Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 4
  • *Guests: 48
  • *Total: 52

Our Discord

WORLDFLIGHT 2018 - TEAM USA SUPPORTERS (HERO'S)


We would like to thank our HERO'S for Donating to support WORLDFLIGHT Team USA - 2018

-Sam LLorca, Fred Kurasiewicz, Ray Sotkiewicz, Warren Soeldner  -
  -
Kyle Hathaway, John Miller, John Combs, Karen Combs, Mick Cliffe, John Ziegler, Vincent Thomas -
- Roy Stewart, Joe Lavery, Dr. Steve Eisenberg, Les Barwick, Doug Snow, Greg Hembree -
- James Williams, Edwin Burton Jasper Koelewijn, James Twomey, John Skibo, Trevor Hale -

- Jason Garrett, Scott Wegner, Frank Radl, Ryan O'Keefe, David Bullock, Bob Reed, Don Emersoln, Lisa Lopez-Floriano -
- Shawn Hathaway, Jason Lohrenz, James Reilly, William McSwain David Otey, Mike Sherick -


Ruscool Electronics Intercom #1 - Won by GyverX
Ruscool Electronics Intercom #2 - Won by dj_Boelie
Ruscool Electronics Intercom #3 -Ryan O'Keefe
Geetech A10 3D printer - James Twomey

Thanks to all of you, You all made Worldflight 2018 a success..
Because of all you wonderful people we raised a total of:

$4,100.00 USD


Author Topic: Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit  (Read 741 times)

Offline ScottThePilot

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
« on: July 16, 2018, 01:59:36 AM »
Hi All,

Software guy and pilot helping out with full cockpit move as described in subject.  Very new at sim software but fast learner.  Someone else got P3D loaded on new FAST computer (Win 10) and I got 3 projectors aligned.  Other person either "moved" or "installed" PM Systems and MCP on FAST machine.  When I fire up this machine and try to start pmSystem, pmSounds and MCP, the splash screen (pmSystems) appears for about a second as though it is trying to start but then quits.  Confirmed that neither is running via task manager.  I do have FSUIPC and Wide Server and Client now working between "new" server and one of the other PC's (6 in all for this sim.  Very old) as TSR (Terminal Service Richter) is able to see P3D.

Questions: Is there an actual install program for pmSystems, MCP and pmSounds that needs to be run?  Or can I just move files over with current .ini files and have everything work. 

I suspect at least pmSounds does as one of the other PC's (Win 7) has an interface to modify the sounds.  The FAST machine has no such interface.

Other questions to follow probably but hope to start by at least getting these running. Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks,
Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline ScottThePilot

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 01:40:29 PM »
Just a clarification...

The main PC (Win 7) is having issues and is VERY old.  Hence the reason to get things moved to new machine.  Decided to make the move from FSX to P3D because it seemed fairly straight forward since PM works on both.  Will be leaving all other PC's alone until we get this working.  Other PC's are even older but one thing at a time.

Seems like lots of brain power here which far out strips my limited knowledge.  Hope someone has some insight...

Appreciate it...
Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Online jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,996
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2018, 04:33:01 PM »
You cannot transfer files and ini files like that on a new pc
You have to run
pmsound setup.exe
cdusetup.exe
mcpsetup.exe
gssetup.exe....etc each on the appropriate computer
And then only install the corresponding software updates (.zip) on the same appropriate computer.
All explained in PM manual.


Jack

Offline jr2mey

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: James
  • Home Location: Tacoma, Wa
Re: Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2018, 07:53:29 PM »
If I may piggyback onto what Jack posted.  You will find that the latest updates from WIN 10 will require you to download the latest install files from Project Magenta web site as well. 

Best to do a nice clean install with latest install programs into the new computers.

FYI.  I use the full Project Magenta 737 Suite and Jack is spot on.
James

Offline ScottThePilot

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2018, 10:25:24 PM »
Ah Brain Power Arrived....

Jack and James...
So couple things to help me understand: Old Main (Comp 1) Win7 computer is what we are moving to new Win10 machine.  It currently has no issues running FSX, pmSystem,  pmSounds, MCP and all 3 projectors on curved screen.  Win7 is what is failing and messed up along with strange hardware issues.  Safer to replace it and that is what they started before me.  Our Comp 2, runs all PFD displays and EICAS.  Comp 3 & 4 run a CDU each.  Instructor station on Comp 5.  Then Comp 6 runs InterfaceIT, TSR, GS Control and Sismo's Pascal script for both overheads.  My first job was getting a new Comp 6 (now Win7) off failing one (XP).  So that I got going with fresh installs.

So the new PC screams so I plan to run P3D, pmSystems, pmSounds, MCP and the 3 projectors.  I can also move pmSounds to Comp 6 since its not doing much and seems real stable.  But Comp 1 looks solid also.  Assume for now pmSounds staying on Comp 1.

Questions...
So, I will run pmSound and MCP installer on new Comp 1 which should fix those.  I did not see you list it but is there a pmSystem installer to run also?

Since PFD's and EICAS on Comp 2 look fine in cockpit with current PM setup, do I really have to rerun install for cdusetup on Comp 2?  Will current install not reconnect with new pmSystem once working on Comp 1?  Just don't want to have to fiddle with screen positioning and stuff in displays.

What does gssetup.exe install?

Is there a certain directory or place to find the PM manual?  Is there one out there in the world to read?  If not, I will start to hunt for it on one of the machines.

James, I have not let Win10 update run in 4 months and have updates turned off for now.  Do you think I can stick with the older installers (if I can find them, lol) or should I try to grab the current installers?  In some ways I am afraid of using the old installers but again, trying to limit the changes from old to new.

