Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 43
  • *Total: 44

Our Discord

Author Topic: What have you done for your simulator today?  (Read 37745 times)

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,300
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #475 on: December 05, 2018, 04:10:04 PM »
Food for thought..  One thing to mention is a clean install makes everything beautiful..  Just don't mess with the typical tweaks or NI changes..  Only adjust the Sliders in 4.3
Remember (Cloud draw distance, traffic, and LOD) are your biggest framerate killers followed closely by the AA Settings.
Good Luck!
Oh... And I almost forgot..  Unless your going to be flying underwater, leave the Bathymetry off LOL

Thanks Trevor.  so what you're saying is don't worry about all the tweaks and Nvidia Inspector settings from FSX...  just use the p3d4 sliders?

Any recommendations on AI Traffic?  WOAI?

Warren
« Last Edit: December 05, 2018, 04:11:42 PM by fsaviator »
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,011
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #476 on: December 05, 2018, 05:48:47 PM »
WOAI used to be fantastic with FS9
Apparently some aircrafts do not work with P3D (Missing parts etc)
My sim is not hooked to the net, accordingly I'd like a good AI program working as a stand alone as WOAI did.

Also asking for recommandations
Jack


Jack

Online FredK

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 492
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #477 on: December 05, 2018, 06:32:10 PM »
Ultimate Traffic Live is the only AI option specifically compatible with P3Dv4.

It works OK but is missing cargo aircraft (FedEx and UPS etc.) which has been promised but does not appear to be anywhere near materializing.  There is a workaround to add cargo scheduling and third party P3Dv4 compatible cargo aircraft but it is really a bit cumbersome to do.

Fred K
« Last Edit: December 05, 2018, 06:34:21 PM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,664
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #478 on: December 06, 2018, 07:16:57 AM »
Food for thought..  One thing to mention is a clean install makes everything beautiful..  Just don't mess with the typical tweaks or NI changes..  Only adjust the Sliders in 4.3
Remember (Cloud draw distance, traffic, and LOD) are your biggest framerate killers followed closely by the AA Settings.
Good Luck!
Oh... And I almost forgot..  Unless your going to be flying underwater, leave the Bathymetry off LOL

Thanks Trevor.  so what you're saying is don't worry about all the tweaks and Nvidia Inspector settings from FSX...  just use the p3d4 sliders?

Any recommendations on AI Traffic?  WOAI?

Warren
That's Right...  Any changes in Nvidia Inspector based on my research (And Others) will work against you in Prepar3D V4.X However test as you may, but make a backup of your configs before you do.
As Fred Said...  LM Explicitly states not to port P3DV3.0/V2.X/V1.x/FSX Addons into V4.X or you can expect some very bad things...  Not only should the developers Addons meet the SDK Requirements put forth by LM, you must ensure the product is recompiled for V4.X
Some developers just repackage the software to point to the new V4.0 Directory.  This will cause you Pain and suffering down the road.
Trev

Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 484
  • P3D/Win7-64/FDS/3 x Optoma GT1080Darbee
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #479 on: December 06, 2018, 12:09:50 PM »
Made my own airline livery  :idiot:


Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,011
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #480 on: December 06, 2018, 02:08:48 PM »
Love the tail logo !
Nice slonick.. :D


Jack

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,779
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #481 on: December 08, 2018, 12:44:24 AM »
Hey Everyone,

Thank you for keeping this thread alive! Even though I mentioned this before, it really helps me a great deal each and every day. Much like the Cockpit Builders website does for me every time I check it, this one thread just keeps me going with my project, so please keep posting...

Speaking of my project, or what I’ve done for my simulator today? Well, not really anything, but I’ve started looking into a new computer build, since mine is still a I7 2600K. After reading some of your guys postings on the subject, I might go for a new 4 PC setup; although, it might not be until 2019.

Still, the biggest question is, what is the best 4 PC setup to use? Or, what are you using now for a 4 PC setup, assuming you have one. If so, what is your opinion of the setup, as well as are you looking to replace your current setup for an entirely new 4 PC setup?

Last question; what is largest known multi PC setup known and being used now? What would a 6 PC setup be like, with one for each monitor (or projector) and one for the server? I’m just wondering what the PC specs need too be in this scenario?

