Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 41
  • *Total: 42

Our Discord

WORLDFLIGHT 2018 - TEAM USA SUPPORTERS (HERO'S)


We would like to thank our HERO'S for Donating to support WORLDFLIGHT Team USA - 2018

Fred Kurasiewicz, Ray Sotkiewicz,Warren Soeldner, Kyle Hathaway-

Thanks to all of you, so far this year we have raised

$670.00 USD


Author Topic: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?  (Read 1224 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« on: November 29, 2017, 11:45:02 PM »
Basically a question only for full size Simpits that use full 220 degrees x 3 Projectors.

I have just upgraded my computers to 6700k,s and GTX1070,s  so just would be interested in any comments from anyone that has changed over to V4.
Do not feel like changing, if at this stage there is no great benefit !

Looking forward to your replies....................Brian W.

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,595
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 06:27:12 AM »
Brian,

We just switched Sam to V4.  He is running an I9 With 32GB Ram and a 1880TI.  3 Projectors warped after joining them through Nvidia Surround.  Really decent settings Gives him 40-60 Frames at airports on the ground with weather and ORBX...  In the Air, about 140 Frames..  A very smooth flight though.

Still the occasional flicker during scenery load, on an m.200 SSD.

Trev
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 06:27:47 AM by Trevor Hale »
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 474
  • P3D/Win7-64/FDS/3 x Optoma GT1080Darbee
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2017, 10:16:38 AM »
I switched to P3Dv4.1 last month and not going back.
Running on single computer I7 4790K at 4.6Gh, 16GB RAM and 980ti and on 3 x Optoma 1080ST. Have at least 30 frames in most of airports (not in Brisbane - sorry, Brian  :P ). The picture is much more fluid than in P3Dv3.4.

AS4 + ASCA +Envshade and pretty aggressive graphic settings.
full ORBX (Global + Vector + Open LC)
GSX
Ultimate Traffic Live at 80%

Here is the first test video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niV3tleOpIQ

 :2cw:

Nick

Offline Aerosim Solutions

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 690
  • Simulator part supplier
    • Aerosim Solutions
  • First Name: Gwyn Perrett
  • Home Location: Perth, Western Australia
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 05:21:47 PM »
It will be a very worthwhile leap Brian, I will be doing it early next year when Prosim2 is released. There will be at least a 20FPS increase, I have v4 on the house PC and it runs 60FPS on a basic video card. Pushing the default F35 jet to a thousand knots at ground level still returns 50FPS, it is silky smooth!
Cheers Gwyn
Boeing 737NG using Prepar3D v3.35, Prosim737, FDS SYS cards, FDS CDUs, CP Flight EL MCP & EFIS & Aerosim Solutions hardware of course!
Check out my website here -
http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2017, 05:55:31 PM »
Thanks to Trev, Nick and Gwyn for the updates. Seems, as I suspected that it has to be the way to go .
Hopefully most problems have been sorted out by now and as well, the add-ons are getting organised.

Great Video Nick, especially with one computer doing all the work.

Regards..............Brian W.

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,283
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2017, 08:50:00 PM »
I'm not switching to P3D until I'm back up and running...  then it will be straight to v4.  Like Gwyn, I'm waiting for the Prosim 2 release so I can just pile all the unknowns up together and beat my head against the wall once
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2017, 11:30:43 PM »
Luckily Jeehell software for the Airbus is up and running on V4.

I was just about to take the plunge when one of my 3 Optoma projectors decided to have an attack of the bends. So it is off to repairs and at this time of year, not sure how long that will take.

Xmas greetings all..................Brian W.

Offline Sam Llorca

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 720
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2017, 10:37:35 AM »
P3D V4 and happy so far!!

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 428
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2017, 11:36:43 AM »
P3D v4 here also on all three projector PCs and the host visual.

Very happy now that WideTraffic is fixed.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,346
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2017, 09:39:42 AM »
I am using it and I really see very little difference other than a lot of my add on software does not work.....  :)

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

More Throttle Quadrant nightmares.
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 06:04:23 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 05:21:30 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by Steenos
[Today at 05:18:55 PM]
Korry 318 push to test logic
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 01:02:43 PM]
Had to Post (True Story) Funny as Hell though (glad noone was hurt)
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 12:01:36 PM]
#Worldflight2018 Less than 20 Days to go!
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 10:39:46 AM]
Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
by brianwilliamson
[October 14, 2018, 07:52:08 PM]
B737 Desktop sim project
by archen
[October 14, 2018, 02:42:41 PM]
Computer Power supply strange 5V and strange behaviour Teensy is connected
by iwik
[October 14, 2018, 01:39:14 PM]
FOR SALE - Pair of IPECO Seats and J-Rails
by fsaviator
[October 14, 2018, 09:14:26 AM]
Teensy LC Hydralic Panel
by archen
[October 14, 2018, 05:17:53 AM]
For Sale: Jetmax JetMax-737SKTQ
by Trevor Hale
[October 13, 2018, 08:56:35 PM]
Laser CNC cutting/etching using a 3D printer?
by Joe Lavery
[October 12, 2018, 11:28:59 AM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by Joe Lavery
[October 12, 2018, 10:57:35 AM]
Project Magenta with Xplane 11
by kevinsayre
[October 12, 2018, 08:14:25 AM]
13.8V ok for 12V use?
by kurt-olsson
[October 11, 2018, 12:40:48 PM]
INTRODUCTION
by twkster
[October 10, 2018, 11:31:27 PM]
For sale New FlightsimPM B737 Throttle Quadrant v2.1
by fairchild
[October 10, 2018, 04:13:13 PM]
For sale,Commercial Packege Saitek Modules
by fairchild
[October 10, 2018, 03:05:47 PM]
CR-10, CR-10S, CR-10S4 and CR-10S5 3d Printer Info and Links...
by Trevor Hale
[October 10, 2018, 01:02:44 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Joe Lavery
[October 10, 2018, 12:28:18 PM]
For Sale: CPFlight MCP 737 EL $400 USD Shipped Lower 48
by Giovan
[October 10, 2018, 05:18:11 AM]
Can you guyse please check this link
by fsaviator
[October 09, 2018, 09:30:46 PM]
Printing the Fuel Panel
by blueskydriver
[October 09, 2018, 01:12:39 PM]
New ACE Yokes Pro Version CT/FO for sale
by fairchild
[October 09, 2018, 12:43:08 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by blueskydriver
[October 09, 2018, 03:03:28 AM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by fsaviator
[October 09, 2018, 12:15:11 AM]
Ground loop gremlins
by Trevor Hale
[October 08, 2018, 04:49:40 PM]
What can a 3D printer do?
by blueskydriver
[October 08, 2018, 12:53:30 PM]