Cockpitbuilders.com

CockpitBuilders.com - Main => General Discusion Board. => Topic started by: 737man on May 26, 2015, 06:11:36 PM

Title: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: 737man on May 26, 2015, 06:11:36 PM
Help,

Need help with setting up my 2 Cole Starter switches with FSX Gold & Prosim.  I have the relay and starters installed in the FDS OVHD.  Does anyone have any docs or set guidelines?

Cheers Lance
Title: Re: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: jackpilot on May 28, 2015, 07:50:22 AM
part of the answer:
Should be interfaced with an avionics soft.

Title: Re: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: fsaviator on May 28, 2015, 03:07:09 PM
Thanks Jack!  Needed that.
Title: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: Ethanoost on May 29, 2015, 12:01:33 AM
Why the diode?  I noticed the real switch straight out of 737 ccokpit has a diode or resistor or something between the two poles.  When I tried to test the solenoid, the resistor /diode burnt. I cut it off and the solenoid works perfectly.
Title: Re: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: Karl737 on May 29, 2015, 12:29:29 AM
The diode is there to "absorb" high voltage spikes, and therefore prevent damage to whatever the solenoid is connected to (e.g. a relay card) or in the real aircraft, the electrical system that controls it. The spikes occur in the opposite polarity to the polarity of the power connections that activate the solenoid in the first place and only occur when power is removed from the solenoid. The diode, which will only conduct in one direction, is therefore hooked up across the terminals and is the right orientation so it does not conduct when power is applied, but will conduct when a spike is induced when power is removed thus absorbing the spike at its source.

The reason the diode burnt out is either because power was applied the wrong way to the markings on the terminals or the diode was installed back the front across the terminals.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Karl
Title: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: Ethanoost on May 29, 2015, 01:12:39 AM
Ah thank you. I guess I better buy a few new diodes and hook them up.
Title: Re: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: 737man on May 29, 2015, 11:22:21 PM
I have the first generation FDS switches and relay.  Any info & diagrams for connection help would be great.  I use prosim & fsx.  Is there any addition programs that needed to  be added on?

Cheers.....
Title: Re: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: fsaviator on May 25, 2018, 05:47:45 PM
part of the answer:
Should be interfaced with an avionics soft.
Jack,
any idea how many amps I need on this 28V circuit?  I'd like to just drop in a 12VDC to 28VDC up-converter and tap into my 12V run in the overhead.
Title: Re: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: jackpilot on May 27, 2018, 09:15:15 AM
On my sim they are fed 12V from the OVH PSU through the FDS relay card.
No issue so far
 :D
Title: Re: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: bernard S on May 27, 2018, 11:26:31 AM
are yiu going to tie them into other panels per logic  ?
Title: Re: Cole Starter Switches
Post by: fsaviator on May 27, 2018, 01:55:49 PM
Yes, I want to, using Prosim737