Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 4
  • *Guests: 42
  • *Total: 46

Our Discord

WORLDFLIGHT 2018 - TEAM USA SUPPORTERS (HERO'S)


We would like to thank our HERO'S for Donating to support WORLDFLIGHT Team USA - 2018

-Sam LLorca, Fred Kurasiewicz, Ray Sotkiewicz, Warren Soeldner  -
  -
Kyle Hathaway, John Miller, John Combs, Karen Combs, Mick Cliffe, John Ziegler, Vincent Thomas -
- Roy Stewart, Joe Lavery, Dr. Steve Eisenberg, Les Barwick, Doug Snow, Greg Hembree -
- James Williams, Edwin Burton Jasper Koelewijn, James Twomey, John Skibo, Trevor Hale -

- Jason Garrett, Scott Wegner, Frank Radl, Ryan O'Keefe, David Bullock, Bob Reed, Don Emersoln, Lisa Lopez-Floriano -
- Shawn Hathaway, Jason Lohrenz, James Reilly, William McSwain David Otey, Mike Sherick -


Ruscool Electronics Intercom #1 - Won by GyverX
Ruscool Electronics Intercom #2 - Won by dj_Boelie
Ruscool Electronics Intercom #3 -Ryan O'Keefe
Geetech A10 3D printer - James Twomey

Thanks to all of you, You all made Worldflight 2018 a success..
Because of all you wonderful people we raised a total of:

$4,100.00 USD


Author Topic: Windows 10  (Read 1625 times)

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 695
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Windows 10
« on: December 19, 2017, 06:54:35 AM »
Hi Guys,

I'm about to build a new PC for my flight deck, which will run P3D v4 and my visuals onto 3 x 40inch 4K TVs. I won't be outputting 4K but they were cheap and have tiny bezels.
The question is, I have always run exclusively on Windows 7, because it seems more reliable but would anyone have experience with Windows 10 in such a scenario? Do you think there is any advantage to installing Windows 10?

I expect I'll be running ProSim 737, with a few more lower spec PCs to deal with cockpit displays and the FDS CDUs I just bought.

Any advice would be appreciated..  :)
Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline Sam Llorca

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2017, 07:46:58 AM »
Hi Joe,

We just built a new system on Windows 10, P3Dv4, with NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080ti 3 video outputs and is working very reliable, also running ProSim737, framerates are between 25 and 40 depending on settings and airports loaded.

Cheers!

Offline KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 407
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2017, 08:06:51 AM »
There is no advantage with Windows10 over 7 unless the hardware you purchase requires it, as was the case with Sam's machine.

The user account control changes and difficulties controlling windows updates in 10 still make win 7 the better OS.


Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 695
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2017, 08:13:39 AM »
Thanks Guys,

What was the hardware that Sam is running?

And thanks for the quick response,

All the best
Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 407
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2017, 09:13:54 AM »
It was the i9 processors that required it.


Offline B747-400

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 107
  • Aviation Enthusiast and Cockpit Builder
    • B747-400.net
  • First Name: Hans
  • Home Location: Vienna / Austria
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2017, 06:21:48 PM »
Hi guys

Interesting thread.

I got my three LG PF1000U Full HD LED projectors few days ago.

Joe, what graphic card is used in your system?

Cheers
Hans

Hans G. Schuetz
http://B747-400.net

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 695
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2017, 01:39:33 AM »
Hi Hans,

I'm getting a GTX 1080Ti but I'm not sure which make yet, still checking the reviews and prices.
I'm hoping it will cope with three 1920 screens, from the reviews so far it should.

Cheers
Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,369
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2017, 07:06:38 AM »
Hi Hans,

I'm getting a GTX 1080Ti but I'm not sure which make yet, still checking the reviews and prices.
I'm hoping it will cope with three 1920 screens, from the reviews so far it should.

Cheers
Joe.

Joe, 2 questions. What are your computer specs and are the screens all the same?

Offline Sam Llorca

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2017, 09:56:17 AM »
This are my hardware!

