Cockpitbuilders.com

CockpitBuilders.com - Main => Builders Discussions => Topic started by: Steenos on February 22, 2018, 12:54:33 PM

Title: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: Steenos on February 22, 2018, 12:54:33 PM
What have you guys done with the Pressurization panels on the 737NG overhead panel? Did you use 7 segment displays? I really want the amber text if I can get it. But this seems like it will be a big learning curve for me. I'm flying Xplane 11 with the zibo mod 737.
Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: mickc on February 22, 2018, 05:08:04 PM
7 Segment is pretty much the only way to go unless you get custom LCDs made up, but they are very expensive if you aren't ordering hundreds at a time!

You can get good results with Kingbright .36" amber 7 segment displays.

This is a test video of mine, the brightness is way too high in this, it will be much lower when installed and the dimming will follow the brt/dim switch on the MIP.
Its just a test for the multiplexing and display characters.  This will also display the dashed line when the press. controller is unpowered or inop.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z727oIHDbwk
 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z727oIHDbwk)
Also there will be a couple of thin color filters installed to enhance the amber color and make the area around the segments a dark copper color like the real LCDs
Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: 727737Nut on February 22, 2018, 08:14:46 PM
What are the measurements of the opening?  I have a possible cheap solution.  Sorry, my idea is for the Meters/power panel

Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: kurt-olsson on February 23, 2018, 02:14:03 AM
Damn mickc...
Everything you touch looks so pro!

I will get those displays myself!

Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: ifeliciano on February 25, 2018, 06:11:12 PM
Damn mickc...
Everything you touch looks so pro!

I will get those displays myself!

Thats what you get when you buy the best.  ;)
Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: Steenos on March 02, 2018, 04:31:19 PM
Has anyone used this or is this possible?

http://www.flightsimparts.eu/shop_microdriver7segment.htm (http://www.flightsimparts.eu/shop_microdriver7segment.htm)

Can i mix that with my arduinos? I'm just trying to find a solution.
Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: mickc on March 02, 2018, 11:18:45 PM
Has anyone used this or is this possible?

http://www.flightsimparts.eu/shop_microdriver7segment.htm (http://www.flightsimparts.eu/shop_microdriver7segment.htm)

Can i mix that with my arduinos? I'm just trying to find a solution.

Those displays are the ones I am using above, but I'm not using the microdriver, they are driven by MAX7219 driver chips from Simduino (Arduino)
Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: Steenos on March 03, 2018, 03:42:50 PM
Awesome Mic! Thank you. So I just need to get the two displays, then a max7219 and i can hook the max 7219 up to the arduino? Do you have any kind of tutorial I can follow to do this?
Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: mickc on March 04, 2018, 04:40:45 AM
You will need MAX7219 chips as they only handle 8 digits each, plus a few filtering capacitors etc, for the supporting circuitry.

No tutorial to speak of, mine is just on prototype board as proof of concept at the moment. Still have to make the PCB & fine tune the code.
Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: Steenos on May 08, 2018, 08:17:57 PM
Some Progress has been made on this panel. I was in London for the last week so I hadn't worked on the sim in a while. I bought a pokey 57U from Wendy and just got it connected to the PC.

The software recognizes the pokey and the screens are lit up so I've done something right! I've never used pokey's before. I'm trying to use this to display the flt and land altitudes. But I've never used this software before and don't know how to get it to talk with xplane 11.

Anyone with experience?

Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: jackpilot on May 09, 2018, 08:11:03 PM
Based on the picture...
Your Scotch Glass is empty
..This might explain that... :D
Title: Re: Pressurization Panel 737
Post by: ifeliciano on May 10, 2018, 02:35:59 AM
Some Progress has been made on this panel. I was in London for the last week so I hadn't worked on the sim in a while. I bought a pokey 57U from Wendy and just got it connected to the PC.

The software recognizes the pokey and the screens are lit up so I've done something right! I've never used pokey's before. I'm trying to use this to display the flt and land altitudes. But I've never used this software before and don't know how to get it to talk with xplane 11.

Anyone with experience?

Im a Prosim user so i have support out-of-the-box. There's a bit of reading to do. Wendy's site says its supported in Xplane via plug in. If you go to the Pokeys parent site poscope.com, under pokeys 57 there is a link that takes you to a discussion regarding the plugin and pokeys.

Support for X-Plane flight simulator

See more here: http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=62459 (http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=62459)