Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 34
  • *Total: 35

Author Topic: Interfacing real b737 Yaw demper switch.  (Read 356 times)

Offline Ethanoost

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Ethan
  • Home Location: Perth, Australia
Interfacing real b737 Yaw demper switch.
« on: May 08, 2017, 05:00:41 AM »
Any advice please. I'm interfacing a real Boeing yaw demper switch in the overhead. It's an on (hold) off type of toggle switch held in place by some kind of mechanism. When a small current is supplied, the switch hold mechanism release and the switch flick back to off. Interfacing it with prosim via a relay is easy.
Here is the issue... there are only two terminals on the switch. The switch uses the same two terminals for the switch and release.. so when the switch is on, the terminals are connected (like any switch). Power should now be supplied through the same terminals for the release to off to occur. See pictures.

How do I interface both a power through a relay and an input signal through the same wires without frying my input card?

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Ethan

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 349
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Interfacing real b737 Yaw demper switch.
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2017, 05:20:01 AM »
Short answer, you can't.  That switch is a switch / circuit breaker combo.  the only way to trip it off is to exceed the current rating of 750mA.

The proper YD switches use a magnetic solenoid, which energized to hold the switch in the on position, otherwise it springs back to off.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2017, 05:33:52 AM by mickc »

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 349
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Interfacing real b737 Yaw demper switch.
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2017, 05:45:27 AM »
Well actually you could do it by using 2 relays, one to switch on when the Y/D switch is on, which you connect to your I/O card, and one to apply a fake load to the load side of the breaker, triggered by the Prosim function.

This will isolate your IO card from any spikes from overloading the breaker, and you should be able to get say a 1.5A load by using some resisitors.

Its a dirty way to do it, and there will be a delay in the switch tripping as those breakers have built-in trip delays. These were custom built and the part numbers dont match up with the standard ratings in the datasheet (attached)
« Last Edit: May 08, 2017, 05:46:13 AM by mickc »

Offline Ethanoost

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Ethan
  • Home Location: Perth, Australia
Interfacing real b737 Yaw demper switch.
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2017, 07:30:07 AM »
Thanks for the quick reply. Two relays will work. I just need to figure out how to get a small enough load so the switch can trigger the relay without tripping the switch. And then a high load to trip the switch.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 349
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Interfacing real b737 Yaw demper switch.
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2017, 07:49:31 AM »
Most small 12v relays have a coil current under 100mA so the relay should not cause the switch to trip.

For the "tripping" load, an ideal load would be one of those resistors they use for when you change to LED indicator bulbs on a car.  They provide a 21W load so the flasher operates at the correct speed.  That would work out to a 1.75A load at 12v.

like this one http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/Product/NARVA-LED-Load-Resistor-12-Volt-21-Watt/287170
« Last Edit: May 08, 2017, 08:01:54 AM by mickc »

Offline Ethanoost

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Ethan
  • Home Location: Perth, Australia
Interfacing real b737 Yaw demper switch.
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2017, 07:58:56 AM »
Gee thanks. I'll let you know how it goes..

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


 

Recent Posts

Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
by Nat Crea
[Today at 02:37:42 AM]
HELP with PM
by burgafilms
[May 29, 2017, 07:37:00 PM]
Happy Birthday Simlady/Karen!!!
by flymo
[May 29, 2017, 12:29:43 PM]
Advice on room size
by fsaviator
[May 29, 2017, 12:14:13 PM]
Visuals feel off center
by mdavenport
[May 29, 2017, 02:40:10 AM]
Oasis 737 Project
by mickc
[May 28, 2017, 09:30:34 PM]
Gear sound when using Prosim 737, P3D and Sismo hardware
by navymustang
[May 28, 2017, 08:53:17 PM]
New AFT OVH
by jackpilot
[May 28, 2017, 04:27:56 PM]
727/737 cockpit shell
by blueskydriver
[May 28, 2017, 01:05:34 PM]
747 1st class seats
by bernard S
[May 27, 2017, 08:57:31 AM]
Blueskydriver's New Hanger
by blueskydriver
[May 27, 2017, 08:23:42 AM]
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
by Ridgenj
[May 26, 2017, 10:47:51 PM]
My Hangar
by sagrada737
[May 26, 2017, 12:35:20 PM]
Circuit Breaker Challenge- B737 or other type
by blueskydriver
[May 25, 2017, 04:59:29 PM]
Wire gauge?
by jackpilot
[May 24, 2017, 10:34:50 PM]
WANTED....FDS SYS1 card
by Caflyt
[May 24, 2017, 05:09:11 PM]
For Sale : One More FDS B747 PRO-MX CDU
by farrokh747
[May 24, 2017, 04:42:18 PM]
Cool Captain
by RayS
[May 24, 2017, 12:34:35 PM]
Simworld CDU Bay, Lower EICAS and CAN BUS For Sale
by mdavenport
[May 24, 2017, 02:10:19 AM]
747 Auto speed brake current query
by mickc
[May 23, 2017, 06:07:12 PM]
Flight Deck Solutions MX MCP + Captain EFIS for sale
by mdavenport
[May 23, 2017, 04:28:15 PM]
WorldFlight 2017 Route Is Published
by Trevor Hale
[May 23, 2017, 02:07:06 PM]
737 Visual using monitors
by Jimmerrelie
[May 23, 2017, 05:56:54 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by blueskydriver
[May 22, 2017, 04:26:06 PM]
Building to host a cockpit?
by mdavenport
[May 22, 2017, 06:45:17 AM]
UK insurance?
by jackpilot
[May 21, 2017, 01:03:28 PM]
Ipeco seat armrest removal
by Gallie
[May 20, 2017, 11:05:49 AM]
Guess the cockpit game!
by kurt-olsson
[May 16, 2017, 10:42:24 AM]
Just when I thought the MIP was complete....
by Trevor Hale
[May 16, 2017, 04:46:38 AM]
MCP speed setting problem
by Bob Reed
[May 14, 2017, 10:12:03 PM]