Cockpitbuilders.com

CockpitBuilders.com - Main => General Discusion Board. => Topic started by: fsaviator on December 11, 2017, 05:56:15 PM

Title: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: fsaviator on December 11, 2017, 05:56:15 PM
Thinking of buying this (when I win the Powerball this week).  Do you think I'll be able to get 40 FPS with it?

https://www.staples.com/intel-imsourcing-intel-core-i7-extreme-edition-i7-4960x-hexa-core-6-core-3-60-ghz-processor-socket-r-lga-2011retail-pack/product_IM18A4571?&cvosrc=social+network+paid.facebook.Lower&cvo_cid=6108585414451&cvo_pid=6108585394651&cvo_crid=6108585409851 (https://www.staples.com/intel-imsourcing-intel-core-i7-extreme-edition-i7-4960x-hexa-core-6-core-3-60-ghz-processor-socket-r-lga-2011retail-pack/product_IM18A4571?&cvosrc=social+network+paid.facebook.Lower&cvo_cid=6108585414451&cvo_pid=6108585394651&cvo_crid=6108585409851)

 :o
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: FredK on December 11, 2017, 10:15:42 PM
Hmmm.....free shipping is included, so I say that clinches going for it!

Be sure to keep us updated on reaching your 40fps target.....I think it will be a stretch though.

Fred K
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Garys on December 11, 2017, 10:57:35 PM
Absolutely Not.  For the price of that chip you can build a brand new system based on the 8700K which would blow that out of the water. Any thoughts of buying 3 year old tech should be put aside immediately especially at that price.
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: blueskydriver on December 11, 2017, 11:31:50 PM
What about one of these paperweight heaters...uh, I mean processors? Would only cost half of your PowerBall winnings and the odds of one processor hitting 40fps is much better...maybe, 40,000,000 to 1. LOL!

https://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007671%20601300154&IsNodeId=1&cm_sp=Cat_CPU-Processors_1-_-Visnav-_-Intel-CPU_1&cm_sp=Cat_CPU-Processors_1-_-Visnav-_-Intel-i9_2 (https://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007671%20601300154&IsNodeId=1&cm_sp=Cat_CPU-Processors_1-_-Visnav-_-Intel-CPU_1&cm_sp=Cat_CPU-Processors_1-_-Visnav-_-Intel-i9_2)

Disclaimer: If you bet on Powerball because one of the processor in my link persuaded you to race out for some Powerball tickets, and then you do win, I get 50% of your winnings. Why? Because I used 20,000,000 brain cells on thinking of a way too get 50% out of you and without blinking my eyes even once...uh, okay just once, but I am not deducting for that blink; otherwise, it would be 51%...ROTFLOL! :o :o ;D

Thanks Warren for bringing in some good humor!

John

Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: tennyson on December 12, 2017, 04:29:34 AM
Het Warren,
If you are using P3D, then the 8700K is the better CPU and about 2 Grand cheaper...and that's just the CPU. The supporting mobo will cost you 500-800 bucks as well.

P3D is CPU bound and as I've been told, the 8700K is a beast to overclock (if you want to).

I've just built a new PC for the cockpit, 8700K, Asus ROG Hero X with Z370 chipset, 32Gb very Fast RAM. The Board will support three GTX1080's. all in a row.
Running it with a Coolermaster 110i CPU liquid cooling, 2Gb Samsung SSD and all the latest software.
It took a week to load 800Gb scenery software and I'm heavily into testing all of the scenery and then I'm on to testing the hardware, before it makes it's way into testing in the cockpit.
It really is Xmas, at my place!


Frank
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: fsaviator on December 12, 2017, 05:11:30 AM
Great feedback everyone!  Thanks!

I've got my fingers crossed.  In the meantime, I'm hoping Santa comes through with other nice things from the Great White North (or at least just north of Toronto...)

Warren
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Bob Reed on December 12, 2017, 07:34:32 AM
The i9s have much lower clock speeds. I would avoid them for FSX or P3D... We are still CPU clock bound. Going to 64 bit gained me very little to nothing in performance but I am running a second gen i7 with a lower clock speed. I know folks with better clock speeds getting much better performance then me. So go with the higher clock speeds!
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: tennyson on December 12, 2017, 08:35:00 AM
Bob, you are so right.

