Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 59
  • *Total: 60

Our Discord

Author Topic: What have you done for your simulator today?  (Read 38269 times)

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 454
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #450 on: October 27, 2018, 02:12:06 PM »
I actually thought it was the transporter room on the Enterprise
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 462
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #451 on: October 27, 2018, 03:28:11 PM »
my sim my money my.madness 😉..if people dont like it then write me a chq to change it lol

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,783
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #452 on: October 27, 2018, 08:11:13 PM »
Hi Bernard,

We're not criticizing you at all, actually we are admiring your work...be it looking like an ATC Control Console or Star Trek Transporter Room, that means it's a really cool thing! Being an ATC Controller is awesome and having a setup would be great, as well as it being a Star Trek item would be even more awesome. I mean who doesn't love Star Trek...uh, okay...unless you love Star Wars instead...lol!

So no worries mate, you're doing amazing things and we like it  :D

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 454
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #453 on: October 28, 2018, 09:32:51 AM »
As Bernard said - we are truly enjoying the craftsmanship of your builds. Sorry that our attempt at humor offends anyone. We truly appreciate all the work everyone does to make this such a great hobby. Please keep posting - your ideas and designs will inspire others to step out of the box and try new things.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 462
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #454 on: October 28, 2018, 10:31:07 AM »
i received such a great deal on x2 server cabinets  25 bucks each  .. so a must have  so getting here easy enough used a buds truck   excitmemt rules   alas   do they fit   hell no .. after getting them up 15 ft in air .. what to do remove sides of sim cut out metal re weld and Bob's your uncle 
« Last Edit: October 28, 2018, 10:34:36 AM by bernard S »

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 462
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #455 on: November 05, 2018, 02:59:13 PM »
more fun

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,376
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #456 on: November 16, 2018, 09:57:59 AM »
Well the sim will get a new SSD hard drive today. Fingers crossed! When I installed P3Dv4 I did not see an option to change the directory it would be installed in. Either it was not there or I was in too much of a hurry, probably the case, to look for it. Fast forward to now. 3 days before WorlFlight I purchased Orbx. I came home form Orbx and wanted to install it... Well my tiny little SSD that was my C drive just would not do it. What to do.... I ordered a new SSD that wold more then hold all my Sim stuff and set a path forward for when I start to run out of space again which I will. Cloned the drive last night and am going to install it back into the computer and hit the magic power button.. Wish me luck!

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 701
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #457 on: November 16, 2018, 02:09:26 PM »
Best of luck Bob,
 
But you know already that the new drive is never going to be big enough... :angel:  ;D

Orbx continues to model the world, now in even higher resolution. The latest UK scenery (TrueEarth GB South) is over 27GB and that's the compressed size before installation. As they expand the areas covered it's going to consume huge amounts of space. So probably not for most folk in this forum, who tend to fly the big tin.

 ;D

'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,300
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #458 on: November 16, 2018, 05:45:07 PM »
Don't forget, cyber Monday is just around the corner...  there will be great deals on SSDs at Newegg, Fry's, and places like that.  They need to get rid of old stock
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline RayS

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 789
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #459 on: November 17, 2018, 01:14:29 AM »
Progress on getting the 1900 back in the air has been slower than expected. Tonight I'm re-committing to getting one major component re-installed each week.

Tonight the co-pilot yoke went back in. This weekend will be spent re-installing all the linkage to get each yoke connected again.  I miss flying her!
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,376
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #460 on: November 17, 2018, 09:13:36 AM »
Well the hard drive clone went very well. Installing Orbx, not so well! lol I am sure this is another self inflicted issue. If I tinker I can get it all working but the minute I say, buy a new airport and install it, the sim is broke again. If I go and try to move to another airport or try and load a different flight P3D crashes to the desktop. This is a scenery issue for sure. Well see if I can get a band aid on it today, with Trevor's help as in the next 2 months I am building a new computer and I will have to do a new build on all the sim software anyway. Oh, how much do I love this hobby???  :P

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,376
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #461 on: November 17, 2018, 09:15:19 AM »
Best of luck Bob,
 
But you know already that the new drive is never going to be big enough... :angel:  ;D

Orbx continues to model the world, now in even higher resolution. The latest UK scenery (TrueEarth GB South) is over 27GB and that's the compressed size before installation. As they expand the areas covered it's going to consume huge amounts of space. So probably not for most folk in this forum, who tend to fly the big tin.

 ;D

Yes Joe, I do know how ever big of a drive I bought, it would have never been big enough! But you will notice I did build a moving forward plan into this scenario!  :laugh:

Offline RayS

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 789
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #462 on: November 19, 2018, 01:01:27 AM »
Co-pilot yoke is installed and linked!

