Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 4
  • *Guests: 39
  • *Total: 43

FlightSimExpo 2018

Author Topic: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?  (Read 1492 times)

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:26:25 PM »
Just thinking outside the box on this one... Has anyone used the "guts" of a goflight GF166 in order to make a scale 737 VHF/NAV/XPDR ?  If so, can anyone give me some pointers, tips, or how to's? I'm thinking of building a 737 pedestal, but would like to have my radios be scale size, and the GF radios are way to long.

Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,799
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 09:42:13 AM »
Yes can be done
Had it for years in my pedestal
You have to open the GF166 carefully and figure out what's what.
If I did it you can do it...lol
Here are pics from my archives.
The boards came in different shapes but the one of the left (elongated one ) is probably what you will end up with.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 09:44:41 AM by jackpilot »


Jack

Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 03:39:17 PM »
Jack, thanks so much -its great to know it's possible. If you remember, can you inform me what modifications are necessary? It looks like you move the board and the desolder the digit display and reattach using ribbon wiring?

Anything else I should be aware of?
Matt Wohlford

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,799
  • Karma: +37/-0
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 03:45:04 PM »
Hi Matt
Years and years ago...do not remember exactly !
Old age kicked in  :D
Try on one, they are all the same boards.
 :2cw:


Jack

Offline rprather

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • The 777 Project
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: U.S.A.
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 05:21:56 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,271
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 07:48:52 PM »
Years ago, Go Flight offered an option called RMKs (Remote Mount Kits). They were plug-n-play counterparts to the GF series. The seven segment displays, for instance, were on ribbon cables and the circuit board had a smaller footprint. Worth asking if they still make them.

Hi Robert, nice to see you here. Unfortunately, GoFlight no longer offers these kits.

Offline RayS

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2017, 08:15:59 PM »
With some patience and good soldering skills it can be done. I "Reverse-engineered" 2 GF-266 modules and put the guts into some Sperry 1048 radio carcasses. Every once in while I'll open one up and wonder "What the hell was I thinking?" It can be tedious work but done correctly, the payoff is really nice.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 578
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 09:15:30 PM »
I constructed all my radios using the RMK units, but as has alrady been mentioned Go Flight don;t make these any more. I did ask a couple of years ago but they said the chips needed to make them don't exist any more. Well that;s what they told me.

If it's any help I used the 6 segment boards sold by Open Cockpits and wired them directly to the boards, it's easier than de-soldering the displays on the GF166 units. I then mounted the boards remotely inside the pedestal, It's a bit time consuming but they are still working some five years on.

I'm afraid I don't have any schematics to offer, as I recall it was trial and error to get them wired correctly. At least you know it can be done.  ;)

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline mynamismatt

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Matt
  • Home Location: Michigan, USA
Re: Using GF radio "guts" for 737 radio?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2017, 03:37:17 PM »
Many thanks for the help. I'm currently contemplating using a ardunio mega card and make some radios on my own. I've picked up a card and some rotary encoders to see if it's something worth pursuing.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 03:39:27 PM by mynamismatt »
Matt Wohlford

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

737-300 Sim update before the big upgrades
by 727737Nut
[Today at 11:07:11 AM]
LUA script - error loading module 'socket'
by navymustang
[Today at 11:04:46 AM]
Joaquin's KBOS Scenery
by Sam Llorca
[Today at 06:01:19 AM]
Pressurization Panel 737
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 02:14:03 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by RayS
[Today at 01:32:48 AM]
Visuals upgrade - inspiration needed
by mdavenport
[February 22, 2018, 04:31:45 PM]
Dummy Oxygen Mask
by carlostxnl
[February 22, 2018, 07:44:04 AM]
8th Year Anniversary!
by jackpilot
[February 22, 2018, 07:41:14 AM]
Hardware Questions
by blueskydriver
[February 22, 2018, 01:21:21 AM]
Looking for Real Boeing 737 TQ Buy/Trade...
by blueskydriver
[February 22, 2018, 12:41:08 AM]
Wanted: Real Boeing 737 TQ
by Steenos
[February 22, 2018, 12:23:26 AM]
Smallest width of a MIP base
by Bob Reed
[February 21, 2018, 04:42:13 PM]
Projectors or 4K Monitors?
by Flying_Fox
[February 21, 2018, 10:37:36 AM]
Just about complete!
by Mach7
[February 21, 2018, 08:08:58 AM]
My 737 Desktop Cockpit
by Nolatron
[February 21, 2018, 08:02:28 AM]
New Compass for King Air
by _alioth_
[February 20, 2018, 03:56:44 AM]
Pedestal blanks / Fillers
by Atomic_Sheep
[February 19, 2018, 10:47:19 PM]
FSUIPC
by N606DL
[February 19, 2018, 06:57:04 PM]
Garmin G5 PFD
by pilotshane
[February 19, 2018, 05:53:16 PM]
Looking for this book!
by pilotshane
[February 19, 2018, 05:39:43 PM]
Flight1 King Air 350i Modified Aircraft.cfg
by Trevor Hale
[February 19, 2018, 04:57:02 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[February 19, 2018, 04:33:10 PM]
Marking wires
by Ed
[February 19, 2018, 09:44:25 AM]
Fitting Forward Overhead Frame
by jackpilot
[February 19, 2018, 08:21:11 AM]
One Giant Step for mankind....backwards!
by Atomic_Sheep
[February 19, 2018, 07:58:29 AM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Bob Reed
[February 18, 2018, 05:55:23 PM]
MESH HELP
by Trevor Hale
[February 18, 2018, 03:10:35 PM]