ASUS ROG STRIX X299-E GAMING LGA2066 DDR4 M.2 USB 
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti DirectX 12 GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X 11G 11GB   Video Card
Intel Core i9-7900X Skylake-X 10-Core 3.3 GHz LGA 2066   Desktop Processor
SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 1TB SATA III 3D NAND Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive 
G.SKILL FORTIS Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2133 Memory (Desktop Memory) 
Corsair Hydro Series H100i V2 Extreme Performance Water / Liquid CPU Cooler. 

Hope it helps!

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 188
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2017, 10:09:33 AM »
Hi Sam,

Is it possible to boot off of that Samsung M.2 drive?
Ed
FSX-SE,P3D4,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC 4 + 5,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 695
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2017, 10:53:30 AM »
Bob,
The screens are all the same make and model - JVC 40inch 4K, and my other specs will be:

Intel Processor i7-8700 3.7GHz,
6GB DDR4 RAM,
Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe PCI-Express
Seagate BarraCuda 4TB 3.5" Hard Drive
GTX 1080Ti Video

If I can afford it I will also get a 1TB SSD as well.

I haven't decided yet on standard or liquid cooler, because I had a Corsair unit fail on me earlier this year. It leaked over the motherboard and toasted the PCI Express sockets, so I had to buy another motherboard.

As I said I haven't bought all this stuff yet, I'll see what the prices are like in thee new year. I'm in the middles of rebuilding (and improving) my PIT, so there's no rush at the moment.

Joe.
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline B747-400

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 107
  • Aviation Enthusiast and Cockpit Builder
    • B747-400.net
  • First Name: Hans
  • Home Location: Vienna / Austria
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2017, 02:56:50 PM »
Thanks Joe and Sam for sharing your system specification.

I think I will go for the GT 1080 ti next year as well. The card should be able to handle 3 full HD beamer / monitors.

Cheers
Hans
Hans G. Schuetz
http://B747-400.net

Offline Caflyt

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 283
  • Private Pilot/ 737ng cockpit builder
  • First Name: Craig
  • Home Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2017, 07:01:48 PM »
Ed,
Yes it is just like any SSD only faster.
I put one in my new rig for the main Windows 10 OS drive.
Boots up before I can blink three times.

Thinking of adding a larger capacity M.2 for ORBX scenery and such in the future.

Craig
« Last Edit: December 20, 2017, 07:16:27 PM by Caflyt »

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 188
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2017, 05:08:43 AM »
Ed,
Yes it is just like any SSD only faster.
I put one in my new rig for the main Windows 10 OS drive.
Boots up before I can blink three times.

Thinking of adding a larger capacity M.2 for ORBX scenery and such in the future.

Craig

Thanks Craig,

I've had my eye on one for awhile now but heard of issues using NVME models as boot  drives. Good to know they work well.

Thanks,
Ed
FSX-SE,P3D4,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC 4 + 5,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

Offline Sam Llorca

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • Aviation Enthusiast/Private pilot
    • Flight experience simulation center
  • First Name: Samuel
  • Home Location: Sarasota, Florida. U.S.A.
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #14 on: December 21, 2017, 09:19:12 AM »
Hi Ed,

Is it possible to boot off of that Samsung M.2 drive?

Yes you can and is fast!

I use M.2 for the OS and a regular sata SSD for the other programs.

Offline Ridgenj

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 299
  • 737NG Builder - x-plane
  • First Name: Luis
  • Home Location: New Jersey
Windows 10
« Reply #15 on: December 21, 2017, 07:33:06 PM »
This has been discussed  somewhere else but I still don’t have a conclusive strategy.
Win 10 bloadware can be killed and is describe somewhere else.
I am looking to move to Asus Rog Strix Z370  for my mainframe and I have already a Samsung 960 Evo 512g M2 and a 2 TB
Firecuda. My current VGA is a Rog Strix 1080ti and 3 x Strix 1070 for the IGC.
Half of the experts claim that P3D4 should be on an SSD while the rest settle for fast high capacity HDD’s.
Not familiar with proSim320 but does it has to coexist in the same PC as P3D4? Can I assume that ProSim737v2 will follow a similar pattern?
Depending on how version 2 is implemented this might change PC specs and budgets.
Any suggestions?
Cheers
Luis


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Ed

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 188
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • My 737NGX800 Homebuilt Cockpit
  • First Name: Edwin
  • Home Location: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Re: Windows 10
« Reply #16 on: December 22, 2017, 06:19:55 AM »
Hi Ed,

Is it possible to boot off of that Samsung M.2 drive?

