Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 49
  • *Total: 51

FlightSimExpo 2018

Author Topic: Shell MIP Move  (Read 1052 times)

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Shell MIP Move
« on: December 07, 2017, 07:52:32 PM »
Hello Fellow Builders,

With my shell and liners due any day now, possibly tomorrow it will be busy times. The sim currently resides in my spare bedroom upstairs. Waiting patiently in the basement is the base.
My question to those who have been here before me. What would be best to do first, build the shell on the base or dismantle the MIP move it onto the base and build the shell around it? 
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,429
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2017, 09:22:22 PM »
Hi Ed,

Happy to hear you're about to take the next big leap with your sim!

In regards to your question, I believe most folks put the shell up first and then they put the MIP inside because it would be hard to get to the nuts and bolts on the inside of the shell that are behind the MIP. Although, if you did the front portion of the shell first, then put the MIP inside, then do the back of the shell last, it might workout. However, by doing the shell installation anywhere near the MIP you take the chance of dropping or bumping into it with a piece of the shell sections or parts. Some of those parts are heavy and/or have sharp or pointy edges, which would easily damage items on your MIP.

What are you using for base material, wood or metal platform? Will you post some pics in this new thread please? I ask because seeing what you're planning will make it easier too answer your questions...

John

Edit: I removed an irrelevant question.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2017, 10:28:13 PM by blueskydriver »
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,759
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2017, 09:52:53 PM »
Build the shell on the base and bring the  MIP in


Jack

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2017, 05:33:58 AM »
Hi Ed,

Happy to hear you're about to take the next big leap with your sim!
Thanks John :)

Quote
In regards to your question, I believe most folks put the shell up first and then they put the MIP inside because it would be hard to get to the nuts and bolts on the inside of the shell that are behind the MIP. Although, if you did the front portion of the shell first, then put the MIP inside, then do the back of the shell last, it might workout. However, by doing the shell installation anywhere near the MIP you take the chance of dropping or bumping into it with a piece of the shell sections or parts. Some of those parts are heavy and/or have sharp or pointy edges, which would easily damage items on your MIP.
All good points. I will do the shell first. As to the irrelevant, yes I ordered the black powder coated model. Too much winter left to consider painting myself. FDS had my order ready before I actually got home form work, so had to delay the shipping date. The estimated delivery was for today but due to a winter blizzard (which you may have got a taste of as well) the highways closed for a day so my shipment has probably been delayed. FDS was awesome to deal with, kept me informed every step of the way. I can't say enough good about this company. I think total wait time was roughly about a 6 weeks for shell and liners. Two weeks earlier than Peter had quoted me.[/quote]

Quote
What are you using for base material, wood or metal platform? Will you post some pics in this new thread please? I ask because seeing what you're planning will make it easier too answer your questions...

John

Edit: I removed an irrelevant question.

For the base I used 2 X 6 for the frame 3/4 inch plywood (good one side) for the top and casters on the bottom. I used a patchwork type design to make base cover easy to remove for maintenance . For now painted with 7011. The design is from Nick's site (Thanks Nick!) http://elephantair737.blogspot.ca/p/sim-base.html

Removed a line about having trouble adding a picture. It did add it:)
« Last Edit: December 08, 2017, 05:35:39 AM by Ed »
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2017, 05:39:46 AM »
Build the shell on the base and bring the  MIP in

Thanks Jack.  :)
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,759
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2017, 09:07:40 AM »
Check this old post, also try to install the overhead in before the MIP assembly.
(more elbow room...)
Once the MIP is complete and wired, slide it in on teflon pads. Fits right in.

http://www.flightdecksolutions.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3995&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=27


Jack

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2017, 07:15:33 PM »
Jack, that link seems to be broken!
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,759
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2017, 08:37:55 PM »
Problem seems to be the FDS forum.
probably temporary. Will follow up


Works now...
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 07:35:07 AM by jackpilot »


Jack

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2017, 09:17:37 AM »
 8) What a great and informative thread.  Thanks Jack !!! :)
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 08:10:42 PM by Ed »
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2017, 08:28:24 PM »
All working now Jack... ;)
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2017, 04:07:00 AM »
Well, it was -24C and a windchill of -35C yesterday morning at 10am when the shell and liners arrived. The packing was unbelievable, bubblewrap, foam and a mountain of cardboard. Not a scratch on anything though. Very impressed.

