Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 40
  • *Total: 42

Author Topic: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?  (Read 2928 times)

Offline sagrada737

  • 737NG Home Cockpit:
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 502
  • N737CM - Keep your airspeed up !
    • Imaging The Heavens
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Hi Folks,

I'm moving forward with my plan to build up a full-scale 737NG simulator.  I am getting ready to settle on a computer systems configuration for my initial737NG setup running FSX (X-Plane10) and Sim-Avionics (ProSim) - leaning toward FSX and Sim-Avionics.

It is my understanding that the most powerful computer in the simulator system needs to run with FSX as the "Server", with perhaps a less powerful computer (Client) for the 737NG model platform using Sim-Avionics - and perhaps even less performance requirments for some of the other Client computers that may be required running Pilot/CoPilot systems, Overhead, etc.

I wanted to get some detailed feedback on the specs for each of these computers.  I was considering the following specs for the FSX computer:
- ASRock Z77 Motherboard
- Intel i7 3770 3.6GHz Quad CPU
- 32GB Ram 1600Mhz DDR3 Memory
- Raden HD 7970 video graphics card (up to 4 monitors)
- 240Gb SolidState HD (500Mb/sec)

My plan is to purchase the FSX MIP package to help bootstrap the project.   I plan to buy the EFI and MCP, perhaps from CPFlight.  I would like to build up other systems over time.  I am thinking it would be good to use FDS's InterfaceIT I/O hardware/drivers, along with other I/O modules eg. Phidgets, Bodnar, etc., in order to begin experimenting with the real-world of switches/potentiometers/indicators/motor control, etc.

My goal initially, is to get a basic 737NG system up and running that supports FSX and Sim-Avionics running on multiple computers via WideClient, with FSUIPC4 operations, etc.  I will initially use a simple multiple monitor setup for the outside display, with the goal of building a 220 degree wrap-around projector setup (perhaps with separate computers for the Left-Center-Right display requirements.  Thus the FSX computer will need to allow for a high-end display system in the future.

Anyway, all this will take time and there is lots to consider, but I need to get some feedback on the computer system requirements in order to minimize going down the wrong path in this project.  I suspect that good performance of the 737NG simulator will depend highly on a fast and stable platform running FSX and Sim-Avionics.  Your helpful comments are greatly appreciated.

Keep your airspeed up!
Mike Sherick
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, 10:49:22 AM by sagrada737 »
P3d v3.x with Sim-Avionics (two computers), FDS MIP, 3-Optoma HD GT180 projection display driven by a single nvidia GTX980.

Offline NAX228

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 192
  • >Builder<
  • First Name: Geir Pettersen
737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 02:01:42 PM »
Sim-avionics is one software, prosim is another one. Dont mix them up, but be sure what you want to buy.
-------------------
1 step forward, 2 steps back...

Offline fordgt40

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 547
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: David John Bullock
  • Home Location: Chelmsford UK
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 03:21:24 PM »
Mike

FSX demands high cpu clock rates as it cannot take real advantage of the I7`s multiple cores. Suggest you go for an already overclocked and stabilised setup with an I7 running at 4.5ghz.

David

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,596
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2012, 07:50:57 PM »
Good plan Mike and I agree with David.   That said I believe X-plane can take advantage of the extra cores so if you want to have the X-Plane option then good to have the extra cores but also go for the overclocked speed like David says.   Sim-Avionics is the best way to go if you want to run X-Plane.   fDS MIP is an awesome choice and place to start.   And as I mentioned before, you are welcome by my sim anytime you can make it out to my area.

Scott

Offline sagrada737

  • 737NG Home Cockpit:
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 502
  • N737CM - Keep your airspeed up !
    • Imaging The Heavens
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2012, 09:27:18 PM »
Thanks for the comments guys.   It seems clear that the fastest computer possible is desired for either FSX or XPlane10.

Currently, the Intel i7 3770 seems to be the processor of choice.  But it is also clear that to overclock the CPU will void the warranty.  I guess that is the price to pay for higher performance/frame rates with FSX or XPlane10.  Does anyone know what the noticeable difference is when using this CPU unclocked vs. overclocked?  Is it that big a difference, or is there only a slight difference?  Essentially 3.6GHz vs. 4.5GHz.  So... with overclocking, the computer system needs to have a bulletproof cooling system.  What CPU cooling are folks using successfully?

