Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 76
  • *Total: 77

FlightSimExpo 2018

Our Discord

Author Topic: Software add on (RAAS)  (Read 2387 times)

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,325
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Software add on (RAAS)
« on: February 16, 2017, 07:08:53 PM »
Hey folks. I have been watching a few videos of other builders who do not come here, or at least that I know of. Some of them are running a software that announces the runway as they approach it on taxi. Anyone know that name of one?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2017, 06:59:30 PM by jackpilot »

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,893
  • Karma: +38/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 07:28:38 PM »


Jack

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,325
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 08:07:39 PM »
Hmmmm, does that work with P3D? I am looking now.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 10:27:42 PM »
Hi Bob,

That's RAAS Professional. Runway Awareness and Advisary System software . I've been using it in FSX-SE for several years now. I couldnt be  without it now. I'm not sure about P3D, but my guess is that it does work with that platform. It's worth every penny IMHO. If it works with P3D  GO Get It :)

Ed

PS: In the real life 737's it's develped by Honeywell Industries.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,893
  • Karma: +38/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2017, 11:07:21 PM »
The link I gave you is Payware at about 6 USD
Minimal risk !
FS2 Crew same soft is about 30
Your pick !  :D


Jack

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,555
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Software add on
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2017, 11:45:55 PM »
Here is a quick read for the members who don't know what this is:

http://www.flaps2approach.com/journal/2012/6/14/runway-awareness-advisory-system-raas-fs-add-on.html

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: Software add on
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2017, 09:22:01 AM »
ForeFlight does this too now. Also calls out 500' on descent.
Kinda freaky when it does it in the sim as it is really loud so that you'd hear it in an aircraft. That said, with the engine noise and the headsets, I've yet to hear it in the real plane.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,325
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2017, 04:55:29 PM »
Will give RAAS a try this weekend. At $6.00, not much risk. If it does not work I will look into FS2Crew, it just looked like that did a lot more then I wanted.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2017, 08:54:09 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline dougsnow

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: DOUGLAS
  • Home Location: KMEM
Re: Software add on
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2017, 09:57:59 AM »
My airline has the RAAS system installed in all aircraft - its saved several crews from blasting off runways that they werent cleared for. 

Here is a YT video with it - we just have the runway callouts (I think), we have the same voice.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBSPpLE6EDY

In the preflight, when the crew tests the system, it responds with "runway awareness ok feet"

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 455
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Software add on
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2017, 05:38:42 PM »
I wonder if Harrison Ford should invest in one of these ....  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,325
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2017, 08:55:32 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.

Can you tell me how you installed it in P3D? In stalled it but it does not work.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on (RAAS)
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2017, 11:21:06 AM »
I just re-installed again to make sure I knew what I did. I just followed the instructions for P3D v3 and it installed perfectly.
I assume that you looked in the addon menu item to see if RAAS was there. If it is, you may need to load a profile (e.g., 737NG) and turn on the master switch. Then perform an audio test to ensure it works.

If it is not loading, I would simply make sure that it is uninstalled correctly, perhaps even looking at the registry.

Then try again - it does work perfectly on my sim.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Aircraft config and question
by Bob Reed
[April 19, 2018, 04:43:44 PM]
SIOC Script needed for Opencockpit USBDCMOTORPLUS Card and Prosim
by jfuenmayor
[April 19, 2018, 09:07:20 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by kurt-olsson
[April 19, 2018, 06:18:50 AM]
Hello from Indiana
by mickc
[April 18, 2018, 10:15:56 PM]
Building a MIP out of MDF
by Aerosim Solutions
[April 18, 2018, 06:49:50 PM]
Playing with Arduino
by Bob Reed
[April 18, 2018, 10:03:23 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[April 18, 2018, 04:28:22 AM]
My 737 Desktop Cockpit
by Bob Reed
[April 17, 2018, 10:29:53 PM]
Today's flight through that massive storm system on the East coast...
by RayS
[April 16, 2018, 09:37:34 PM]
[SOLVED] Opencockpits Displays II card Microcontroller
by KyleH
[April 16, 2018, 09:28:49 PM]
Server Update:
by Trevor Hale
[April 16, 2018, 07:52:10 PM]
Landing lights PM aircraft
by Bob Reed
[April 16, 2018, 07:50:45 AM]
A Sad day for the Sim last week
by Trevor Hale
[April 16, 2018, 12:57:12 AM]
Looking for Go Flight EFIS
by al23
[April 15, 2018, 03:40:33 PM]
Do you live in the Calgary AB area?
by iwik
[April 15, 2018, 12:35:40 PM]
B737NG OEM build
by jeffreyk
[April 15, 2018, 01:51:26 AM]
Fly-Elise Tutorial
by tennyson
[April 15, 2018, 12:18:44 AM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[April 14, 2018, 03:21:48 PM]
Wanted: Real Boeing 737 TQ
by Joe Lavery
[April 13, 2018, 04:53:26 PM]
Sun-N-Fun Lakeland
by Caflyt
[April 13, 2018, 10:59:50 AM]
New video presentation about my OEM Boeing 737 cockpit conversion
by navymustang
[April 12, 2018, 02:09:19 PM]
Already ready for WF2018!
by Sam Llorca
[April 12, 2018, 07:27:29 AM]
Electric Panel Window opening size
by ifeliciano
[April 11, 2018, 11:32:14 PM]
Dummy Oxygen Mask
by carlostxnl
[April 11, 2018, 06:38:52 AM]
The Progression of a build [Phase One]
by GyverX
[April 10, 2018, 09:29:52 PM]
Temporary throttle needed !
by Caflyt
[April 10, 2018, 10:28:45 AM]
Cockpits, INCOME TAX SEASON SALE!
by blueskydriver
[April 09, 2018, 08:47:29 PM]
SOLD!!! For Sale, a GoFlight MCP I/O card and 2 GoFlight I/O cards.
by blueskydriver
[April 09, 2018, 08:35:59 PM]
FlightSimExpo - June 9 - 10 2018
by FlightSimExpo
[April 09, 2018, 04:55:53 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Steenos
[April 09, 2018, 02:05:43 PM]