Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 31
  • *Total: 32

Our Discord

WORLDFLIGHT 2018 - TEAM USA SUPPORTERS (HERO'S)


We would like to thank our HERO'S for Donating to support WORLDFLIGHT Team USA - 2018

Fred Kurasiewicz, Ray Sotkiewicz,Warren Soeldner, Kyle Hathaway, John Miller-

Thanks to all of you, so far this year we have raised

$720.00 USD


Author Topic: B737 Startswitches  (Read 34819 times)

Offline archen

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 304
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Anders Simparts
  • First Name: Anders
  • Home Location: Falun
B737 Startswitches
« on: February 23, 2013, 03:07:59 PM »
Hello everybody!

My name is Anders and I live in Sweden. Been hanging around on this forum for a while now without making to much noise.
 
In augusti I bought my first CNC machine. Been working quite hard to make it work like I wanted but in January I was satisfied with the result and since then I've been busy making the starterswitches for the engines. I have always felt that the Starterswitches was cool and a cole starter was hard to find and quite expensive.

I deceided to make my own design, even though it might not look like a cole starterswitch they do work like one and thats the most important thing for me.
 
I'm also making them and selling to other builders.

I'm very happy with the result of all hours and work I did put into this switches and I hope you guys like them like I do. I did a very short demo of the switches interfaced with phidgets & pokeys, software is prosim737. Of course it can be used with other software.. It all depends on which interface you're choosing.

Have a look at my webpage for more info about this switches and some pictures. Don't hesitate to ask if you have any questitions.

 
here's the video on youtube:
My brand new Boeing 737 engine startswitch



Thank you for reading. My webpage is Store

*edit* Fixed url

Best regards,
Anders
« Last Edit: July 16, 2013, 06:13:44 AM by archen »
------------
Anders Simparts
http://www.anderssimparts.com
https://www.facebook.com/ArchenSimparts
Selling "Hard-to-get" simparts like authentic Engine starters, Autobrake, IRS mode selectors and N1&SPD Ref Switches.
------------

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,692
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2013, 03:17:12 PM »
Wow

Fantastic work Anders.    I may end up ordering a set if my servo based design doesn't work out.  I really like how yours snap like the real deal!

Scott

Offline archen

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 304
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Anders Simparts
  • First Name: Anders
  • Home Location: Falun
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2013, 03:53:24 PM »
Hi Scott!
Thank you very much for your feedback. I appriciate it!

As you noticed the sound is quite good. I don't think it's impossible to achive with servos. You just need the right springs. You might not get the fast return as you get with an spring and electromagnet. I've seen your videos of TQ conversion so I think you will pull that off just fine :-) Amazing work on the TQ. Myself is looking after a real TQ.

Best regards,
Anders
------------
Anders Simparts
http://www.anderssimparts.com
https://www.facebook.com/ArchenSimparts
Selling "Hard-to-get" simparts like authentic Engine starters, Autobrake, IRS mode selectors and N1&SPD Ref Switches.
------------

Offline Maurice

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,684
  • Intermediate/advanced builder
  • First Name: Maurice
  • Home Location: Gravenhurst, Ontario. CANADA
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2013, 04:28:43 PM »
Fantastic piece of work. Well done!

Maurice
Gravenhurst, Ontario - Canada

Offline jskibo

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 787
  • Going Broke, one sim part at a time
    • 737 Next Gen Sim
  • First Name: John SKibo
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2013, 06:09:09 PM »
Nice work!

Any idea if it will clear the IBL light connectors on the FDS overhead panel. Both connectors are between the start switches and the center ignition selection switch.
John
http://www.737nextgensim.com/

Commodore C64 / Dual 5 1/4 Floppy / Green Monochrome monitor / Sub Logic Flight Sim / FDS MIP / CDU / CPFlight EFIS MCP

Offline tennyson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 508
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Frank
  • Home Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2013, 08:03:47 PM »
I bought another manufacturers start switches and they are installed.

I'm not very confident of their operation, so I'm gonna bite the bullet and buy some of these.

They look so much like the real thing, in operation.

Great job, mate. I'll certainly be in touch and making an order this week.