 Daughter in law took one of the pictures from her vantage point next door, she said I looked like a kid on Christmas morning standing by the truck waiting for the offload.

 The other picture shows everything stranded at the end of the driveway. The driver had a 1500 lb electric skid mover and we lined up with the driveway.. took a run at it with me pushing as well...but it soon bogged down in the snow :)  That was it for the truck driver..too cold he said..and was gone.

Ended up pulling it up the driveway a little closer to my door with my truck. Now I have everything in my basement waiting to assemble :)
« Last Edit: December 14, 2017, 04:09:19 AM by Ed »
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,429
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2017, 05:28:01 AM »
Can you hear Ed's big sigh of happiness? I do because he just got his FDS items, and I had that same sigh...albeit, without all the snow...you go Ed! HOORAY!

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,759
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2017, 08:10:46 AM »
Thanks for sharing....your excitement !
Snow/cold here too
Jack

You will see: hard to take your time with the shell but you have to in order to make a nice job. Feels like building a real airplane.
 Post pics.


Jack

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2017, 06:14:43 PM »
Hi All,

John, you read my mind :) Thanks for the vote of encouragement :)

Jack, I am experiencing exactly what you mean. Wanting to finish but resisting the urge to go too fast.  Most things have fit like a glove .There's a few holes..and I mean just a couple that I cannot line up for the life of me no matter how much pushing and prodding I do. Nothing torqued yet. So not sure if I should just just drill them out even or leave them. I dont think they are critical spots but rubs me wrong to leave them out.

This is where I'm at now. Slowly moving along.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,759
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2017, 07:29:09 PM »
Do not tighten yet
The most critical are the roof panels over the OVH, things get into place when the whole structure is built.
Once assembled and tightened  it is as rigid  as a stone block.
Been there.. so ask questions if you feel like it. :D



Jack

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #15 on: December 16, 2017, 05:52:17 AM »
Do not tighten yet
The most critical are the roof panels over the OVH, things get into place when the whole structure is built.
Once assembled and tightened  it is as rigid  as a stone block.
Been there.. so ask questions if you feel like it. :D

Thanks Jack.  Everything finger tight at the moment. Hope to get to the roof structure today. No other questions come to mind at the moment. Starting to look like a cockpit now :)
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,759
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #16 on: December 16, 2017, 08:43:09 AM »
You may have to loosen one panel to ease the fit of the next one and then tighten both at the same time. The back arch will align the sides perfectly.

Once finished you will have to cut out some access panels (from experience) I,ll tell you then.
Take your time to make it perfect.
 :D


Jack

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2017, 01:35:16 PM »
You may have to loosen one panel to ease the fit of the next one and then tighten both at the same time. The back arch will align the sides perfectly.

Once finished you will have to cut out some access panels (from experience) I,ll tell you then.
Take your time to make it perfect.
 :D

Hi Jack,

Well I have all the pieces of the shell in place however I have about 8 holes that I can see half a hole that refuse to line up to accept a bolt.  I have everything loose, in some places there are some fairly large gaps . I wonder if I start tightening down now, from the nose back that closing these gaps might give me the full holes that I need or will that make things worse.? Six of the half holes are in the last two small pieces that attach to the arch. The other 2 holes are at the bottom of where the front and side windows join the nose. Have enclosed some pics.  Your thoughts please.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2017, 02:04:29 PM by Ed »
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,759
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2017, 05:04:08 PM »
Looks good.
You have inevitably small offsets but the sim is not pressurized anyway :D
At some point I remember having to use longer bolts and things got pretty well aligned by tightening, If you have a few semi aligned holes disregard them and  drill a new hole through both lips (an inch away from the original holes) to have a good clean grip.


