Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 33
  • *Total: 34

Author Topic: Software add on (RAAS)  (Read 1382 times)

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,059
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Software add on (RAAS)
« on: February 16, 2017, 07:08:53 PM »
Hey folks. I have been watching a few videos of other builders who do not come here, or at least that I know of. Some of them are running a software that announces the runway as they approach it on taxi. Anyone know that name of one?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2017, 06:59:30 PM by jackpilot »

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,607
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 07:28:38 PM »


Jack

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,059
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 08:07:39 PM »
Hmmmm, does that work with P3D? I am looking now.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 89
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 10:27:42 PM »
Hi Bob,

That's RAAS Professional. Runway Awareness and Advisary System software . I've been using it in FSX-SE for several years now. I couldnt be  without it now. I'm not sure about P3D, but my guess is that it does work with that platform. It's worth every penny IMHO. If it works with P3D  GO Get It :)

Ed

PS: In the real life 737's it's develped by Honeywell Industries.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,607
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2017, 11:07:21 PM »
The link I gave you is Payware at about 6 USD
Minimal risk !
FS2 Crew same soft is about 30
Your pick !  :D


Jack

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,295
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Software add on
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2017, 11:45:55 PM »
Here is a quick read for the members who don't know what this is:

http://www.flaps2approach.com/journal/2012/6/14/runway-awareness-advisory-system-raas-fs-add-on.html

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline KyleH

  • Moderator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 344
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: Software add on
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2017, 09:22:01 AM »
ForeFlight does this too now. Also calls out 500' on descent.
Kinda freaky when it does it in the sim as it is really loud so that you'd hear it in an aircraft. That said, with the engine noise and the headsets, I've yet to hear it in the real plane.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,059
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2017, 04:55:29 PM »
Will give RAAS a try this weekend. At $6.00, not much risk. If it does not work I will look into FS2Crew, it just looked like that did a lot more then I wanted.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 228
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2017, 08:54:09 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline dougsnow

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 56
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: DOUGLAS
  • Home Location: KMEM
Re: Software add on
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2017, 09:57:59 AM »
My airline has the RAAS system installed in all aircraft - its saved several crews from blasting off runways that they werent cleared for. 

Here is a YT video with it - we just have the runway callouts (I think), we have the same voice.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBSPpLE6EDY

In the preflight, when the crew tests the system, it responds with "runway awareness ok feet"

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 387
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Software add on
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2017, 05:38:42 PM »
I wonder if Harrison Ford should invest in one of these ....  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,059
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2017, 08:55:32 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.

Can you tell me how you installed it in P3D? In stalled it but it does not work.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 228
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on (RAAS)
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2017, 11:21:06 AM »
I just re-installed again to make sure I knew what I did. I just followed the instructions for P3D v3 and it installed perfectly.
I assume that you looked in the addon menu item to see if RAAS was there. If it is, you may need to load a profile (e.g., 737NG) and turn on the master switch. Then perform an audio test to ensure it works.

If it is not loading, I would simply make sure that it is uninstalled correctly, perhaps even looking at the registry.

Then try again - it does work perfectly on my sim.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

Recent Posts

Immersive Display Warping Stopped Working
by ZK CWD
[Today at 06:17:56 PM]
737 OEM Panels
by bernard S
[Today at 05:16:25 PM]
New 737 builder here. P3D/PS or X-Plane?
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 03:06:41 PM]
x737 v5 released
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 12:59:15 PM]
Another great custom addition from Ruscool...
by 737NGer
[Today at 08:49:43 AM]
Widetraffic for V4
by Ed
[July 22, 2017, 06:28:37 AM]
Starting to feel like an addict...
by kurt-olsson
[July 21, 2017, 03:53:36 PM]
3D Printed Force Feedback Yoke
by Jay 737
[July 21, 2017, 06:44:29 AM]
use pedestal circuit breakers
by mickc
[July 20, 2017, 04:47:45 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[July 19, 2017, 03:19:26 PM]
737NG Cockpit Floor Rivet Sizes and Locations
by bernard S
[July 19, 2017, 12:38:49 PM]
New Cockpit Builder - Project Changes
by blueskydriver
[July 19, 2017, 10:14:24 AM]
Opions / Reviews on NFS Yokes, CFY TQ, and FDS Rudder
by airupthere
[July 19, 2017, 08:40:46 AM]
5VDC dimmer required
by Aerosim Solutions
[July 18, 2017, 06:46:12 PM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[July 18, 2017, 05:29:29 AM]
Weber seat restoration
by blueskydriver
[July 18, 2017, 02:01:12 AM]
Tiller Steering Airbus
by eduardohbm
[July 17, 2017, 08:59:09 PM]
Air vents for sale (SOLD)
by 737man
[July 17, 2017, 01:36:40 PM]
HEY GUYS! WANNA SPEED UP YOUR COMPUTER?
by kurt-olsson
[July 17, 2017, 02:22:02 AM]
Eastern Airlines 727 Cockpit Layout Diagrams?
by DC9legacy
[July 16, 2017, 10:19:31 PM]
Revolution Simproducts V2.0 Plug & Play Throttle help
by Garys
[July 16, 2017, 04:45:57 PM]
WidevieW
by Ed
[July 16, 2017, 01:44:31 PM]
737 CDU for sale
by pierclav
[July 15, 2017, 04:15:39 AM]
P3D v4 Multi Channel
by Nat Crea
[July 15, 2017, 02:54:56 AM]
Calculating amp draw
by Mach7
[July 14, 2017, 10:49:53 AM]
CRJ cockpit for sale
by Goodenough
[July 13, 2017, 04:27:04 PM]
OEM Duct pressure gauge
by jackpilot
[July 13, 2017, 12:38:17 PM]
Looking for 2 eyeball ducts fr my 737 cockpit
by jackpilot
[July 13, 2017, 10:28:52 AM]
Advice on room size
by Caflyt
[July 13, 2017, 05:54:56 AM]
How to correct crab angle view question
by ebaw
[July 13, 2017, 03:35:16 AM]