Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 11
  • *Total: 11

Our Discord

Author Topic: Cole Starter Switches  (Read 2611 times)

Offline 737man

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Lance
  • Home Location: CA, USA
Cole Starter Switches
« on: May 26, 2015, 06:11:36 PM »
Help,

Need help with setting up my 2 Cole Starter switches with FSX Gold & Prosim.  I have the relay and starters installed in the FDS OVHD.  Does anyone have any docs or set guidelines?

Cheers Lance

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,099
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 07:50:22 AM »
part of the answer:
Should be interfaced with an avionics soft.



Jack

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2015, 03:07:09 PM »
Thanks Jack!  Needed that.
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline Ethanoost

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Ethan
  • Home Location: Perth, Australia
Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2015, 12:01:33 AM »
Why the diode?  I noticed the real switch straight out of 737 ccokpit has a diode or resistor or something between the two poles.  When I tried to test the solenoid, the resistor /diode burnt. I cut it off and the solenoid works perfectly.

Offline Karl737

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Builder
  • First Name: Karl
  • Home Location: Bendigo, Australia
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2015, 12:29:29 AM »
The diode is there to "absorb" high voltage spikes, and therefore prevent damage to whatever the solenoid is connected to (e.g. a relay card) or in the real aircraft, the electrical system that controls it. The spikes occur in the opposite polarity to the polarity of the power connections that activate the solenoid in the first place and only occur when power is removed from the solenoid. The diode, which will only conduct in one direction, is therefore hooked up across the terminals and is the right orientation so it does not conduct when power is applied, but will conduct when a spike is induced when power is removed thus absorbing the spike at its source.

The reason the diode burnt out is either because power was applied the wrong way to the markings on the terminals or the diode was installed back the front across the terminals.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Karl
« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 12:33:37 AM by Karl737 »

Offline Ethanoost

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Ethan
  • Home Location: Perth, Australia
Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2015, 01:12:39 AM »
Ah thank you. I guess I better buy a few new diodes and hook them up.

Offline 737man

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Lance
  • Home Location: CA, USA
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2015, 11:22:21 PM »
I have the first generation FDS switches and relay.  Any info & diagrams for connection help would be great.  I use prosim & fsx.  Is there any addition programs that needed to  be added on?

Cheers.....

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2018, 05:47:45 PM »
part of the answer:
Should be interfaced with an avionics soft.
Jack,
any idea how many amps I need on this 28V circuit?  I'd like to just drop in a 12VDC to 28VDC up-converter and tap into my 12V run in the overhead.
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,099
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2018, 09:15:15 AM »
On my sim they are fed 12V from the OVH PSU through the FDS relay card.
No issue so far
 :D


Jack

Offline bernard S

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 539
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2018, 11:26:31 AM »
are yiu going to tie them into other panels per logic  ?

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: Cole Starter Switches
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2018, 01:55:49 PM »
Yes, I want to, using Prosim737
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

What have you done for your simulator today?
by bernard S
[Today at 11:35:41 AM]
GSX across networked client visual computers
by tersekie
[Today at 10:41:43 AM]
Piper Aztec PA23-250 (Help Needed)
by n4208t
[Today at 10:26:57 AM]
X-Plane 737-800 Build
by jskibo
[Today at 09:54:50 AM]
Serial Key
by luisgordo
[May 21, 2019, 05:40:44 PM]
Jetmax TQ - motorized it?
by FredK
[May 20, 2019, 07:58:36 AM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[May 20, 2019, 02:47:37 AM]
FDS CDU old
by kattz
[May 19, 2019, 01:13:46 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[May 15, 2019, 01:58:50 PM]
Gauge circuit
by jackpilot
[May 15, 2019, 01:56:51 PM]
Prosim and RSP TQ interfacing
by jfuenmayor
[May 15, 2019, 08:53:22 AM]
Arduino Mega question Newbie
by Yair1956
[May 15, 2019, 02:23:57 AM]
f18 mfd
by bernard S
[May 14, 2019, 11:15:44 PM]
Multi-Projector color calibration
by fsaviator
[May 13, 2019, 04:32:23 PM]
Immersive Calibration Pro help?
by jskibo
[May 13, 2019, 09:22:00 AM]
KBD03 Keyboard Emulator
by Yair1956
[May 12, 2019, 03:52:05 PM]
5 Position Rotary Spring return Switch
by Yair1956
[May 12, 2019, 03:09:25 PM]
Flyengravity desktop MIP
by patiju
[May 11, 2019, 05:11:05 PM]
Pfd display.
by Patt737
[May 08, 2019, 12:48:32 PM]
Mini Sim
by jskibo
[May 08, 2019, 08:36:28 AM]
F16 Simulator For Sale
by blueskydriver
[May 08, 2019, 12:14:40 AM]
Wanted: Collins Style radios
by jkbarr30
[May 07, 2019, 08:23:32 PM]
Crap! 26V on 5V backlight!
by Steenos
[May 07, 2019, 05:33:46 PM]
Complete 737-800 cockpit - moving sale
by Ed
[May 07, 2019, 08:01:22 AM]
Prosim 737 iOS help
by Aztrucker
[May 06, 2019, 11:56:30 PM]
Fly Elise Warping
by jskibo
[May 06, 2019, 11:14:31 AM]
CPFlight 737 NG MCP Pro and Efis Pro (SOLD)
by patiju
[May 05, 2019, 10:52:46 AM]
Operating System Blues
by 727737Nut
[May 03, 2019, 11:54:35 AM]
FOR SALE - 737 Sim items
by flymo
[May 02, 2019, 07:43:53 AM]
Cpflight MCP737PRO (SOLD)
by archen
[April 30, 2019, 02:07:33 PM]