Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 3
  • *Guests: 43
  • *Total: 46

Author Topic: XPlane and Avionics softwares.  (Read 1054 times)

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,667
  • 737-7Posky/ FS9/ PM soft/Full cockpit FDS/ XP/
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« on: July 25, 2017, 10:00:14 AM »
Starting a new topic on compatibility with Prosim, PM, Simavionics etc
Go Guys ;)


Jack

Online Fcoq

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Franck
  • Home Location: Eure et loir, France
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2017, 10:09:47 AM »
Thanks for the idea Jack!
I was really interested to know the compatibility for interfacing an A320 with xplane.......

Offline booky

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Stephan
  • Home Location: Munich
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2017, 03:35:24 PM »
Still setting up ProSim and XP and looking for help. First repsonse in FB home cockpit builder group was a clever one:
ProSim doesn´t support X-Plane.

Displays are working, MCP and EFIS dials/buttons not. Well, the Course dial works: XP follows ProSim. Don´t quite understand yet where the logic is when there is no PS flight model installed...should be XP acf. , no?

UPDATE:
Doesn´t work. MCP functions don´t work together. Test ended.
Feedback in other forums: doesn´t work.
sad.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2017, 04:57:15 PM by booky »

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,629
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2017, 08:04:47 PM »
Booky,

Many in these forums and others have already tried many times.   It is a dead subject.  Prosim is not going to support X-Plane and as you have found out after trying in vane and wasting your time it doesnt work.  That "clever" response as you put it in another forum was probably someone just trying to help you from wasting your time.

There is a lot of combined experience here.  Not saying you should trust everything you read or any one person but if you domyour research and use the search functions you will find a wealth of information including the fact above.


Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,629
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2017, 08:27:58 PM »
The best chance of a full 737 suite working in X-plane would be using Sim-Avionics, xpuipc, and the x737 with its plug in disabled so it doesnt interfere with Sim-Avionics.   Basically you would just be using the x737 flight model.   There are a number of tweaks that have to be done (last time I tested) in planemaker to the engines but it did work.   Other than that, if you want an NG the second best may be to use the Zibo modded version along with arduino (I would recommend Teensy from PRJC) as they have some flight sim specific libraries.   The main issue with this setup is that there are I believ no undockable DU, ND or EICAS displays.   Also no CDU support with current manufactures (possibly...but I havent heard of any).

In short, if you want to do an NG...save yourself the headaches and do the tried and tested Prepared/FSX with Prosim or Sim-A.    X-plane right now will be an uphill battle.

If however you want to do a 727,737-200, or 737-300 then use the FlyjSim 727 and 732 or use the IXEG 733.   They have all the datarefs one needs to interface with arduino.  You just need to get OEM panels or somehow make them.

Probably much easier on the build it yourself side would be X-Plane using GA type planes or a KingAir like Ray did using panels from Ruscool.   Plenty of options and X-Plane ia a fantastic builders platform.

My experience and a little .02 for what its worth.  If I am incorrect on any of the above and someone has new information feel free to correct me and share.

Scott
« Last Edit: July 25, 2017, 08:30:09 PM by XOrionFE »

Offline booky

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Stephan
  • Home Location: Munich
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2017, 09:56:54 AM »
Hi Scott,

thanks so much for your reply. It helps me to discuss this complex topic and I´m feeling less alone. Why alone?

Well - I´m on X-Plane/Mac for some 15 years I guess. My first Sim was MS FS4 on a Mac IIci. So I wanted finally build a proper IMMERSIVE cockpit, an Embraer 195. E195 because "everybody" does a 737 ;-) And why not on the Mac - it runs and I have much less issues with drivers, viruses, hick-ups and can just fly ...(build a top PC some weeks ago and form that day on I was only building tiles and installing stuff and stopped flying).

And real / immersive can mean something very different to people: For one pilot it´s 110% exact systems and buttons. For me it´s great visuals and possibly a motion platform. Do I care for passenger noise or romatic P3D clouds or perfect IRS alignment process? Couldn´t care less. And then I flew the "flycravelle.com" the other day - based on XP10. Man, what a great Sim, take a look.

The first board i used with XP was Teensy, then Arduinos. I bought some OC boards. I like Arduino but I´m open for other PnP solutions.
I trashed the Embraer plan because no hardware is available. For 320 and 737 there is.
I don´t do a GA because I´m a pilot since 2015 for small aircrafts so I can fly them in real world myself, so I want a Jet for my Sim.

