Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 33
  • *Total: 34

FlightSimExpo 2018

Author Topic: Software add on (RAAS)  (Read 2181 times)

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,258
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Software add on (RAAS)
« on: February 16, 2017, 07:08:53 PM »
Hey folks. I have been watching a few videos of other builders who do not come here, or at least that I know of. Some of them are running a software that announces the runway as they approach it on taxi. Anyone know that name of one?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2017, 06:59:30 PM by jackpilot »

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,792
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 07:28:38 PM »


Jack

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,258
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 08:07:39 PM »
Hmmmm, does that work with P3D? I am looking now.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 159
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 10:27:42 PM »
Hi Bob,

That's RAAS Professional. Runway Awareness and Advisary System software . I've been using it in FSX-SE for several years now. I couldnt be  without it now. I'm not sure about P3D, but my guess is that it does work with that platform. It's worth every penny IMHO. If it works with P3D  GO Get It :)

Ed

PS: In the real life 737's it's develped by Honeywell Industries.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,792
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2017, 11:07:21 PM »
The link I gave you is Payware at about 6 USD
Minimal risk !
FS2 Crew same soft is about 30
Your pick !  :D


Jack

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,452
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Software add on
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2017, 11:45:55 PM »
Here is a quick read for the members who don't know what this is:

http://www.flaps2approach.com/journal/2012/6/14/runway-awareness-advisory-system-raas-fs-add-on.html

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: Software add on
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2017, 09:22:01 AM »
ForeFlight does this too now. Also calls out 500' on descent.
Kinda freaky when it does it in the sim as it is really loud so that you'd hear it in an aircraft. That said, with the engine noise and the headsets, I've yet to hear it in the real plane.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,258
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2017, 04:55:29 PM »
Will give RAAS a try this weekend. At $6.00, not much risk. If it does not work I will look into FS2Crew, it just looked like that did a lot more then I wanted.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 326
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2017, 08:54:09 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline dougsnow

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: DOUGLAS
  • Home Location: KMEM
Re: Software add on
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2017, 09:57:59 AM »
My airline has the RAAS system installed in all aircraft - its saved several crews from blasting off runways that they werent cleared for. 

Here is a YT video with it - we just have the runway callouts (I think), we have the same voice.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBSPpLE6EDY

In the preflight, when the crew tests the system, it responds with "runway awareness ok feet"

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 429
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Software add on
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2017, 05:38:42 PM »
I wonder if Harrison Ford should invest in one of these ....  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,258
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2017, 08:55:32 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.

Can you tell me how you installed it in P3D? In stalled it but it does not work.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 326
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on (RAAS)
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2017, 11:21:06 AM »
I just re-installed again to make sure I knew what I did. I just followed the instructions for P3D v3 and it installed perfectly.
I assume that you looked in the addon menu item to see if RAAS was there. If it is, you may need to load a profile (e.g., 737NG) and turn on the master switch. Then perform an audio test to ensure it works.

If it is not loading, I would simply make sure that it is uninstalled correctly, perhaps even looking at the registry.

Then try again - it does work perfectly on my sim.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Projectors or 4K Monitors?
by Philip
[February 18, 2018, 11:44:41 PM]
Visuals upgrade - inspiration needed
by Ed
[February 18, 2018, 11:36:53 PM]
Pedestal blanks / Fillers
by Atomic_Sheep
[February 18, 2018, 08:55:28 PM]
FSUIPC
by ifeliciano
[February 18, 2018, 07:47:31 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Bob Reed
[February 18, 2018, 05:55:23 PM]
MESH HELP
by Trevor Hale
[February 18, 2018, 03:10:35 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by Trevor Hale
[February 18, 2018, 10:10:44 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by 727737Nut
[February 18, 2018, 08:34:04 AM]
Wanted: Real Boeing 737 TQ
by Steenos
[February 17, 2018, 09:39:13 PM]
FlightSimExpo - June 9 - 10 2018
by James twomey
[February 17, 2018, 08:30:35 PM]
Fitting Forward Overhead Frame
by Ed
[February 17, 2018, 06:50:23 PM]
New Compass for King Air
by Joe Lavery
[February 17, 2018, 06:05:15 PM]
Well.... There is half! lol
by Trevor Hale
[February 17, 2018, 11:15:35 AM]
Post Your Pit!!!! 1000 Member Show and Tell
by Bob Reed
[February 16, 2018, 02:50:05 PM]
Attention All Members and Guests
by Trevor Hale
[February 16, 2018, 11:47:59 AM]
Hispa help....please
by Bob Reed
[February 16, 2018, 08:42:10 AM]
Marking wires
by Sam Llorca
[February 16, 2018, 06:22:10 AM]
Real Switch Amps
by Atomic_Sheep
[February 16, 2018, 04:40:54 AM]
REAL 737 TQ SORRY JUST SOLD!!!
by Trevor Hale
[February 15, 2018, 02:00:26 PM]
Aircraft config and question
by Patt737
[February 15, 2018, 01:46:34 PM]
B767 MIP
by kurt-olsson
[February 15, 2018, 11:14:07 AM]
Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
by jmlohrenz
[February 14, 2018, 06:45:35 PM]
Prepar3D v4.2 Now Available!
by Trevor Hale
[February 14, 2018, 02:43:59 PM]
Altitude warning
by jackpilot
[February 14, 2018, 11:50:00 AM]
DC3 measurements
by Sam Llorca
[February 14, 2018, 06:03:55 AM]
MIP IOcard and mother Card
by Captbrian
[February 13, 2018, 09:01:04 PM]
737-800 flight model
by blueskydriver
[February 13, 2018, 01:46:34 PM]