Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 41
  • *Total: 42

Author Topic: Working HUds  (Read 4930 times)

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Working HUds
« on: July 23, 2015, 07:07:34 PM »
Made by GD: Purchased by me 20 years later : And made to work in sim  Phil  at      https://www.facebook.com/Simvionics  enjoy :-) I do-not know how they function nor what mods were done to get them to fuction waaaay beyond my pay scale .. As for the image on the combiner there are options for Xplane PD3 ad FSX
« Last Edit: August 03, 2015, 09:50:13 AM by bernard S »

Offline Karl737

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 116
  • Builder
  • First Name: Karl
  • Home Location: Bendigo, Australia
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 10:18:01 PM »
That is awesome!  8) I look forward to seeing more on this...

Well done!

Cheers,
Karl

Offline quid246

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 250
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: AM
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2015, 10:52:22 PM »
Leading nominee for conversion of the year!

Well done.

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 421
  • P3D / Win7-64 / FDS / 3 x Optoma GT1080
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2015, 12:43:50 AM »
I second that!  :o

Any details?  :angel:

Nick

Offline willow

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • New Flight Deck Builder (B-737)
    • Flaps 2 Approach
  • First Name: Iain (aka WilloW)
  • Home Location: Hobart, Tasmania Australia
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2015, 08:32:24 PM »
Amazing.  I honestly had thought this would not be possible - note the word 'had'.

Best,   WilloW
WilloW  (YMHB)
www.Flaps2Approach.com

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,667
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2015, 01:09:45 PM »
Bernard
Is this HUD yours?

JP


Jack

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2015, 01:29:07 PM »
yes have a full set and spares
« Last Edit: August 03, 2015, 09:34:58 AM by bernard S »

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2015, 04:57:32 PM »
How about giving credit to the sim company that actually got these working for you. Your replies imply that you got these working yourself.

https://www.facebook.com/Simvionics?fref=nf
« Last Edit: August 02, 2015, 05:11:19 PM by Garys »

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2015, 05:59:53 PM »
credit goes to Phil as you so kindly pointed out.. however I did not think anyone actually asked outright how it was achieved but that synaptics
« Last Edit: August 03, 2015, 09:37:43 AM by bernard S »

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2015, 06:33:01 PM »
Really no one asked??
First reply was  looking forward too seeing more on this, Second was a leading nominee for conversion of the year and  third was any details. 

All we got today from you was I this and I that and a rant about aftermarket cdu not being up to the same standards as a OEM unit worth tens of thousands.

All the best with your project. If you ever need any help again finding the Activate key you know where to ask.

« Last Edit: August 02, 2015, 06:37:26 PM by Garys »

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2015, 07:03:26 PM »
An OEM unit is not tens of thousands of dollars "1700.00"   will get you one off ebay and a very clean one at that, and they are becoming more and more competitive in pricing compared to say 24 months ago. 

 http://www.ebay.com/itm/AIRBUS-A320-Honeywell-Multi-Color-Control-Display-Unit-CDU-LCD-/261967713206?hash=item3cfe7e13b6&vxp=mtr

You can also get them in brown from Tom at UAM for about 500.00 bucks  but even at that price the buttons are still firm and responsive  I know I bought one for spares...but he is no longer there

And I can rant about what I think are "%^$#" aftermarket products all I want...you decide what to do with it if anything  :-)   like I said will keep this particular aspect of my project to myself... and others that want to figure it out can pay. seems fair to me as I paid for it.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2015, 07:16:23 PM by bernard S »

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2015, 07:35:17 PM »
Bernard,

Instead of comparing apples to oranges with discussing the prices of brand new v used OEM cdu prices why don't you bring this back on topic with an explanation on how you were able to interface your hud. You obviously had to send it to simvionics but reply to the guys who asked for more.

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2015, 07:39:22 PM »

 and others that want to figure it out can pay. seems fair to me as I paid for it.