So 737. And you come to the point where time is more valuable than some Euros. So I wanted to use a real good MCP, and possibly almost "ready to use" panels. Oh, wait - none of that stuff works with X-Plane, despite it´s such a wonderful Sim?!
ProSim? P3D? Installed P3D yesterday. Well. Wasn´t 64 bit until recently? really?

A year ago I started talking to most of the hardware suppliers, asking for XP support, as well as to Laminar.
And they seem to have enough business on ProSim, and say ProSim should support X-Plane. They won´t.

So, X737 & CPFlight might be part of the build, as might be Sim Avionics as XHSI is porbably a notch too low.
Too bad I can then not benefit from the latest developments such as Zibo - agree with you here.
The rest is "easy" - interfacing Overhead with ArdSim and PnP pedestral panels should be straight forward.

Yoke, TQ is ordered. Seats are there. So let´s go for the uphill battle. I flew the Baron this morning in P3D as there seemed to be no stock 737. I was not impressed ???? So now you guys a bit more.

Stephan






Online kurt-olsson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 553
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2017, 03:35:04 AM »
I will use teensy and go for the zibo 737. The developer is active and the support for dockable cdu nd pfd will probably come in soon future.

Offline Ridgenj

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 285
  • 737NG Builder - x-plane
  • First Name: Luis
  • Home Location: New Jersey
XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2017, 08:59:32 PM »
Peter, Zibo might be located in Sweden or surroundings.
He asked me what do we need to eliminate from the virtual cockpit to make it work for cockpitbuilders.
I was traveling and forgot to answer him.
I am busy with P3D4 but you can post what can be eliminated when using hardware. He has also posted data-ref.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: August 08, 2017, 09:00:40 PM by Ridgenj »

Offline booky

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Stephan
  • Home Location: Munich
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2017, 03:33:41 PM »
Luis, Peter, Scott,

I have met some more 737 builders in Germany. It´s a pitty that we are distributed all over the place like Facebook, here, XP.org and that it is very hard to utilize knowlegde and developments efficiently.

Zibo is developing fast and many believe it becomes the best choice. I am not sure Lua scripts are the best way to add systems to an acf, and I wonder when there will be a stable version. Regarding the "undockable" avionics: I hear that people are working on AirManager ND which is much better than undockable windows, I believe you will agree.

I still tend to go with the X737 because I can easily communicate with the developer, and there are some products available for it: CPFlight MCP Pro1 and peripheral, CFY TQ is kind of compatible, an FMC add on exists. Guys like William Martinez and Steve Falken are using it if I´m not wrong.

I also believe that a pure X-Plane can do it without ProSim: I talked to Nils of the flycaravelle.com and Phillip of the pink skyvan. They are convinced that one/I should be using only XP.
By adding ProSim you get countless features, but you create also a lot more issues as well. I just read about the issue of CFY TQ not working with P3D V4. How can that be if ProSim is doing all interfacing? Ah because PS is not P3DV4 ready; that is btw likely the reason why many hardware suppliers can´t work on XP: they seem to work compatibility with V4.

I am currently looking for other builders who use X-Plane and CFY TQ for exchange of best practices. Trimming doesnt work yet on mine. Then you realize: the group or intersection of X-Plane users who use a CFY TQ is very very small. :-(


Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,629
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2017, 04:12:40 PM »
This is why I eventually dropped away from the idea of building an NG and decided to go the OEM route I am on right now.    Gives me much more control and I can develop interfacing as I need to with Teensy Arduino interface directly to the X-Plane datarefs.  If I were to build the NG (and I have a lot of FDS NG stuff standing by) I may ultimately decided to use the x737 and some of the others you mention and bypass the use of Prosim.    We'll see.  Right now I am 100 percent focused on an IXEG 737-300 OEM buildout and making excellent progress.     If I am successful I may end up having a lot of NG stuff for sale....lol.

Scott

Offline 737NGer

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 139
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Youssef
  • Home Location: Cairo
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2017, 06:56:08 AM »
This is why I eventually dropped away from the idea of building an NG and decided to go the OEM route I am on right now.    Gives me much more control and I can develop interfacing as I need to with Teensy Arduino interface directly to the X-Plane datarefs.  If I were to build the NG (and I have a lot of FDS NG stuff standing by) I may ultimately decided to use the x737 and some of the others you mention and bypass the use of Prosim.    We'll see.  Right now I am 100 percent focused on an IXEG 737-300 OEM buildout and making excellent progress.     If I am successful I may end up having a lot of NG stuff for sale....lol.

Scott

Any OEM NG stuff?

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2017, 08:37:35 AM »
fun times for all to be had ????