John  :idiot:
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Online FredK

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 492
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #482 on: December 08, 2018, 10:19:18 AM »
Quote
Hey Everyone,

Thank you for keeping this thread alive! Even though I mentioned this before, it really helps me a great deal each and every day. Much like the Cockpit Builders website does for me every time I check it, this one thread just keeps me going with my project, so please keep posting...

Speaking of my project, or what I’ve done for my simulator today? Well, not really anything, but I’ve started looking into a new computer build, since mine is still a I7 2600K. After reading some of your guys postings on the subject, I might go for a new 4 PC setup; although, it might not be until 2019.

Still, the biggest question is, what is the best 4 PC setup to use? Or, what are you using now for a 4 PC setup, assuming you have one. If so, what is your opinion of the setup, as well as are you looking to replace your current setup for an entirely new 4 PC setup?

Last question; what is largest known multi PC setup known and being used now? What would a 6 PC setup be like, with one for each monitor (or projector) and one for the server? I’m just wondering what the PC specs need too be in this scenario?

Hi John

I am currently running a 6 computer setup using WideView for my multi-channel P3D displays:

P3D WV Server (I7-7700K / GTX 980)*
P3D WV Client / Left Visual (I7-8700K / GTX 1080Ti)
P3D WV Client / Center Visual (I7-8700K / GTX 1080Ti)
P3D WV Client / Right Visual (I7-8700K / GTX 1080Ti)
SimA Server (I7-4790K / GTX 1080)
SimA Client (I7-4790K/ (2)GTX 980s)

*Not used for a visual display

I am using Optoma GT1080 Darbees for projection.

This beast is running very well right now.  I really do not think you will get better P3D display performance doing it any other way.

Obviously there is a cost factor for all the hardware, but that is not as bad as it may seem once you have made the initial investment.  For example, I typically upgrade my P3D Client display computers every 3 years, "handing down" the older computers for SimA etc. which requires less performance power.  So the ongoing investment averages one new "high end" computer per year.  Considering all else I have invested in my cockpit this really is not the outrageous part.

That said, it is a beast to setup since you have to build 4 separate P3D computers.  It is all the add-on sceneries that kills you (I have over 60 airport upgrades).  Needless to say I have it all backup cloned if there is a disaster, and thankfully there have been minimal issues in the past recent years on that front.

It all boots up mostly automatically except setting up weather etc.  I am up and running with a "cold and dark" cockpit in about 6-7 minutes from the time I press the "ON" buttons on the computers.

Oh...and one other thing....all that hardware generates a lot of heat.  So that is something to consider if you are operating in a confined space.  I have a modular cooling unit to deal with that.  The interesting thing is that the heat issue is less of an issue now than it was back in the Pentium chip days.  The micro electronics  architecture has steadily become more heat efficient even though performance power has increased significantly.

Fred K





« Last Edit: December 08, 2018, 10:27:24 AM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline bernard S

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 461
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #483 on: December 08, 2018, 12:08:23 PM »
briefing area  floor yet to done and little ad hoc stuff

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,105
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #484 on: December 09, 2018, 07:43:43 AM »
Cleaned the simroom floor!

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 484
  • P3D/Win7-64/FDS/3 x Optoma GT1080Darbee
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #485 on: December 10, 2018, 01:50:56 PM »
Christmas present for myself: just installed Zotac 1080Ti AMP! edition instead of MSI 980Ti. 
 :2cw:

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,664
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #486 on: December 10, 2018, 02:59:53 PM »
What are you going to do with your 980 Nic?  Maybe my 970 could get an upgrade LOL
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 484
  • P3D/Win7-64/FDS/3 x Optoma GT1080Darbee
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #487 on: December 10, 2018, 03:48:07 PM »
What are you going to do with your 980 Nic?  Maybe my 970 could get an upgrade LOL

Well, I am thinking of upgrading my sim PC later next year, then 980ti could go back in "old" PC and 1080ti to the new...


Offline _alioth_

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Arturo
  • Home Location: Madrid
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #488 on: December 10, 2018, 04:58:41 PM »
This weekend I have made the hardware and electronics of the Stec-30 autopilot V2.0 (the release candidate 🙃) for my A2A comanche home cockpit. The main switch has a buzzer (for "beep" "beep" changing mode). The push buttons will be in the yoke (AP desconnect and ALT hold). Now de led indicators are all dimmable, to fly night or day.
It was very dificult to find a potentiometer with a push button for mode change (I only find two in the world, I bought them, and the feeling was really bad). So I have made one that works perfect! with a pot and a push button, with the help of my dear 3d printer.








