Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 50
  • *Total: 52

Our Discord

Author Topic: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?  (Read 1405 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« on: September 08, 2017, 07:56:44 PM »
I am wondering if I need to install addons for scenery such as Orbx etc. on my server computer which does not actually run scenery video but only Views: Panel Only.

I am running this server to control 3 computers for Video onto 3 Projectors which have all the addon scenery installed.

So I am assuming that the server computer with WideView would not need the extra burden of installing these scenery addons.

Perhaps someone might be able to comment that is using WideView.

Regards................Brian W.

Offline MCrevot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • A320-like cockpit builder
    • my A320 sim
  • First Name: Michel Crevot
  • Home Location: Pornic - France
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2017, 06:21:21 AM »
Hi Brian,

i use wideview with P3DV4, but in a different configuration : my server (7700k) run P3D for the front view, and the server component of A320 fmgs.

Anyhow, if your addon contain data impacting the plane position (long, lat, alt) or its attitude (pitch, roll, yaw), i think that you must instal it on your server, because it is him witch will send position and atitude to the others FSX/P3D.

Michel
my website : http://www.myA320sim.com
7700k, 4790k, 2600k, P3Dv4 and A320 FMGS, 3 views on 3 vdp with wideview, 180 deg screen

Offline rs3tier

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2017, 06:25:13 AM »
Hi

I run a similar setup.
I always install scenery packs on the server, otherwise the taxiways and runways don't match up between server and clients.  so it could like like you are on a taxiway based on the scenery pcs, but the server might think you are on the grass!

Regards,

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 520
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2017, 09:09:29 AM »
rs3tier is correct - not only will ramps, taxiways etc potentially be off, you may even have elevation issues if you do not synch all PCs in your visual system.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,378
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2017, 01:56:43 PM »
If all you are running are panel views, you may not have to. Are you having an issue? I can not see any of the mentioned issues arising from a panel view.

Offline iwik

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 368
  • GA Jockey
  • First Name: Les
  • Home Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2017, 02:49:20 PM »
Guys,
In the manual i once read Luciano said that is best to have all pc's the same and this meant all
to have sceneries installed.
les

Offline Nat Crea

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 552
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Nat
  • Home Location: Australia
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2017, 10:01:03 PM »
YES you will need to install scenery/airports on your Server,
otherwise you will have elevation/runway/taxiway/ILS issues
REGARDLESS of the fact you only have a panel view on the Server.

Nat

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2017, 02:16:13 AM »
Thank you all for chiming in on this. I just did some testing without the add-ons installed and the only fault really that I spotted was the IA aircraft that were parked in some incredible places !!

Also the taxiways would not be the same, but that really had no effect as you fly and taxi visually. Not sure about the ILS etc.

I will install them all back in, as the server in basically a blank mode and will not take any extra resources.

I guess we are always looking at ways to speed things up.

I did notice on re-installing the Server that the whole sim was a lot better.

Thanks again.................Brian W.

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

How to install DZUS fasteners?
by jackpilot
[Today at 08:01:40 PM]
For sale - rudder pedals and linkages
by kattz
[Today at 07:37:00 PM]
Flooring Installed!
by Mach7
[Today at 05:41:16 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 11:26:12 AM]
737 Throttle Conversion OC + ProSim
by kattz
[June 16, 2019, 11:39:03 AM]
A friendly FYI on Boeing rudder pedals
by kattz
[June 15, 2019, 10:36:39 AM]
Wanted - 737 Audio Panels - OEM
by jackpilot
[June 14, 2019, 08:08:09 PM]
2020 Microsoft Flight Simulator - new at E3 2019
by 757Simulator
[June 14, 2019, 03:39:07 AM]
737 starter switch mechanism
by paulnd
[June 13, 2019, 02:58:39 PM]
Make up your mind, Microsoft!
by jmlohrenz
[June 12, 2019, 07:25:10 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by C150DIY
[June 12, 2019, 12:53:27 PM]
Complete 737-800 cockpit - moving sale
by FaustoP
[June 12, 2019, 01:26:39 AM]
Flyengravity desktop MIP
by patiju
[June 10, 2019, 01:01:06 PM]
the perfect thing to complete your sim hanger
by fsaviator
[June 09, 2019, 03:12:50 PM]
Wanted - COMPLETE set of Boeing 727 or 737 rudder pedals
by kattz
[June 08, 2019, 01:26:09 PM]
For sale: 200° Curved screen with 3 projectors
by sim172
[June 08, 2019, 09:07:03 AM]
Visual system screen by Northern Flight Sim for sale $500
by peterkwu
[June 08, 2019, 06:07:39 AM]
Wanted: GoFlight T8
by C150DIY
[June 07, 2019, 02:32:29 PM]
For Sale - CPFlight MCP737 + EFIS
by ZillaUK
[June 07, 2019, 09:54:58 AM]
737 FWD Overhead Switch Diagram
by bernard S
[June 07, 2019, 08:21:46 AM]
Change the Forum Theme to suit your own Needs.
by AdamMilstead
[June 07, 2019, 06:20:41 AM]
Aileron & Elevator jump back to center
by iwik
[June 06, 2019, 08:01:24 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[June 05, 2019, 05:17:13 PM]
Machinery for home cockpit building
by giaviv
[June 04, 2019, 04:12:10 PM]
PROMOCION STEERING FREE
by alvaro castillo
[June 04, 2019, 11:42:43 AM]
FLIGHTSIMEXPO LAUNCHES DISCOUNTED ADVANCE REGISTRATION FOR ORLANDO 2019 EVENT
by fsaviator
[June 03, 2019, 06:52:44 PM]
Question about linking the yokes
by jackpilot
[June 01, 2019, 02:22:10 PM]
Wanted: Jetmax 737
by nisx
[May 30, 2019, 01:49:24 AM]
Cessna 150 Builder
by C150DIY
[May 27, 2019, 04:59:48 AM]
A trick to get SPST toggles interfaced to XPlane 11 Easily...
by C150DIY
[May 26, 2019, 02:13:42 PM]