Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 47
  • *Total: 47

Our Discord

WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - TEAM USA SUPPORTERS (HERO'S)

 
Worldflight 2019
Donations Starting Early
With 50 Days Left, it's time to start Counting Down to Worldflight 2019.  Beginning in August, we had 2 kind gentleman lead the way on our quest for donations to this amazing Charity Event.  Over the Past 6 Years, we (This community) Has helped to raise over $25,000.00USD to help the kids and their families of the All Children's Hospital in St. Petersburgh, Florida.  Kicking off the donations this year these Two Hero's are leading the way to another Successful Year.  I personally want to thank these two Gentleman and use this opportunity to have all of you donate to our wonderful cause. 
Thank you in advance for your help and please wish us much success for our 2019 event.
       
  ---Worldflight 2019 HEROS---

 James Williams, Warren Soeldner,  Sam Llorca, Doug Snow, Ryan O'Keefe, Edwin Burton        





Thanks to all of you, You are all helping to make Worldflight 2019 a success..
Because of all you wonderful people so far we have raised a total of:

$1245.00 USD


Author Topic: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?  (Read 750 times)

Offline helloo

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: KAPA
Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« on: April 23, 2019, 11:25:30 AM »
I have an FDS overhead.  Where should the IBL boards and FDS SYS1 board be mounted?  Thanks. 

Offline Jon Boe

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Jon
  • Home Location: Centennial, Colorado USA
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2019, 11:53:32 AM »
I put them in the overhead to keep the wiring short.
B747 Driver
FDS Modules, Real Boeing interior
205 degree FOV screen, 3-HD projector visual
system.  Aerowinx PSX as simulator.  P3D V4.5
for visuals

Offline helloo

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: KAPA
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2019, 12:30:21 PM »
I put them in the overhead to keep the wiring short.

That is my plan but there does not appear to be any particular place to attach them to.  Did you have to make your own mount to attached the boards to and then place in the overhead?  Any pics?

I do not have my cockpit shell yet so the overhead is just attached to a wood frame I made to hold it vertically while I wire it up.

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,139
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2019, 05:08:22 PM »
Go and check with FDS (short Hop)
Seeing it in the flesh is better than any description.
The space between OVH and shell is limited on the 73.
I personally installed the SYS1 outside on top of the shell protected by a box.
Easy access and leaves room for other cards (relay) and wiring.
If you choose to keep it inside, you may also attach it under the shell ceiling with simple stand-offs.


Jack

Offline bernard S

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 570
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2019, 09:45:11 AM »
my 2 cents  i think you thinking  in single problems may I suggest think at end game for a solution and have x1 central.location for everything get yourself a server rack   from middle Atlantic products ..part number WR_37-32    roughly 1800 bucks put all your cards power supplies etc on quick dis connects everything in one central place .. you will thank me later for this tid bit cost of entry some may consider high   ease of maintence and use   priceless
« Last Edit: April 24, 2019, 09:49:02 AM by bernard S »

Offline jskibo

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 838
  • Going Broke, one sim part at a time
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: Florence Kentucky
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2019, 09:54:54 AM »
my 2 cents  i think you thinking  in single problems may I suggest think at end game for a solution and have x1 central.location for everything get yourself a server rack   from middle Atlantic products ..part number WR_37-32    roughly 1800 bucks put all your cards power supplies etc on quick dis connects everything in one central place .. you will thank me later for this tid bit cost of entry some may consider high   ease of maintence and use   priceless

If you go that route, look on craigslist and the Home Theater forums.  Got mine for $400 when I was building the last home theater.  It barely fit in an Acura MDX.
John


Commodore C64 / Dual 5 1/4 Floppy / Green Monochrome monitor / Sub Logic Flight Sim / FDS MIP / CDU / CPFlight EFIS MCP

Offline bernard S

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 570
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2019, 12:27:30 PM »
you miss the point of this one   this server racknis not fixed position internally it pulls out and rotates .. making life easy 😁..

