Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 57
  • *Total: 59

Our Discord

WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - TEAM USA SUPPORTERS (HERO'S)

 
Worldflight 2019
Donations Starting Early
With 50 Days Left, it's time to start Counting Down to Worldflight 2019.  Beginning in August, we had 2 kind gentleman lead the way on our quest for donations to this amazing Charity Event.  Over the Past 6 Years, we (This community) Has helped to raise over $25,000.00USD to help the kids and their families of the All Children's Hospital in St. Petersburgh, Florida.  Kicking off the donations this year these Two Hero's are leading the way to another Successful Year.  I personally want to thank these two Gentleman and use this opportunity to have all of you donate to our wonderful cause. 
Thank you in advance for your help and please wish us much success for our 2019 event.
       
  ---Worldflight 2019 HEROS---

 James Williams, Warren Soeldner,  Sam Llorca, Doug Snow, Ryan O'Keefe, Edwin Burton, Vincent Thomas, Fred Kurasiewicz       





Thanks to all of you, You are all helping to make Worldflight 2019 a success..
Because of all you wonderful people so far we have raised a total of:

$2745.00 USD


Author Topic: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network  (Read 3220 times)

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 524
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« on: January 06, 2018, 04:02:23 PM »
Has anyone attempted to run the new Flight1 Ultimate Traffic Live with P3D v4 across a network? That is, if I have it running on the host machine and have WideTraffic also running, will WideTraffic propagate the traffic across all clients on the visual side so that the AI traffic is visible on all clients.

I would imagine that at the least I have to copy all AI aircraft over to each client.
Thanks
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 539
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2018, 08:55:36 PM »
I am using MyTraffic for AI traffic for WideView.  Works better than ever with P3Dv4.  Simply make sure that the MyTraffic aircraft folders are copied to each of the clients.

Fred K
« Last Edit: January 07, 2018, 08:25:23 AM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline DaveA320

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Dave
  • Home Location: Ontario, Canada
Re: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2018, 09:56:08 PM »
Hi Jim,
I have UTLive working on my multichannel setup just fine.
This is what I have done;
Full install on the server PC,
1. Copy of AI aircraft on each of the clients,
2. MyDocuments/Addons.xml file on each client pointing to the AI aircraft folder,
(This was a copy of the XML file from the server with everything deleted except for the part pointing to the location of the AI aircraft folder)
3. ProgramData/ simobjects.cfg file entry added to match the server PC entry.

Not sure if steps 2 and 3 are required but it works for me.

I am quite sure this does not violate any EULA legal stuff since it is Widetraffic generating the traffic from the full install on the server and the client PCs on their own would not be able to run UTLive

Hope this helps
Dave

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 539
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2018, 11:59:40 AM »
I just switched over to UTL from MT in my WideView setup about a week ago.

I just want to expand on what Dave has defined above for settings in the WV clients....

Steps #1 and #3 are necessary.  Step #2 is not required.

I was finding some mismatched aircraft types and liveries....What you also need to do is the following:

You need to make a mod in the Prepar3D.cfg file as shown below:

[MAIN]
LabelsSupported=Airplane, Helicopter, utLive Aircraft

Adding "utLive Aircraft" to that line fixed the mismatch issue.

The quality and smooth motion of the UTL aircraft is a real step ahead over MT.  I am also amazingly able to run the AI settings at 100%!  Something not close to possible with MT.

With UTL I do see a stray aircraft that appears occasionally in a place it should not be.  Landing pattern spacing sometimes is also an issue with planes almost right on top of one another.  All that is not a WV issue though since I am seeing such displayed on my ND.

Fred K
« Last Edit: February 11, 2018, 12:00:36 PM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline DaveA320

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Dave
  • Home Location: Ontario, Canada
Re: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2018, 11:23:48 AM »
Thanks Fred for that info. I will make the changes to my setup.
Dave

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 539
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2018, 02:03:34 PM »
After experimenting with many different UTL settings I can also recommend the following for running UTL over a WV network:

(1) Turn off the FPS limiter (set it to "0") in UTL.

(2) Keep traffic density settings at 100% within UTL.

(3) But..... limit the total number of planes to about 75-100 within UTL.

If I go any higher than that number of planes I start to see anomalies with planes appearing/disappearing in the wrong places, particularly on taxiways.  Below that number all is OK.  Again, the issue is not so much a FPS performance hit as it is planes going wacko including looking like swarms of bees doing landings.  My conclusion is that it is not so much a rendering issue, but it is related to P3D's ability to move the planes around.  That is the limitation I think.

I find that by doing it this way I have a healthy enough sprinkling of planes to keep the major airports looking active, while the smaller airports still have a full complement of planes.

All tests where done at large payware airports.

Fred K
« Last Edit: February 13, 2018, 02:06:05 PM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,896
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2018, 09:35:36 AM »
Hi Fred,

I have UT, and UT2, but they’re not used in a network situation. Anyway, some time ago, I remembered reading and applying the fix of removing the actual flyable high res planes from the AI planes list. If you do not remove them they would be used at and/or airports near you, and thereby, using rendering resources needlessly.

Also, I did edit the AI airports to match real world airline schedules. For example, if I fly into KMSP Minneapolis (Hub) I want to see Northwest or Delta Airlines moving about or taking off/landing, as well as seeing a lot of the commuter planes that bring passengers in for hub transfers. This airport is also International, so I even edited the parking locations to reflect this and too make sure these international planes were in fact the ones that normally fly into this airport.

