Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 5
  • *Guests: 15
  • *Total: 20

Author Topic: Software add on (RAAS)  (Read 1802 times)

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,164
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Software add on (RAAS)
« on: February 16, 2017, 07:08:53 PM »
Hey folks. I have been watching a few videos of other builders who do not come here, or at least that I know of. Some of them are running a software that announces the runway as they approach it on taxi. Anyone know that name of one?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2017, 06:59:30 PM by jackpilot »

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,684
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 07:28:38 PM »


Jack

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,164
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 08:07:39 PM »
Hmmmm, does that work with P3D? I am looking now.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 10:27:42 PM »
Hi Bob,

That's RAAS Professional. Runway Awareness and Advisary System software . I've been using it in FSX-SE for several years now. I couldnt be  without it now. I'm not sure about P3D, but my guess is that it does work with that platform. It's worth every penny IMHO. If it works with P3D  GO Get It :)

Ed

PS: In the real life 737's it's develped by Honeywell Industries.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,684
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2017, 11:07:21 PM »
The link I gave you is Payware at about 6 USD
Minimal risk !
FS2 Crew same soft is about 30
Your pick !  :D


Jack

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,396
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Software add on
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2017, 11:45:55 PM »
Here is a quick read for the members who don't know what this is:

http://www.flaps2approach.com/journal/2012/6/14/runway-awareness-advisory-system-raas-fs-add-on.html

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 346
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: Software add on
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2017, 09:22:01 AM »
ForeFlight does this too now. Also calls out 500' on descent.
Kinda freaky when it does it in the sim as it is really loud so that you'd hear it in an aircraft. That said, with the engine noise and the headsets, I've yet to hear it in the real plane.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,164
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2017, 04:55:29 PM »
Will give RAAS a try this weekend. At $6.00, not much risk. If it does not work I will look into FS2Crew, it just looked like that did a lot more then I wanted.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 268
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2017, 08:54:09 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline dougsnow

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: DOUGLAS
  • Home Location: KMEM
Re: Software add on
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2017, 09:57:59 AM »
My airline has the RAAS system installed in all aircraft - its saved several crews from blasting off runways that they werent cleared for. 

Here is a YT video with it - we just have the runway callouts (I think), we have the same voice.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBSPpLE6EDY

In the preflight, when the crew tests the system, it responds with "runway awareness ok feet"

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 415
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Software add on
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2017, 05:38:42 PM »
I wonder if Harrison Ford should invest in one of these ....  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,164
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2017, 08:55:32 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.

Can you tell me how you installed it in P3D? In stalled it but it does not work.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 268
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on (RAAS)
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2017, 11:21:06 AM »
I just re-installed again to make sure I knew what I did. I just followed the instructions for P3D v3 and it installed perfectly.
I assume that you looked in the addon menu item to see if RAAS was there. If it is, you may need to load a profile (e.g., 737NG) and turn on the master switch. Then perform an audio test to ensure it works.

If it is not loading, I would simply make sure that it is uninstalled correctly, perhaps even looking at the registry.

Then try again - it does work perfectly on my sim.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Flyengravity order process
by Skysurfer170
[Today at 09:06:28 AM]
FDS-O2 Panels For Sale!!! Realiable Realistic Panels!!!
by KyleH
[Today at 07:01:13 AM]
Opencockpit Indicator Boxes (in US?)
by Nolatron
[November 21, 2017, 05:14:26 PM]
A320 of Fcoq
by Fcoq
[November 21, 2017, 03:00:10 PM]
Simkit flaps
by jackpilot
[November 21, 2017, 02:19:35 PM]
Ok to use only 2 of 4 fastners on crosstube bearing.
by kurt-olsson
[November 21, 2017, 07:57:19 AM]
Worldflight 2017 Conclusion
by Trevor Hale
[November 21, 2017, 07:16:44 AM]
Wooden overhead frame
by Jimmerrelie
[November 20, 2017, 08:49:22 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[November 20, 2017, 04:07:23 PM]
Another 737 builder :)
by kurt-olsson
[November 19, 2017, 09:08:20 AM]
Home Built Full B737-200 Sim for Sale - Richmond, BC Canada
by Bob Reed
[November 17, 2017, 10:03:12 PM]
Down memory lane - What was the first home cockpit SIM you saw?
by RayS
[November 17, 2017, 02:59:17 PM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[November 17, 2017, 02:44:35 PM]
Oh Boy!!
by Bob Reed
[November 17, 2017, 01:37:54 PM]
FDS Shell Black or Raw Aluminum
by bernard S
[November 16, 2017, 06:15:12 PM]
B737 Startswitches
by archen
[November 16, 2017, 12:17:22 PM]
Worldflight Perth Crew news
by Trevor Hale
[November 16, 2017, 07:21:04 AM]
Jorge from NAVCOM
by Caflyt
[November 15, 2017, 04:50:25 PM]
Wanted 5inch screen
by fsaviator
[November 14, 2017, 08:41:16 PM]
737 FWD Overhead Switch Diagram
by MistyBlue
[November 13, 2017, 10:16:15 AM]
Sim out of the hangar
by Fcoq
[November 13, 2017, 10:05:13 AM]
Question for those that have converted real TQs
by mickc
[November 12, 2017, 02:47:54 PM]
Hey - PFD/ECAMS TFT
by BGStudios
[November 12, 2017, 01:22:55 PM]
Camera setup?
by Trevor Hale
[November 12, 2017, 07:48:26 AM]
Sim Progress (BAe146)
by Erj145sim
[November 11, 2017, 08:28:20 PM]
Where to order custom metal rod with predrilled holes.
by bernard S
[November 11, 2017, 11:48:38 AM]
737NG Single Seat Trainer "Starter Kit" :-)
by Captbrian
[November 10, 2017, 08:30:12 PM]
B737 DIY Gauges servo gears ??
by mickc
[November 10, 2017, 07:52:07 PM]
Delta 209
by blueskydriver
[November 10, 2017, 07:06:30 PM]
WorldFlightUSA - UAL 1120 Schedule
by Trevor Hale
[November 10, 2017, 03:53:00 PM]