Offline jskibo

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 838
  • Going Broke, one sim part at a time
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: Florence Kentucky
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2019, 02:00:42 PM »
Yeah exactly what I used as it was mounted under the stairs
John


Commodore C64 / Dual 5 1/4 Floppy / Green Monochrome monitor / Sub Logic Flight Sim / FDS MIP / CDU / CPFlight EFIS MCP

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,894
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2019, 03:21:41 PM »
If you don't need the pull and rotate model, go to  Public Surplus com. They have all kinds of them and go for $1 each up to ? I got 10 of them for $100 total... :idiot:

John

PS That pull and rotate model is awesome though!
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline helloo

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: KAPA
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2019, 11:46:07 PM »
Thanks for the input. 

Aurora is Aurora, Colorado.  Not Canada:)

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,139
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2019, 08:53:57 AM »
OOOps !


Jack

Offline 757Simulator

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Fantasy of Flight
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Re: Overhead: Where to mount interface cards?
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2019, 03:57:29 AM »
Jack,

Hillary had a sale on these server racks back in 2016. We should have bought them all.  :laugh:

Mike

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - Scenery Check Volunteers Needed
by Vincent T.
[September 14, 2019, 03:08:00 PM]
WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - FLIGHT BIDS
by Vincent T.
[September 14, 2019, 03:00:40 PM]
WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - AVAILABILITY
by Trevor Hale
[September 14, 2019, 07:25:32 AM]
WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - Employer matching for Donations...
by RayS
[September 14, 2019, 12:03:45 AM]
SimFest-West 2019 Videos
by RayS
[September 13, 2019, 07:27:16 PM]
737 MAX Build
by helloo
[September 13, 2019, 04:41:17 PM]
A little pucker factor here, I'm sure... nerves of steel
by RayS
[September 12, 2019, 06:30:45 PM]
727/737 yokes
by Caflyt
[September 12, 2019, 10:26:12 AM]
Which size fuses to use in fuse block supplying FDS boards?
by blueskydriver
[September 11, 2019, 05:56:37 PM]
I finally got the shell pulled off the ATC-810...
by geneb
[September 11, 2019, 07:29:51 AM]
Wanted: Optoma GT1080Darbee Short Throw Projector
by Flightdeck57
[September 11, 2019, 12:24:08 AM]
F16 Simulator For Sale
by blueskydriver
[September 06, 2019, 03:52:34 PM]
Ebay Assistance
by iwik
[September 06, 2019, 02:00:00 PM]
Matrox 3
by jackpilot
[September 05, 2019, 10:45:00 AM]
So I got a big crate the other day...
by geneb
[September 05, 2019, 09:20:22 AM]
Official WF 2019 Route
by fsaviator
[September 05, 2019, 08:20:10 AM]
Are some sellers off their trolly
by kurt-olsson
[September 02, 2019, 12:39:54 PM]
Display Glare FDS w/Pic
by Joe Lavery
[September 01, 2019, 02:33:47 AM]
MCP
by Caflyt
[August 27, 2019, 06:57:41 PM]
Dispatch and Career Add-on
by fsaviator
[August 26, 2019, 10:42:45 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by B763
[August 25, 2019, 04:58:46 PM]
Free Jet Ranger.
by geneb
[August 23, 2019, 06:16:52 PM]
items/oem from overhead
by gufau
[August 23, 2019, 12:49:15 PM]
Hi everyone!
by jskibo
[August 23, 2019, 08:05:33 AM]
737-800 Front window post size
by kurt-olsson
[August 23, 2019, 03:35:11 AM]
Shipping Woes
by Caflyt
[August 22, 2019, 10:47:49 AM]
Worldflight 2019 Open for Business
by Trevor Hale
[August 21, 2019, 08:28:13 AM]
More ?'s - annunciators?
by kattz
[August 21, 2019, 05:44:21 AM]
Looking for annunciators
by kattz
[August 19, 2019, 10:36:39 PM]
OK, So here we go!
by Caflyt
[August 19, 2019, 02:32:28 PM]