And there you have it guys. The real Bernard. Never had any intention on showing how it was done.

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 261
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2015, 08:52:20 PM »
Bernard, I also am disappointed.  I sent you two emails asking or more information if you would share it. I am even confident that several of us (especially me) would have paid for the information.  Could you at least confirm that it was Simvionics that helped you complete this task?
Thanks
Jim
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2015, 09:01:44 PM »
Jim:   We exchanged PMs on the 21st of May...and we talked about about a small piccolo projector  as my solution would not work for you as I use the aircraft power source and 429  etc ..I might still be in your PM box and you missed it or as you said you emailed then I am sorry I may overlooked it

Yes Gary I would have shared how it was done once it was in place  ..BUT YOU P*SSED ME OFF ..You want a punching bag ? go the fn gym..  again Gary you choose a select part of a sentence   what I said was...

"like I said will keep this particular aspect of my project to myself... and others that want to figure it out can pay. seems fair to me as I paid for it"...Meaning they too can go to a third party and pay everybodys budgets are different

 

« Last Edit: August 03, 2015, 08:36:50 AM by bernard S »

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2015, 10:39:10 PM »
The truth and calling a spade a spade. No punching bags required at cockpitbuilders.com . Plenty of posts in and still no mention of simvionics being behind the implementation of the pictures originating in this thread. Open and honesty not sure why your finding so difficult to give the credit to where it's solely due
« Last Edit: August 02, 2015, 10:55:43 PM by Garys »

Offline mickc

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 403
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2015, 02:06:12 AM »
Not entirely suprised by this...   ::)

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #17 on: August 03, 2015, 09:40:50 AM »
There ya go thread altered .. so all should be good in the zoo again :-)

Gary you got what you wanted :-)
Those that wanted to know how it was done have a POC :-)
Jim has a point of contact :-)
Jack got his question answered :-)
I have a working unit :-)
Mick C is longer surprised :-)
Phil got the credit :-)
I did not get my rant about third party CDUs :-( 

that should be it
« Last Edit: August 03, 2015, 09:45:19 AM by bernard S »

Offline Garys

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • First Name: Gary
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #18 on: August 03, 2015, 10:27:02 AM »
Excellent... much better details. Thanks buddy

Offline quid246

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 250
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: AM
  • Home Location: Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #19 on: August 03, 2015, 12:44:07 PM »
Now that the dust has settled... nice to see all is good on CB again.  :idiot:


Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,667
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2015, 07:22:19 PM »
 :D
The overspeed sensors were  triggered  and  IAS is back within limits
Let's cruise... and have fun.

 


Jack

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #21 on: August 12, 2015, 09:51:53 AM »
Just a update.. Phil from simvionics got the HUDS fully operational meaning it works, last night at 0230hrs UK time (the man never sleeps) after 15 plus hours of CnC machining and I dont know how many thinking hours involved and or tinkering hours.. he got it working with a generic aircraft out of MSF in this case the F/A-18...here is a link to it enjoy

https://www.facebook.com/Simvionics

The end result is a really professionally polished unit :-)))) in other words its not knocked together IMHO.. I think the cost involved in getting to this stage has been outstanding value for money he made 1 USD work like 20 quid very very well spent. An OEM solution would have been silly money nor does an OEM solution exist!   

Phil is being kind enough to pop over to the US and help with the installation of the hardware and software implementation to the 74-4 deck that this is going into.. Now that is customer support at its best. 

 



 
« Last Edit: August 12, 2015, 10:05:33 AM by bernard S »

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 261
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: Working HUDs
« Reply #22 on: July 04, 2017, 02:48:50 PM »
Here is an update on my HUD (Head-up Guidance System - HGS).

The system I have is an OEM HGS model 2350 from Flight Dynamics (Rockwell). In an earlier post I mentioned that I had removed the CRT from the overhead unit (OHU) and replaced it with an LCD screen.

Now with the test rig mounted in the overhead I can project an actual image onto my holographic combiner.

