Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 47
  • *Total: 47

FlightSimExpo 2018

Our Discord

Author Topic: P3D v4 Multi Channel  (Read 4869 times)

Offline FredK

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 440
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #25 on: July 14, 2017, 09:35:32 PM »
WideTraffic 64 just released for P3Dv4!

Fred K
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.1, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline Nat Crea

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Nat
  • Home Location: Australia
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #26 on: July 15, 2017, 02:54:56 AM »
Nice one ;)

Nat

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #27 on: July 24, 2017, 08:40:27 AM »
As we all wait for Prosim to become stable under P3D v4, I decided to try a hybrid mix that is giving EXCELLENT results.

I kept my host visual computer on P3D v3.x and with the existing WideTraffic and WideView and FSUIPC.

I shifted all three PCs that are visual clients driving my three projectors over to P3D V4 with the new WideTraffic, WideView and FSUIPC v5.

I can honestly claim that every slider in the settings for P3D graphics is just once step from being at the max setting, and I am getting over 30 FPS on each client.  Absolutely amazing. WideTraffic and WideView are nearly perfect.
The only issue I am finding is that WideView is no longer propogating weather correctly across the network using the global technique.  That's the check box on weather in the upper right quadrant on the dialog box. This could be an issue with different versions on the network. I hope someone else can try this and see if they have the same issues.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline tennyson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Frank
  • Home Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #28 on: July 24, 2017, 09:24:25 AM »
I'm with you, too.
I have been testing all of the Prosim pre-releases, hoping for the one that fixes the lag problem. The latest one, V 1.51b13, is still laggy, tho.

In the meantime, I've updated two of my three IG PC's with V4, FSUIPC 5 and all of the new P3D V4 native scenery that I'll be using in my next Asia/European Tour.

I still have hardware updates to do on the sim, before departing on leg one, so I have some time, hopefully we will have working Prosim, all the remaining ORBX airports and some of the European airports porting to V4.


Frank

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #29 on: July 24, 2017, 09:50:32 AM »
Frank - are you using the Prosim IOS to change your weather (with WideView) ? If so, let me know if you are getting your visual clients to update using P3D v4.

I don't want to go with a third party weather engine because you can't control it from the Prosim IOS and I can't layer on another software product for my customers, or for myself. To much effort to set up a flight for training purposes.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline FredK

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 440
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #30 on: July 24, 2017, 10:06:38 AM »
Jim...

That is excellent news that the new WideView works in a mixed config!

That news raises the priority for me to convert to P3Dv4!

At the moment I am running P3Dv3 with WV in a mixed config with FSX as the server.  It runs superbly that way since FSX never ever crashes as well as the P3D clients in that config.

For my weather setup I am using FSGRW networked on the P3D clients with a separate FSGRW instance running on the FSX server since the FSGRW network bridge does not work in a mixed config.  Weather syncs perfectly that way.  I am assuming that the new FSGRW for v4 will work the same way,  so ideally I will continue to use FSX for my WVserver if that is the case.

FSGRW for P3Dv4 is under development....including some promised improvements.  So I now eagerly await!

This makes my day!

Fred K
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 10:13:44 AM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.1, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline tennyson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Frank
  • Home Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #31 on: July 25, 2017, 02:31:03 AM »
Hi Jim.
I haven't been running any weather in the cockpit under P3D V3, except basic P3D inbuilt weather.
Now that I've updated to P3D V4 all but the last PC (that is happening tonight), I am looking at installing weather into the cockpit.

I've been trialling ASP4 on my test rig in the house and it's definitely ready for the big time on a desktop, but weather it passes muster in the cockpit environment remains to be seen.

Like Fred has said, FSGRW works, so I trialled it in V3, but canned it, it just didn't do it for me visually.

I'm going to pursue the ASP4 thing, even if I have to buy 3 more licenses for the cockpit. It is the closest thing I've ever seen to realistic weather.

As far as changing weather and position in the cockpit, I have been using FS-Flight Control for some time and it's brilliant. It has had no problem with V3, but have not tested it in the network environment of the cockpit, so will have to see about that.

On my desktop, FS-Flight Control is working flawlessly with P3D V4, but does need a live Wi-Fi connection to work remotely from an iPad or tablet, so you do open yourself up to problems with updates from Windows 10.


Frank 

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #32 on: August 04, 2017, 10:01:54 AM »
As mentioned in an off topic post - I have purchased (leased) the professional plus license and am exploring the elimination of WideView to control my visual client computers and shifting to the revised and updated multichannel feature of P3D v4.

Good news is that I have the host and one client talking with almost no issues. When attempting to bring online the second client, not such good news. That client copy of P3D just shuts down. Will give full details this weekend along with copies of the config files I am using.

I am using the ViewGroups exported from my warp and blend software (Immersive Display Pro).

And for those who are Prosim folks, my host and all of the Prosim software is running perfectly using the new FSUIPC v5. I will still need to resolve AI traffic.

Hi Jim,

I'm curious to know if you've had any success adding a 2nd client using Pro Plus Multi-channel or is this a dead end at this time?

I'm still torn between WidevieW64 with multiple Pro Licenses or Multi Channel Clients with a subscription to Pro Plus.

I want to run 5 TV screens using at least 2 clients. The way I see it now, 3 licenses would cost me $600. That equates roughly to a 3 year subscription of Pro Plus ($684) which makes Pro Plus a viable alternative to WidevieW providing the clients will network properly.

