Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 41
  • *Total: 42

Author Topic: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?  (Read 978 times)

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:26:25 PM »
Just thinking outside the box on this one... Has anyone used the "guts" of a goflight GF166 in order to make a scale 737 VHF/NAV/XPDR ?  If so, can anyone give me some pointers, tips, or how to's? I'm thinking of building a 737 pedestal, but would like to have my radios be scale size, and the GF radios are way to long.

Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,558
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 09:42:13 AM »
Yes can be done
Had it for years in my pedestal
You have to open the GF166 carefully and figure out what's what.
If I did it you can do it...lol
Here are pics from my archives.
The boards came in different shapes but the one of the left (elongated one ) is probably what you will end up with.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 09:44:41 AM by jackpilot »
Jack

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 03:39:17 PM »
Jack, thanks so much -its great to know it's possible. If you remember, can you inform me what modifications are necessary? It looks like you move the board and the desolder the digit display and reattach using ribbon wiring?

Anything else I should be aware of?
Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,558
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 03:45:04 PM »
Hi Matt
Years and years ago...do not remember exactly !
Old age kicked in  :D
Try on one, they are all the same boards.
 :2cw:
Jack

Offline rprather

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • The 777 Project
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: U.S.A.
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 05:21:56 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,058
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 07:48:52 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Hi Robert, nice to see you here. Unfortunately, GoFlight no longer offers these kits.

Offline RayS

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 607
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2017, 08:15:59 PM »
With some patience and good soldering skills it can be done. I "Reverse-engineered" 2 GF-266 modules and put the guts into some Sperry 1048 radio carcasses. Every once in while I'll open one up and wonder "What the hell was I thinking?" It can be tedious work but done correctly, the payoff is really nice.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 511
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 09:15:30 PM »
I constructed all my radios using the RMK units, but as has alrady been mentioned Go Flight don;t make these any more. I did ask a couple of years ago but they said the chips needed to make them don't exist any more. Well that;s what they told me.

If it's any help I used the 6 segment boards sold by Open Cockpits and wired them directly to the boards, it's easier than de-soldering the displays on the GF166 units. I then mounted the boards remotely inside the pedestal, It's a bit time consuming but they are still working some five years on.

I'm afraid I don't have any schematics to offer, as I recall it was trial and error to get them wired correctly. At least you know it can be done.  ;)

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2017, 03:37:17 PM »
Many thanks for the help. I'm currently contemplating using a ardunio mega card and make some radios on my own. I've picked up a card and some rotary encoders to see if it's something worth pursuing.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 03:39:27 PM by mynamismatt »
Matt Wohlford

 

Recent Posts

Flight Illusion Comes through!
by RayS
[June 25, 2017, 01:22:03 AM]
220 visual totally fluid
by rprather
[June 24, 2017, 02:38:36 PM]
Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
by jfuenmayor
[June 24, 2017, 12:49:24 PM]
Real Boeing 737 yoke handle wiring
by mickc
[June 23, 2017, 07:31:49 PM]
Circuit Breaker Challenge- B737 or other type
by Trevor Hale
[June 23, 2017, 12:26:23 PM]
Looking for 110v 4" Fan motors for 737 eyeball ducts
by Flying_Fox
[June 22, 2017, 10:03:35 PM]
B737 Rudder adjusting crank unit
by tennyson
[June 22, 2017, 07:17:14 AM]
Oasis 737 Project
by mickc
[June 21, 2017, 08:06:28 PM]
Anyone have access to a Beech 1900D Cockpit?
by RayS
[June 21, 2017, 01:30:40 PM]
737 OEM Panels
by 737NGer
[June 21, 2017, 10:59:56 AM]
TQ - Trim wheel dismounting help
by jackpilot
[June 20, 2017, 10:38:01 AM]
Simworld CDU Bay, Lower EICAS and CAN BUS For Sale
by srisim
[June 20, 2017, 05:30:13 AM]
Hello from Nashua, NH
by srisim
[June 20, 2017, 04:34:20 AM]
Help with choosing CDU
by willow
[June 19, 2017, 11:54:32 PM]
Boeing 737 Max
by Fabian
[June 19, 2017, 11:31:41 PM]
Flight Illusion Boeing Press Gauge for sale
by XOrionFE
[June 19, 2017, 10:27:30 PM]
P3D v4 Multi Channel
by tennyson
[June 19, 2017, 07:06:55 PM]
TQ motor recommendations
by Jabsher
[June 16, 2017, 04:01:16 PM]
TV Screens for Visual
by navymustang
[June 16, 2017, 03:22:16 PM]
how close is everyone to completion
by B747-400
[June 16, 2017, 09:37:37 AM]
WANTED: Full set of 737 Overhead Locking Toggle Switches.
by jackpilot
[June 15, 2017, 03:45:20 PM]
FlightControlReplay Professional v3.5 P3Dv4 compatible OUT NOW
by karijno
[June 15, 2017, 03:23:29 AM]
What size monitor ??
by jackpilot
[June 14, 2017, 10:14:15 PM]
let´s talk about pilot shoes
by bernard S
[June 14, 2017, 04:26:34 PM]
Calculating amp draw
by Mach7
[June 13, 2017, 08:54:58 AM]
Powering the sim
by jackpilot
[June 13, 2017, 08:19:06 AM]
Smart solution for 737 cockpit without side-space.
by kurt-olsson
[June 13, 2017, 01:33:16 AM]
3d printer
by Jabsher
[June 12, 2017, 06:03:48 PM]