Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 3
  • *Guests: 53
  • *Total: 56

Author Topic: WidevieW  (Read 565 times)

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
WidevieW
« on: July 13, 2017, 03:07:19 PM »
Hi Everyone,

This question is kind of aimed at the WidevieW gurus in the forum. My forum searches haven't been able to find a whole lot of info on the topic. I'm currently reading the FAQ's on the WV homepage and have also printed out the manual for WV to readup on.

I think WidevieW at this time is my only viable option with P3DV4. From what I understand, the free clients with P3DV4 are related to  Professional Plus, and that's just too rich for my budget and also, from what I've read, there are still many issues with multichannel networks with this version.

I don't qualify for Academic licenses , so for 3 to 5 licenses for Professional, I'm looking at 600 to 1000 USD , also a steep option..but doable.

I've read somewhere that each PC in a network can output more than one view. Has anyone tried this with any kind of success?  This would certainly cut down on the amount of licenses a person would need.



Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Online navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2017, 03:23:44 PM »
You will need to describe a bit more about your configuration. Are you having a host machine drive client visuals? How many client PCs and are they connected to monitors or projectors.

Then - for example, are you wanting to drive multiple projectors / monitors from a single client PC?  Such as 4 views with 2 client computers driven by a host.

Then we can give you a better answer.

Thanks
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Nat Crea

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 538
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Nat
  • Home Location: Australia
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2017, 09:47:19 PM »
You can produce as many views as you want per Client(or Server).
eg 3 PC's-3 Views,
3PC's-6 Views, 7,8,9,10...as many as want with in performance constraints of course.

Nat

Offline MCrevot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • A320-like cockpit builder
  • First Name: Michel Crevot
  • Home Location: Pornic - France
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2017, 02:59:16 AM »
Ed,
On my sim, the main Pc produce the front view, and a client produce the right and left view.
My conf :
Server : server fsx, server wideview, a320 fmgs
Client 1 : fsx, wideview
Client 2 : a320 fmgs, sioc, ...
Fps : 30 ( limited) almost all the time

Michel
4970k, 2600k, i7 920, XP pro 64, FSX and A320 FMGS, 3 views on 3 vdp with wideview, 180 deg screen

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2017, 02:12:27 PM »
You will need to describe a bit more about your configuration. Are you having a host machine drive client visuals? How many client PCs and are they connected to monitors or projectors.

Then - for example, are you wanting to drive multiple projectors / monitors from a single client PC?  Such as 4 views with 2 client computers driven by a host.

Then we can give you a better answer.

Thanks

Hi Jim,

Currently I run a 3 PC network, each with their own static IP. A W10 I7 6700K @ 4.8 runs my forward view on a 60" TV GPU is a GeForce GTX 770. This PC also runs Prosim Server , Prosim MCP, ASN, RAAS Pro, Accufeel ,GSX and UT2.

C2 is an older W7 I7 920 at 2.8 or something close..not at PC.  GPU is an Nvidea 610. It drives my Capts display, Upper and Lower EICAS and forward Overhead panel (Prosim)

C3 is a P4 running W10 with an older GPU. Runs PSU, IOS ,CDU, PFPX,TopPCAT and drives my aft Overhead (Sismo Hardware).

I lock my FPS to 30 and I pretty much have that anywhere I fly.

I would like to add 4 more views through WidevieW using this configuration, which would then only require 3 licenses of P3DV4. 

So ultimately using 5 views with 3 PC's.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2017, 02:24:07 PM »
You can produce as many views as you want per Client(or Server).
eg 3 PC's-3 Views,
3PC's-6 Views, 7,8,9,10...as many as want with in performance constraints of course.

Nat

Thanks Nat. Yes, the big thing here is performance without a doubt. Anything 30 and above is very fluid..beneath that the stutters seem to happen quite frequently.

