Cockpitbuilders.com

CockpitBuilders.com - Main => Wanted Items => Topic started by: n4208t on May 04, 2019, 08:20:56 AM

Title: Wanted: Collins Style radios
Post by: n4208t on May 04, 2019, 08:20:56 AM
Looking to upgrade King Air sim this summer and would like to replace existing radios with more appropriate Collins radios.  Please contact me or PM if you are aware of any.
Title: Re: Wanted: Collins Style radios
Post by: jackpilot on May 04, 2019, 10:20:43 AM
Trawl EBay. they show up fairly often.
Title: Re: Wanted: Collins Style radios
Post by: n4208t on May 04, 2019, 02:31:39 PM
Thanks.   I do that all the time.    :)
Title: Re: Wanted: Collins Style radios
Post by: Trevor Hale on May 06, 2019, 07:18:28 AM
Steve,

Flight Illusion has Collins Radios..

https://www.flightillusion.com/product/cav-adf-collins-style-adf-radio/ (https://www.flightillusion.com/product/cav-adf-collins-style-adf-radio/)

Trev
Title: Re: Wanted: Collins Style radios
Post by: n4208t on May 06, 2019, 09:15:51 AM
Thanks Trevor.  So does Ruscool but I thought I would look for some used ones before springing for new.  Appreciate the thought.
Title: Re: Wanted: Collins Style radios
Post by: Trooping on May 07, 2019, 07:30:04 AM
Steve,

I wanted to do the same, until I realised 6 Flightillusion radios plus their control board ( necessary ) comes to $1544 USD plus shipping.  Ruscool a little bit cheaper at $1162 plus shipping ( and doesnt work with Xplane ).  Not worth it, especially since in real life most operators are pulling them out and replacing them with GTN units.

You could buy 2 plug and play, ready to go units from Realsimgear and they would still come in cheaper at $499 each.  Plus they work on Xplane and P3D, no control boards or wiring etc.   Or make your own for pennies on the dollar.

Anyway just my opinion....

Joe.
Title: Re: Wanted: Collins Style radios
Post by: jackpilot on May 07, 2019, 08:57:05 AM
Be patient, they show up on EBay
Bingo
eBay auction: #163669314594

eBay auction: #223468584113
Title: Re: Wanted: Collins Style radios
Post by: jkbarr30 on May 07, 2019, 08:23:32 PM
I too purchased one from eBay to tinker with. I’m wondering if anyone has ever converted one to work in a sim? The unit I have seems to have a plasma display with 31 pins on the back and uses a cannon plug.