That is why the 8700k is so popular now, as it can be overclocked very simply and is capable of high clock speeds.



Frank
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: FredK on December 12, 2017, 09:07:42 AM
On a serious note.....I can agree with the comments about the I7-8700k being the most suitable chip out there for P3Dv4.

I am in the process of totally rebuilding my WideView and avionics network as we speak. I have invested in 8700Ks with 1080Tis for my 4 WV computers. I have completed the basic build (no addons) and have to say that  this is biggest leap in performance I have ever experienced in moving to a new platform.....granted that it is a simultaneous conversion to P3Dv4 from P3Dv3.4 and the hardware change from I7-4790Ks. I will be repurposing my old computers for avionics.

What I am seeing is that you can significantly ratchet up the in-game video settings (AA etc.) without bringing the thing to its knees.....no need for Invidia Inspector also.  This is particularly important for warping projector setups like mine where AA and shimmering phenomena become more of an issue.

The logic is solid behind the performance gain....the I7-8700ks nominally overclock to over 5ghz and have 2 extra cores at 6.  That combination is ideal for P3Dv4 since there still is significant loading on a single core requiring high clocking, but there are clearly also some improvements in the 64 bit programming that will take advantage of multi cores. The 8700k also has a larger cache size that may be helping.  It is also reasonably priced. So overall a good choice for P3Dv4.

Admittedly I am in the very early stages of this rebuild so the final jury decision is still out,  but I am extremely ecstatic at what I am seeing right now!

Oh....and Warren....40fps are guaranteed so don't wait on the Powerball jackpot!

Fred K
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: ifeliciano on December 12, 2017, 01:40:48 PM
Any thoughts of buying 3 year old tech should be put aside immediately especially at that price.

I'm buying 3 y/o tech because I got a free ASUS X-99 Deluxe-II. Im going to add an i7-5930K OC'd to run some Prosim panels. Since Prepar3d is still dependent on clock speed, my FS system will have the fastest processor I can afford at the time I build the P3D PC.
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Garys on December 12, 2017, 06:11:26 PM
$600 chip just to use a free MB? I hope you don't have to resort to newegg or such.
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: tennyson on December 12, 2017, 07:03:22 PM
Hey Fred, Don't want to hijack Warren's thread, but will you be going over to overlap on you projectors now, instead of butting them up to each other. I have specifically built this PC with the view of testing running all three Projectors from a single overclocked PC.
If it doesn't work, I may do the same as you and buy two more 8700K and still go down the 3 PC route again.



Frank
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: ifeliciano on December 12, 2017, 11:00:08 PM
$600 chip just to use a free MB? I hope you don't have to resort to newegg or such.

Oh heck no. I'm not paying retail for it.
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: FredK on December 13, 2017, 09:09:28 AM
Frank

To answer your question.......

My plan at this point is to stay with butted projection no matter what.

The butted format decision is largely independent of computer power and performance.  It is more an issue of geometry.  Depending on the degree of overlap gradient a butted projection setup will yield at least 15-20% greater pixel density for the same screen viewing area since there is that much less total screen area projected onto given the elimination of the overlap territory.  In other words I can move the physical position of my projectors forward by that ratio amount to yield the same screen viewing area using a 4:3 projection format. That yields a directly proportionate improvement in display sharpness and vividness etc.

Along the way on this I have vacillated between overlap and butt more than once.  Each time however I have always returned to the butt format.  This comes down to a matter of personal preference of course.  For me, once I am flying I really do not even notice that the butt lines are even there.  It is certainly no worse than for those of us using flat panel displays.  However, for others a butt projection may totally destroy immersiveness.  It is a matter of trade off for what is most important to you.

Fred K
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: tennyson on December 13, 2017, 07:00:46 PM
Thanx Fred,



Frank
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: ifeliciano on December 14, 2017, 02:52:59 PM
Fred.


Im not in the up-n-up on projection on multiple screens. Are edge blending packages like Fly Elise-ng considered "overlap"?
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: FredK on December 14, 2017, 08:48:51 PM
Fly Elise can be set up either as overlap or butt.  Works fine either way.  I am using Fly Elise for a butted projection setup.