 So this confirms multiple views with each client using Wideview. Exactly what I wanted to know.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2017, 02:34:33 PM »
Ed,
On my sim, the main Pc produce the front view, and a client produce the right and left view.
My conf :
Server : server fsx, server wideview, a320 fmgs
Client 1 : fsx, wideview
Client 2 : a320 fmgs, sioc, ...
Fps : 30 ( limited) almost all the time

Michel

Hi Michel,

It sounds like your network is similar to mine. I was hoping to do 5 views with a 3 PC network. 30 FPS sounds pretty good with 3 views. It could be that trying for 5 views might be biting off more than I can chew.

Can you give me your specs for your server and clients..  OS, CPU and GPU?

Thanks for your input.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline MCrevot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • A320-like cockpit builder
  • First Name: Michel Crevot
  • Home Location: Pornic - France
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2017, 03:12:19 PM »
Ed,
My server : 2600k, radeon 7970, w7 64 bits
The fsx client : 4970k, radeon r9 290, w7 64 bits

Today, you can obviously improve that a little ; but i am quite sure you can produce your 5 views with 3 pc ; if you can read french, look at http://www.aircockpit.com/viewtopic.php?f=72&t=4715&p=69513#p69513

Michel
4970k, 2600k, i7 920, XP pro 64, FSX and A320 FMGS, 3 views on 3 vdp with wideview, 180 deg screen

Online navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2017, 06:29:18 PM »
One of my delivered projects was a CRJ-700. There I had five views on a single PC driving 4 projectors.  Using dual NVidia cards

High end everything, but able to maintain 25 to 30 FPS.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D.
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2017, 04:18:34 PM »
Ed,
My server : 2600k, radeon 7970, w7 64 bits
The fsx client : 4970k, radeon r9 290, w7 64 bits

Today, you can obviously improve that a little ; but i am quite sure you can produce your 5 views with 3 pc ; if you can read french, look at http://www.aircockpit.com/viewtopic.php?f=72&t=4715&p=69513#p69513

Michel

Hi Michel,

My specs are similar to yours.. so I should be able to make it work with at least 3 views. my GPU I will upgrade soon..  waiting for prices to come down a bit.
Great link. Learned a few more things. Sadly I do not read French..but did manage to glean some info from the PDF and much of it can be translated through Google.

It seems that your client is more powerful than your server PC. Is this the best way with WideView? I have it opposite, my two clients are less powerful than my server.

Do you think it's necessary to use software like Fly Elise to sync the views when using WidevieW with TV screens ?

Thanks for your comments Michel,




Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2017, 04:27:14 PM »
One of my delivered projects was a CRJ-700. There I had five views on a single PC driving 4 projectors.  Using dual NVidia cards

High end everything, but able to maintain 25 to 30 FPS.

Hi Jim,

That's quite impressive to get 5 views through one PC and still maintain 25 to 30 fps. That's definitely flyable.  It also goes to show that 5 views through 3 PC's is very doable. I could add more PC's to the network, but then more licenses needed so dont really want to go beyond 3. Perhaps as the CPUs and GPUs  become more advanced...might be able to get away with 2 PC's. As it stands I have 3 that are reasonably stable so will stick with that setup for now.

Thanks for your comments Jim.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline MCrevot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • A320-like cockpit builder
  • First Name: Michel Crevot
  • Home Location: Pornic - France
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2017, 04:45:38 AM »
Hi Ed,

yes, the client is more powerful than the server because it have a double load (2 views) ; the balance betweeen the PCs can be touchy, but it seams that it is quite important to have all the views "delivered" at the same framerate (limited fps) to ensure a correct sync ... the subject can be tricky, so it is really necessary to have a deep read of the documentation, and specialy of the part dealing with tuning.

If you use TV screens, fly elise is not necessary ; fly elise is needed when you have to apply some geometric correction, for instance when you project a fsx view (wich is intended to be projected on a flat screen) on a cylindrical screen (that cause à distorsion on the edges of the image).

