Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 19
  • *Total: 19

Author Topic: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?  (Read 2190 times)

Offline sagrada737

  • 737NG Home Cockpit:
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 430
  • N737CM - Keep your airspeed up !
    • Imaging The Heavens
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Hi Folks,

I'm moving forward with my plan to build up a full-scale 737NG simulator.  I am getting ready to settle on a computer systems configuration for my initial737NG setup running FSX (X-Plane10) and Sim-Avionics (ProSim) - leaning toward FSX and Sim-Avionics.

It is my understanding that the most powerful computer in the simulator system needs to run with FSX as the "Server", with perhaps a less powerful computer (Client) for the 737NG model platform using Sim-Avionics - and perhaps even less performance requirments for some of the other Client computers that may be required running Pilot/CoPilot systems, Overhead, etc.

I wanted to get some detailed feedback on the specs for each of these computers.  I was considering the following specs for the FSX computer:
- ASRock Z77 Motherboard
- Intel i7 3770 3.6GHz Quad CPU
- 32GB Ram 1600Mhz DDR3 Memory
- Raden HD 7970 video graphics card (up to 4 monitors)
- 240Gb SolidState HD (500Mb/sec)

My plan is to purchase the FSX MIP package to help bootstrap the project.   I plan to buy the EFI and MCP, perhaps from CPFlight.  I would like to build up other systems over time.  I am thinking it would be good to use FDS's InterfaceIT I/O hardware/drivers, along with other I/O modules eg. Phidgets, Bodnar, etc., in order to begin experimenting with the real-world of switches/potentiometers/indicators/motor control, etc.

My goal initially, is to get a basic 737NG system up and running that supports FSX and Sim-Avionics running on multiple computers via WideClient, with FSUIPC4 operations, etc.  I will initially use a simple multiple monitor setup for the outside display, with the goal of building a 220 degree wrap-around projector setup (perhaps with separate computers for the Left-Center-Right display requirements.  Thus the FSX computer will need to allow for a high-end display system in the future.

Anyway, all this will take time and there is lots to consider, but I need to get some feedback on the computer system requirements in order to minimize going down the wrong path in this project.  I suspect that good performance of the 737NG simulator will depend highly on a fast and stable platform running FSX and Sim-Avionics.  Your helpful comments are greatly appreciated.

Keep your airspeed up!
Mike Sherick
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, 10:49:22 AM by sagrada737 »
FSX with Sim-Avionics (two computers), FDS MIP, 3-monitor 70" HD LED Displays nvidia GTX680.

Offline NAX228

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 192
  • >Builder<
  • First Name: Geir Pettersen
737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 02:01:42 PM »
Sim-avionics is one software, prosim is another one. Dont mix them up, but be sure what you want to buy.
-------------------
1 step forward, 2 steps back...

Offline fordgt40

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 501
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: David John Bullock
  • Home Location: Chelmsford UK
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 03:21:24 PM »
Mike

FSX demands high cpu clock rates as it cannot take real advantage of the I7`s multiple cores. Suggest you go for an already overclocked and stabilised setup with an I7 running at 4.5ghz.

David

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,466
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2012, 07:50:57 PM »
Good plan Mike and I agree with David.   That said I believe X-plane can take advantage of the extra cores so if you want to have the X-Plane option then good to have the extra cores but also go for the overclocked speed like David says.   Sim-Avionics is the best way to go if you want to run X-Plane.   fDS MIP is an awesome choice and place to start.   And as I mentioned before, you are welcome by my sim anytime you can make it out to my area.

Scott

Offline sagrada737

  • 737NG Home Cockpit:
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 430
  • N737CM - Keep your airspeed up !
    • Imaging The Heavens
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2012, 09:27:18 PM »
Thanks for the comments guys.   It seems clear that the fastest computer possible is desired for either FSX or XPlane10.

Currently, the Intel i7 3770 seems to be the processor of choice.  But it is also clear that to overclock the CPU will void the warranty.  I guess that is the price to pay for higher performance/frame rates with FSX or XPlane10.  Does anyone know what the noticeable difference is when using this CPU unclocked vs. overclocked?  Is it that big a difference, or is there only a slight difference?  Essentially 3.6GHz vs. 4.5GHz.  So... with overclocking, the computer system needs to have a bulletproof cooling system.  What CPU cooling are folks using successfully?