Frank Cooper

Offline archen

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 304
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Anders Simparts
  • First Name: Anders
  • Home Location: Falun
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2013, 03:36:46 AM »
Hi everybody!
Thanks so much for your kind words!

Nice work!

Any idea if it will clear the IBL light connectors on the FDS overhead panel. Both connectors are between the start switches and the center ignition selection switch.

Hi jskibo,
I have the FDS overhead myself and I've made switch so it clears the connectors. FDS overhead also have a ~1mm thick steelplate coming close the the switches thats why I added a round spacer so it would come up from the backplate 5mm. For those who not have IBL lighting and uses ledstrips there is also room for a ledstrip.



I'm custom making them so if you have any wishes for D-shaped shaft or not, which direction you want the D-shape and the locking pin. (Overhead differs between brands where the locking hole for the rotary is located.) FDS is below, simworld above. I will be taking all these info on order so the switch will fit right in, I'm working towards a switch that needs no modifications to the existing overhead.

Thanks again guys. Your feedback is highly valueable!

Regards,
Anders Helin
« Last Edit: February 24, 2013, 05:16:04 AM by archen »
------------
Anders Simparts
http://www.anderssimparts.com
https://www.facebook.com/ArchenSimparts
Selling "Hard-to-get" simparts like authentic Engine starters, Autobrake, IRS mode selectors and N1&SPD Ref Switches.
------------

Offline tennyson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 508
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Frank
  • Home Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2013, 08:50:07 AM »
Well, I've just bit the bullet and bought a couple of these switches. Looking forward to installing them in the overhead.

Will put a few pics when I do,


Frank Cooper

Offline jskibo

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 787
  • Going Broke, one sim part at a time
    • 737 Next Gen Sim
  • First Name: John SKibo
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2013, 03:05:41 PM »
On my near term must buy list!
John
http://www.737nextgensim.com/

Commodore C64 / Dual 5 1/4 Floppy / Green Monochrome monitor / Sub Logic Flight Sim / FDS MIP / CDU / CPFlight EFIS MCP

Offline Boeing Skunk Works

  • Still Flying the Dinosaur
  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 991
  • Yeah, you really have to fly this one >>>
  • First Name: Michael
  • Home Location: Southern IL
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2013, 10:49:53 PM »
Very nice work, but I have to add, I'm glad my airplane doesn't use those!

Much more reasonable that the real Cole's switch.
Why yes...I am a rocket scientist...

Boeing, Collins, Gables, Sperry, PPG, Korry, Pacific Scientific, Honeywell

Offline tennyson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 508
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Frank
  • Home Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2013, 10:05:46 AM »
Anders has already shown a great willingness to get the product right.

I've had several emails from him, asking the pertinent questions on how I wanted then made to fit my OH and they have already been sent to me.

His after-sales is impeccable, so I am keen to give him top marks for his product.

It's good to support some of the talent from within the cockpit builders community.


Frank Cooper

Offline archen

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 304
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Anders Simparts
  • First Name: Anders
  • Home Location: Falun
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2013, 09:36:08 AM »
Hi Frank,
Thank you for the nice comments. It's nice to hear when you try hard to make every buyer happy. I'm looking forward to your comments on the switch when they arrive.

Best regards,
Anders
------------
Anders Simparts
http://www.anderssimparts.com
https://www.facebook.com/ArchenSimparts
Selling "Hard-to-get" simparts like authentic Engine starters, Autobrake, IRS mode selectors and N1&SPD Ref Switches.
------------

Offline Sean

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 413
  • Making Progress...!
  • First Name: Sean
  • Home Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2013, 09:40:56 AM »
Hi Anders

Did you post a video of your prototype on the ProSim forum a while back? I'm sure it's you.

I'll be ordering a pair of your switches when I return from holiday next week. They look excellent. I'll be fitting them into an Engravity overhead. Have you had any feedback with that combo?

Sean

Offline archen

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 304
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Anders Simparts
  • First Name: Anders
  • Home Location: Falun
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2013, 09:52:10 AM »
Hi Sean,
You are perfectly right. Thats me! I made one set as a prototype and since then I've been busy building my CNC machine and now I'm making the V2. The mechanism is pretty close the same but the quality and precision is way better in this CNC machined switch.