Michel

4970k, 2600k, i7 920, XP pro 64, FSX and A320 FMGS, 3 views on 3 vdp with wideview, 180 deg screen

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: WidevieW
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2017, 01:44:31 PM »
Hi Michel,

Hi Ed,

yes, the client is more powerful than the server because it have a double load (2 views) ; the balance betweeen the PCs can be touchy, but it seams that it is quite important to have all the views "delivered" at the same framerate (limited fps) to ensure a correct sync ... the subject can be tricky, so it is really necessary to have a deep read of the documentation, and specialy of the part dealing with tuning.


Hmmm..  going to require some experimentation to balance master and clients in order that each PC will be capable of delivering the FPS asked of it.

Quote
If you use TV screens, fly elise is not necessary ; fly elise is needed when you have to apply some geometric correction, for instance when you project a fsx view (wich is intended to be projected on a flat screen) on a cylindrical screen (that cause à distorsion on the edges of the image).

Michel

Thanks for this info. One less software to worry about. I will be using all 60 inch screens. In the meantime, will try to get my eyes on as much documentation as possible.
Ed
FSX-SE,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

 

Recent Posts

use pedestal circuit breakers
by mickc
[Today at 04:47:45 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[July 19, 2017, 03:19:26 PM]
737NG Cockpit Floor Rivet Sizes and Locations
by bernard S
[July 19, 2017, 12:38:49 PM]
New Cockpit Builder - Project Changes
by blueskydriver
[July 19, 2017, 10:14:24 AM]
Opions / Reviews on NFS Yokes, CFY TQ, and FDS Rudder
by airupthere
[July 19, 2017, 08:40:46 AM]
5VDC dimmer required
by Aerosim Solutions
[July 18, 2017, 06:46:12 PM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[July 18, 2017, 05:29:29 AM]
Weber seat restoration
by blueskydriver
[July 18, 2017, 02:01:12 AM]
Tiller Steering Airbus
by eduardohbm
[July 17, 2017, 08:59:09 PM]
Air vents for sale (SOLD)
by 737man
[July 17, 2017, 01:36:40 PM]
HEY GUYS! WANNA SPEED UP YOUR COMPUTER?
by kurt-olsson
[July 17, 2017, 02:22:02 AM]
Eastern Airlines 727 Cockpit Layout Diagrams?
by DC9legacy
[July 16, 2017, 10:19:31 PM]
Revolution Simproducts V2.0 Plug & Play Throttle help
by Garys
[July 16, 2017, 04:45:57 PM]
WidevieW
by Ed
[July 16, 2017, 01:44:31 PM]
737 CDU for sale
by pierclav
[July 15, 2017, 04:15:39 AM]
P3D v4 Multi Channel
by Nat Crea
[July 15, 2017, 02:54:56 AM]
Calculating amp draw
by Mach7
[July 14, 2017, 10:49:53 AM]
CRJ cockpit for sale
by Goodenough
[July 13, 2017, 04:27:04 PM]
OEM Duct pressure gauge
by jackpilot
[July 13, 2017, 12:38:17 PM]
Looking for 2 eyeball ducts fr my 737 cockpit
by jackpilot
[July 13, 2017, 10:28:52 AM]
Advice on room size
by Caflyt
[July 13, 2017, 05:54:56 AM]
How to correct crab angle view question
by ebaw
[July 13, 2017, 03:35:16 AM]
Grayhill mini rotaries SOLD
by jackpilot
[July 12, 2017, 03:50:06 PM]
Hello from Versailles
by RJ85
[July 12, 2017, 02:07:04 AM]
Wanted - 2 Bay 737-300 Pedestal
by philb737
[July 11, 2017, 01:14:02 AM]
Simulators on Public Surplus in Wisconsin!
by blueskydriver
[July 10, 2017, 11:33:17 PM]
Jeehell: The AP does not follow the lateral guidance from the FD
by luisgordo
[July 10, 2017, 10:26:34 AM]
B737 Rudder adjusting crank unit
by Buster99
[July 08, 2017, 05:24:26 PM]
New BAe146 glareshield for VR MCP install...
by Mach7
[July 08, 2017, 09:06:14 AM]
TQ - Motor mounting options
by kurt-olsson
[July 08, 2017, 06:00:21 AM]