Also, is this configuration typically using a SolidState HD with a high RPM HD (which typically generate a lot of heat)?

Comments appreciated.
Mike
FSX with Sim-Avionics (two computers), FDS MIP, 3-monitor 70" HD LED Displays nvidia GTX680.

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • FSX / Win7-64bit / FDS / 3 x Optoma GT720
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2012, 10:19:53 PM »
I overclock my i7 2600K to 4.6 GHz with hyperthreading off. It makes essential difference with FSX and 3 projectors setup, adding 3-4 FPS just to make the acceptable performance on the runway within 15-18 FPS range.

I do not have liquid cooling or anything super. I installed Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus and in FSX the core temperatures never go over the range 60-65 degrees (reaches 65 on one core only) which is well below the max allowed  TJMax (~ +95 degrees range).

I do not overclock RAM or video card so far.

I use two SSDs (60 and 120 GB and one HDD 500 GB)

Nick

Offline fordgt40

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 501
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: David John Bullock
  • Home Location: Chelmsford UK
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2012, 05:10:15 AM »
Suggest you go for an already overclocked and stabilised setup with an I7 running at 4.5ghz.

Mike

I meant purchase an overclocked PC from new - no warranty issues or getting your hands dirty.

There are a number of suppliers who do this in the UK, so must be some stateside

David

Offline sagrada737

  • 737NG Home Cockpit:
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 430
  • N737CM - Keep your airspeed up !
    • Imaging The Heavens
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2012, 02:22:14 PM »
Thanks for the feedback on the computer specs for FSX and/or XPlane.  It looks like I can have a system made up here in Las Cruces by our local computer store that will be similar to the sim compuers offered by Jetline systems.
http://www.jetlinesystems.com/store/

I can get the same configuration for around $2,500 USD, but of course, the CPU is not warranteed for overclocking.  However, the system will be supported locally and that is a plus if I have any problems.  Also, if you look closely at Jetline's warranty, it is a little vague, and at their discretion as to whether or not they will cover certain problems - the overclocked CPU being the big issue. 

In any case, it looks like I have zero'd in on a computer specs for the FSX and/or XPlane computer, depending on which sim program I will go with.   I need to next think about the advantages of XPlane10 vs. FSX (if any).  But, I think I have finalized my decision on using Sim-Avionics for the 737NG platform.

It goes without saying that it is important to have commonality with other 737NG sim users using the same or similar hardware and software.  In that regard, I greatly appreciate the feedback from the folks on this forum.

Thanks again for your comments.   Keep your airspeed up!
Mike
FSX with Sim-Avionics (two computers), FDS MIP, 3-monitor 70" HD LED Displays nvidia GTX680.

Offline jskibo

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Going Broke, one sim part at a time
    • 737 Next Gen Sim
  • First Name: John SKibo
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2012, 03:06:55 PM »
Just FYI, I've been overclocking PC's since 1999 and have never had a CPU fail or require warranty, so limited value in worrying about that
John
http://www.737nextgensim.com/

Commodore C64 / Dual 5 1/4 Floppy / Green Monochrome monitor / Sub Logic Flight Sim / FDS MIP / CDU / CPFlight EFIS MCP

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,466
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2012, 03:52:37 PM »
Thanks for the feedback on the computer specs for FSX and/or XPlane.  It looks like I can have a system made up here in Las Cruces by our local computer store that will be similar to the sim compuers offered by Jetline systems.
http://www.jetlinesystems.com/store/


One of the builders here, Firstinflight, is a good friend of mine and he recently bought a Jetline systems pc and said the service was execellent.   I have another friend that writes articles for Computer Pilot Magazine, Doug Horton, who also knows the owner and has nothing but good to say about them.   Biggest thing is they now what works for FSX and they do the proper overclocking and use the right integrated components.  I would be hard pressed to trust the local computer store guys to know better unless they are FSX afficianados so beware.   I really think that if you dont know what your doing with computers enough to build your own and overclock them yourself then you are much much better off going with the Jetline system.   In fact, I know systems really well and have always built my own PCs but I would probably just buy fromJetline myself next time as well.   

Just my .02 and no I am not affiated with them in anyway but have heard nothing but good things about them.