Left to do:
Wire in the center console
Wire in the overhead console
New side panels
Finish rear cab

....so close.
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline _alioth_

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Arturo
  • Home Location: Madrid
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #463 on: November 19, 2018, 10:37:38 AM »

Not today, but this weekend I have interfaced the 2.0 version of my ADI.
I have update the arduino mega to an Arduino Due, which is really fast!. And I have improved my scripts for comunication fsuipc <-> arduino  and some other updates in the code.
Very happy with the result. Smooth and reponsive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4hwjwpkHTU

And I am doing some code lines to simulate the startup sequence of a vacuum ADI. Arduino Due is fast, and I can use real vibration equations and link them with vacuum gyro speed. Testing it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xtPEWfXD97E

I LOVE Arduino Due!! bye bye mega.

Arturo Moreno.



Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 454
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #464 on: November 19, 2018, 06:14:09 PM »
OMG - reminds me of watching the gyro as a tennager and being so in love with aviation  :)

Great work!
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline RayS

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 789
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #465 on: November 27, 2018, 12:53:17 PM »
Tonight will mark a significant milestone wrt the new hangar space...

The last of the pit will be put together and the last of the internal wiring connected.

Next up: The task of connecting the sim to the server rack.

Flying next weekend? Fingers crossed!
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,376
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #466 on: November 27, 2018, 06:00:18 PM »
Took the sim for the last flight before the major upgrade to the main computer system. Great little flight. Took some pics of the "numbers" so I have a base to compare too. This weekend, build a new computer!  ??? Oh what fun!

Offline RayS

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 789
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #467 on: November 27, 2018, 06:32:38 PM »
I feel like I missed out on Cyber-Monday... All y'all bought newer faster shinier computer bits!
Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,667
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #468 on: November 27, 2018, 07:03:27 PM »
Yeah but we all gotta pay for them LOL
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,376
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #469 on: December 02, 2018, 01:27:51 AM »
The new computer is assembled and running. Have a little of the software installed. Much more to go. Will put the computer back "into" the sim tomorrow and start working on setting up the monitors for the main view. So much more to do before I can fly. I hope it was all worth it...We will see.....

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 454
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #470 on: December 02, 2018, 02:38:56 PM »
I'm installing P3D v4.4 on all three projection PCs this weekend. A test on the host visual did not show any change in frame rate so that is a good thing.
Will report any visual changes this week. I think I will have to wait until some scenery designers start using the new materials rendering capabilities before we see much.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline RayS

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 789
  • Private Pilot, Sim Enthusiast
    • Anthony Scott Photography
  • First Name: Ray Sotkiewicz
  • Home Location: Seattle, WA
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #471 on: December 04, 2018, 02:38:02 AM »
After 6 months of downtime, a move to a new facility and lots and lots of system upgrades, I'm finally at the point to conduct a full power-up systems check.

In all honesty, I've been ready for a few days but have been reluctant to power anything up. Things could go really well or they could go really expensive if any of that magic smoke got out.

In the words of Doris Day: "Que serĂ¡, serĂ¡". Whatever will be will be, right?

So I applied power to everything...... 

One by one, everything started to light up like a Christmas tree, indicating that the sim was undergoing power-up checks.

In a few minutes everything was successfully powered up.

After walking through various systems check, everything looked good there as well.

The only things that didn't work were the fuel gauges and the flaps gauge. I had forgotten a ground wire which is kind of funny. In high school I took a class in advanced electronics. Our final project was to acquire a tube radio, bring it to class, completely tear it down and rebuild it.

My radio was the only one that worked after the rebuild, but only after the teacher noted I had missed a ground wire.

Queue Doris Day. :-)





Ray Sotkiewicz

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 701
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #472 on: December 04, 2018, 03:46:15 AM »
Ray, I did something similar a few years ago when I was building a synthesiser. The instrument had a touch keyboard with over 300 diodes in a matrix,  which I soldered in the right way around. Then the very last components were a pair of large mains capacitors,  so naturally I managed to solder one of those the wrong way around. I didn't get a lot of magic smoke but the near explosion it caused when I switched it on frightened the life out of me.  ;)
Joe
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,300
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #473 on: December 05, 2018, 11:59:23 AM »
Today is the day...  I am upgrading to P3D4!  Just running a single 1920x1080 screen right now.

Installed P3D4 and ran a stock/default FSXMark07 Benchmark to get the starting numbers.  With my old GTX670 installed, my FPS were min 82 / max 137 / avg 113.

I decided to hold off upgrading the CPU/MB/RAM until I see what gains I get with just the GPU change.  I'm still running an i7-3770K @ 3.50Ghz.  That's P3D4 minimums.