Yes you can and is fast!

I use M.2 for the OS and a regular sata SSD for the other programs.

Thanks Sam.
Ed
FSX-SE,P3D4,W10-I7@4.8,W7-i7 920 ,W10-Dual Core@2.66.,FSUIPC 4 + 5,WideFS.Prosim737,JSV2,ASN, ,Vpilot,GSX,Pro-ATC/X,RAAS Pro,UT2,PFPX,TopCat,Accu-Feel
http://www.737ngxca.com/

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

boeing overhead circuit breaker back light panel wiring
by kondrat
[Today at 11:14:55 AM]
Problems with Wideview or Wide Traffic with Pre3DV3
by FredK
[Today at 09:40:37 AM]
New Paint for N38AK
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 09:02:53 AM]
The Progression of a build [Phase One]
by GyverX
[November 20, 2018, 05:03:33 PM]
For sale! B737 home cockpit - mostly OEM parts!
by Flightdeck57
[November 20, 2018, 01:30:16 PM]
B737 MIP and Overhead gauges
by csp
[November 20, 2018, 10:25:31 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[November 20, 2018, 08:46:30 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by navymustang
[November 19, 2018, 06:14:09 PM]
Boeing 737-800 NG Wet Compass -1:1 Replica (P3D, Xplane, FSX)
by Reensel
[November 19, 2018, 04:04:32 PM]
Goflight 166 radios and power issue
by Steenos
[November 19, 2018, 12:44:19 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[November 18, 2018, 02:00:41 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[November 18, 2018, 07:54:30 AM]
WARNING do not trade with Flyengravity
by fairchild
[November 17, 2018, 12:35:28 PM]
95% finished Diamond DA62 build
by Bob Reed
[November 17, 2018, 09:19:13 AM]
P3dV4 install to F:
by Ed
[November 17, 2018, 06:54:54 AM]
6 Years already
by blueskydriver
[November 16, 2018, 03:02:47 PM]
For Sale Saitek modules, Commercial Package, Rrice Reduce
by fairchild
[November 16, 2018, 01:10:09 PM]
CockpitSimParts 737 MIP & FWD OVH
by Bob Reed
[November 16, 2018, 10:09:42 AM]
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
by Bob Reed
[November 16, 2018, 09:39:55 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[November 15, 2018, 07:34:05 PM]
Honeywell 737 ISDU Unit - Pinout for Canon Plugs
by mickc
[November 15, 2018, 06:12:59 PM]
Notice to those who won the intercoms from Ruscool during Worldflight 2018
by RayS
[November 14, 2018, 06:28:58 PM]
B737 Desktop sim project
by archen
[November 14, 2018, 03:48:11 PM]
Keep losing both engines and all power. Help
by mdavenport
[November 13, 2018, 04:15:35 PM]
For Sale-Real Cockpit Gauges...
by blueskydriver
[November 12, 2018, 09:16:00 PM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[November 12, 2018, 09:09:08 PM]
Rudder trim
by Mach7
[November 12, 2018, 07:54:17 AM]
WorldFlight - CockpitBuilders DAL209 Progress
by Trevor Hale
[November 11, 2018, 11:32:12 AM]
WorldFlight - CockpitBuilders UAL1120 Progress
by dougsnow
[November 11, 2018, 11:08:19 AM]
CP Flight Selcal - How does it work
by ZK CWD
[November 10, 2018, 11:51:31 PM]