Your thoughts please,

 

Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #33 on: August 04, 2017, 11:49:01 AM »
For the foreseeable future I have stopped going down this path until Prosim resolves the severe staggering issue with network traffic.

I hope by September that fix will be out and I can continue this research,

I want to keep my sim running as I build so staying with V3 on the host and kept V4 on the client visuals. Still using WideView and works great for now.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #34 on: August 04, 2017, 12:12:24 PM »
For the foreseeable future I have stopped going down this path until Prosim resolves the severe staggering issue with network traffic.

I hope by September that fix will be out and I can continue this research,

I want to keep my sim running as I build so staying with V3 on the host and kept V4 on the client visuals. Still using WideView and works great for now.

Hi Jim,

Thanks for your reply. Have you read the latest comment from the Prosim Forum this morning? Under the General Topic, Lapi has posted a workaround that may work for many Prosim users during the wait for a Compatible V4 Prosim .
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #35 on: August 04, 2017, 01:10:43 PM »
I guess we all know what I will now be doing this weekend  :)

Thanks for the insight.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #36 on: August 05, 2017, 01:27:57 PM »
Looking forward to hearing the results of your weekend :)
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #37 on: August 05, 2017, 05:16:58 PM »
Well - first pass at following the instructions exactly gave the exact same stutter.  Oh well.

I'll have to look further into what Im doing wrong  :)
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline tennyson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Frank
  • Home Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #38 on: August 05, 2017, 09:06:14 PM »
I had several goes at getting the workaround to work, just on my desktop, but to no avail. It requires an IP address and also a port number. As well, you need to exclude that port number from your firewall.

This is the last piece of the puzzle now, as ORBX have now released their Beta Object Flow and all of their airports are now available.

So, it will be a very interesting couple of months ahead of us.


Frank


Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: P3D v4 Multi Channel
« Reply #39 on: August 05, 2017, 10:38:44 PM »
Hi Fellahs,

I was hoping for better news, but these things are tricky. I'm off for a few weeks come Monday, so not really worth it at the moment for me to lease the ProPlus. Might have a go at it when I get back home. Some have had success..some haven't. Guess it's a hit and miss thing with the work around.

I have 3 60 inch TV's at home now. The last two are still on layaway, and I'm starting to get a bit of pressure from the store. I think I might just bite the bullet and cancel the last two, as I'm pretty sure I can get 3 separate views to work ok, 5 might be just biting off more than I can chew. I have until the end of August to decide to keep or let the last two go.

Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

My Cockpit homemade - Brasil
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 12:50:00 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 12:43:27 PM]
Playing with Arduino
by Bob Reed
[Today at 12:00:15 PM]
Cockpits, INCOME TAX SEASON SALE!
by blueskydriver
[Today at 01:42:51 AM]
Aircraft config and question
by Bob Reed
[April 19, 2018, 04:43:44 PM]
SIOC Script needed for Opencockpit USBDCMOTORPLUS Card and Prosim
by jfuenmayor
[April 19, 2018, 09:07:20 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by kurt-olsson
[April 19, 2018, 06:18:50 AM]
Hello from Indiana
by mickc
[April 18, 2018, 10:15:56 PM]
Building a MIP out of MDF
by Aerosim Solutions
[April 18, 2018, 06:49:50 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[April 18, 2018, 04:28:22 AM]
My 737 Desktop Cockpit
by Bob Reed
[April 17, 2018, 10:29:53 PM]
Today's flight through that massive storm system on the East coast...
by RayS
[April 16, 2018, 09:37:34 PM]
[SOLVED] Opencockpits Displays II card Microcontroller
by KyleH
[April 16, 2018, 09:28:49 PM]
Server Update:
by Trevor Hale
[April 16, 2018, 07:52:10 PM]
Landing lights PM aircraft
by Bob Reed
[April 16, 2018, 07:50:45 AM]
A Sad day for the Sim last week
by Trevor Hale
[April 16, 2018, 12:57:12 AM]
Looking for Go Flight EFIS
by al23
[April 15, 2018, 03:40:33 PM]
Do you live in the Calgary AB area?
by iwik
[April 15, 2018, 12:35:40 PM]
B737NG OEM build
by jeffreyk
[April 15, 2018, 01:51:26 AM]
Fly-Elise Tutorial
by tennyson
[April 15, 2018, 12:18:44 AM]
Wanted: Real Boeing 737 TQ
by Joe Lavery
[April 13, 2018, 04:53:26 PM]
Sun-N-Fun Lakeland
by Caflyt
[April 13, 2018, 10:59:50 AM]
New video presentation about my OEM Boeing 737 cockpit conversion
by navymustang
[April 12, 2018, 02:09:19 PM]
Already ready for WF2018!
by Sam Llorca
[April 12, 2018, 07:27:29 AM]
Electric Panel Window opening size
by ifeliciano
[April 11, 2018, 11:32:14 PM]
Dummy Oxygen Mask
by carlostxnl
[April 11, 2018, 06:38:52 AM]
The Progression of a build [Phase One]
by GyverX
[April 10, 2018, 09:29:52 PM]
Temporary throttle needed !
by Caflyt
[April 10, 2018, 10:28:45 AM]
SOLD!!! For Sale, a GoFlight MCP I/O card and 2 GoFlight I/O cards.
by blueskydriver
[April 09, 2018, 08:35:59 PM]
FlightSimExpo - June 9 - 10 2018
by FlightSimExpo
[April 09, 2018, 04:55:53 PM]