Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 52
  • *Total: 52

FlightSimExpo 2018

Our Discord

Author Topic: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?  (Read 996 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« on: November 29, 2017, 11:45:02 PM »
Basically a question only for full size Simpits that use full 220 degrees x 3 Projectors.

I have just upgraded my computers to 6700k,s and GTX1070,s  so just would be interested in any comments from anyone that has changed over to V4.
Do not feel like changing, if at this stage there is no great benefit !

Looking forward to your replies....................Brian W.

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,525
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 06:27:12 AM »
Brian,

We just switched Sam to V4.  He is running an I9 With 32GB Ram and a 1880TI.  3 Projectors warped after joining them through Nvidia Surround.  Really decent settings Gives him 40-60 Frames at airports on the ground with weather and ORBX...  In the Air, about 140 Frames..  A very smooth flight though.

Still the occasional flicker during scenery load, on an m.200 SSD.

Trev
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 06:27:47 AM by Trevor Hale »
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 465
  • Karma: +1/-1
  • P3D / Win7-64 / FDS / 3 x Optoma GT1080
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2017, 10:16:38 AM »
I switched to P3Dv4.1 last month and not going back.
Running on single computer I7 4790K at 4.6Gh, 16GB RAM and 980ti and on 3 x Optoma 1080ST. Have at least 30 frames in most of airports (not in Brisbane - sorry, Brian  :P ). The picture is much more fluid than in P3Dv3.4.

AS4 + ASCA +Envshade and pretty aggressive graphic settings.
full ORBX (Global + Vector + Open LC)
GSX
Ultimate Traffic Live at 80%

Here is the first test video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niV3tleOpIQ

 :2cw:

Nick

Offline Aerosim Solutions

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 687
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Simulator part supplier
    • Aerosim Solutions
  • First Name: Gwyn Perrett
  • Home Location: Perth, Western Australia
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 05:21:47 PM »
It will be a very worthwhile leap Brian, I will be doing it early next year when Prosim2 is released. There will be at least a 20FPS increase, I have v4 on the house PC and it runs 60FPS on a basic video card. Pushing the default F35 jet to a thousand knots at ground level still returns 50FPS, it is silky smooth!
Cheers Gwyn
Boeing 737NG using Prepar3D v3.35, Prosim737, FDS SYS cards, FDS CDUs, CP Flight EL MCP & EFIS & Aerosim Solutions hardware of course!
Check out my website here -
http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2017, 05:55:31 PM »
Thanks to Trev, Nick and Gwyn for the updates. Seems, as I suspected that it has to be the way to go .
Hopefully most problems have been sorted out by now and as well, the add-ons are getting organised.

Great Video Nick, especially with one computer doing all the work.

Regards..............Brian W.

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,253
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2017, 08:50:00 PM »
I'm not switching to P3D until I'm back up and running...  then it will be straight to v4.  Like Gwyn, I'm waiting for the Prosim 2 release so I can just pile all the unknowns up together and beat my head against the wall once
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2017, 11:30:43 PM »
Luckily Jeehell software for the Airbus is up and running on V4.

I was just about to take the plunge when one of my 3 Optoma projectors decided to have an attack of the bends. So it is off to repairs and at this time of year, not sure how long that will take.

Xmas greetings all..................Brian W.

Offline Sam Llorca

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2017, 10:37:35 AM »
P3D V4 and happy so far!!

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 374
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: Orlando, FL
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2017, 11:36:43 AM »
P3D v4 here also on all three projector PCs and the host visual.

Very happy now that WideTraffic is fixed.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,334
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: P3D v3 Verus P3D V4 ?
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2017, 09:39:42 AM »
I am using it and I really see very little difference other than a lot of my add on software does not work.....  :)

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2018


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

JetMax Overhead Support
by amorealex
[Today at 10:00:23 AM]
AIRBUS-A-310-SERIES-FMC/CDU FOR SALE
by N606DL
[Today at 06:54:26 AM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[Today at 03:27:09 AM]
For Sale-Real Cockpit Gauges...
by blueskydriver
[Today at 03:24:59 AM]
Two Cockpits For Sale
by blueskydriver
[Today at 03:21:12 AM]
B737-800 nose pitching up too much during take-off run
by Lee737
[May 22, 2018, 09:49:50 PM]
PMDG 737 on P3dV4 and 1PC Setup
by seedosip
[May 22, 2018, 10:21:40 AM]
FDS 747 MIP Price reduced!
by 777 driver
[May 21, 2018, 10:03:40 PM]
F-18 cockpit(s) for sale
by SAMEtech
[May 21, 2018, 06:43:50 PM]
MH-60 Helicopter (retired Navy simulator) for sale
by SAMEtech
[May 21, 2018, 06:42:22 PM]
Faceplates for instruments
by ifeliciano
[May 19, 2018, 04:01:07 PM]
Homebuilt TQ has been sold
by Maurice
[May 18, 2018, 04:18:29 PM]
Wanted: Boeing 737 Throttle
by jackpilot
[May 18, 2018, 03:35:46 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by jackpilot
[May 18, 2018, 09:23:59 AM]
TQ 737 Jet Max for sale
by pilota1748
[May 18, 2018, 07:29:52 AM]
Inclinometer
by Atomic_Sheep
[May 18, 2018, 04:55:33 AM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[May 17, 2018, 06:10:56 PM]
Hola from Spain
by seedosip
[May 17, 2018, 05:36:44 AM]
Gas strut newton for elevation
by kurt-olsson
[May 16, 2018, 03:44:25 PM]
Vendor Questions
by Trevor Hale
[May 16, 2018, 03:20:56 PM]
Another AC/DC Panel dimenssion request
by bernard S
[May 16, 2018, 12:23:58 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by seedosip
[May 16, 2018, 05:10:28 AM]
New member - new topic - Hagstrom KEUSB 108 - windows 7 problem
by sedge
[May 14, 2018, 10:34:35 PM]
Purchased: Real Boeing 737 TQ
by Steenos
[May 14, 2018, 03:20:34 PM]
U.S. holiday booked!
by Aerosim Solutions
[May 13, 2018, 06:20:31 PM]
My Cockpit homemade - Brasil
by HighTechGG
[May 12, 2018, 12:33:05 PM]
FlightControlReplay Professional Edition v4 Features Announcement
by karijno
[May 11, 2018, 06:29:27 PM]
B767 MIP
by Goodenough
[May 11, 2018, 05:13:28 PM]
a must have
by bernard S
[May 11, 2018, 04:41:45 PM]
Great pic of 737 over Tampa
by fsaviator
[May 11, 2018, 09:22:55 AM]