Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 34
  • *Total: 36

Author Topic: Oasis 737 Project  (Read 8682 times)

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #25 on: April 23, 2017, 07:53:30 AM »
Does anyone know what this module is, just below the F/O clock?

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 397
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2017, 09:05:37 AM »
Its the annunciator panel for the HGS system (head up display)

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2017, 10:00:53 AM »
Thanks Mick


Is it the same as the one on the pedestal?


Is it an airline option, or is it standardised on the NG?

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 397
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #28 on: April 23, 2017, 10:05:55 AM »
No, the one on the pedestal is the actual control panel for the HUD, the on under the clock just shows the mode, status and failure annunciators.

Not standard on the NG, its an airline/customer option, but they are becoming more popular these days. 

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #29 on: April 23, 2017, 10:49:09 AM »
Any Idea what the P/N is for this panel?

Does it function like most other panels (basic I/O) or ARINC 429?


Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 253
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #30 on: April 23, 2017, 03:20:07 PM »
I have this panel in my sim. PM me and I can send you details.
Jim
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #31 on: April 23, 2017, 04:52:24 PM »
PM Sent

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #32 on: April 28, 2017, 09:58:27 AM »
Hello,

Do all Blue Annunciators in the overhead have both dim and bright indications, or only some of the annunciators?

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 397
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #33 on: April 28, 2017, 10:05:36 AM »
Only the ones that relate to a valve, eg spar valve, crossfeed valve, anti-ice valves etc have 2 states depending on the valve's commanded vs actual position

The gnd power, gen off bus lights, ram door & call lights are bright only  (plus on the real plane you have the bright / dim function for normal annunciators)

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #34 on: April 28, 2017, 10:09:22 AM »
Thank you Mick.

Does the MAINT annunciator on P5-4 APU Panel have a bright and dim mode?

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 397
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #35 on: April 28, 2017, 10:23:52 AM »
Negative, only the normal master bright/dim

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #36 on: April 28, 2017, 11:04:28 AM »
Thank you.

A great help as always!

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #37 on: April 29, 2017, 08:11:23 AM »
Can anyone clarify what this circuit symbol means?

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 253
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #38 on: April 29, 2017, 10:20:20 AM »
Not in any of my reference manuals. Could it be a rotary switch?
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #39 on: April 29, 2017, 10:59:58 AM »
Don't think it's a rotary. Nothing mechanically operated, as it's part of a PCB I think.

I found it in a Boeing manual.

Here's another schematic

Could it be a relay?
« Last Edit: April 29, 2017, 11:01:24 AM by 737NGer »

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 342
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #40 on: April 29, 2017, 02:16:35 PM »
Its a logic/solid state switch. Only found inside boxes.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #41 on: April 29, 2017, 04:43:04 PM »
Excuse my noob electronics knowledge, but shouldn't there be a return or ground?

How does it work exactly?

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 342
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #42 on: April 29, 2017, 07:39:43 PM »
These are not mechanical switches and are commonly used with logic gates as well. These are all inside LRU's (Line replaceable units) on circuit boards.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2017, 07:42:13 PM by Garys »

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 397
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #43 on: April 29, 2017, 08:16:59 PM »
Exactly what Garys said.  It will most likely be a switching transistor, that will switch depending on what it sees on pin 31 according to the diagram.  It's a bit hard to tell without seeing the whole schematic.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #44 on: April 30, 2017, 06:59:04 AM »
Turned out to be a transistor. The switch was just a simplification it seems. In another schematic, the switch is replaced with a transistor.

« Last Edit: April 30, 2017, 07:00:57 AM by 737NGer »

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #45 on: May 23, 2017, 05:40:22 PM »
Testing out circuits and going through schematics.

In need of a circuit simulator software as well as a PCB design software.

Any recommendations?

Thanks,
Youssef
« Last Edit: May 23, 2017, 05:40:53 PM by 737NGer »

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 523
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #46 on: May 23, 2017, 09:25:10 PM »
Fritzing is a simple circuit design program, which is also free.
http://fritzing.org/download/

Or if you need something more substantial there's EagleCad, or the one I use is DesignSpark PCB, which is also free.
https://www.autodesk.com/products/eagle/free-download
https://www.rs-online.com/designspark/pcb-software

There are also a number of free Circuit Simulators, although I've never used any of them.
http://nl5.sidelinesoft.com/index.php?page=buy&lang=en
http://qucs.sourceforge.net/
https://easyeda.com/

Hope that helps,
Joe.