Pictures show a test image from my HGS software that was custom written by a fellow cockpit builder in Germany with minor edits that I provided. I will provide his contact info to anyone via PM.  The HGS image is an XML gauge attached to the main panel which I have turned off all other gauges.  My rig is Prosim on P3d.

As can be seen in the image taken while flying, the HGS alignment is still way off. This will be simply trial and error. Once I get the basic alignment complete, I'll work on getting the HGS XML gauge sized properly and aligned.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2017, 03:51:35 PM by navymustang »
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,631
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #23 on: July 04, 2017, 10:49:56 PM »
That is really cool Jim.  Great work to you and your programmer friend!  Love it..

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,263
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Working HUds
« Reply #24 on: July 05, 2017, 07:38:47 AM »
I have to agree. What an awesome piece of kit. Great stuff.
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2017


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Simulator REBUILD will begin in

Recent Posts

Descent into NZQN (Queenstown NZ)
by Nlgravity
[Today at 12:02:22 AM]
PoKeys and Potentiometer Jitters
by ifeliciano
[October 19, 2017, 03:30:52 PM]
Correct Amber LEDs for 737 Overhead?
by MistyBlue
[October 19, 2017, 10:19:10 AM]
Greetings from Memphis TN
by XOrionFE
[October 18, 2017, 10:59:19 PM]
Worldflight 2017 Donations!
by Trevor Hale
[October 18, 2017, 07:01:34 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[October 18, 2017, 03:45:12 PM]
Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
by Trevor Hale
[October 18, 2017, 12:23:20 PM]
PFC Jetliner Column Yoke USB
by AngeloC
[October 18, 2017, 10:22:18 AM]
Minor Sim Milestone: I-1 on PilotEdge...
by Ed
[October 18, 2017, 07:09:43 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[October 18, 2017, 01:42:47 AM]
Rob's 733 Sim
by 737NGer
[October 17, 2017, 12:41:53 PM]
727-200 sim for sale
by blueskydriver
[October 17, 2017, 01:33:47 AM]
Post Your Pit!!!! 1000 Member Show and Tell
by Nlgravity
[October 17, 2017, 01:10:33 AM]
For Sale B737 Circuit Breaker Panels Kit...
by jackpilot
[October 16, 2017, 09:16:13 PM]
P3D v4 and WideTraffic crashing
by Trevor Hale
[October 16, 2017, 04:11:26 PM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by jackpilot
[October 16, 2017, 08:13:26 AM]
Cockpits for Sale...mine?
by blueskydriver
[October 15, 2017, 11:48:20 PM]
Bezels and Panels For Sale - B738
by hillbilly20
[October 14, 2017, 04:54:37 AM]
Side views
by Bob Reed
[October 13, 2017, 05:51:07 PM]
Cockpit Seats for Sale $700 or obo.
by blueskydriver
[October 13, 2017, 02:40:48 PM]
full working huds for sale
by navymustang
[October 13, 2017, 09:44:08 AM]
Auto Brake Panel for 30 degree rotary switches
by ifeliciano
[October 12, 2017, 01:49:50 PM]
Hi guys - new here with a question
by Blackhawk
[October 12, 2017, 01:30:29 PM]
Backlit Knobs Source?
by ifeliciano
[October 12, 2017, 10:34:12 AM]
Rotary Switch with Encoder
by Coco737
[October 12, 2017, 09:50:48 AM]
737 Landing Light Bar - Anyone know where to get one?
by XOrionFE
[October 11, 2017, 08:30:05 PM]
Lego Sets for Cockpit Items...trading?
by blueskydriver
[October 11, 2017, 03:18:29 PM]
I'm now using EUR & USD in my shop
by Bob Reed
[October 11, 2017, 11:26:53 AM]
That Annoying 400Hz Tone
by 727737Nut
[October 11, 2017, 11:02:56 AM]
Jorge from NAVCOM
by navcom
[October 11, 2017, 09:44:31 AM]