Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 3
  • *Guests: 20
  • *Total: 23

FlightSimExpo 2018

Author Topic: Marking wires  (Read 1009 times)

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Marking wires
« on: February 12, 2018, 01:15:04 PM »
Hello Everyone,

As I will soon be starting on my overhead and there will be a plethora of wiring I'm wondering what everyone is using to identify their wires . I plan on bundling my wiring and therefore would like to identify each end of each wire in case there is a need for troubleshooting. These will be all 22 and 24 gauge, so quite small. Any ideas welcome.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,804
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2018, 02:41:20 PM »
First of all, wires color
You will need a few of them
I used FDS color coding (yellow red purple blue and black)
As far as I remember:
black for ground/neg
yellow for 12v
red for 5V
purple for inputs (switches)
white for outputs (annunciators)
Sysboard software identifies which contact on the card does what, so no need to identify physically each wire.
I also use small plastic tags for power connections from the PSUs.



And again if you use FDS stuff with the latest connectors, they sell a wiring harness which allows simple plugging of everything.
Mine is the previous generation and is a rats nest.  :P

Last thing always insert 2 or 3 spare wires of odd color (green or pink) in each bundle. Can be handy later.




Jack

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,449
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2018, 03:14:07 PM »
I find it’s more fun when you don’t mark anything.  Causes a lot of entertainment when your trying to fix something.  Can even result in a complete rewire for those times when you get really angry and take the side cutters to everything.


Lol on the lighter side colour coding is a must. Better than labels that will most assuredly fall off when you don’t want them to.


Trev
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2018, 04:23:39 PM »
Jack, Trevor,

Thanks for your inputs. I definitely will be using color coded wiring. Most of the cards I will be using are Pokeys Ethernet as want to steer away from USB. I guess I can keep track of which port does what.  I do have a pretty good spreadsheet from Ron in the Prosim Forum that can document each port used. Trevor..   lol..  I've been there before :) Re:  sidecutters

Great picture Jack. That one's going in my overhead archive. Nice and neat. I have one of those coming in the mail. What size fuses are you using?
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 458
  • Karma: +1/-1
  • P3D / Win7-64 / FDS / 3 x Optoma GT1080
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2018, 04:54:14 PM »
I partly followed the same color scheme (yellow/red/black/purple/white), however since I use Pokeys cards and DB25 cables I found that it is easier to use ready made flat colored wire sets to connect switches/annunciators to DB25 connectors.

Like this:








 :2cw:

Nick



Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,804
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2018, 05:03:22 PM »
I have two of these "buses" in the OVH besides the relay card, one 12v one 5V.
Fuses are 1/2/5 watts depending



Nick: Very neat way to do it.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2018, 05:04:24 PM by jackpilot »


Jack

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 458
  • Karma: +1/-1
  • P3D / Win7-64 / FDS / 3 x Optoma GT1080
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2018, 05:16:54 PM »
Thanks Jack!

It looked scary in test mode:



but just like this when ready:   :idiot:






Offline Atomic_Sheep

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Dmitry
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2018, 10:06:05 PM »
Good info guys, appreciate it.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2018, 08:29:33 AM »
Excellent information. Thanks everyone.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 330
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2018, 09:14:16 AM »
Another technique that I use at work is heat shrink labels using a Dymo label writer. Makes it so easy to identify cables. But it can be time consuming.


https://buyheatshrink.com/dymo-label-writer/

Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: +0/-2
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2018, 01:59:24 PM »
there ya go  :2cw:

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,804
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2018, 03:49:29 PM »
Neat!   ;)


Jack

Offline ifeliciano

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Ivan
  • Home Location: Arlington, Texas
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2018, 07:16:16 PM »
I have a Rhino 6000 label maker and they make a heat shrink tubing label cartridge for it. Worked well on my CNC controller.


Offline Sam Llorca

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 692
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2018, 06:08:03 AM »
This is a nice tool for labeling wires.

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,449
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #14 on: February 14, 2018, 06:27:03 AM »
Sam, yes that's a very nice label maker..  Those are the kinds that you can get the heat shrink for..  :)
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,460
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #15 on: February 14, 2018, 07:36:22 AM »
Do you put in the actual heat shrink and print directly on that and is it one piece at a time or is it a roll, sort of like the label roll?

Where did you buy this Sam?

