Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 61
  • *Total: 61

Our Discord

Author Topic: Cole Starter Switches  (Read 2826 times)

Offline 737man

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Lance
  • Home Location: CA, USA
Cole Starter Switches
« on: May 26, 2015, 06:11:36 PM »
Help,

Need help with setting up my 2 Cole Starter switches with FSX Gold & Prosim.  I have the relay and starters installed in the FDS OVHD.  Does anyone have any docs or set guidelines?

Cheers Lance

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,131
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 07:50:22 AM »
part of the answer:
Should be interfaced with an avionics soft.



Jack

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,384
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2015, 03:07:09 PM »
Thanks Jack!  Needed that.
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline Ethanoost

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Ethan
  • Home Location: Perth, Australia
Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2015, 12:01:33 AM »
Why the diode?  I noticed the real switch straight out of 737 ccokpit has a diode or resistor or something between the two poles.  When I tried to test the solenoid, the resistor /diode burnt. I cut it off and the solenoid works perfectly.

Offline Karl737

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Builder
  • First Name: Karl
  • Home Location: Bendigo, Australia
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2015, 12:29:29 AM »
The diode is there to "absorb" high voltage spikes, and therefore prevent damage to whatever the solenoid is connected to (e.g. a relay card) or in the real aircraft, the electrical system that controls it. The spikes occur in the opposite polarity to the polarity of the power connections that activate the solenoid in the first place and only occur when power is removed from the solenoid. The diode, which will only conduct in one direction, is therefore hooked up across the terminals and is the right orientation so it does not conduct when power is applied, but will conduct when a spike is induced when power is removed thus absorbing the spike at its source.

The reason the diode burnt out is either because power was applied the wrong way to the markings on the terminals or the diode was installed back the front across the terminals.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Karl
« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 12:33:37 AM by Karl737 »

Offline Ethanoost

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Ethan
  • Home Location: Perth, Australia
Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2015, 01:12:39 AM »
Ah thank you. I guess I better buy a few new diodes and hook them up.

Offline 737man

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Lance
  • Home Location: CA, USA
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2015, 11:22:21 PM »
I have the first generation FDS switches and relay.  Any info & diagrams for connection help would be great.  I use prosim & fsx.  Is there any addition programs that needed to  be added on?

Cheers.....

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,384
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2018, 05:47:45 PM »
part of the answer:
Should be interfaced with an avionics soft.
Jack,
any idea how many amps I need on this 28V circuit?  I'd like to just drop in a 12VDC to 28VDC up-converter and tap into my 12V run in the overhead.
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,131
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2018, 09:15:15 AM »
On my sim they are fed 12V from the OVH PSU through the FDS relay card.
No issue so far
 :D


Jack

Offline bernard S

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 559
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2018, 11:26:31 AM »
are yiu going to tie them into other panels per logic  ?

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,384
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2018, 01:55:49 PM »
Yes, I want to, using Prosim737
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Official WF 2019 Route
by dougsnow
[Today at 07:49:35 PM]
737-800 Front window post size
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 01:19:13 PM]
Worldflight 2019 Open for Business
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 08:28:13 AM]
More ?'s - annunciators?
by kattz
[Today at 05:44:21 AM]
Hi everyone!
by fsaviator
[August 20, 2019, 01:29:02 PM]
Looking for annunciators
by kattz
[August 19, 2019, 10:36:39 PM]
OK, So here we go!
by Caflyt
[August 19, 2019, 02:32:28 PM]
Flight Illusion Boeing Press Gauge for sale
by XOrionFE
[August 19, 2019, 08:40:35 AM]
Shell placement and yoke placement questions
by helloo
[August 18, 2019, 02:37:26 PM]
panel sismo oh
by gufau
[August 17, 2019, 04:17:00 AM]
My next sim?
by fsaviator
[August 16, 2019, 06:54:51 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by blueskydriver
[August 14, 2019, 10:35:26 AM]
Shipping Woes
by Ed
[August 13, 2019, 11:55:37 AM]
Looking for gear lever from 747-400, 757
by navymustang
[August 13, 2019, 10:05:44 AM]
Quick way to attach low res/smaller file size pics in your posts...
by Vincent T.
[August 12, 2019, 09:58:46 PM]
Cant post attachments from my iphone
by Trevor Hale
[August 12, 2019, 09:26:08 AM]
For Sale: Engravity 737 Window Frames
by Caflyt
[August 11, 2019, 05:02:28 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[August 10, 2019, 01:43:57 PM]
Help identifying a connector
by kurt-olsson
[August 10, 2019, 10:59:31 AM]
items/oem from overhead
by gufau
[August 09, 2019, 12:06:59 PM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[August 08, 2019, 09:40:02 PM]
Flightdeck Solutions Works with X-Plane11
by Michael_B737_ATP
[August 07, 2019, 02:59:21 PM]
Boeing Dual Linked Yokes for sale
by tennyson
[August 07, 2019, 07:34:58 AM]
CPFLight Backlighting
by mickc
[August 05, 2019, 10:09:53 PM]
Three Projector 210 degree with P3D4
by Nat Crea
[August 03, 2019, 08:36:50 PM]
Looking for part numbers from the 737 NG IPC
by mickc
[August 02, 2019, 11:20:49 PM]
WF2019
by Sam Llorca
[August 02, 2019, 09:22:56 PM]
Teensy LC Fuel Panel A (top)
by bernard S
[August 02, 2019, 06:09:00 PM]
737 overhead
by nigel27
[July 28, 2019, 11:50:47 PM]