Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 14
  • *Total: 16

Our Discord

Author Topic: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?  (Read 1323 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« on: November 29, 2017, 11:45:02 PM »
Basically a question only for full size Simpits that use full 220 degrees x 3 Projectors.

I have just upgraded my computers to 6700k,s and GTX1070,s  so just would be interested in any comments from anyone that has changed over to V4.
Do not feel like changing, if at this stage there is no great benefit !

Looking forward to your replies....................Brian W.

Online Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,670
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 06:27:12 AM »
Brian,

We just switched Sam to V4.  He is running an I9 With 32GB Ram and a 1880TI.  3 Projectors warped after joining them through Nvidia Surround.  Really decent settings Gives him 40-60 Frames at airports on the ground with weather and ORBX...  In the Air, about 140 Frames..  A very smooth flight though.

Still the occasional flicker during scenery load, on an m.200 SSD.

Trev
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 06:27:47 AM by Trevor Hale »
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 484
  • P3D/Win7-64/FDS/3 x Optoma GT1080Darbee
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2017, 10:16:38 AM »
I switched to P3Dv4.1 last month and not going back.
Running on single computer I7 4790K at 4.6Gh, 16GB RAM and 980ti and on 3 x Optoma 1080ST. Have at least 30 frames in most of airports (not in Brisbane - sorry, Brian  :P ). The picture is much more fluid than in P3Dv3.4.

AS4 + ASCA +Envshade and pretty aggressive graphic settings.
full ORBX (Global + Vector + Open LC)
GSX
Ultimate Traffic Live at 80%

Here is the first test video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niV3tleOpIQ

 :2cw:

Nick

Offline Aerosim Solutions

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 692
  • Simulator part supplier
    • Aerosim Solutions
  • First Name: Gwyn Perrett
  • Home Location: Perth, Western Australia
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 05:21:47 PM »
It will be a very worthwhile leap Brian, I will be doing it early next year when Prosim2 is released. There will be at least a 20FPS increase, I have v4 on the house PC and it runs 60FPS on a basic video card. Pushing the default F35 jet to a thousand knots at ground level still returns 50FPS, it is silky smooth!
Cheers Gwyn
Boeing 737NG using Prepar3D v3.35, Prosim737, FDS SYS cards, FDS CDUs, CP Flight EL MCP & EFIS & Aerosim Solutions hardware of course!
Check out my website here -
http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2017, 05:55:31 PM »
Thanks to Trev, Nick and Gwyn for the updates. Seems, as I suspected that it has to be the way to go .
Hopefully most problems have been sorted out by now and as well, the add-ons are getting organised.

Great Video Nick, especially with one computer doing all the work.

Regards..............Brian W.

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,301
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2017, 08:50:00 PM »
I'm not switching to P3D until I'm back up and running...  then it will be straight to v4.  Like Gwyn, I'm waiting for the Prosim 2 release so I can just pile all the unknowns up together and beat my head against the wall once
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2017, 11:30:43 PM »
Luckily Jeehell software for the Airbus is up and running on V4.

I was just about to take the plunge when one of my 3 Optoma projectors decided to have an attack of the bends. So it is off to repairs and at this time of year, not sure how long that will take.

Xmas greetings all..................Brian W.

Offline Sam Llorca

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2017, 10:37:35 AM »
P3D V4 and happy so far!!

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 454
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2017, 11:36:43 AM »
P3D v4 here also on all three projector PCs and the host visual.

Very happy now that WideTraffic is fixed.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,376
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2017, 09:39:42 AM »
I am using it and I really see very little difference other than a lot of my add on software does not work.....  :)

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 05:07:59 PM]
Santa Flight (Saturday December 15th)
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 03:51:45 PM]
777 Throttle *price reduced*
by mattking247
[December 14, 2018, 08:59:01 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by RayS
[December 14, 2018, 07:28:46 PM]
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
by ScottThePilot
[December 14, 2018, 12:15:47 PM]
Recipe_for_a_cheap_joystick_encoder.pdf
by MattiasLind
[December 14, 2018, 07:53:57 AM]
Triple channel splitter with professional edge blender $3750.00
by Lee737
[December 13, 2018, 09:41:31 PM]
My A320-like cockpit
by MCrevot
[December 12, 2018, 09:41:11 AM]
U.S. holiday booked!
by Trevor Hale
[December 11, 2018, 10:35:15 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[December 11, 2018, 01:12:29 AM]
X-Plane 737-800 Build
by kenrosefire
[December 10, 2018, 08:55:16 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[December 10, 2018, 04:49:22 PM]
Yoke and Rudder Centering with Dynamic Load Control / Force Feedbacl
by bernard S
[December 08, 2018, 12:14:01 PM]
anyone that can help me out get imperial size bolts??
by Gallie
[December 08, 2018, 11:03:29 AM]
OpenCockpits I/O Cards
by al23
[December 08, 2018, 09:22:52 AM]
Level D B767 For FS9
by Goodenough
[December 06, 2018, 08:19:20 PM]
Thickness of a resl 737-800 Glareshield / MCP Light panel
by Joe Lavery
[December 06, 2018, 01:13:54 PM]
Anyone had any experience with JetMax post the FDS sale?
by nickj
[December 05, 2018, 10:13:20 PM]
KLGA curious !!
by jackpilot
[December 03, 2018, 02:55:38 PM]
Opencockpits boards for sale
by navymustang
[December 03, 2018, 12:57:34 PM]
Does something like this Exist? Projection Glass
by fsaviator
[December 02, 2018, 02:49:40 PM]
Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
by ScottThePilot
[December 02, 2018, 12:27:31 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[December 02, 2018, 06:20:38 AM]
TH2GO Digital vs 3-DV Ports on GPU
by fsaviator
[December 01, 2018, 12:49:54 PM]
Project Magenta with Xplane 11
by Trevor Hale
[November 29, 2018, 03:05:14 PM]
X-plane and SIOC help
by Trevor Hale
[November 29, 2018, 07:43:32 AM]
Prepar3d v4.4 coming to you in 2 days!!!
by Flying_Fox
[November 28, 2018, 10:16:49 AM]
More Throttle Quadrant nightmares.
by iwik
[November 27, 2018, 03:47:31 PM]
Attention All Members and Guests
by Trevor Hale
[November 27, 2018, 02:21:47 PM]
I am now asking for a new world of hurt!
by fsaviator
[November 26, 2018, 11:50:19 PM]