Fred K
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: ifeliciano on December 15, 2017, 12:27:00 AM
Thank you!
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Caflyt on December 15, 2017, 05:01:26 AM
After talking to Fred I decided to go to the 8700k setup.
Here is my open frame build with the 8700k, 16gb Aegis 3000 memory, cooler master liquid, and 850EVO SSD, and 980Ti. I will add another SSD (possibly M.2) and upgrade the PSU to 1000w (currently 750w) soon. The MOBO is ASUS Z370 TUF gaming.
I haven’t even plugged it in yet so I don’t yet know how it will perform but I will keep you posted. I am going to see how it does with P3d V4.1 and three Optoma gt1080’s on this one computer.
Craig
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: B747-400 on December 15, 2017, 07:35:34 AM
Hi Craig,

are you going to connect three beamer to your 980Ti?
Looking forward to your performance rreport. THX.

Cheers
Hans
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: bernard S on December 15, 2017, 08:20:29 AM
i use this
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: jackpilot on December 15, 2017, 09:01:25 AM
Nice color...
A list of specs would be more informative and helpful though  ;)
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Flying_Fox on December 15, 2017, 11:40:47 AM
I am going to see how it does with P3d V4.1 and three Optoma gt1080’s on this one computer.
Craig

Should be just fine.

I am running 4790 with 980Ti (6GB) with average over 30 FPS in ports (heavy ports mag do down to 20) P3Dv4.1, ORBX Global + Vector + Open LC, UT Live at 80%
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Caflyt on December 15, 2017, 04:23:09 PM
Well,
I will have to wait to see how it runs.
MOBO was DOA. Two DIMM slots not working.
Sending back and now ordering ASUS ROG STRIX Z370.
Wah Wah Wah  :(

Craig
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Sam Llorca on December 18, 2017, 06:53:33 AM
I just upgraded it to this MOBO and very happy so far...

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132991 (https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132991)

Cheers!
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Caflyt on December 18, 2017, 11:29:46 AM

This is the one I’m getting to go with my I7 8700k.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=13-119-033 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=13-119-033)
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: FredK on December 18, 2017, 05:08:07 PM
I went with the ASUS Strix ROG Z370H version since it was a bit cheaper.  I did not need some of the extra bells and whistles (like WIFI etc.) that are the difference on the more expensive versions since the sim essentially runs on a closed wired network.  The simpler the better!

These are nice boards. Very easy to auto-overclock.

Be sure to update the BIOS.  The resident BIOS on the boards I received were several versions old.  Apparently there have been a lot of updates happening.

Fred K
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: tennyson on December 18, 2017, 05:21:40 PM
Some good info here, guys.

I went with the ASUS Rog Hero X, which is a Z370 board as well.

Heads up, I updated my BIOS straight away and the REaltek Audio chip had issues. i installed the software off the disk that it came with and still it wouldn't work. I then downloaded the latest Audio drivers off the ASUS site, to no avail.

A liitle googling revealed that a few ASUS boards are suffering Audio problems with their Realtek drivers and suggested getting them from the Realtek site.

I did that, and Bob's your Uncle, all fixed. I then wrote a lengthy email to Asus, giving them a swift kick in the nads for selling a 500 dollar board with a 1 dollar driver on it.
They replied, thanking me very much for the kick in the nads.......





Frank
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Caflyt on December 18, 2017, 07:30:08 PM
 Fred, I think the other difference on this board versus the H model is something with the VRM. 10 phase versus six phase or some gobbledygook like that.  Not sure what that means to me but oh well.
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Trevor Hale on December 21, 2017, 11:59:20 AM
Z boards allow Overclocking.... H Boards do not.
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: FredK on December 21, 2017, 01:23:06 PM
Quote
Z boards allow Overclocking.... H Boards do not.

????

My ASUS Z370H boards with the I7-8700Ks are each overclocking 35% to over 5 ghz stable.  Typical for that CPU.

ASUS webpage info:

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-Z370-H-GAMING/ (https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-Z370-H-GAMING/)

Fred K
Title: Re: Upgrading my PC. Will this work?
Post by: Trevor Hale on December 21, 2017, 01:34:53 PM
Cause its a Z370  If it was an H370 You wouldn't be able to overclock..  Sorry, Didn't realize your "Z" MB had a H Version...