Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 2
  • *Total: 3

Our Discord

Author Topic: What have you done for your simulator today?  (Read 52063 times)

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,341
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #575 on: March 03, 2019, 12:42:55 PM »
John, it a Brightek E19 thermal printer.  They're available in a number of places.  I bought mine years ago on alibaba.  They accept 10mm thick rolls of 80mm wide thermal paper.   I modified mine to accept any size roll by cutting a slot in the bottom of the paper tray feeding the paper through.  That allows me to use larger cash register receipt rolls that are widely available.  I used a wire hanger to suspend the paper.

It is interfaced through USB and uses a virtual USB printer port in all versions of Windows.

Power is two-wire 5V or 12V depending on the model you buy.  One note...  witht he 12V one i have it needs at least 2.8A to work reliably.

I'm using ProsimUtils to interface it in Prosim737 v2.  It functions as a regular printer though so you can use anything.



Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk

Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,341
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #576 on: March 03, 2019, 05:16:05 PM »
Today I nuked my piece of crap Windows 10 instructor station.  Apparently there was an update last night that blew out all my workarounds for networking to my Windows 7 sim systems.

I've fragged all the partitions, recoveries, the works and I'm installing the last copy of Windows 7 that I have.  Only time will tell if I can register it or not.  It's copy three of a three-license pack I had and used to be installed on an old PC I junked.

I'm so sick and tired of the Windows 10 networking bullshit.

Yes, I'm annoyed that everything was fine yesterday and today when I was going to spend the day flying nothing worked in regards to my instructor station/dispatch/etc, despite all the hacks to disable auto updating in Windows 10.


GRRRRRRR
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline bernard S

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 516
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #577 on: March 03, 2019, 06:37:57 PM »
get windows server 2016...  problem resolved 😁

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,341
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #578 on: March 03, 2019, 06:49:56 PM »
get windows server 2016...  problem resolved 😁

tell me more....  I'll run Win7 until the 2020 drop dead date but that might be an option at that point
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline Joe Lavery

  • I spend way too much on this forum!
  • *
  • Posts: 736
  • 737 Builder
  • First Name: Joseph
  • Home Location: Newport, UK
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #579 on: March 04, 2019, 04:36:45 AM »
Although Microsoft has announced the end of life for Windows 7, it simply means that they will no longer support it with updates.
Personally I have updates switched off anyway.

However Windows 7 will not stop working after January 2020

Joe
'Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!'

www.pcpilot.net


Offline _alioth_

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Arturo
  • Home Location: Madrid
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #580 on: March 04, 2019, 05:53:02 AM »


Drawing my dilemma, with the Piper Comanche home cockpit:
Option A or Option B?



I have all the gauges working with option A, engine monitor.
With all the functions the Vm1000c engine monitor has.




But in the last months I got all the hardware needed to build all the engine gauges analog.
I would spend more time, because option A is done, but time factor is not important. I have no date to finish it.

Need to take a decision to order the laser cut panel.
What would you prefer?  :huh:

Arturo.




Offline XOrionFE

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,697
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Chicago, IL
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #581 on: March 04, 2019, 08:54:20 AM »


Drawing my dilemma, with the Piper Comanche home cockpit:
Option A or Option B?



I have all the gauges working with option A, engine monitor.
With all the functions the Vm1000c engine monitor has.




But in the last months I got all the hardware needed to build all the engine gauges analog.
I would spend more time, because option A is done, but time factor is not important. I have no date to finish it.

Need to take a decision to order the laser cut panel.
What would you prefer?  :huh:

Arturo.

Very cool Arturo

My .02 would be to go analog all the way!

Scott

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,065
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #582 on: March 04, 2019, 12:51:25 PM »
Ditto....


Jack

Offline KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 427
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #583 on: March 04, 2019, 02:25:40 PM »
It's your sim, you need to decide what you would like to look at.

As far as what I would prefer, in the real aircraft I'd take the digital one hands down.
In the sim, you've got a modern GPS so the digital one doesn't exactly look out of place there. Also the reset of your gauges have a modern look so I think your existing version, option A is the way to go.
 

Offline fsaviator

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,341
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Boeing 737 Next Generation Simulator
  • First Name: Warren
  • Home Location: Riverview, Florida
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #584 on: March 10, 2019, 06:36:22 PM »
A good day today!  I got a full, almost error-free, flight from KATL to KDEN, online!  I even got to use a lot of the features of ProsimUtils, vPilot, and GSX.

I did have an issue on climb-out from Atlanta...  the gear wouldn't cycle up!  Not sure why.  I  turned back towards the airport to come back and land, but as I was doing the landing checks, and cycled the gear again, it went up...  strange.  Anyway, headed back towards Denver but burned some reserve fuel in the process.  Almost comfortable enough to start looking at pilotedge.

Anyone know how to integrate Teamspeak into ProsimUtils?

Warren
Warren "MTN385"
Florida

http://www.B737NG-SIM.com and https://www.facebook.com/fsaviator on facebook
FSX, Prosim737 Suite, FDS DSTD 2.0 MIP, RevSim Proline TQ, ACE Dual-linked Yokes, Intel 3.5GHz i7-3770K, MSI Z77A-G45, 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400, Galaxy GTX670 GC 4GB, OCZ 60GB Vertex 3

Offline _alioth_

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Arturo
  • Home Location: Madrid
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #585 on: March 17, 2019, 05:56:13 PM »
Today I recorded a full flight  LESB-LEMH with the cockpit in its current state.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WrzA05-N0Sw

The first flight I record. I am not good recording, editing, or flying :D   But, ok, I wanted to show the cockpit in a full flight.

