Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 55
  • *Total: 57

Our Discord

Author Topic: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?  (Read 1096 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« on: September 08, 2017, 07:56:44 PM »
I am wondering if I need to install addons for scenery such as Orbx etc. on my server computer which does not actually run scenery video but only Views: Panel Only.

I am running this server to control 3 computers for Video onto 3 Projectors which have all the addon scenery installed.

So I am assuming that the server computer with WideView would not need the extra burden of installing these scenery addons.

Perhaps someone might be able to comment that is using WideView.

Regards................Brian W.

Offline MCrevot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • A320-like cockpit builder
  • First Name: Michel Crevot
  • Home Location: Pornic - France
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2017, 06:21:21 AM »
Hi Brian,

i use wideview with P3DV4, but in a different configuration : my server (7700k) run P3D for the front view, and the server component of A320 fmgs.

Anyhow, if your addon contain data impacting the plane position (long, lat, alt) or its attitude (pitch, roll, yaw), i think that you must instal it on your server, because it is him witch will send position and atitude to the others FSX/P3D.

Michel
4970k, 2600k, i7 920, XP pro 64, FSX and A320 FMGS, 3 views on 3 vdp with wideview, 180 deg screen

Offline rs3tier

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Robert
  • Home Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2017, 06:25:13 AM »
Hi

I run a similar setup.
I always install scenery packs on the server, otherwise the taxiways and runways don't match up between server and clients.  so it could like like you are on a taxiway based on the scenery pcs, but the server might think you are on the grass!

Regards,

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 387
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2017, 09:09:29 AM »
rs3tier is correct - not only will ramps, taxiways etc potentially be off, you may even have elevation issues if you do not synch all PCs in your visual system.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,343
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2017, 01:56:43 PM »
If all you are running are panel views, you may not have to. Are you having an issue? I can not see any of the mentioned issues arising from a panel view.

Offline iwik

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • GA Jockey
  • First Name: Les
  • Home Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2017, 02:49:20 PM »
Guys,
In the manual i once read Luciano said that is best to have all pc's the same and this meant all
to have sceneries installed.
les

Offline Nat Crea

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Nat
  • Home Location: Australia
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2017, 10:01:03 PM »
YES you will need to install scenery/airports on your Server,
otherwise you will have elevation/runway/taxiway/ILS issues
REGARDLESS of the fact you only have a panel view on the Server.

Nat

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: WideView on Server without scenery addons ?
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2017, 02:16:13 AM »
Thank you all for chiming in on this. I just did some testing without the add-ons installed and the only fault really that I spotted was the IA aircraft that were parked in some incredible places !!

Also the taxiways would not be the same, but that really had no effect as you fly and taxi visually. Not sure about the ILS etc.

I will install them all back in, as the server in basically a blank mode and will not take any extra resources.

I guess we are always looking at ways to speed things up.

I did notice on re-installing the Server that the whole sim was a lot better.

Thanks again.................Brian W.

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
by jackpilot
[Today at 04:33:01 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 02:46:05 PM]
How to turn all MIP LCDs on at once?
by jackpilot
[Today at 01:17:53 PM]
SOLD!! Real Aircraft Cannon Plugs
by bernard S
[Today at 11:14:56 AM]
FlightControlReplay v4 OUT NOW (with also Re-Live and Video Render features!)
by karijno
[Today at 08:00:12 AM]
Software Interface
by Bob Reed
[July 15, 2018, 07:42:31 AM]
Looking for this!!
by Caflyt
[July 14, 2018, 10:35:37 AM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[July 14, 2018, 06:32:03 AM]
ACE - Officially buyer beware
by fordgt40
[July 14, 2018, 05:00:33 AM]
737NG Simulator DOWN!
by jmlohrenz
[July 13, 2018, 01:48:28 PM]
Two new 19" for my PDF and ND. Check before buy
by kurt-olsson
[July 11, 2018, 12:59:26 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by RayS
[July 10, 2018, 01:57:31 AM]
Bought a FSC.IT Throttle on ebay (Question)
by iwik
[July 09, 2018, 04:45:50 PM]
Aerosoft MCP
by jackpilot
[July 09, 2018, 02:26:51 PM]
P3D WideView vs P3D SimConnect cleint/server configuration
by FredK
[July 09, 2018, 10:22:58 AM]
Post Your Pit!!!! 1000 Member Show and Tell
by Trevor Hale
[July 09, 2018, 09:40:59 AM]
3D printers
by Bob Reed
[July 08, 2018, 05:54:51 PM]
Boeing 737 OEM 4xAFDS, 3x CDU and 1 HUD with combiner and others
by fly_ebos
[July 08, 2018, 07:27:28 AM]
Wanted: ATC and ADF pedestal modules
by jmlohrenz
[July 06, 2018, 09:37:54 PM]
Trying to Source Garmin 430 Parts...
by RayS
[July 06, 2018, 08:24:39 PM]
737 parts for sale!
by Ed
[July 06, 2018, 07:29:31 AM]
737 Max
by sacrayton
[July 05, 2018, 04:04:14 PM]
P3D4.3 viewgroups
by Bob Reed
[July 05, 2018, 12:48:42 PM]
CPFLIGHT GEAR FOR SALE
by Mark737800
[July 04, 2018, 12:56:21 AM]
Labeling Buttons
by iwik
[July 03, 2018, 08:16:59 PM]
Potentiometer 10k 1,5 turns, where?
by kurt-olsson
[July 02, 2018, 06:05:38 PM]
Voice control
by luisgordo
[July 02, 2018, 01:24:07 PM]
JETMAX THROTTLE AND STAND FOR SALE
by jmdhwy
[July 02, 2018, 12:17:13 AM]
Opencockpits boards for sale
by pierclav
[July 01, 2018, 10:26:16 PM]
Left trim up/down wires OEM yoke
by kurt-olsson
[July 01, 2018, 03:23:05 PM]