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: +0/-2
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #16 on: February 14, 2018, 11:18:08 AM »
before you all get excited   this is a very very expensive option .. my suggestion get wire printing machine

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #17 on: February 14, 2018, 11:22:27 AM »
before you all get excited   this is a very very expensive option .. my suggestion get wire printing machine

Yep. My 600 bucks is going into sim parts :)
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 330
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #18 on: February 14, 2018, 11:29:31 AM »
How about $123 USD plus the tubing.

And it can be used for labeling everything else in the sim also.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #19 on: February 14, 2018, 11:50:32 AM »
Yep, I use the Dymo Rhino 4200. Super cheap and works great with the heatshrink tube cartridges.

Gary

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #20 on: February 14, 2018, 11:52:39 AM »
Ahh.. I was looking at the 6000. I'll take a look at the 4200.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,804
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #21 on: February 14, 2018, 12:03:04 PM »
Yep, I use the Dymo Rhino 4200. Super cheap and works great with the heatshrink tube cartridges.

Gary

Where did you get it Gary
US or CAN


Jack

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #22 on: February 14, 2018, 01:37:27 PM »
CAN, I got mine from a local electronics store but amazon.ca should have them under $100.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #23 on: February 14, 2018, 07:01:24 PM »
CAN, I got mine from a local electronics store but amazon.ca should have them under $100.

Hi Gary,

The 4200 does look affordable. A lot of my wiring is 22 and 24 gauge. I'm wondering if the shrink tube for this unit would work on small gauge wiring.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 330
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Marking wires
« Reply #24 on: February 14, 2018, 07:40:32 PM »
You can buy different size tubing. I have used down to 22 gauge with no problems.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

FDS Shell and MIP for 737NG.
by XOrionFE
[Today at 10:38:00 PM]
USB speakers
by jackpilot
[Today at 09:44:37 PM]
Room Size
by jmlohrenz
[Today at 09:16:34 PM]
Looking for Real Boeing 737 TQ Buy/Trade...
by blueskydriver
[Today at 07:35:42 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 06:37:24 PM]
Wanted: Real Boeing 737 TQ
by iwik
[Today at 06:16:57 PM]
Disassembling Wemac Vents
by mickc
[Today at 05:21:32 PM]
Hardware Questions
by jmlohrenz
[Today at 10:33:00 AM]
Looking for Korry Indicators
by 737NGer
[Today at 07:20:12 AM]
Help please gents in the disassembling of my 737 TQ.
by mickc
[Today at 05:11:18 AM]
LUA script - error loading module 'socket'
by Trevor Hale
[February 23, 2018, 09:19:49 PM]
737-300 Sim update before the big upgrades
by jackpilot
[February 23, 2018, 06:01:12 PM]
Visuals upgrade - inspiration needed
by Joe Lavery
[February 23, 2018, 04:05:25 PM]
PCFlights Panels Feedback
by Nolatron
[February 23, 2018, 02:32:19 PM]
Joaquin's KBOS Scenery
by Sam Llorca
[February 23, 2018, 06:01:19 AM]
Pressurization Panel 737
by kurt-olsson
[February 23, 2018, 02:14:03 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by RayS
[February 23, 2018, 01:32:48 AM]
Dummy Oxygen Mask
by carlostxnl
[February 22, 2018, 07:44:04 AM]
8th Year Anniversary!
by jackpilot
[February 22, 2018, 07:41:14 AM]
Smallest width of a MIP base
by Bob Reed
[February 21, 2018, 04:42:13 PM]
Projectors or 4K Monitors?
by Flying_Fox
[February 21, 2018, 10:37:36 AM]
Just about complete!
by Mach7
[February 21, 2018, 08:08:58 AM]
My 737 Desktop Cockpit
by Nolatron
[February 21, 2018, 08:02:28 AM]
New Compass for King Air
by _alioth_
[February 20, 2018, 03:56:44 AM]
Pedestal blanks / Fillers
by Atomic_Sheep
[February 19, 2018, 10:47:19 PM]
FSUIPC
by N606DL
[February 19, 2018, 06:57:04 PM]
Garmin G5 PFD
by pilotshane
[February 19, 2018, 05:53:16 PM]
Looking for this book!
by pilotshane
[February 19, 2018, 05:39:43 PM]
Flight1 King Air 350i Modified Aircraft.cfg
by Trevor Hale
[February 19, 2018, 04:57:02 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[February 19, 2018, 04:33:10 PM]