Arturo.

Offline blueskydriver

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,835
  • FSX/FS9 PM, PMDG737-700, FDSMIP/Overhead.etc
  • First Name: John
  • Home Location: WI
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #586 on: March 17, 2019, 06:31:37 PM »
Hey Arturo,

AWESOME! Good to see you really getting things going with your build. Don't worry about looking extremely professional, as it's more important to just get started. Like other builders' simulators, things will get better as you go along, like real flying it's all about practice, practice, practice...

For other new members just starting out, Arturo shows you how to begin by just putting things together and learning for now, then worrying about perfecting the aesthetics later.  :idiot:

John
| FSX | FDS-MIP OVRHD SYS CARDS FC1| PM | PMDG 737-700 | UTX | GEX | UT7 | ASE | REX2 | AES | TSR | IS | TOPCAT | AvilaSoft EFB | OC CARDS & OVRHD GAUGES| SIMKITS | SW 3D Lights | FS2CREW2010 | FSXPassengers | Flight1 AE | MATROX TH2GO-D | NTHUSIM | 3-Mits EW230Ust Proj |

Offline 757Simulator

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Fantasy of Flight
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: CVG
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #587 on: March 18, 2019, 04:18:41 AM »

Offline 757Simulator

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Aviation Enthusiast
    • Fantasy of Flight
  • First Name: Mike
  • Home Location: CVG
Re: What have you done for your simulator today?
« Reply #588 on: March 18, 2019, 04:20:49 AM »
Hey Arturo,

AWESOME! Good to see you really getting things going with your build. Don't worry about looking extremely professional, as it's more important to just get started. Like other builders' simulators, things will get better as you go along, like real flying it's all about practice, practice, practice...

For other new members just starting out, Arturo shows you how to begin by just putting things together and learning for now, then worrying about perfecting the aesthetics later.  :idiot:

John


GREAT VIDEO!. Thanks for sharing.

Mike

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Assortment of Phidgets Cards for Sale
by kenrosefire
[Today at 01:07:08 AM]
SLAVX Model 4 Panel For Sale
by kenrosefire
[Today at 12:50:30 AM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[March 23, 2019, 11:12:30 AM]
Complete 737-800 cockpit - moving sale
by Trevor Hale
[March 23, 2019, 11:10:21 AM]
Screen coming together
by jackpilot
[March 23, 2019, 10:11:50 AM]
Wanted: 737 CDU
by Fabian
[March 22, 2019, 07:07:59 PM]
Flight Scoring Platforms....
by bernard S
[March 22, 2019, 05:55:18 PM]
SALE! Airbus A320 trainer, located near Gatwick UK
by nic
[March 21, 2019, 09:35:58 PM]
Help with wiring up FDS map light
by Skysurfer170
[March 21, 2019, 02:36:03 PM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by blueskydriver
[March 21, 2019, 07:42:41 AM]
Great US switch supplier
by Bob Reed
[March 20, 2019, 09:21:11 PM]
Great video on a Caravelle project
by Lomaric
[March 20, 2019, 06:10:00 PM]
Holy Grail ?
by bernard S
[March 20, 2019, 06:05:06 PM]
737 MAX
by FredK
[March 19, 2019, 11:07:27 PM]
Sim Speaker System in a small package...
by sagrada737
[March 19, 2019, 01:32:30 PM]
Prosim and RSP TQ interfacing
by jfuenmayor
[March 18, 2019, 02:04:20 PM]
OEM 737 classic liners for sale
by Gallie
[March 18, 2019, 09:54:39 AM]
B737-200 throttle quadrant for sale
by Gallie
[March 18, 2019, 08:56:25 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by 757Simulator
[March 18, 2019, 04:20:49 AM]
JetMax TQ for Sale...
by sagrada737
[March 16, 2019, 02:57:19 PM]
Revolution Simproducts V2.0 Plug & Play Throttle help
by jfuenmayor
[March 14, 2019, 10:13:05 PM]
Attention All Members and Guests
by Trevor Hale
[March 13, 2019, 06:25:07 PM]
Creality CR-10S 3d printer.
by sagrada737
[March 12, 2019, 07:57:11 PM]
CPFlight EFIS737Pro2
by Lomaric
[March 11, 2019, 05:18:20 PM]
Homebuilt seats and a question
by Trevor Hale
[March 11, 2019, 01:32:17 PM]
777 Throttle - sold
by mattking247
[March 10, 2019, 07:13:29 PM]
General Aiation FLIGHT GEAR, For sale
by fairchild
[March 10, 2019, 05:17:41 PM]
I HAD an idea for an inexpensive B737 cockpit - Not so inexpensive now!
by bernard S
[March 10, 2019, 01:03:02 PM]
B737 Heads Up Guidance Systems (HUD)
by navymustang
[March 10, 2019, 12:48:09 PM]
JetMax components for sale - ALL SOLD
by 737SimGuy
[March 08, 2019, 02:41:41 PM]