'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #47 on: May 24, 2017, 07:00:25 AM »
Thank you very much Joe.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #48 on: May 26, 2017, 11:10:41 AM »
This terminal labelled 5V ... Does it supply +5VDC to the circuit or does it do something else? 😅

This is a Phidgets 1012 card.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2017, 11:12:31 AM by 737NGer »

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 523
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #49 on: May 26, 2017, 12:35:52 PM »
There is no power input socket on this board, so I would guess that the 5 volts is tapped from your USB.
I also see from the schematic on the Phidgets website that there's a 5 volt and ground connector on both sides, but the data doesn't really mention them.  :huh:

http://www.phidgets.com/products.php?category=0&product_id=1012_2
Manuals at the bottom on the page!

It's an input / output board, so I'm surprised there's no power input, but in all honesty I'm not familiar with it. I would drop Phidgets a line or try their forum.
If you do use it and make use of the 5volt connector, I would be careful not to draw much current or you could blow the USB port on your PC.  :(

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net

 

Recent Posts

FDS B747 PRO-MX CDU for Sale
by bernard S
[Today at 09:44:31 AM]
737 builds?
by booky
[Today at 01:14:43 AM]
The Sim
by Bob Reed
[September 21, 2017, 11:31:45 PM]
P3Dv4 NOT 64bit!
by Bob Reed
[September 21, 2017, 10:11:08 PM]
Font height measurements -B737 Cockpit panels
by ifeliciano
[September 21, 2017, 06:21:49 PM]
Prosimparts Pedestal Panels
by ivanroberts77
[September 21, 2017, 03:33:05 PM]
Server Maintenance
by Bob Reed
[September 21, 2017, 10:57:15 AM]
FSC TQ Flaps
by Bob Reed
[September 21, 2017, 09:51:21 AM]
Help needed with flap lever base on sairek
by Bob Reed
[September 20, 2017, 08:04:12 AM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by Flying_Fox
[September 19, 2017, 10:45:32 AM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[September 18, 2017, 06:29:15 PM]
A WARNING ABOUT HISPAPANELS!
by bernard S
[September 18, 2017, 05:12:12 PM]
Looking for inspiration
by 737NGer
[September 18, 2017, 03:18:01 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by archen
[September 17, 2017, 01:34:01 PM]
XPlane and Avionics softwares.
by booky
[September 17, 2017, 12:15:23 PM]
737 Ng MIP PFD frame
by B747-400
[September 17, 2017, 03:41:56 AM]
OEM pneumatic panel
by jackpilot
[September 16, 2017, 08:21:53 AM]
FDS CDU and PM
by Garys
[September 16, 2017, 02:48:12 AM]
Landing lights PM aircraft
by Bob Reed
[September 15, 2017, 11:47:13 PM]
Opinions for Display
by captdini
[September 14, 2017, 02:12:02 AM]
Simfest West 2017
by Bob Reed
[September 14, 2017, 12:13:09 AM]
Boeing 767 Column Neutral Angle
by jonesthesoftware
[September 13, 2017, 01:57:40 PM]
Scott (and Rob's...) Chicago 737-300 Build
by XOrionFE
[September 12, 2017, 08:36:15 PM]
WF17 Schedule
by FredK
[September 10, 2017, 12:21:04 PM]
setup views
by navymustang
[September 10, 2017, 09:48:05 AM]
WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
by brianwilliamson
[September 10, 2017, 02:16:13 AM]
OMG! Post Labor Day Check-In!
by Bob Reed
[September 09, 2017, 02:01:49 PM]
Tiller Steering Airbus
by geneb
[September 08, 2017, 09:20:50 AM]
ETOPS
by Fcoq
[September 07, 2017, 04:29:55 PM]
FDS Radios, Cargo Fire, and Flood panels (SOLD)
by XOrionFE
[September 06, 2017, 08:32:32 PM]