Also, is this configuration typically using a SolidState HD with a high RPM HD (which typically generate a lot of heat)?

Comments appreciated.
Mike
P3d v3.x with Sim-Avionics (two computers), FDS MIP, 3-Optoma HD GT180 projection display driven by a single nvidia GTX980.

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 411
  • P3D / Win7-64 / FDS / 3 x Optoma GT720
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2012, 10:19:53 PM »
I overclock my i7 2600K to 4.6 GHz with hyperthreading off. It makes essential difference with FSX and 3 projectors setup, adding 3-4 FPS just to make the acceptable performance on the runway within 15-18 FPS range.

I do not have liquid cooling or anything super. I installed Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus and in FSX the core temperatures never go over the range 60-65 degrees (reaches 65 on one core only) which is well below the max allowed  TJMax (~ +95 degrees range).

I do not overclock RAM or video card so far.

I use two SSDs (60 and 120 GB and one HDD 500 GB)

Nick

Offline fordgt40

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 547
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: David John Bullock
  • Home Location: Chelmsford UK
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2012, 05:10:15 AM »
Suggest you go for an already overclocked and stabilised setup with an I7 running at 4.5ghz.

Mike

I meant purchase an overclocked PC from new - no warranty issues or getting your hands dirty.

There are a number of suppliers who do this in the UK, so must be some stateside

David

Offline sagrada737

  • 737NG Home Cockpit:
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 502
  • N737CM - Keep your airspeed up !
    • Imaging The Heavens
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2012, 02:22:14 PM »
Thanks for the feedback on the computer specs for FSX and/or XPlane.  It looks like I can have a system made up here in Las Cruces by our local computer store that will be similar to the sim compuers offered by Jetline systems.
http://www.jetlinesystems.com/store/

I can get the same configuration for around $2,500 USD, but of course, the CPU is not warranteed for overclocking.  However, the system will be supported locally and that is a plus if I have any problems.  Also, if you look closely at Jetline's warranty, it is a little vague, and at their discretion as to whether or not they will cover certain problems - the overclocked CPU being the big issue. 

In any case, it looks like I have zero'd in on a computer specs for the FSX and/or XPlane computer, depending on which sim program I will go with.   I need to next think about the advantages of XPlane10 vs. FSX (if any).  But, I think I have finalized my decision on using Sim-Avionics for the 737NG platform.

It goes without saying that it is important to have commonality with other 737NG sim users using the same or similar hardware and software.  In that regard, I greatly appreciate the feedback from the folks on this forum.

Thanks again for your comments.   Keep your airspeed up!
Mike
P3d v3.x with Sim-Avionics (two computers), FDS MIP, 3-Optoma HD GT180 projection display driven by a single nvidia GTX980.

Offline jskibo

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 787
  • Going Broke, one sim part at a time
    • 737 Next Gen Sim
  • First Name: John SKibo
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2012, 03:06:55 PM »
Just FYI, I've been overclocking PC's since 1999 and have never had a CPU fail or require warranty, so limited value in worrying about that
John
http://www.737nextgensim.com/

Commodore C64 / Dual 5 1/4 Floppy / Green Monochrome monitor / Sub Logic Flight Sim / FDS MIP / CDU / CPFlight EFIS MCP

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,596
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2012, 03:52:37 PM »
Thanks for the feedback on the computer specs for FSX and/or XPlane.  It looks like I can have a system made up here in Las Cruces by our local computer store that will be similar to the sim compuers offered by Jetline systems.
http://www.jetlinesystems.com/store/


One of the builders here, Firstinflight, is a good friend of mine and he recently bought a Jetline systems pc and said the service was execellent.   I have another friend that writes articles for Computer Pilot Magazine, Doug Horton, who also knows the owner and has nothing but good to say about them.   Biggest thing is they now what works for FSX and they do the proper overclocking and use the right integrated components.  I would be hard pressed to trust the local computer store guys to know better unless they are FSX afficianados so beware.   I really think that if you dont know what your doing with computers enough to build your own and overclock them yourself then you are much much better off going with the Jetline system.   In fact, I know systems really well and have always built my own PCs but I would probably just buy fromJetline myself next time as well.   

