Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 60
  • *Total: 60

Our Discord

Author Topic: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?  (Read 1362 times)

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« on: October 14, 2018, 07:52:08 PM »
I have had Active Sky 16 for some time but have not ventured to the networking side to the Sim Cockpit.

After reading the manual on networking I am a little confused as to whether it is possible to run it on my setup, which is a server running P3d V4  (with minimum view) and 3 computers running the 3 Views only via 3 projectors, as I think some of you are running similar setups.

Can anyone tell me if they have tried to run AS16 on this type of setup, as the way they describe in the manual how to do this, seems only to apply to one server and one client.

Many thanks......................Brian W.

Offline jmlohrenz

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 102
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Jason
  • Home Location: MN, USA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2018, 10:31:48 PM »
The quick answer is no.  AS will work in a networked setup for one computer.  IE running AS16 on computer 1, and your simulator on Computer 2.  Computer 1 runs the application and sends all the weather data to Computer 2.  They do not have any setup currently where it would work with multiple 'client' computers.

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2018, 02:01:26 AM »
Thank you very much for the reply.

I had that suspicion that it would not do a multi screen, so that sort of fixes that idea of using AS16 !!

As  far as I am aware, that is the only program compatible with Jeehells software for the Airbus Radar.

Ok again many thanks......................Brian W.

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 536
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2018, 09:24:55 AM »
Hi Brian

I can confirm that conclusion is true.

But.....It is possible to run AS on your server,  and then run FSGRW separately for your clients only using one of the clients as the FSGRW server.

I have investigated that arrangement, and it works fine.  The downside of course is that it is one more program that you have to run. 

It is the exact same general weather information that the two programs are drawing from the local weather stations.  However if you are interested in synching specific cloud formations in your visual display with the weather scan on your ND (for example, using AS with SimA) that will not work since it is subject to each weather program's individual visual depiction of the general weather scheme.

Fred K
« Last Edit: October 22, 2018, 09:25:26 AM by FredK »
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2018, 07:46:10 PM »
Thanks Fred. It all gets complicated the more one adds to the sim and of course the more errors we can get.

I have gotten  to that stage of trying to keep it as simple as possible, without having to pull one of the computers out and work on it for a week to get things back to square one !!

So I think I will rely on using the weather settings in WideView for the time being.

Cheers.............Brian W.

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2018, 12:59:36 AM »
Fred. I just set FSReal Wx Pro up on my home computer and have to say it looks exceptional on it, and simple !!

I also noted that you were running it on your sim. Just wondering how you set it up on the server/clients etc. and are you using WideView ?

Regards....Brian W.

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 536
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2018, 08:31:25 AM »
Hi Brian

I am using FS Global Real Weather (which is different from FSReal Weather Wx Pro).

FSGRW can be networked.  It is an advantage using it with WideView since weather is transferred to the clients independent of WideView via a separate "network bridge".  Thus WV operates much more smoothly since it has less data traffic to be concerned with. 

FSGRW is really a must for WideView users. I encourage you to try it.  It is not an expensive program.  Just follow the directions within the program for a network setup....easy enough to do.

Fred
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 524
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2018, 03:10:43 PM »
I am always so curious to the resulting quality of weather when layering in all these support programs, versus just using P3D weather.

Is it really worth it?  I fly with just P3D weather as built through the Prosim 737 IOS.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline brianwilliamson

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Junior Builder
  • First Name: Brian Williamson
  • Home Location: GOLD COAST --AUSTRALIA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2018, 03:38:22 PM »
Thanks Fred...........I did not realise that there was another similar program with a similar name.

Nice to have a first hand report from someone with similar setups, so we know it works ok.

Will give it a try.

..........Brian W.

Offline FredK

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 536
  • 737NG Cockpit Builder
  • First Name: Fred Kurasiewicz
  • Home Location: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2018, 07:07:19 PM »
Hi Jim

The payware weather programs do provide extra detail concerning the types of weather formations, winds aloft, and turbulence, etc.   Some of these (but not all) will also replace the appearance textures etc....FSGRW does not.