I'm pretty sure one of my customers did have an engravity ovhd but I haven't heard anything about the installation. I don't think he received them yet. I will get back to you on this.

Best regards,
Anders
------------
Anders Simparts
http://www.anderssimparts.com
https://www.facebook.com/ArchenSimparts
Selling "Hard-to-get" simparts like authentic Engine starters, Autobrake, IRS mode selectors and N1&SPD Ref Switches.
------------

Offline tennyson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 508
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Frank
  • Home Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2013, 10:04:53 AM »
Yeah, that would be me. I have the engravity OH, so as soon as they arrive and I fit them, I'll provide some feedback,


Frank Cooper

Offline archen

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 304
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Anders Simparts
  • First Name: Anders
  • Home Location: Falun
B737 Startswitches
« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2013, 01:26:41 PM »
Thanks Frank! Your switches should arrive this week I hope.

Best regards,
Anders
------------
Anders Simparts
http://www.anderssimparts.com
https://www.facebook.com/ArchenSimparts
Selling "Hard-to-get" simparts like authentic Engine starters, Autobrake, IRS mode selectors and N1&SPD Ref Switches.
------------

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,692
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2013, 04:09:34 PM »
As much work I did on my servo setup....I think I am going to have to bite the bullet and get a set of your switches Anders....

I have watched your video over and over and think they are just fantastic and a must have.   I will reach out to you in a couple weeks once I am done with vacation.  I have to have that snap and that sound!

Scott

Offline sluyt050

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 160
  • Cockpit builder
    • FSX MyConfig
  • First Name: Edward
  • Home Location: Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2013, 10:29:22 AM »
Hello everybody!

I deceided to make my own design, even though it might not look like a cole starterswitch they do work like one and thats the most important thing for me.
 
I'm also making them and selling to other builders.

Hi Anders,

Magnificent job you did! I am wondering if you know about the latest development at SimWorld. Last year at the FlightSim exhibition in Lelystad they showed a magnificent plug & play forward overhead panel inclusive working start switches. I only forgot how realistic the sound was and if they operate as good as yours. I do not have a 737 cockpit yet, but I am highly interested. Thanks.
Edward

Offline archen

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 304
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Anders Simparts
  • First Name: Anders
  • Home Location: Falun
B737 Startswitches
« Reply #18 on: March 07, 2013, 12:06:22 PM »
Hi!

Sorry I have no insight in simworld. I think you will have to ask Filip at simworld. He is very helpful and I'm sure he can give you answer to your questition. Maybe he have a video of it in action so you can compare.

Scott:
Looking forward to hearing from you. I believe it's hard to achieve the same result with servos.


Best regards,
Anders
------------
Anders Simparts
http://www.anderssimparts.com
https://www.facebook.com/ArchenSimparts
Selling "Hard-to-get" simparts like authentic Engine starters, Autobrake, IRS mode selectors and N1&SPD Ref Switches.
------------

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #19 on: March 08, 2013, 08:34:32 AM »
Hi Anders,

I like the look of your start switches.
I have an Engravity overhead which is mounted on a plywood frame. Unfortunately I put a strengthening bar across the frame just above where the light switches and starter switches are mounted, I see from your website that the starter switches you have are mounted on an aly plate, with what appears to be a section offset at an angle that carries the solenoid.
Can you give me the dimension of this so I can see if it would fit inside my frame.

Thanks
Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline archen

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 304
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Anders Simparts
  • First Name: Anders
  • Home Location: Falun
B737 Startswitches
« Reply #20 on: March 08, 2013, 09:08:09 AM »
Hi Joe,
Please send me an email at archen (a) live (dot) se I'm sure we can work this out.

If you have a picture of backside of the overhead that would be perfect. I've a solution for you if the bar is where the solenoid is.

Regards,
Anders
------------
Anders Simparts
http://www.anderssimparts.com
https://www.facebook.com/ArchenSimparts
Selling "Hard-to-get" simparts like authentic Engine starters, Autobrake, IRS mode selectors and N1&SPD Ref Switches.
------------

Offline sluyt050

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 160
  • Cockpit builder
    • FSX MyConfig
  • First Name: Edward
  • Home Location: Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #21 on: March 08, 2013, 12:22:28 PM »
As much work I did on my servo setup....I think I am going to have to bite the bullet and get a set of your switches Anders....

