Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 48
  • *Total: 48

Our Discord

Author Topic: Installing P3D on D: drive  (Read 264 times)

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 478
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Installing P3D on D: drive
« on: November 05, 2018, 06:53:14 PM »
I'm helping my brother install P3D on his laptop. Because the C: drive is so small.
I used the install option for putting it on D:

License activation went well and the splash screen starts, then it hangs forever with zero % CPU utilization. Has to be manually stopped via task manager.

Any ideas?
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Flying_Fox

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 485
  • P3D/Win7-64/FDS/3 x Optoma GT1080Darbee
    • My build blog
  • First Name: Nick
  • Home Location: Halifax, Canada
Re: Installing P3D on D: drive
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2018, 08:31:20 PM »
How much space on C: drive?

Offline n4208t

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Steve
  • Home Location: Eagan, MN
Re: Installing P3D on D: drive
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2018, 10:37:55 AM »
I run all my sims on my d: drive and have no problems whatsoever so the fact that it is on that physical drive is not an issue.  You just need to make sure that all the relevant folders and programs point to the correct drive.  Windows will still default to the standard place for the P3D folders and files with the config files, flight plans, etc. on the C: drive but, again, as long as the computer knows the program is on the D:drive it will not be a problem.  You can actually move these too but it is not worth the effort as add-ins expect to see these there.

Two things: 

1. Make sure it is in its own folder on the D: drive.  I would not put it in the Programs (or Programs(x86) if he is running a 32 bit version) because windows imposes some additional security restrictions when you use those folders.  Just create a folder in the D: root drive for it.  The default is d:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3dv4 or some such but you can call it whatever you wish.
2) there is an excellent resource on debugging an install that is on Avsim.  I have attached a copy of the Crash to Desktop Guide.  There is also just a general P3D install guide that is excellent but i do not have a copy on this computer or I would attach that as well.

One last thing: download and run appcrash as that will generally point you in the correct direction as to what is causing the problem.

Steve

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 478
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: Installing P3D on D: drive
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2018, 03:49:29 AM »
Steve, et all,
Thanks for tips and some great help in the CTD sample material.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

12v power supply for map light
by Skysurfer170
[Today at 04:37:10 AM]
Streaming with Elgato tools.
by RayS
[January 15, 2019, 03:43:59 PM]
Help in building a GTN 650/750 for Reality XP
by redman
[January 14, 2019, 01:02:57 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by bernard S
[January 14, 2019, 12:05:01 PM]
Complete 737-800 cockpit - moving sale
by navymustang
[January 14, 2019, 11:07:28 AM]
Wanted: B737 Linked Yoke,
by dvst8r
[January 14, 2019, 10:55:31 AM]
Wrong hiegth above ground when landing and P3D set for Panel Only
by navymustang
[January 14, 2019, 09:54:29 AM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[January 13, 2019, 03:25:10 PM]
Replace display Flyengravity CDU
by flymo
[January 13, 2019, 01:10:55 PM]
It's been a while. a new picture of my baby!
by Trevor Hale
[January 13, 2019, 09:21:19 AM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by blueskydriver
[January 13, 2019, 08:25:21 AM]
STEERING AND YOKE 737 PROMO
by blueskydriver
[January 10, 2019, 07:31:21 PM]
Three Projector 210 degree with P3D4
by blueskydriver
[January 10, 2019, 04:12:26 AM]
B767 MIP
by kurt-olsson
[January 08, 2019, 01:23:45 AM]
Aircraft Registration Placard
by jackpilot
[January 07, 2019, 10:19:13 AM]
How do you manage power amperage for your sim
by kurt-olsson
[January 07, 2019, 10:12:23 AM]
Trim Wheels
by Joe Lavery
[January 07, 2019, 04:18:15 AM]
ActiveSky - across networked PCs anyone
by FredK
[January 06, 2019, 10:54:28 PM]
ACE 737 Pro Yoke stab trim switch issue help needed
by dornier
[January 06, 2019, 08:23:42 PM]
Help In wiring LED and Fan
by GyverX
[January 06, 2019, 03:54:28 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[January 06, 2019, 11:38:46 AM]
B737 OEM Throttle Quadrant and more to come
by archen
[January 05, 2019, 06:27:11 PM]
Wanted: 737 FMC/CDU
by blueskydriver
[January 04, 2019, 07:35:04 PM]
Other forums ?
by navymustang
[January 03, 2019, 05:51:20 PM]
FLIGHTSIMEXPO LAUNCHES DISCOUNTED ADVANCE REGISTRATION FOR ORLANDO 2019 EVENT
by Slacker
[January 03, 2019, 09:52:14 AM]
Wanted: Opencockpits B737 Audio Module P&P. [2M37]
by dornier
[January 03, 2019, 01:25:13 AM]
For Sale GoFlight Jet Console, 2 Private Pilot Racks all with GoFlight Modules.
by blueskydriver
[January 02, 2019, 02:29:02 PM]
New to the Crew.
by jackpilot
[January 02, 2019, 12:31:04 PM]