 
« Last Edit: September 15, 2017, 08:50:58 AM by bernard S »

Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,629
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2017, 11:42:01 AM »
This is why I eventually dropped away from the idea of building an NG and decided to go the OEM route I am on right now.    Gives me much more control and I can develop interfacing as I need to with Teensy Arduino interface directly to the X-Plane datarefs.  If I were to build the NG (and I have a lot of FDS NG stuff standing by) I may ultimately decided to use the x737 and some of the others you mention and bypass the use of Prosim.    We'll see.  Right now I am 100 percent focused on an IXEG 737-300 OEM buildout and making excellent progress.     If I am successful I may end up having a lot of NG stuff for sale....lol.

Scott

Any OEM NG stuff?

No, OEM NG stuff is really difficult to come by.  I don't have anything in that regard.  All aftermarket.

Online kurt-olsson

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 553
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2017, 12:03:15 PM »
Peter, Zibo might be located in Sweden or surroundings.
He asked me what do we need to eliminate from the virtual cockpit to make it work for cockpitbuilders.
I was traveling and forgot to answer him.
I am busy with P3D4 but you can post what can be eliminated when using hardware. He has also posted data-ref.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

How do i get in contact with him? Would be cool if its a swedish dude. :)

Offline booky

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Stephan
  • Home Location: Munich
Re: XPlane and Avionics softwares.
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2017, 12:15:23 PM »
just pink him on X-PLane.org (Thread XP11 / 737 modifyed or PM)?

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2017


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Simulator REBUILD will begin in

Recent Posts

Minor Sim Milestone: I-1 on PilotEdge...
by RayS
[Today at 01:27:51 AM]
Correct Amber LEDs for 737 Overhead?
by jackpilot
[October 17, 2017, 05:04:28 PM]
Rob's 733 Sim
by 737NGer
[October 17, 2017, 12:41:53 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by 727737Nut
[October 17, 2017, 09:39:15 AM]
Descent into NZQN (Queenstown NZ)
by tennyson
[October 17, 2017, 09:27:30 AM]
727-200 sim for sale
by blueskydriver
[October 17, 2017, 01:33:47 AM]
Post Your Pit!!!! 1000 Member Show and Tell
by Nlgravity
[October 17, 2017, 01:10:33 AM]
For Sale B737 Circuit Breaker Panels Kit...
by jackpilot
[October 16, 2017, 09:16:13 PM]
P3D v4 and WideTraffic crashing
by Trevor Hale
[October 16, 2017, 04:11:26 PM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by jackpilot
[October 16, 2017, 08:13:26 AM]
Cockpits for Sale...mine?
by blueskydriver
[October 15, 2017, 11:48:20 PM]
Bezels and Panels For Sale - B738
by hillbilly20
[October 14, 2017, 04:54:37 AM]
Side views
by Bob Reed
[October 13, 2017, 05:51:07 PM]
Cockpit Seats for Sale $700 or obo.
by blueskydriver
[October 13, 2017, 02:40:48 PM]
full working huds for sale
by navymustang
[October 13, 2017, 09:44:08 AM]
Auto Brake Panel for 30 degree rotary switches
by ifeliciano
[October 12, 2017, 01:49:50 PM]
Hi guys - new here with a question
by Blackhawk
[October 12, 2017, 01:30:29 PM]
PFC Jetliner Column Yoke USB
by AngeloC
[October 12, 2017, 10:42:38 AM]
Backlit Knobs Source?
by ifeliciano
[October 12, 2017, 10:34:12 AM]
Rotary Switch with Encoder
by Coco737
[October 12, 2017, 09:50:48 AM]
737 Landing Light Bar - Anyone know where to get one?
by XOrionFE
[October 11, 2017, 08:30:05 PM]
Lego Sets for Cockpit Items...trading?
by blueskydriver
[October 11, 2017, 03:18:29 PM]
I'm now using EUR & USD in my shop
by Bob Reed
[October 11, 2017, 11:26:53 AM]
That Annoying 400Hz Tone
by 727737Nut
[October 11, 2017, 11:02:56 AM]
Jorge from NAVCOM
by navcom
[October 11, 2017, 09:44:31 AM]
Donations for Cockpit Builders!
by blueskydriver
[October 11, 2017, 07:10:29 AM]
Boeing 737 Oxygen Mask Panels (New Product)
by blueskydriver
[October 11, 2017, 07:07:17 AM]
Am I Alive?
by Trevor Hale
[October 11, 2017, 04:47:04 AM]
wac collomatef displays
by bernard S
[October 10, 2017, 09:49:28 AM]
737 Annunciator PCB recommendations?
by ifeliciano
[October 09, 2017, 07:52:59 PM]