Scott

Offline sagrada737

  • 737NG Home Cockpit:
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 430
  • N737CM - Keep your airspeed up !
    • Imaging The Heavens
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2012, 04:20:54 PM »
Thanks for the comments Scott.  I too have built up many PCs, but never an overclocked system.  Your advice concerning the overclocking profiles is well noted.  I will consider Jetline more deeply in my purchase decision.  As you point out, sometimes paying a little more is well worth the extra expense.

John - Thanks for your comments.  Nice web site and it looks like you have a nice project going right now - not to mention your cute co-pilot.  Reminds me when my kids were that little.  Anyway, good to hear that your overclocking experience has been reliable.  Thanks.

Mike
FSX with Sim-Avionics (two computers), FDS MIP, 3-monitor 70" HD LED Displays nvidia GTX680.

 

Partners

PARTNERS WITH:
 Partner

* Statistics

  • *Total Members: 2986
  • *Latest: logic28

  • *Total Posts: 38202
  • *Total Topics: 5038
  • *Online Today: 28
  • *Most Online: 200
(December 20, 2011, 11:09:10 AM)
  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 19
  • *Total: 19

COUNTDOWN TO WF2016


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

WORLDFLIGHT VIDEO 2015


Recent Posts

BU0836X possible problems
by Mach7
[February 07, 2016, 10:10:12 PM]
Velocity738 flies again!
by Aerosim Solutions
[February 07, 2016, 09:13:52 PM]
Telex 38T Hanger clip
by Carlos Hermida
[February 07, 2016, 06:23:45 PM]
windows 7 and Updating
by Bob Reed
[February 07, 2016, 05:21:10 PM]
help with W7
by MCrevot
[February 06, 2016, 02:53:57 PM]
No smoking bell not working
by blueskydriver
[February 06, 2016, 12:43:58 PM]
Blueskydriver's New Hanger
by blueskydriver
[February 06, 2016, 12:30:11 PM]
Video: Beech 1900D Palm Springs (KPSP) Closed Traffic at Dusk...
by 727737Nut
[February 06, 2016, 09:32:53 AM]
Citation Mustang Panels
by Ridgenj
[February 06, 2016, 09:32:40 AM]
dual linked yokes questions
by quid246
[February 06, 2016, 01:57:09 AM]
Matrox Triple Head To Go for 2D panels
by pcpilotmd80
[February 05, 2016, 11:43:19 PM]
Primary flight display PFD
by twinding
[February 05, 2016, 03:12:49 PM]
Another update from B 747-400
by B747-400
[February 05, 2016, 03:10:13 PM]
Instructor station on windows surface
by julianknaf
[February 05, 2016, 12:43:24 PM]
Sound at a button press
by 757Simulator
[February 03, 2016, 01:47:47 AM]
Matrox
by Sam Llorca
[February 02, 2016, 06:48:03 PM]
My Hangar
by Sam Llorca
[February 02, 2016, 06:39:26 PM]
Which system form adding switches and knobs.
by jml79
[February 02, 2016, 03:18:30 PM]
My new disease
by jml79
[February 02, 2016, 12:41:57 PM]
Velocity738 is getting a new hangar!!
by Trevor Hale
[February 02, 2016, 06:49:01 AM]
Great Sim Project Motivator...
by Trevor Hale
[February 02, 2016, 06:47:23 AM]
Nvidia GTX980 vs. GTX980 Ti vs. GTX Titan
by jml79
[February 02, 2016, 01:26:59 AM]
hello
by RayS
[February 01, 2016, 02:15:31 PM]
SOLD - FDS-B737NG-PRO-MX-CDU
by XOrionFE
[January 31, 2016, 07:58:25 PM]
For your viewing pleasure Hope you enjoy it.
by 727737Nut
[January 31, 2016, 05:18:32 PM]
B737 Overhead Height
by julianknaf
[January 31, 2016, 10:09:39 AM]
Need Worldflight 2016 Forum...
by Trevor Hale
[January 31, 2016, 08:59:06 AM]
Home Networking help
by fsaviator
[January 31, 2016, 03:32:12 AM]
737NG Full Fixed base Major Tech Refresh (Need Feedback)
by Sam Llorca
[January 29, 2016, 08:25:47 PM]
Aerosource Inc, of Destin, FL
by fsaviator
[January 29, 2016, 08:11:37 PM]

P_HP TRAP FOR BOTS


Doing our part to Help Stop Spam on the Internet
support@cockpitbuilders.com