Of course this is not for the faint of heart, but why not make it more realistic as possible right? I did alot of large airports this way, then started on some smaller spoke airports, making sure the types of GA that normally use those airports are represented.

Lastly, if you decide to do this look at UT2 schedules first, as they may be setup pretty close; however, here is the link for UT2 schedules payware updates:

http://ut2.flight1.net/index.php/downloads/schedules.html

Here is their FB page link:

https://www.facebook.com/flight1software/

Supposedly, Flight1 is working on UT Live, since UT and UT2 have been discontinued. And, do you need to purchase the schedule updates, not really; unless, you want to do them all yourself...

Here is something for the regulars, do you remember these days...AFCAD and ttools? Look at this old link:

http://ultimatetraffic.flight1.net/forums/forum_posts.asp?TID=2981

Have Fun,

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 539
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2018, 02:25:25 PM »
Hi John -

Thanks for the info....

The way I understand it is the schedule UTL is using is a couple of years old and that there is a frustration among users that there is no updated schedule pending.  However that really is not any kind of big concern of mine.  A somewhat bigger issue is that many of the liveries are outdated.  There is also no provision for cargo carriers although there is a workaround for that.  All that is a bit odd for what is supposed to be a leading edge software program, but I can appreciate that just about all of these software add-on companies work on a shoestring budget and that the continually changing P3D parameters do not make the job easy.

Yeah...editing afcads brings back mixed memories of building my own airport scenery etc.  Been there, done that, never again!

That said, UTL does deliver the correct plane liveries to each respective airport.  However it does not park those planes correctly at the terminals.  Most of the better payware airports do have the correct terminal afcads in place though.

Fred K
« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 02:28:51 PM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline jmlohrenz

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 102
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Jason
  • Home Location: MN, USA
Re: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2018, 06:45:35 PM »
I don't think it has been mentioned yet, but the fact that UTL injects the AI into the sim instead of using BGL files is a nice step forward too. It is much easier on the sim to not have to load big BGL files when only a few things are needed in the specific area you are in.

Offline DaveA320

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Dave
  • Home Location: Ontario, Canada
Re: Ultimate Traffic Live across a network
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2018, 08:47:42 AM »
Hi Guys,
I have just noticed that my aircraft on the client PCs do not have nav or strobe lights working. My setup is as outlined in the above posts. When I go to external view on the server PC these lights are working. The WideTraffic manual says these features are supported in the synchronization of AI aircraft.
Any thoughts?
Thanks
Dave

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

My New Computer Specs (feedback please)
by blueskydriver
[Today at 01:49:40 AM]
WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - AVAILABILITY
by gjha97
[September 16, 2019, 07:44:23 PM]
WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - FLIGHT BIDS
by gjha97
[September 16, 2019, 07:40:57 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by paulnd
[September 16, 2019, 03:12:52 PM]
757/767 PROJECT
by helloo
[September 16, 2019, 11:13:43 AM]
Server Upgrade, and SSL Integration
by Trevor Hale
[September 16, 2019, 10:50:39 AM]
727/737 yokes
by Caflyt
[September 15, 2019, 02:11:06 PM]
WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - Scenery Check Volunteers Needed
by Vincent T.
[September 14, 2019, 03:08:00 PM]
WORLDFLIGHT 2019 - Employer matching for Donations...
by RayS
[September 14, 2019, 12:03:45 AM]
SimFest-West 2019 Videos
by RayS
[September 13, 2019, 07:27:16 PM]
737 MAX Build
by helloo
[September 13, 2019, 04:41:17 PM]
A little pucker factor here, I'm sure... nerves of steel
by RayS
[September 12, 2019, 06:30:45 PM]
Which size fuses to use in fuse block supplying FDS boards?
by blueskydriver
[September 11, 2019, 05:56:37 PM]
I finally got the shell pulled off the ATC-810...
by geneb
[September 11, 2019, 07:29:51 AM]
Wanted: Optoma GT1080Darbee Short Throw Projector
by Flightdeck57
[September 11, 2019, 12:24:08 AM]
F16 Simulator For Sale
by blueskydriver
[September 06, 2019, 03:52:34 PM]
Ebay Assistance
by iwik
[September 06, 2019, 02:00:00 PM]
Matrox 3
by jackpilot
[September 05, 2019, 10:45:00 AM]
So I got a big crate the other day...
by geneb
[September 05, 2019, 09:20:22 AM]
Official WF 2019 Route
by fsaviator
[September 05, 2019, 08:20:10 AM]
Are some sellers off their trolly
by kurt-olsson
[September 02, 2019, 12:39:54 PM]
Display Glare FDS w/Pic
by Joe Lavery
[September 01, 2019, 02:33:47 AM]
MCP
by Caflyt
[August 27, 2019, 06:57:41 PM]
Dispatch and Career Add-on
by fsaviator
[August 26, 2019, 10:42:45 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by B763
[August 25, 2019, 04:58:46 PM]
Free Jet Ranger.
by geneb
[August 23, 2019, 06:16:52 PM]
items/oem from overhead
by gufau
[August 23, 2019, 12:49:15 PM]
Hi everyone!
by jskibo
[August 23, 2019, 08:05:33 AM]
737-800 Front window post size
by kurt-olsson
[August 23, 2019, 03:35:11 AM]
Shipping Woes
by Caflyt
[August 22, 2019, 10:47:49 AM]