Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 29
  • *Total: 30

Author Topic: Software add on (RAAS)  (Read 1137 times)

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,058
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Software add on (RAAS)
« on: February 16, 2017, 07:08:53 PM »
Hey folks. I have been watching a few videos of other builders who do not come here, or at least that I know of. Some of them are running a software that announces the runway as they approach it on taxi. Anyone know that name of one?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2017, 06:59:30 PM by jackpilot »

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,523
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 07:28:38 PM »
Jack

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,058
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 08:07:39 PM »
Hmmmm, does that work with P3D? I am looking now.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 10:27:42 PM »
Hi Bob,

That's RAAS Professional. Runway Awareness and Advisary System software . I've been using it in FSX-SE for several years now. I couldnt be  without it now. I'm not sure about P3D, but my guess is that it does work with that platform. It's worth every penny IMHO. If it works with P3D  GO Get It :)

Ed

PS: In the real life 737's it's develped by Honeywell Industries.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,523
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Software add on
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2017, 11:07:21 PM »
The link I gave you is Payware at about 6 USD
Minimal risk !
FS2 Crew same soft is about 30
Your pick !  :D
Jack

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,267
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Software add on
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2017, 11:45:55 PM »
Here is a quick read for the members who don't know what this is:

http://www.flaps2approach.com/journal/2012/6/14/runway-awareness-advisory-system-raas-fs-add-on.html

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline KyleH

  • Moderator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 337
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: Software add on
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2017, 09:22:01 AM »
ForeFlight does this too now. Also calls out 500' on descent.
Kinda freaky when it does it in the sim as it is really loud so that you'd hear it in an aircraft. That said, with the engine noise and the headsets, I've yet to hear it in the real plane.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,058
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2017, 04:55:29 PM »
Will give RAAS a try this weekend. At $6.00, not much risk. If it does not work I will look into FS2Crew, it just looked like that did a lot more then I wanted.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 196
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2017, 08:54:09 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline dougsnow

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 56
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: DOUGLAS
  • Home Location: KMEM
Re: Software add on
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2017, 09:57:59 AM »
My airline has the RAAS system installed in all aircraft - its saved several crews from blasting off runways that they werent cleared for. 

Here is a YT video with it - we just have the runway callouts (I think), we have the same voice.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBSPpLE6EDY

In the preflight, when the crew tests the system, it responds with "runway awareness ok feet"

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 349
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Software add on
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2017, 05:38:42 PM »
I wonder if Harrison Ford should invest in one of these ....  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,058
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Software add on
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2017, 08:55:32 PM »
Here is a vote for using RAAS. I have it running on P3D and Prosim and enjoy the experience.

Can you tell me how you installed it in P3D? In stalled it but it does not work.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 196
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Software add on (RAAS)
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2017, 11:21:06 AM »
I just re-installed again to make sure I knew what I did. I just followed the instructions for P3D v3 and it installed perfectly.
I assume that you looked in the addon menu item to see if RAAS was there. If it is, you may need to load a profile (e.g., 737NG) and turn on the master switch. Then perform an audio test to ensure it works.

If it is not loading, I would simply make sure that it is uninstalled correctly, perhaps even looking at the registry.

Then try again - it does work perfectly on my sim.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

Recent Posts

Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
by Nat Crea
[Today at 02:37:42 AM]
HELP with PM
by burgafilms
[May 29, 2017, 07:37:00 PM]
Happy Birthday Simlady/Karen!!!
by flymo
[May 29, 2017, 12:29:43 PM]
Advice on room size
by fsaviator
[May 29, 2017, 12:14:13 PM]
Visuals feel off center
by mdavenport
[May 29, 2017, 02:40:10 AM]
Oasis 737 Project
by mickc
[May 28, 2017, 09:30:34 PM]
Gear sound when using Prosim 737, P3D and Sismo hardware
by navymustang
[May 28, 2017, 08:53:17 PM]
New AFT OVH
by jackpilot
[May 28, 2017, 04:27:56 PM]
727/737 cockpit shell
by blueskydriver
[May 28, 2017, 01:05:34 PM]
747 1st class seats
by bernard S
[May 27, 2017, 08:57:31 AM]
Blueskydriver's New Hanger
by blueskydriver
[May 27, 2017, 08:23:42 AM]
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
by Ridgenj
[May 26, 2017, 10:47:51 PM]
My Hangar
by sagrada737
[May 26, 2017, 12:35:20 PM]
Circuit Breaker Challenge- B737 or other type
by blueskydriver
[May 25, 2017, 04:59:29 PM]
Wire gauge?
by jackpilot
[May 24, 2017, 10:34:50 PM]
WANTED....FDS SYS1 card
by Caflyt
[May 24, 2017, 05:09:11 PM]
For Sale : One More FDS B747 PRO-MX CDU
by farrokh747
[May 24, 2017, 04:42:18 PM]
Cool Captain
by RayS
[May 24, 2017, 12:34:35 PM]
Simworld CDU Bay, Lower EICAS and CAN BUS For Sale
by mdavenport
[May 24, 2017, 02:10:19 AM]
747 Auto speed brake current query
by mickc
[May 23, 2017, 06:07:12 PM]
Flight Deck Solutions MX MCP + Captain EFIS for sale
by mdavenport
[May 23, 2017, 04:28:15 PM]
WorldFlight 2017 Route Is Published
by Trevor Hale
[May 23, 2017, 02:07:06 PM]
737 Visual using monitors
by Jimmerrelie
[May 23, 2017, 05:56:54 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by blueskydriver
[May 22, 2017, 04:26:06 PM]
Building to host a cockpit?
by mdavenport
[May 22, 2017, 06:45:17 AM]
UK insurance?
by jackpilot
[May 21, 2017, 01:03:28 PM]
Ipeco seat armrest removal
by Gallie
[May 20, 2017, 11:05:49 AM]
Guess the cockpit game!
by kurt-olsson
[May 16, 2017, 10:42:24 AM]
Just when I thought the MIP was complete....
by Trevor Hale
[May 16, 2017, 04:46:38 AM]
MCP speed setting problem
by Bob Reed
[May 14, 2017, 10:12:03 PM]