Just my .02 and no I am not affiated with them in anyway but have heard nothing but good things about them.

Scott

Offline sagrada737

  • 737NG Home Cockpit:
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 502
  • N737CM - Keep your airspeed up !
    • Imaging The Heavens
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Re: 737NG - FSX(XPlane10) and Sim-Avionics(ProSim) Computer Requirements?
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2012, 04:20:54 PM »
Thanks for the comments Scott.  I too have built up many PCs, but never an overclocked system.  Your advice concerning the overclocking profiles is well noted.  I will consider Jetline more deeply in my purchase decision.  As you point out, sometimes paying a little more is well worth the extra expense.

John - Thanks for your comments.  Nice web site and it looks like you have a nice project going right now - not to mention your cute co-pilot.  Reminds me when my kids were that little.  Anyway, good to hear that your overclocking experience has been reliable.  Thanks.

Mike
P3d v3.x with Sim-Avionics (two computers), FDS MIP, 3-Optoma HD GT180 projection display driven by a single nvidia GTX980.

 

Recent Posts

use pedestal circuit breakers
by mickc
[Today at 04:47:45 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[July 19, 2017, 03:19:26 PM]
737NG Cockpit Floor Rivet Sizes and Locations
by bernard S
[July 19, 2017, 12:38:49 PM]
New Cockpit Builder - Project Changes
by blueskydriver
[July 19, 2017, 10:14:24 AM]
Opions / Reviews on NFS Yokes, CFY TQ, and FDS Rudder
by airupthere
[July 19, 2017, 08:40:46 AM]
5VDC dimmer required
by Aerosim Solutions
[July 18, 2017, 06:46:12 PM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[July 18, 2017, 05:29:29 AM]
Weber seat restoration
by blueskydriver
[July 18, 2017, 02:01:12 AM]
Tiller Steering Airbus
by eduardohbm
[July 17, 2017, 08:59:09 PM]
Air vents for sale (SOLD)
by 737man
[July 17, 2017, 01:36:40 PM]
HEY GUYS! WANNA SPEED UP YOUR COMPUTER?
by kurt-olsson
[July 17, 2017, 02:22:02 AM]
Eastern Airlines 727 Cockpit Layout Diagrams?
by DC9legacy
[July 16, 2017, 10:19:31 PM]
Revolution Simproducts V2.0 Plug & Play Throttle help
by Garys
[July 16, 2017, 04:45:57 PM]
WidevieW
by Ed
[July 16, 2017, 01:44:31 PM]
737 CDU for sale
by pierclav
[July 15, 2017, 04:15:39 AM]
P3D v4 Multi Channel
by Nat Crea
[July 15, 2017, 02:54:56 AM]
Calculating amp draw
by Mach7
[July 14, 2017, 10:49:53 AM]
CRJ cockpit for sale
by Goodenough
[July 13, 2017, 04:27:04 PM]
OEM Duct pressure gauge
by jackpilot
[July 13, 2017, 12:38:17 PM]
Looking for 2 eyeball ducts fr my 737 cockpit
by jackpilot
[July 13, 2017, 10:28:52 AM]
Advice on room size
by Caflyt
[July 13, 2017, 05:54:56 AM]
How to correct crab angle view question
by ebaw
[July 13, 2017, 03:35:16 AM]
Grayhill mini rotaries SOLD
by jackpilot
[July 12, 2017, 03:50:06 PM]
Hello from Versailles
by RJ85
[July 12, 2017, 02:07:04 AM]
Wanted - 2 Bay 737-300 Pedestal
by philb737
[July 11, 2017, 01:14:02 AM]
Simulators on Public Surplus in Wisconsin!
by blueskydriver
[July 10, 2017, 11:33:17 PM]
Jeehell: The AP does not follow the lateral guidance from the FD
by luisgordo
[July 10, 2017, 10:26:34 AM]
B737 Rudder adjusting crank unit
by Buster99
[July 08, 2017, 05:24:26 PM]
New BAe146 glareshield for VR MCP install...
by Mach7
[July 08, 2017, 09:06:14 AM]
TQ - Motor mounting options
by kurt-olsson
[July 08, 2017, 06:00:21 AM]