Now I have to fix some programming, but it will work more or less the same like v1.0 version. Here is a vid of it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?

I will post a video with this second version showing all the functions.

Arturo.



« Last Edit: December 10, 2018, 05:04:30 PM by _alioth_ »

Offline iwik

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 343
  • GA Jockey
  • First Name: Les
  • Home Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #489 on: December 10, 2018, 06:24:28 PM »
Arturo,
A very nice job. Do you do the housing and guts all yourself because it really looks like an
OEM one.
Les

Offline _alioth_

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Arturo
  • Home Location: Madrid
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #490 on: December 10, 2018, 07:37:15 PM »
Arturo,
A very nice job. Do you do the housing and guts all yourself because it really looks like an
OEM one.
Les

Thanks.
The original gauge is a turn coordinator from an old AST300 simulator. It was only a turn coordinator instrument, that was made with a real turn coordinator gauge replacing the ball system with a big galvanometer. The turn rate and ball are galvanometers, which I already interfaced with prepar3d.
So, I drilled the plate and put the led indicators,  made the new text in the upper side, electronics, arduino, etc,.  to emulate a real Stec30, like this one:



It is not perfect, but I am quite happy with the result. I should try to find a better knob..
My whole cockpit is being made with real gauges with some mods.

Arturo.




 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

U.S. holiday booked!
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 10:35:15 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[Today at 01:12:29 AM]
X-Plane 737-800 Build
by kenrosefire
[December 10, 2018, 08:55:16 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by _alioth_
[December 10, 2018, 07:37:15 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[December 10, 2018, 04:49:22 PM]
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
by ScottThePilot
[December 10, 2018, 02:53:47 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[December 09, 2018, 05:18:02 PM]
Yoke and Rudder Centering with Dynamic Load Control / Force Feedbacl
by bernard S
[December 08, 2018, 12:14:01 PM]
anyone that can help me out get imperial size bolts??
by Gallie
[December 08, 2018, 11:03:29 AM]
OpenCockpits I/O Cards
by al23
[December 08, 2018, 09:22:52 AM]
Level D B767 For FS9
by Goodenough
[December 06, 2018, 08:19:20 PM]
Thickness of a resl 737-800 Glareshield / MCP Light panel
by Joe Lavery
[December 06, 2018, 01:13:54 PM]
Anyone had any experience with JetMax post the FDS sale?
by nickj
[December 05, 2018, 10:13:20 PM]
777 Throttle *price reduced*
by mattking247
[December 04, 2018, 11:05:04 PM]
KLGA curious !!
by jackpilot
[December 03, 2018, 02:55:38 PM]
Opencockpits boards for sale
by navymustang
[December 03, 2018, 12:57:34 PM]
Does something like this Exist? Projection Glass
by fsaviator
[December 02, 2018, 02:49:40 PM]
Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
by ScottThePilot
[December 02, 2018, 12:27:31 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[December 02, 2018, 06:20:38 AM]
TH2GO Digital vs 3-DV Ports on GPU
by fsaviator
[December 01, 2018, 12:49:54 PM]
Project Magenta with Xplane 11
by Trevor Hale
[November 29, 2018, 03:05:14 PM]
X-plane and SIOC help
by Trevor Hale
[November 29, 2018, 07:43:32 AM]
Prepar3d v4.4 coming to you in 2 days!!!
by Flying_Fox
[November 28, 2018, 10:16:49 AM]
More Throttle Quadrant nightmares.
by iwik
[November 27, 2018, 03:47:31 PM]
Attention All Members and Guests
by Trevor Hale
[November 27, 2018, 02:21:47 PM]
I am now asking for a new world of hurt!
by fsaviator
[November 26, 2018, 11:50:19 PM]
Hello and advice about my 737 sim
by nic
[November 26, 2018, 05:42:07 AM]
B737 Rudder Pedal Adjustment Crank Units
by Reensel
[November 25, 2018, 02:53:25 PM]
For sale! B737 home cockpit - mostly OEM parts!
by Ethanoost
[November 25, 2018, 05:33:48 AM]
The Progression of a build [Phase One]
by Joe Lavery
[November 25, 2018, 03:58:12 AM]