Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 43
  • *Total: 45

FlightSimExpo 2018

Our Discord

GDPR - Important Notice


From the 26th of May, ALL USERS CONTINUING TO USE THIS WEBSITE - Agree to the amended "End User License Agreement"
This includes the European GDPR changes, whereby continuing to use this forum you agree to those amended terms as we have them stated.

If any user is unwilling to accept the AMENDED EULA with regard to the European GDPR Changes, He/She can email me directly and request their account be deleted.

Thank You, Trevor Hale

Author Topic: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?  (Read 1083 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« on: November 29, 2017, 11:45:02 PM »
Basically a question only for full size Simpits that use full 220 degrees x 3 Projectors.

I have just upgraded my computers to 6700k,s and GTX1070,s  so just would be interested in any comments from anyone that has changed over to V4.
Do not feel like changing, if at this stage there is no great benefit !

Looking forward to your replies....................Brian W.

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,536
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 06:27:12 AM »
Brian,

We just switched Sam to V4.  He is running an I9 With 32GB Ram and a 1880TI.  3 Projectors warped after joining them through Nvidia Surround.  Really decent settings Gives him 40-60 Frames at airports on the ground with weather and ORBX...  In the Air, about 140 Frames..  A very smooth flight though.

Still the occasional flicker during scenery load, on an m.200 SSD.

Trev
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 06:27:47 AM by Trevor Hale »
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-1
  • P3D / Win7-64 / FDS / 3 x Optoma GT1080
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2017, 10:16:38 AM »
I switched to P3Dv4.1 last month and not going back.
Running on single computer I7 4790K at 4.6Gh, 16GB RAM and 980ti and on 3 x Optoma 1080ST. Have at least 30 frames in most of airports (not in Brisbane - sorry, Brian  :P ). The picture is much more fluid than in P3Dv3.4.

AS4 + ASCA +Envshade and pretty aggressive graphic settings.
full ORBX (Global + Vector + Open LC)
GSX
Ultimate Traffic Live at 80%

Here is the first test video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niV3tleOpIQ

 :2cw:

Nick

Offline Aerosim Solutions

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 687
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Simulator part supplier
    • Aerosim Solutions
  • First Name: Gwyn Perrett
  • Home Location: Perth, Western Australia
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 05:21:47 PM »
It will be a very worthwhile leap Brian, I will be doing it early next year when Prosim2 is released. There will be at least a 20FPS increase, I have v4 on the house PC and it runs 60FPS on a basic video card. Pushing the default F35 jet to a thousand knots at ground level still returns 50FPS, it is silky smooth!
Cheers Gwyn
Boeing 737NG using Prepar3D v3.35, Prosim737, FDS SYS cards, FDS CDUs, CP Flight EL MCP & EFIS & Aerosim Solutions hardware of course!
Check out my website here -
http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2017, 05:55:31 PM »
Thanks to Trev, Nick and Gwyn for the updates. Seems, as I suspected that it has to be the way to go .
Hopefully most problems have been sorted out by now and as well, the add-ons are getting organised.

Great Video Nick, especially with one computer doing all the work.

Regards..............Brian W.

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,260
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2017, 08:50:00 PM »
I'm not switching to P3D until I'm back up and running...  then it will be straight to v4.  Like Gwyn, I'm waiting for the Prosim 2 release so I can just pile all the unknowns up together and beat my head against the wall once
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2017, 11:30:43 PM »
Luckily Jeehell software for the Airbus is up and running on V4.

I was just about to take the plunge when one of my 3 Optoma projectors decided to have an attack of the bends. So it is off to repairs and at this time of year, not sure how long that will take.

Xmas greetings all..................Brian W.

Offline Sam Llorca

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 706
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2017, 10:37:35 AM »
P3D V4 and happy so far!!

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 379
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2017, 11:36:43 AM »
P3D v4 here also on all three projector PCs and the host visual.

Very happy now that WideTraffic is fixed.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,337
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2017, 09:39:42 AM »
I am using it and I really see very little difference other than a lot of my add on software does not work.....  :)

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Tv screen recommendations
by jr2mey
[June 24, 2018, 10:01:24 PM]
737 Circuit Breaker panel lights
by Winstonc
[June 24, 2018, 08:22:26 PM]
Monitor setup - mixing screen sizes
by Ed
[June 24, 2018, 03:33:24 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by bernard S
[June 24, 2018, 11:08:26 AM]
737-300 Main Instrument Panel - For Sale
by B737NG
[June 23, 2018, 08:36:13 PM]
Flight Attendant Seat - For Sale
by B737NG
[June 23, 2018, 08:33:14 PM]
Circle to land approach LOWI (with new wipers)
by blueskydriver
[June 23, 2018, 02:00:04 PM]
Looking for OEM Switch Guard supplier
by jackpilot
[June 23, 2018, 12:15:10 PM]
Just Cockpit Shell For Sale! (no inside items)...
by blueskydriver
[June 23, 2018, 12:47:28 AM]
New replica Ipeco seats for Boeing and Airbus Clear To Sim
by Clearsim
[June 22, 2018, 05:18:27 PM]
MA3 Absolute Magnetic Shaft Encoder
by iwik
[June 22, 2018, 01:27:06 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[June 22, 2018, 03:06:10 AM]
For Sale-Real B727/B737 Wall and Ceiling Panels with a set of Eye Brows...
by blueskydriver
[June 21, 2018, 06:14:34 PM]
How did you mount the forward overhead frame?
by kurt-olsson
[June 21, 2018, 04:40:12 PM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[June 20, 2018, 01:49:45 PM]
SOLD! Two Cockpits For Sale
by blueskydriver
[June 19, 2018, 05:51:06 PM]
SITE BACK
by Trevor Hale
[June 19, 2018, 03:07:27 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[June 17, 2018, 03:15:49 PM]
FlightSim Expo - Las Vegas
by jr2mey
[June 17, 2018, 10:30:03 AM]
Bought a FSC.IT Throttle on ebay (Question)
by FredK
[June 17, 2018, 09:11:41 AM]
737 yoke with elbow
by pierclav
[June 15, 2018, 08:39:05 PM]
Securing Overhead Indicators
by jackpilot
[June 15, 2018, 06:00:29 PM]
Simparts 737 Throttle build thread
by blueskydriver
[June 13, 2018, 09:10:17 PM]
Citation Mustang Builder
by Jmg225
[June 13, 2018, 07:18:43 AM]
Interfacing Phidgets Boards with X-Plane 11
by kenrosefire
[June 12, 2018, 10:20:18 PM]
Full synoptics on the SimAvionics 737
by jackpilot
[June 12, 2018, 04:54:46 PM]
PHIDGET 64 LED PROGRAMMING FOR XPLANE 11 ZIBO 737
by Tinobfc
[June 11, 2018, 03:58:29 PM]
Cockpitforyou, Opencockpits no support from both
by FredK
[June 11, 2018, 03:40:37 PM]
B737-800 Flight Sim for sale $85,000.00
by Lee737
[June 11, 2018, 07:59:42 AM]
Lohrenz Hanger
by jmlohrenz
[June 10, 2018, 11:43:55 PM]