Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 44
  • *Total: 46

FlightSimExpo 2018

Our Discord

GDPR - Important Notice


From the 26th of May, ALL USERS CONTINUING TO USE THIS WEBSITE - Agree to the amended "End User License Agreement"
This includes the European GDPR changes, whereby continuing to use this forum you agree to those amended terms as we have them stated.

If any user is unwilling to accept the AMENDED EULA with regard to the European GDPR Changes, He/She can email me directly and request their account be deleted.

Thank You, Trevor Hale

Author Topic: Oasis 737 Project  (Read 14877 times)

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #25 on: April 23, 2017, 07:53:30 AM »
Does anyone know what this module is, just below the F/O clock?

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 462
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2017, 09:05:37 AM »
Its the annunciator panel for the HGS system (head up display)

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2017, 10:00:53 AM »
Thanks Mick


Is it the same as the one on the pedestal?


Is it an airline option, or is it standardised on the NG?

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 462
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #28 on: April 23, 2017, 10:05:55 AM »
No, the one on the pedestal is the actual control panel for the HUD, the on under the clock just shows the mode, status and failure annunciators.

Not standard on the NG, its an airline/customer option, but they are becoming more popular these days. 

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #29 on: April 23, 2017, 10:49:09 AM »
Any Idea what the P/N is for this panel?

Does it function like most other panels (basic I/O) or ARINC 429?


Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #30 on: April 23, 2017, 03:20:07 PM »
I have this panel in my sim. PM me and I can send you details.
Jim
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #31 on: April 23, 2017, 04:52:24 PM »
PM Sent

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #32 on: April 28, 2017, 09:58:27 AM »
Hello,

Do all Blue Annunciators in the overhead have both dim and bright indications, or only some of the annunciators?

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 462
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #33 on: April 28, 2017, 10:05:36 AM »
Only the ones that relate to a valve, eg spar valve, crossfeed valve, anti-ice valves etc have 2 states depending on the valve's commanded vs actual position

The gnd power, gen off bus lights, ram door & call lights are bright only  (plus on the real plane you have the bright / dim function for normal annunciators)

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #34 on: April 28, 2017, 10:09:22 AM »
Thank you Mick.

Does the MAINT annunciator on P5-4 APU Panel have a bright and dim mode?

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 462
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #35 on: April 28, 2017, 10:23:52 AM »
Negative, only the normal master bright/dim

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #36 on: April 28, 2017, 11:04:28 AM »
Thank you.

A great help as always!

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #37 on: April 29, 2017, 08:11:23 AM »
Can anyone clarify what this circuit symbol means?

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #38 on: April 29, 2017, 10:20:20 AM »
Not in any of my reference manuals. Could it be a rotary switch?
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #39 on: April 29, 2017, 10:59:58 AM »
Don't think it's a rotary. Nothing mechanically operated, as it's part of a PCB I think.

I found it in a Boeing manual.

Here's another schematic

Could it be a relay?
« Last Edit: April 29, 2017, 11:01:24 AM by 737NGer »

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 388
  • Karma: +3/-1
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #40 on: April 29, 2017, 02:16:35 PM »
Its a logic/solid state switch. Only found inside boxes.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #41 on: April 29, 2017, 04:43:04 PM »
Excuse my noob electronics knowledge, but shouldn't there be a return or ground?

How does it work exactly?

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 388
  • Karma: +3/-1
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #42 on: April 29, 2017, 07:39:43 PM »
These are not mechanical switches and are commonly used with logic gates as well. These are all inside LRU's (Line replaceable units) on circuit boards.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2017, 07:42:13 PM by Garys »

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 462
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #43 on: April 29, 2017, 08:16:59 PM »
Exactly what Garys said.  It will most likely be a switching transistor, that will switch depending on what it sees on pin 31 according to the diagram.  It's a bit hard to tell without seeing the whole schematic.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #44 on: April 30, 2017, 06:59:04 AM »
Turned out to be a transistor. The switch was just a simplification it seems. In another schematic, the switch is replaced with a transistor.

« Last Edit: April 30, 2017, 07:00:57 AM by 737NGer »

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #45 on: May 23, 2017, 05:40:22 PM »
Testing out circuits and going through schematics.

In need of a circuit simulator software as well as a PCB design software.

Any recommendations?

