Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 4
  • *Guests: 39
  • *Total: 43

Author Topic: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?  (Read 1123 times)

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:26:25 PM »
Just thinking outside the box on this one... Has anyone used the "guts" of a goflight GF166 in order to make a scale 737 VHF/NAV/XPDR ?  If so, can anyone give me some pointers, tips, or how to's? I'm thinking of building a 737 pedestal, but would like to have my radios be scale size, and the GF radios are way to long.

Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,634
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 09:42:13 AM »
Yes can be done
Had it for years in my pedestal
You have to open the GF166 carefully and figure out what's what.
If I did it you can do it...lol
Here are pics from my archives.
The boards came in different shapes but the one of the left (elongated one ) is probably what you will end up with.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 09:44:41 AM by jackpilot »


Jack

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 03:39:17 PM »
Jack, thanks so much -its great to know it's possible. If you remember, can you inform me what modifications are necessary? It looks like you move the board and the desolder the digit display and reattach using ribbon wiring?

Anything else I should be aware of?
Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,634
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 03:45:04 PM »
Hi Matt
Years and years ago...do not remember exactly !
Old age kicked in  :D
Try on one, they are all the same boards.
 :2cw:


Jack

Offline rprather

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • The 777 Project
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: U.S.A.
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 05:21:56 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,065
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 07:48:52 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Hi Robert, nice to see you here. Unfortunately, GoFlight no longer offers these kits.

Offline RayS

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 615
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2017, 08:15:59 PM »
With some patience and good soldering skills it can be done. I "Reverse-engineered" 2 GF-266 modules and put the guts into some Sperry 1048 radio carcasses. Every once in while I'll open one up and wonder "What the hell was I thinking?" It can be tedious work but done correctly, the payoff is really nice.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 521
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 09:15:30 PM »
I constructed all my radios using the RMK units, but as has alrady been mentioned Go Flight don;t make these any more. I did ask a couple of years ago but they said the chips needed to make them don't exist any more. Well that;s what they told me.

If it's any help I used the 6 segment boards sold by Open Cockpits and wired them directly to the boards, it's easier than de-soldering the displays on the GF166 units. I then mounted the boards remotely inside the pedestal, It's a bit time consuming but they are still working some five years on.

I'm afraid I don't have any schematics to offer, as I recall it was trial and error to get them wired correctly. At least you know it can be done.  ;)

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2017, 03:37:17 PM »
Many thanks for the help. I'm currently contemplating using a ardunio mega card and make some radios on my own. I've picked up a card and some rotary encoders to see if it's something worth pursuing.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 03:39:27 PM by mynamismatt »
Matt Wohlford

 

Recent Posts

Boeing 737 Oxygen Mask Panels (New Product)
by navcom
[Today at 04:43:17 PM]
Telex 750 Headset (SOLD)
by jackpilot
[Today at 03:08:09 PM]
Need help: Teensy 3.5 not working where 3.2 is.
by gjha97
[Today at 06:38:32 AM]
New Product: B737 Map Lights Panel
by navcom
[Today at 06:35:32 AM]
Scott (and Rob's...) Chicago 737-300 Build
by Fcoq
[Today at 01:03:17 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[August 20, 2017, 04:19:23 AM]
Boeing 747 Main Instrument Panel Now Available
by navcom
[August 19, 2017, 09:02:30 PM]
Gift (from you to you)
by jackpilot
[August 19, 2017, 08:52:47 AM]
OEM MCP conversion worth the hassle?
by 727737Nut
[August 18, 2017, 06:54:49 PM]
Projector screens changing brightness
by ZK CWD
[August 18, 2017, 01:03:36 AM]
The Sim
by jackpilot
[August 17, 2017, 06:34:23 PM]
Solenoid Engines Start Switch Installation
by zeineddine
[August 17, 2017, 12:01:21 AM]
Back to School SALE event - 50% discount
by luisgordo
[August 16, 2017, 10:09:23 PM]
New here
by 737NGer
[August 16, 2017, 10:23:47 AM]
Boeing 737 Homecockpit parts
by mellox90
[August 14, 2017, 09:02:27 AM]
Hello from New US Based Supplier!
by navcom
[August 14, 2017, 05:44:37 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[August 13, 2017, 05:36:15 AM]
MH-60 Helicopter (retired Navy simulator) for sale
by navymustang
[August 11, 2017, 08:58:38 PM]
Oasis 737 Project
by 737NGer
[August 11, 2017, 05:11:40 PM]
Project Magenta sounds and PM Systems
by jr2mey
[August 11, 2017, 09:41:58 AM]
In search of this panel...
by XOrionFE
[August 09, 2017, 03:07:23 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by bernard S
[August 09, 2017, 08:21:22 AM]
Upgrade advice and final items clarification
by N606DL
[August 09, 2017, 06:19:22 AM]
XPlane and Avionics softwares.
by Ridgenj
[August 08, 2017, 08:59:32 PM]
Source for Color 5.7" LCD Flat Panels
by gjha97
[August 08, 2017, 12:38:20 PM]
back lite Lamps help needed
by jackpilot
[August 08, 2017, 11:19:56 AM]
CP flight, CDU, throttle
by Orphee
[August 06, 2017, 06:34:10 AM]
Extremely Close Call!
by Joe Lavery
[August 06, 2017, 02:34:29 AM]
P3D v4 Multi Channel
by Ed
[August 05, 2017, 10:38:44 PM]
German B738NG Homecockpit-Projekt
by kurt-olsson
[August 05, 2017, 09:12:08 AM]