Is it worth it you say?  As with many aspects of this hobby that is in the eye of the beholder.  What may ring one person's bell will not tinkle another's.  So only you can answer that question for yourself.  There obviously is a sizable market for them though, so there is some bell ringing going on for sure.

Independent of that FSGRW does provide a value for WideView multi-channel users since it is the only program that can be networked independent of P3D that also syncs cloud depictions across the multi-channel views perfectly.  There is a substantial performance boost doing it that way.  That is the reason that I use it.

Fred K
Boeing 737NG-800, Prepar3D v4.3, Sim-Avionics, WideView multi-channel (curved screen), Optoma 1080GTDarbee projectors (3), Fly Elise warping, FSGRW weather, FDS OH panels and CDUs, SimParts MIP, FDS SysBoards (OH), CPFlight MCPPro and pedestal panels, FI Gauges, PFC controls, converted motorized TQ (SIOC), Weber seats

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 524
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: Active Sky 16 Networked to P3D V4 ?
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2018, 09:26:47 PM »
Fred, thanks for the response. Yes, I get great synch between PCs for weather just using P3D. And I guess since I am more training focused where visibility and basic cloud formations is perfectly acceptable, I'm just fine. You are so right, it is in the eye of the beholder.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

Official WF 2019 Route
by dougsnow
[Today at 07:49:35 PM]
737-800 Front window post size
by kurt-olsson
[Today at 01:19:13 PM]
Worldflight 2019 Open for Business
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 08:28:13 AM]
More ?'s - annunciators?
by kattz
[Today at 05:44:21 AM]
Hi everyone!
by fsaviator
[August 20, 2019, 01:29:02 PM]
Looking for annunciators
by kattz
[August 19, 2019, 10:36:39 PM]
OK, So here we go!
by Caflyt
[August 19, 2019, 02:32:28 PM]
Flight Illusion Boeing Press Gauge for sale
by XOrionFE
[August 19, 2019, 08:40:35 AM]
Shell placement and yoke placement questions
by helloo
[August 18, 2019, 02:37:26 PM]
panel sismo oh
by gufau
[August 17, 2019, 04:17:00 AM]
My next sim?
by fsaviator
[August 16, 2019, 06:54:51 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by blueskydriver
[August 14, 2019, 10:35:26 AM]
Shipping Woes
by Ed
[August 13, 2019, 11:55:37 AM]
Looking for gear lever from 747-400, 757
by navymustang
[August 13, 2019, 10:05:44 AM]
Quick way to attach low res/smaller file size pics in your posts...
by Vincent T.
[August 12, 2019, 09:58:46 PM]
Cant post attachments from my iphone
by Trevor Hale
[August 12, 2019, 09:26:08 AM]
For Sale: Engravity 737 Window Frames
by Caflyt
[August 11, 2019, 05:02:28 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[August 10, 2019, 01:43:57 PM]
Help identifying a connector
by kurt-olsson
[August 10, 2019, 10:59:31 AM]
items/oem from overhead
by gufau
[August 09, 2019, 12:06:59 PM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[August 08, 2019, 09:40:02 PM]
Flightdeck Solutions Works with X-Plane11
by Michael_B737_ATP
[August 07, 2019, 02:59:21 PM]
Boeing Dual Linked Yokes for sale
by tennyson
[August 07, 2019, 07:34:58 AM]
CPFLight Backlighting
by mickc
[August 05, 2019, 10:09:53 PM]
Three Projector 210 degree with P3D4
by Nat Crea
[August 03, 2019, 08:36:50 PM]
Looking for part numbers from the 737 NG IPC
by mickc
[August 02, 2019, 11:20:49 PM]
WF2019
by Sam Llorca
[August 02, 2019, 09:22:56 PM]
Teensy LC Fuel Panel A (top)
by bernard S
[August 02, 2019, 06:09:00 PM]
737 overhead
by nigel27
[July 28, 2019, 11:50:47 PM]