Just installed my shiny, new RTX2070 and Nvidia Drivers v417.22.  No OC or adjustments.

Ran another Benchmark and FPS were min 82 / max 147 / avg 121.

So there you have it.  If anyone was curious as to what difference just a GPU upgrade makes!

Incidentally, I ran the Benchmark on my tweaked and stable FSX install with the 670 and this is what I had (keeping in mind that I have a ton of scenery installed, and the benchmark tool has a VC in it that I didn't have in P3D):  FPS were min 11 / max 31 / avg 17.

Now it is time to reinstall Orbx and Rex and Active Sky...  and airports etc.

This weekend I plan to redo my screen and hopefully get my GTX1080Darbees up and running!

Out of curiousity, I just slammed all the sliders to the right and reran the benchmark...  FPS are min 29 / max 53 / avg 41
« Last Edit: December 05, 2018, 01:10:10 PM by fsaviator »
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,667
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #474 on: December 05, 2018, 01:55:59 PM »
When you add the 3 screens and the full ORBX you will notice a drop down to 1/3 what you had with one monitor..  However..  The frames in 4.3 are very stable, if you have 30, they stay around 30, if you have 25 they stay around 25.
Food for thought..  One thing to mention is a clean install makes everything beautiful..  Just don't mess with the typical tweaks or NI changes..  Only adjust the Sliders in 4.3
Remember (Cloud draw distance, traffic, and LOD) are your biggest framerate killers followed closely by the AA Settings.
Good Luck!
Oh... And I almost forgot..  Unless your going to be flying underwater, leave the Bathymetry off LOL
« Last Edit: December 05, 2018, 01:59:47 PM by Trevor Hale »
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

777 Throttle *price reduced*
by mattking247
[Today at 08:59:01 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by RayS
[Today at 07:28:46 PM]
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
by ScottThePilot
[Today at 12:15:47 PM]
Recipe_for_a_cheap_joystick_encoder.pdf
by MattiasLind
[Today at 07:53:57 AM]
Triple channel splitter with professional edge blender $3750.00
by Lee737
[December 13, 2018, 09:41:31 PM]
Santa Flight (Saturday December 15th)
by Trevor Hale
[December 13, 2018, 07:43:04 AM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[December 12, 2018, 05:50:50 PM]
My A320-like cockpit
by MCrevot
[December 12, 2018, 09:41:11 AM]
U.S. holiday booked!
by Trevor Hale
[December 11, 2018, 10:35:15 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[December 11, 2018, 01:12:29 AM]
X-Plane 737-800 Build
by kenrosefire
[December 10, 2018, 08:55:16 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[December 10, 2018, 04:49:22 PM]
Yoke and Rudder Centering with Dynamic Load Control / Force Feedbacl
by bernard S
[December 08, 2018, 12:14:01 PM]
anyone that can help me out get imperial size bolts??
by Gallie
[December 08, 2018, 11:03:29 AM]
OpenCockpits I/O Cards
by al23
[December 08, 2018, 09:22:52 AM]
Level D B767 For FS9
by Goodenough
[December 06, 2018, 08:19:20 PM]
Thickness of a resl 737-800 Glareshield / MCP Light panel
by Joe Lavery
[December 06, 2018, 01:13:54 PM]
Anyone had any experience with JetMax post the FDS sale?
by nickj
[December 05, 2018, 10:13:20 PM]
KLGA curious !!
by jackpilot
[December 03, 2018, 02:55:38 PM]
Opencockpits boards for sale
by navymustang
[December 03, 2018, 12:57:34 PM]
Does something like this Exist? Projection Glass
by fsaviator
[December 02, 2018, 02:49:40 PM]
Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
by ScottThePilot
[December 02, 2018, 12:27:31 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[December 02, 2018, 06:20:38 AM]
TH2GO Digital vs 3-DV Ports on GPU
by fsaviator
[December 01, 2018, 12:49:54 PM]
Project Magenta with Xplane 11
by Trevor Hale
[November 29, 2018, 03:05:14 PM]
X-plane and SIOC help
by Trevor Hale
[November 29, 2018, 07:43:32 AM]
Prepar3d v4.4 coming to you in 2 days!!!
by Flying_Fox
[November 28, 2018, 10:16:49 AM]
More Throttle Quadrant nightmares.
by iwik
[November 27, 2018, 03:47:31 PM]
Attention All Members and Guests
by Trevor Hale
[November 27, 2018, 02:21:47 PM]
I am now asking for a new world of hurt!
by fsaviator
[November 26, 2018, 11:50:19 PM]