Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 62
  • *Total: 63

Our Discord

Author Topic: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?  (Read 1194 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« on: October 14, 2018, 07:52:08 PM »
I have had Active Sky 16 for some time but have not ventured to the networking side to the Sim Cockpit.

After reading the manual on networking I am a little confused as to whether it is possible to run it on my setup, which is a server running P3d V4  (with minimum view) and 3 computers running the 3 Views only via 3 projectors, as I think some of you are running similar setups.

Can anyone tell me if they have tried to run AS16 on this type of setup, as the way they describe in the manual how to do this, seems only to apply to one server and one client.

Many thanks......................Brian W.

Offline jmlohrenz

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 101
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Jason
  • Home Location: MN, USA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2018, 10:31:48 PM »
The quick answer is no.  AS will work in a networked setup for one computer.  IE running AS16 on computer 1, and your simulator on Computer 2.  Computer 1 runs the application and sends all the weather data to Computer 2.  They do not have any setup currently where it would work with multiple 'client' computers.

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2018, 02:01:26 AM »
Thank you very much for the reply.

I had that suspicion that it would not do a multi screen, so that sort of fixes that idea of using AS16 !!

As  far as I am aware, that is the only program compatible with Jeehells software for the Airbus Radar.

Ok again many thanks......................Brian W.

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 531
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2018, 09:24:55 AM »
Hi Brian

I can confirm that conclusion is true.

But.....It is possible to run AS on your server,  and then run FSGRW separately for your clients only using one of the clients as the FSGRW server.

I have investigated that arrangement, and it works fine.  The downside of course is that it is one more program that you have to run. 

It is the exact same general weather information that the two programs are drawing from the local weather stations.  However if you are interested in synching specific cloud formations in your visual display with the weather scan on your ND (for example, using AS with SimA) that will not work since it is subject to each weather program's individual visual depiction of the general weather scheme.

Fred K
« Last Edit: October 22, 2018, 09:25:26 AM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2018, 07:46:10 PM »
Thanks Fred. It all gets complicated the more one adds to the sim and of course the more errors we can get.

I have gotten  to that stage of trying to keep it as simple as possible, without having to pull one of the computers out and work on it for a week to get things back to square one !!

So I think I will rely on using the weather settings in WideView for the time being.

Cheers.............Brian W.

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2018, 12:59:36 AM »
Fred. I just set FSReal Wx Pro up on my home computer and have to say it looks exceptional on it, and simple !!

I also noted that you were running it on your sim. Just wondering how you set it up on the server/clients etc. and are you using WideView ?

Regards....Brian W.

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 531
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2018, 08:31:25 AM »
Hi Brian

I am using FS Global Real Weather (which is different from FSReal Weather Wx Pro).

FSGRW can be networked.  It is an advantage using it with WideView since weather is transferred to the clients independent of WideView via a separate "network bridge".  Thus WV operates much more smoothly since it has less data traffic to be concerned with. 

FSGRW is really a must for WideView users. I encourage you to try it.  It is not an expensive program.  Just follow the directions within the program for a network setup....easy enough to do.

Fred
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 520
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2018, 03:10:43 PM »
I am always so curious to the resulting quality of weather when layering in all these support programs, versus just using P3D weather.

Is it really worth it?  I fly with just P3D weather as built through the Prosim 737 IOS.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2018, 03:38:22 PM »
Thanks Fred...........I did not realise that there was another similar program with a similar name.

Nice to have a first hand report from someone with similar setups, so we know it works ok.

Will give it a try.

..........Brian W.

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 531
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2018, 07:07:19 PM »
Hi Jim

The payware weather programs do provide extra detail concerning the types of weather formations, winds aloft, and turbulence, etc.   Some of these (but not all) will also replace the appearance textures etc....FSGRW does not.

Is it worth it you say?  As with many aspects of this hobby that is in the eye of the beholder.  What may ring one person's bell will not tinkle another's.  So only you can answer that question for yourself.  There obviously is a sizable market for them though, so there is some bell ringing going on for sure.

Independent of that FSGRW does provide a value for WideView multi-channel users since it is the only program that can be networked independent of P3D that also syncs cloud depictions across the multi-channel views perfectly.  There is a substantial performance boost doing it that way.  That is the reason that I use it.

Fred K
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 520
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2018, 09:26:47 PM »
Fred, thanks for the response. Yes, I get great synch between PCs for weather just using P3D. And I guess since I am more training focused where visibility and basic cloud formations is perfectly acceptable, I'm just fine. You are so right, it is in the eye of the beholder.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

How much room between center pedestal and seat?
by helloo
[Today at 10:41:07 PM]
Flooring Installed!
by jackpilot
[Today at 08:17:12 PM]
2020 Microsoft Flight Simulator - new at E3 2019
by blueskydriver
[Today at 02:29:16 PM]
How to install DZUS fasteners?
by Buster99
[June 22, 2019, 04:12:34 PM]
Desert Air Spares - Trustworthy?
by kattz
[June 22, 2019, 12:40:51 PM]
Wanted - 737 Audio Panels - OEM
by jackpilot
[June 20, 2019, 12:26:51 PM]
Throttletek 737 Throttle For Sale
by kevinsayre
[June 19, 2019, 03:57:33 PM]
For sale - rudder pedals and linkages - pending to Craig
by Caflyt
[June 19, 2019, 07:49:14 AM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[June 18, 2019, 11:26:12 AM]
737 Throttle Conversion OC + ProSim
by kattz
[June 16, 2019, 11:39:03 AM]
A friendly FYI on Boeing rudder pedals
by kattz
[June 15, 2019, 10:36:39 AM]
737 starter switch mechanism
by paulnd
[June 13, 2019, 02:58:39 PM]
Make up your mind, Microsoft!
by jmlohrenz
[June 12, 2019, 07:25:10 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by C150DIY
[June 12, 2019, 12:53:27 PM]
Complete 737-800 cockpit - moving sale
by FaustoP
[June 12, 2019, 01:26:39 AM]
Flyengravity desktop MIP
by patiju
[June 10, 2019, 01:01:06 PM]
the perfect thing to complete your sim hanger
by fsaviator
[June 09, 2019, 03:12:50 PM]
Wanted - COMPLETE set of Boeing 727 or 737 rudder pedals
by kattz
[June 08, 2019, 01:26:09 PM]
Visual system screen by Northern Flight Sim for sale $500
by peterkwu
[June 08, 2019, 06:07:39 AM]
Wanted: GoFlight T8
by C150DIY
[June 07, 2019, 02:32:29 PM]
For Sale - CPFlight MCP737 + EFIS
by ZillaUK
[June 07, 2019, 09:54:58 AM]
737 FWD Overhead Switch Diagram
by bernard S
[June 07, 2019, 08:21:46 AM]
Change the Forum Theme to suit your own Needs.
by AdamMilstead
[June 07, 2019, 06:20:41 AM]
Aileron & Elevator jump back to center
by iwik
[June 06, 2019, 08:01:24 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[June 05, 2019, 05:17:13 PM]
Machinery for home cockpit building
by giaviv
[June 04, 2019, 04:12:10 PM]
PROMOCION STEERING FREE
by alvaro castillo
[June 04, 2019, 11:42:43 AM]
FLIGHTSIMEXPO LAUNCHES DISCOUNTED ADVANCE REGISTRATION FOR ORLANDO 2019 EVENT
by fsaviator
[June 03, 2019, 06:52:44 PM]
Question about linking the yokes
by jackpilot
[June 01, 2019, 02:22:10 PM]
Wanted: Jetmax 737
by nisx
[May 30, 2019, 01:49:24 AM]