gets pressed in when you push on it. Has anyone seen rotaries with a central button?
« Last Edit: April 15, 2017, 09:31:04 AM by Atomic_Sheep »

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,243
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Rotary with a button
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2017, 03:06:42 PM »
Hi,

I'm looking for a rotary with a button in the middle. From what I can gather, the rotary bit doesn't move when you press the central button. All the rotaries that I can find, the whole rotary bit gets pressed in when you push on it. Has anyone seen rotaries with a central button?


Not sure exactly what your looking for. But I have several rotaries that have separate contacts for a "pushbutton" when you press it. For example the baro knob on the efis panel. Rotating changes the altimeter setting and pushing activates the STD function.


That what your looking for?
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

Offline Atomic_Sheep

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Dmitry
Re: Rotary with a button
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2017, 10:20:18 PM »
Hi Trevor

I'm looking for a rotary encoder like the one seen at 1:19 in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZT6jaSbKGJ4

Only I'm looking for a rotary encoder not a x position switch. The main feature there is the TFC button isn't attached to the rotary bit, so when you press it, just the button is pressed, the grey bit doesn't move.

All the rotaries I've dug through come with push button functionality but the whole thing moves when you press it.

like in this video at 1:00 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tsXUENxwR8w

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,243
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Rotary with a button
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2017, 10:50:50 PM »
Ok so you want just the centre of the rotary to push, not the entire rotary to push in. So basically your looking for a rotary with an actual tactile switch on the end of it.
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

Offline iwik

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 271
  • GA Jockey
  • First Name: Les
  • Home Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Re: Rotary with a button
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2017, 12:44:36 AM »
Im not convinced its a tactile switch. If you look hard enough i can see the shaft move. Anyway an Elma dual rotary with push switch
should achieve the result. Just mark the cap of inner shaft what the
switch does.
Les

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 511
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Rotary with a button
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2017, 06:48:18 PM »
Leo Bodnar sells the Elma E37 Dual Rotary with the switch, which I guess is what you're looking for.
It's not cheap at £19.99 but it's about the right price for this unit. There are a few cheap alternatives but they are usually lower count detents. So not as accurate, they tend to jump numbers or need more than one detent per digit.

http://www.leobodnar.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=98_75&products_id=196

Incidentally it is a momentary switch mounted within the encoder, it's actuated by pushing the top of the shaft down as shown in the video.

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net

Offline Atomic_Sheep

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Dmitry
Re: Rotary with a button
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2017, 11:49:52 PM »
Thanks guys, I couldn't find anything apart from elma myself. I asked a similar question before, but I think at that time I was wondering about dual rotary encoders. Elma was the response back then as well.

Offline Erj145sim

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Marco
  • Home Location: KCVG
Re: Rotary with a button
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2017, 03:48:02 PM »
I am using some rotaries from OEM Honeywell parts and they have the push switch you describe. They have 2 or 3 shafts (depending on whether they are single or dual concentric), with the centermost shaft actuating a push switch mounted to the bottom of the rotary body. In these, the actual encoder shafft(s) do not move - only the top cap which you actually push. I got mine from OEM parts like I said, and didn't find them easily to buy as spares (although I didn't look too much), and have no idea on cost (I assume pretty expensive and pray everyday that mine don't break!).
They are branded OakGrigsby, which has been acquired by ElectroSwitch (http://www.electro-nc.com/encoderflyermm.pdf). I will say they are much larger than the miniature style we commonly use (ALPS or ELMA), and have a very distinct feel (heavy, very tactile). But capability-wise they are no different than ELMA or ALPS. The space required can be a great deterrent depending on where you want to use them.
I hope this helps!
Marco

 

Recent Posts

Setting up PM Sounds
by Mach7
[Today at 08:26:42 AM]
TQ - Trim wheel dismounting help
by srisim
[Today at 06:09:04 AM]
Flight Illusion Comes through!
by RayS
[June 25, 2017, 01:22:03 AM]
220 visual totally fluid
by rprather
[June 24, 2017, 02:38:36 PM]
Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
by jfuenmayor
[June 24, 2017, 12:49:24 PM]
Real Boeing 737 yoke handle wiring
by mickc
[June 23, 2017, 07:31:49 PM]
Circuit Breaker Challenge- B737 or other type
by Trevor Hale
[June 23, 2017, 12:26:23 PM]
Looking for 110v 4" Fan motors for 737 eyeball ducts
by Flying_Fox
[June 22, 2017, 10:03:35 PM]
B737 Rudder adjusting crank unit
by tennyson
[June 22, 2017, 07:17:14 AM]
Oasis 737 Project
by mickc
[June 21, 2017, 08:06:28 PM]
Anyone have access to a Beech 1900D Cockpit?
by RayS
[June 21, 2017, 01:30:40 PM]
737 OEM Panels
by 737NGer
[June 21, 2017, 10:59:56 AM]
Simworld CDU Bay, Lower EICAS and CAN BUS For Sale
by srisim
[June 20, 2017, 05:30:13 AM]
Hello from Nashua, NH
by srisim
[June 20, 2017, 04:34:20 AM]
Help with choosing CDU
by willow
[June 19, 2017, 11:54:32 PM]
Boeing 737 Max
by Fabian
[June 19, 2017, 11:31:41 PM]
Flight Illusion Boeing Press Gauge for sale
by XOrionFE
[June 19, 2017, 10:27:30 PM]
P3D v4 Multi Channel
by tennyson
[June 19, 2017, 07:06:55 PM]
TQ motor recommendations
by Jabsher
[June 16, 2017, 04:01:16 PM]
TV Screens for Visual
by navymustang
[June 16, 2017, 03:22:16 PM]
how close is everyone to completion
by B747-400
[June 16, 2017, 09:37:37 AM]
WANTED: Full set of 737 Overhead Locking Toggle Switches.
by jackpilot
[June 15, 2017, 03:45:20 PM]
FlightControlReplay Professional v3.5 P3Dv4 compatible OUT NOW
by karijno
[June 15, 2017, 03:23:29 AM]
What size monitor ??
by jackpilot
[June 14, 2017, 10:14:15 PM]
let´s talk about pilot shoes
by bernard S
[June 14, 2017, 04:26:34 PM]
Calculating amp draw
by Mach7
[June 13, 2017, 08:54:58 AM]
Powering the sim
by jackpilot
[June 13, 2017, 08:19:06 AM]
Smart solution for 737 cockpit without side-space.
by kurt-olsson
[June 13, 2017, 01:33:16 AM]
3d printer
by Jabsher
[June 12, 2017, 06:03:48 PM]