Thanks,
Youssef
« Last Edit: May 23, 2017, 05:40:53 PM by 737NGer »

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #46 on: May 23, 2017, 09:25:10 PM »
Fritzing is a simple circuit design program, which is also free.
http://fritzing.org/download/

Or if you need something more substantial there's EagleCad, or the one I use is DesignSpark PCB, which is also free.
https://www.autodesk.com/products/eagle/free-download
https://www.rs-online.com/designspark/pcb-software

There are also a number of free Circuit Simulators, although I've never used any of them.
http://nl5.sidelinesoft.com/index.php?page=buy&lang=en
http://qucs.sourceforge.net/
https://easyeda.com/

Hope that helps,
Joe.



'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #47 on: May 24, 2017, 07:00:25 AM »
Thank you very much Joe.

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #48 on: May 26, 2017, 11:10:41 AM »
This terminal labelled 5V ... Does it supply +5VDC to the circuit or does it do something else? ????

This is a Phidgets 1012 card.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2017, 11:12:31 AM by 737NGer »

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: Oasis 737 Project
« Reply #49 on: May 26, 2017, 12:35:52 PM »
There is no power input socket on this board, so I would guess that the 5 volts is tapped from your USB.
I also see from the schematic on the Phidgets website that there's a 5 volt and ground connector on both sides, but the data doesn't really mention them.  :huh:

http://www.phidgets.com/products.php?category=0&product_id=1012_2
Manuals at the bottom on the page!

It's an input / output board, so I'm surprised there's no power input, but in all honesty I'm not familiar with it. I would drop Phidgets a line or try their forum.
If you do use it and make use of the 5volt connector, I would be careful not to draw much current or you could blow the USB port on your PC.  :(

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Interfacing Cole Starter Switches
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 03:10:34 PM]
JetMax Overhead Support
by jackpilot
[Today at 02:32:24 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[May 25, 2018, 06:31:25 PM]
Cole Starter Switches
by fsaviator
[May 25, 2018, 05:47:45 PM]
Cockpitbuilders EULA UPDATE May 25th 2018
by Trevor Hale
[May 25, 2018, 10:19:41 AM]
HELP NEEDED WITH "PAUSE ON TASK SWITCH" PLEASE!
by Trevor Hale
[May 25, 2018, 08:49:52 AM]
King Air B200 reference material
by archen
[May 25, 2018, 08:43:37 AM]
F-18 cockpit(s) for sale
by SAMEtech
[May 24, 2018, 01:00:34 PM]
MH-60 Helicopter (retired Navy simulator) for sale
by navymustang
[May 24, 2018, 09:43:41 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[May 24, 2018, 07:32:39 AM]
AIRBUS-A-310-SERIES-FMC/CDU FOR SALE
by N606DL
[May 23, 2018, 06:54:26 AM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[May 23, 2018, 03:27:09 AM]
For Sale-Real Cockpit Gauges...
by blueskydriver
[May 23, 2018, 03:24:59 AM]
Two Cockpits For Sale
by blueskydriver
[May 23, 2018, 03:21:12 AM]
B737-800 nose pitching up too much during take-off run
by Lee737
[May 22, 2018, 09:49:50 PM]
PMDG 737 on P3dV4 and 1PC Setup
by seedosip
[May 22, 2018, 10:21:40 AM]
FDS 747 MIP Price reduced!
by 777 driver
[May 21, 2018, 10:03:40 PM]
Faceplates for instruments
by ifeliciano
[May 19, 2018, 04:01:07 PM]
Homebuilt TQ has been sold
by Maurice
[May 18, 2018, 04:18:29 PM]
Wanted: Boeing 737 Throttle
by jackpilot
[May 18, 2018, 03:35:46 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by jackpilot
[May 18, 2018, 09:23:59 AM]
TQ 737 Jet Max for sale
by pilota1748
[May 18, 2018, 07:29:52 AM]
Inclinometer
by Atomic_Sheep
[May 18, 2018, 04:55:33 AM]
Hola from Spain
by seedosip
[May 17, 2018, 05:36:44 AM]
Gas strut newton for elevation
by kurt-olsson
[May 16, 2018, 03:44:25 PM]
Vendor Questions
by Trevor Hale
[May 16, 2018, 03:20:56 PM]
Another AC/DC Panel dimenssion request
by bernard S
[May 16, 2018, 12:23:58 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by seedosip
[May 16, 2018, 05:10:28 AM]
New member - new topic - Hagstrom KEUSB 108 - windows 7 problem
by sedge
[May 14, 2018, 10:34:35 PM]
Purchased: Real Boeing 737 TQ
by Steenos
[May 14, 2018, 03:20:34 PM]