I guess with me being new at this, I am just trying to leave the other PC's alone if possible and trying to just get PM working on Comp 1 with P3D while still using FSUIPC and WideFS as installed.  My programs on Comp 6 seem to see P3D fine at the moment so my belief is that communications between machines is OK.

Finally, however you suggest to run the installers, once they complete, can I then move over the .ini files and other logic and config files in PM so the our current setup is the same?

I really appreciate the insight and help gentlemen...
Scott

 
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline jr2mey

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: James
  • Home Location: Tacoma, Wa
Re: Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2018, 07:24:07 PM »
Scott,

Yes, on the Project Magenta web site, under customer install files, you will find your latest install files for PM Systems install files as well as all others you had purchased previously.

I believe the last update to the manual will be version 20.  That should be able to be found on the Project Magenta web site as well.  Oh and I believe that Enrico placed a HTML file in the folders after install that has a link to the manual.  Not sure if it is still there though.

I would highly suggest to grab the latest installers.  While Enrico no longer advertises his updates or his work, he still does updates and posts them.  In fact he was so very kind in adapting the PM Sounds file for me so I could write unique sound trigger events in PM Sounds.

Also, i just experienced my sim crashing and its still down due to WIN10 update.  In my humble opinion, i would hold off for a few months until you get your sim up and running smooth first.  Why make the waters more muddy while trying to get her up and running?

Im not sure I understand your last question exactly. Once you install the PM software, it is key coded to that machine only, so moving ini files to another machine isnt feasible.  after you run your installer file for your PM software, it is going to ask for a key code.  Once you get the key code back from Katy at Project Magenta, that software will only be able to be used on that machine until you decide to move it again.

Hope the jibber jabber above isnt confusing.



James

Offline ScottThePilot

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2018, 02:41:37 AM »
Sorry for the delay.  Been doing some vacation time with the family and working the SIM.  Thanks again for all the chatter as the discussion helps me understand much more about how things work.

After all that though, looks like we may bite the bullet and get started with ProSim737 as a longer term solution...
 
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Online jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,996
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2018, 08:57:00 AM »
In the meantime, why don't you make a fresh complete install of the latest PM suite on your new machines, which is a fairly easy project, instead of trying to transfer or mix old stuff with new stuff which is a sure receipe for trouble.

PS: PM Sound can be installed on each PC which allows you to separate sounds sources ...engines at the back, wind front, GPWS on ceiling speakers etc)


Jack

Offline ScottThePilot

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2018, 12:54:14 AM »
Funny you should say that.  I did download all the install files from our account and while I didn't update things, I am going to work on the sound portion so maybe it will stop crashing after 30 minutes like clockwork.

That will keep thing going while I get the new machine ready for ProSim and start testing board compatibility and how rough the setup is going to be...

Thanks again...
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 08:46:30 AM]
For sale! B737 home cockpit - mostly OEM parts!
by Ethanoost
[Today at 02:30:52 AM]
The Progression of a build [Phase One]
by GyverX
[November 19, 2018, 08:43:50 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by navymustang
[November 19, 2018, 06:14:09 PM]
Boeing 737-800 NG Wet Compass -1:1 Replica (P3D, Xplane, FSX)
by Reensel
[November 19, 2018, 04:04:32 PM]
Goflight 166 radios and power issue
by Steenos
[November 19, 2018, 12:44:19 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[November 18, 2018, 02:00:41 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[November 18, 2018, 07:54:30 AM]
WARNING do not trade with Flyengravity
by fairchild
[November 17, 2018, 12:35:28 PM]
95% finished Diamond DA62 build
by Bob Reed
[November 17, 2018, 09:19:13 AM]
P3dV4 install to F:
by Ed
[November 17, 2018, 06:54:54 AM]
6 Years already
by blueskydriver
[November 16, 2018, 03:02:47 PM]
For Sale Saitek modules, Commercial Package, Rrice Reduce
by fairchild
[November 16, 2018, 01:10:09 PM]
CockpitSimParts 737 MIP & FWD OVH
by Bob Reed
[November 16, 2018, 10:09:42 AM]
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
by Bob Reed
[November 16, 2018, 09:39:55 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[November 15, 2018, 07:34:05 PM]
Honeywell 737 ISDU Unit - Pinout for Canon Plugs
by mickc
[November 15, 2018, 06:12:59 PM]
Notice to those who won the intercoms from Ruscool during Worldflight 2018
by RayS
[November 14, 2018, 06:28:58 PM]
B737 Desktop sim project
by archen
[November 14, 2018, 03:48:11 PM]
Keep losing both engines and all power. Help
by mdavenport
[November 13, 2018, 04:15:35 PM]
For Sale-Real Cockpit Gauges...
by blueskydriver
[November 12, 2018, 09:16:00 PM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[November 12, 2018, 09:09:08 PM]
Rudder trim
by Mach7
[November 12, 2018, 07:54:17 AM]
WorldFlight - CockpitBuilders DAL209 Progress
by Trevor Hale
[November 11, 2018, 11:32:12 AM]
WorldFlight - CockpitBuilders UAL1120 Progress
by dougsnow
[November 11, 2018, 11:08:19 AM]
CP Flight Selcal - How does it work
by ZK CWD
[November 10, 2018, 11:51:31 PM]
Ruscool stereo intercom com units for sale
by ZK CWD
[November 10, 2018, 11:07:11 PM]
HELP windows 10
by kenrowe
[November 10, 2018, 10:16:52 AM]
Solidworks Veterans Discounts
by Joe Lavery
[November 09, 2018, 06:00:32 PM]
World Flight and DAL209
by Sam Llorca
[November 07, 2018, 09:27:37 AM]