Jack

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2017, 05:13:45 PM »
Thanks for the advice Jack. Going to start tightening from the front and if things dont close up I'll get out the DeWalt :) She's definitely a beauty.. be awhile before flyable though :)
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,358
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2017, 05:17:06 PM »
She's definitely a beauty.. be awhile before flyable though :)

Building is 3/4 the fun though, and in this cold we are having.......... better not to be outside doing house stuff LOL..

Looks great!
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Shell MIP Move
« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2017, 06:17:47 PM »
Thanks Trevor :) I totally agree, building and flying is a great mix. We're going to get a slight break in the weather and then right back into the deep freeze again. Hauling that skid into the house in -35 windchill was enough outside sim work  to last me the winter :)
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

SimWorld Simbox disconnecting from Windows 10
by Caflyt
[Today at 08:16:40 AM]
searched: connector Boeing stickshaker
by Aerosim Solutions
[January 21, 2018, 05:20:04 PM]
Immersive Calibration Pro V2 in P3D v4 ?
by navymustang
[January 21, 2018, 02:25:05 PM]
Scott (and Rob's...) Chicago 737-300 Build
by Ed
[January 21, 2018, 07:48:33 AM]
Beechcraft Speaker Grills
by Joe Lavery
[January 21, 2018, 01:09:38 AM]
Going Live!
by Bob Reed
[January 20, 2018, 11:23:56 PM]
Jetmax 737 for sale !
by alexbaudi
[January 19, 2018, 10:09:07 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by Trevor Hale
[January 19, 2018, 10:02:25 AM]
Windows 7/10 updates
by RayS
[January 18, 2018, 07:32:17 PM]
Tons of 737 OEM stuff for Sale
by XOrionFE
[January 17, 2018, 12:22:29 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by jackpilot
[January 16, 2018, 07:27:12 PM]
Jeehell: The AP does not follow the lateral guidance from the FD
by emulov
[January 16, 2018, 02:58:37 PM]
Real Harrier sim, voice comms help needed
by RayS
[January 15, 2018, 07:36:17 PM]
My Generic GA Build
by fsaviator
[January 15, 2018, 12:22:39 PM]
Flight Control Pot bleedover
by brianwilliamson
[January 15, 2018, 12:48:59 AM]
SOLD, for sale: OEM cables + connectors from FWD OVHD 737 classic
by jameas
[January 14, 2018, 03:28:59 PM]
Cockpits for Sale...mine?
by blueskydriver
[January 14, 2018, 07:28:29 AM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Caflyt
[January 12, 2018, 05:17:32 AM]
Projector issue advice
by fsaviator
[January 09, 2018, 11:36:18 PM]
CPFlight MIP board
by fsaviator
[January 09, 2018, 11:33:17 PM]
PFC Yokes and Pedals, B727, and B737 Cockpits For Sale
by jackpilot
[January 09, 2018, 08:30:14 PM]
Weather set problem
by BABA767
[January 09, 2018, 05:46:56 PM]
737-800 aluminium MIP backplate
by kurt-olsson
[January 09, 2018, 02:30:31 PM]
Sismo equipment suite with WideTraffic - failed Ethernet interafaces
by FredK
[January 09, 2018, 11:14:49 AM]
I want your feedback!
by archen
[January 08, 2018, 02:22:52 PM]
B767 MIP
by 737NGer
[January 07, 2018, 09:54:02 AM]
Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
by DaveA320
[January 06, 2018, 09:56:08 PM]
Boeing 737-800 MIP announciators
by 737NGer
[January 06, 2018, 10:56:11 AM]
German B738NG Homecockpit-Projekt
by MjTom
[January 06, 2018, 09:05:26 AM]
737 toe brake force
by Gallie
[January 05, 2018, 11:00:52 AM]