Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 5
  • *Guests: 46
  • *Total: 51

Author Topic: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?  (Read 1293 times)

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:26:25 PM »
Just thinking outside the box on this one... Has anyone used the "guts" of a goflight GF166 in order to make a scale 737 VHF/NAV/XPDR ?  If so, can anyone give me some pointers, tips, or how to's? I'm thinking of building a 737 pedestal, but would like to have my radios be scale size, and the GF radios are way to long.

Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,684
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 09:42:13 AM »
Yes can be done
Had it for years in my pedestal
You have to open the GF166 carefully and figure out what's what.
If I did it you can do it...lol
Here are pics from my archives.
The boards came in different shapes but the one of the left (elongated one ) is probably what you will end up with.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 09:44:41 AM by jackpilot »


Jack

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 03:39:17 PM »
Jack, thanks so much -its great to know it's possible. If you remember, can you inform me what modifications are necessary? It looks like you move the board and the desolder the digit display and reattach using ribbon wiring?

Anything else I should be aware of?
Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,684
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 03:45:04 PM »
Hi Matt
Years and years ago...do not remember exactly !
Old age kicked in  :D
Try on one, they are all the same boards.
 :2cw:


Jack

Offline rprather

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • The 777 Project
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: U.S.A.
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 05:21:56 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,164
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 07:48:52 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Hi Robert, nice to see you here. Unfortunately, GoFlight no longer offers these kits.

Online RayS

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 643
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2017, 08:15:59 PM »
With some patience and good soldering skills it can be done. I "Reverse-engineered" 2 GF-266 modules and put the guts into some Sperry 1048 radio carcasses. Every once in while I'll open one up and wonder "What the hell was I thinking?" It can be tedious work but done correctly, the payoff is really nice.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 535
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 09:15:30 PM »
I constructed all my radios using the RMK units, but as has alrady been mentioned Go Flight don;t make these any more. I did ask a couple of years ago but they said the chips needed to make them don't exist any more. Well that;s what they told me.

If it's any help I used the 6 segment boards sold by Open Cockpits and wired them directly to the boards, it's easier than de-soldering the displays on the GF166 units. I then mounted the boards remotely inside the pedestal, It's a bit time consuming but they are still working some five years on.

I'm afraid I don't have any schematics to offer, as I recall it was trial and error to get them wired correctly. At least you know it can be done.  ;)

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2017, 03:37:17 PM »
Many thanks for the help. I'm currently contemplating using a ardunio mega card and make some radios on my own. I've picked up a card and some rotary encoders to see if it's something worth pursuing.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 03:39:27 PM by mynamismatt »
Matt Wohlford

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

FDS-O2 Panels For Sale!!! Realiable Realistic Panels!!!
by blueskydriver
[Today at 05:30:09 PM]
Opencockpit Indicator Boxes (in US?)
by Nolatron
[Today at 05:14:26 PM]
A320 of Fcoq
by Fcoq
[Today at 03:00:10 PM]
Simkit flaps
by jackpilot
[Today at 02:19:35 PM]
Flyengravity order process
by Skysurfer170
[Today at 08:23:58 AM]
Ok to use only 2 of 4 fastners on crosstube bearing.
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 07:57:19 AM]
Worldflight 2017 Conclusion
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 07:16:44 AM]
Wooden overhead frame
by Jimmerrelie
[November 20, 2017, 08:49:22 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[November 20, 2017, 04:07:23 PM]
Another 737 builder :)
by kurt-olsson
[November 19, 2017, 09:08:20 AM]
Home Built Full B737-200 Sim for Sale - Richmond, BC Canada
by Bob Reed
[November 17, 2017, 10:03:12 PM]
Down memory lane - What was the first home cockpit SIM you saw?
by RayS
[November 17, 2017, 02:59:17 PM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[November 17, 2017, 02:44:35 PM]
Oh Boy!!
by Bob Reed
[November 17, 2017, 01:37:54 PM]
FDS Shell Black or Raw Aluminum
by bernard S
[November 16, 2017, 06:15:12 PM]
B737 Startswitches
by archen
[November 16, 2017, 12:17:22 PM]
Worldflight Perth Crew news
by Trevor Hale
[November 16, 2017, 07:21:04 AM]
Jorge from NAVCOM
by Caflyt
[November 15, 2017, 04:50:25 PM]
Wanted 5inch screen
by fsaviator
[November 14, 2017, 08:41:16 PM]
737 FWD Overhead Switch Diagram
by MistyBlue
[November 13, 2017, 10:16:15 AM]
Sim out of the hangar
by Fcoq
[November 13, 2017, 10:05:13 AM]
Question for those that have converted real TQs
by mickc
[November 12, 2017, 02:47:54 PM]
Hey - PFD/ECAMS TFT
by BGStudios
[November 12, 2017, 01:22:55 PM]
Camera setup?
by Trevor Hale
[November 12, 2017, 07:48:26 AM]
Sim Progress (BAe146)
by Erj145sim
[November 11, 2017, 08:28:20 PM]
Where to order custom metal rod with predrilled holes.
by bernard S
[November 11, 2017, 11:48:38 AM]
737NG Single Seat Trainer "Starter Kit" :-)
by Captbrian
[November 10, 2017, 08:30:12 PM]
B737 DIY Gauges servo gears ??
by mickc
[November 10, 2017, 07:52:07 PM]
Delta 209
by blueskydriver
[November 10, 2017, 07:06:30 PM]
WorldFlightUSA - UAL 1120 Schedule
by Trevor Hale
[November 10, 2017, 03:53:00 PM]