I have watched your video over and over and think they are just fantastic and a must have.   I will reach out to you in a couple weeks once I am done with vacation.  I have to have that snap and that sound!

Scott
I understand that you have a FDS forward overhead panel. I did not contact Peter Cos yet, but referring to their B737NG PRO-M Series, what is your opinion on the engine start switches made by Anders and the present FDS implementation?

This is actually off-topic, but I am considering to bye pre-wired sections from FDS and like to use them with ProSim 737. Do you think this will be feasible or asking for problems?

Thanks, Edward
Edward

Offline tennyson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 508
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Frank
  • Home Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2013, 07:47:23 AM »
Got my starter switches this morning.

I didn't have a lot of time to spare as monday is gym day, but I did manage to get them in the OH.

When I got back home, I did the review, posted here:

Anders Helin's 737 Startswitches


Beautifully made, fitted well and looked wonderful. A few things to consider tho, if you are buying these. The width of the slot they are going in and the depth of your OH.
I know I will have some problems with the panel behing the OH (in the FDS shell), but I'll work that out later.

I haven't hooked power up to them yet, but will, when I get my OH back in the shell.


Great Job, Anders.


Frank Cooper


Offline Jetcos

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Tech Support
    • Flightdeck Solutions Ltd.
  • First Name: Steve
  • Home Location: Newmarket, Ontario
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2013, 09:58:12 AM »
Are they longer than real start switches?  The Cole ones fit.


Steve Cos
Flightdeck Solutions, Newmarket Ontario,Canada
Special Projects and Technical Support

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,692
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: B737 Startswitches
« Reply #24 on: March 11, 2013, 10:25:27 AM »
I just measured my space in the FDS shell and there is at least 6-7" of space up there behind the start switches (at least 15 cm).    Should be no problem fitting those in Frank.

Scott

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 03:46:32 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 02:42:35 PM]
For sale, New ACE Yokes Pro Versionn CT/FO
by fairchild
[Today at 02:12:05 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by Trooping
[Today at 10:38:17 AM]
B737 Desktop sim project
by archen
[October 19, 2018, 05:28:36 AM]
Converting KingAir to Glass
by flyinghigh
[October 18, 2018, 07:47:24 PM]
Teensy LC Hydralic Panel
by kurt-olsson
[October 18, 2018, 08:38:50 AM]
Can you guyse please check this link
by gjha97
[October 18, 2018, 08:25:00 AM]
KingAir B200 Builder
by flyinghigh
[October 17, 2018, 07:43:56 PM]
FOR SALE - Pair of IPECO Seats and J-Rails
by fsaviator
[October 16, 2018, 11:55:42 PM]
Edge Blending Blockers?
by FredK
[October 16, 2018, 06:42:58 PM]
More Throttle Quadrant nightmares.
by blueskydriver
[October 16, 2018, 02:14:44 PM]
Korry 318 push to test logic
by kurt-olsson
[October 15, 2018, 01:02:43 PM]
Had to Post (True Story) Funny as Hell though (glad noone was hurt)
by Trevor Hale
[October 15, 2018, 12:01:36 PM]
#Worldflight2018 Less than 20 Days to go!
by Trevor Hale
[October 15, 2018, 10:39:46 AM]
Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
by brianwilliamson
[October 14, 2018, 07:52:08 PM]
Computer Power supply strange 5V and strange behaviour Teensy is connected
by iwik
[October 14, 2018, 01:39:14 PM]
For Sale: Jetmax JetMax-737SKTQ
by Trevor Hale
[October 13, 2018, 08:56:35 PM]
Laser CNC cutting/etching using a 3D printer?
by Joe Lavery
[October 12, 2018, 11:28:59 AM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by Joe Lavery
[October 12, 2018, 10:57:35 AM]
Project Magenta with Xplane 11
by kevinsayre
[October 12, 2018, 08:14:25 AM]
13.8V ok for 12V use?
by kurt-olsson
[October 11, 2018, 12:40:48 PM]