Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 2
  • *Guests: 67
  • *Total: 69

Our Discord

Author Topic: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim  (Read 723 times)

Offline ScottThePilot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« on: November 14, 2018, 12:32:21 PM »
Hi All,

Have full cockpit Project Magenta currently running and want to update the data from my Navigraph account.  FSX runs on main PC and each CDU is hooked up on separate machines.  I have the files now but where do they get copied to?  Does it install to a FSX directory or do I copy files to the other PC's where CDU are connected?

I know there is an installer but I assume that if I run that and have it update my FSX install on main PC, the other CDU PC's don't have any play in the update process.  Just not sure.

Also, is there anything I need to do to apply the update in the FMC other than restart the SIM and CDU machines.

We are looking at ProSim and I have another machine running P3D with CDU's connected to a different PC.  It appears that maybe the update program would just be needed on Main PC and it would update the ProSim system there.  Perhaps nothing needed on the second PC where CDU's are connected...

Anyway, just want to make sure I don't screw up the PM installation...

Thanks to the brain power as always...
Scott   
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 485
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2018, 07:37:43 PM »
When you tell the install manager that you are adding a data base and search for Prosim, it will set it up in the proper directory for you. Only Prosim needs to see the database. The CDU talks to Prosim and does not interface directly with the Navigraph data.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline ScottThePilot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2018, 11:45:26 PM »
Thanks Jim (navy mustang)...

I found the directory for ProSim but am going to let installer do its job...

I looked on the main PC where Project Magenta runs and can't find similar data.  I have been directed to look at the machine that is connected to the Captain's CDU as that might be where Nav Data goes.  Then shared with F/O CDU machine and PM.  I guess that I will try that next unless someone has another thought...

Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 485
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2018, 03:35:22 PM »
Help me understand how you are using Project Magenta and Prosim at the same time?
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Pantu

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • P3Dv4 Full PM Boeing suite, win 10pro OC MCP FSBus
  • First Name: Pete
  • Home Location: Munich
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2018, 04:49:16 PM »
Hi Scott,

basically there are are 2 places where the Nav Data need to go to when using Projectmagenta:
1.) CDU\Data\
2.) PFD\

I´m using successfully Projectmagenta´s Boeing suite together with Prosim´s Flight model.
Forementioned setup works for me. However, not knowing your setup (what parts are PM and what´s from Prosim), it´s rather difficult to give you a 100% correct hint though.

Good luck

Pete

Offline ScottThePilot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2018, 06:17:48 PM »
Sorry guys for the confusion...  Let me clarify...

We currently use complete FSX-SE & Project Magenta in full cockpit.  PM installed on Main PC with 2 other PC's (identical) that are each connected to a CDU and its monitor in cockpit.  Have a 4th PC for displays that has 4 monitors connected (Captain's Displays, F/O Displays, Upper & Lower EICAS).

So Pete, would I find those directories on each of the PC's that have a CDU connected?  I looked around on the F/O-CDU PC but didn't see a directory that had any navigation files or Data directory.  I didn't look at the Capt-CDU PC nor the display PC.

I downloaded the PM Navigraph update (pm_cdunav_native_1812) which has about 10 files in it including SID, STAR and CDU files.  While I was on the F/O-CDU PC, I looked for some of these files and didn't find any.  Again not sure about other CDU & Display PC's since I haven't looked.  I did look at our Main PC where PM is installed and didn't find these files there either.  So, perhaps you can tell me on which machines I would find these directories and I will go check them out next time I go down to SIM.

To clarify the ProSim info, we are thinking of moving to ProSim in the near future.  We build another Main PC which is where we now have new P3D & ProSim Eval installed.  I was able to download the ProSim version update from Navigraph and it installed just fine (C:\Users\...\AppData\Roaming\NavData).

So ProSim OK now.  Hopefully I downloaded the version needed for PM asI listed above but need to know which machine and directories need to get all the files.

Thanks for your help on this...
Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,762
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2018, 07:51:04 AM »
Scott,  I personally don't download the Project Magenta Updates manually,  I us the Navigraph data manager, and have shared the Navdata Directories with the Main FS Machine.
The Navigraph data manager software is told where the navdata is located on all the machines, and it updates them for me.
Don't forget to update Active Sky also if you use it.
Trev
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,376
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2018, 09:39:55 AM »
To update the PM CDU data, just drop the new data in the main CDU folder. When you start the CDU, the software knows what to do with it.

Offline ScottThePilot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2018, 02:53:47 PM »
Hi All,

I got the new Navigraph data installed but have an issue...

First, I dropped the files into the Captains CDU machine in the proper directory and all came up on the IDENT page when I restarted.  The F/O CDU machine (different one) uses rCDU so assume it is remote to the master that is on the Captains machines.  Anyway, both CDU's show fine.

My issue became apparent when I went to fly some known routes around KSFO to KSJC.  We have I think 6 waypoints we use on the route and they all work EXCEPT one named FOGGG.  The CDU says it is "not in data base".  Yet as I fly the route without this waypoint, I selected to show Waypoints on the EFIS and it shows up right where it is suppose to be.

I just dropped the update files in the CDU machine and nothing else.  Did I miss something such as rebuilding something?  And how is it showing on ND as I fly yet not found in CDU data base?

Thanks,
Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline ScottThePilot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2018, 12:15:47 PM »
Can someone next time in the SIM check the FOGGG waypoint just south of KSFO as I described and let me know if it comes up missing in the database?

Or if there is just something I have not completed since I CAN see it on the ND as I fly the leg yet can't enter it in the CDU as a waypoint?  I didn't look at the PC that has all the MIP displays hooked to see if there is something there that needs to be updated.  I would guess nothing to update since it just drives the screens.

Just FYI: I did go look in the cdu.NAV file and searched for FOGGG and it's not there.  But the other waypoints we use for that route are.  So CDU looks and acts correct but ND still has old waypoints showing.

Appreciate it...
Scott
« Last Edit: December 14, 2018, 12:31:35 PM by ScottThePilot »
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline ScottThePilot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2019, 01:56:56 PM »
Just an update on PM...

I got the data updated in the Captain's CDU fine and F/O's see it also.  I hadn't realized that there was a separate download for the IOS so applied that one too and now it matches data with the CDU's.

The only issue left (that I newly found) is that a few frequencies that we use do not match what is in the CDU.  For instance, the frequency for KLAS ILS 26L apparently used to be 111.75 but now is 111.5 in the current update to CDU and confirmed in the IOS.  So obviously FSX has something that is not up to date.  How do I find or fix this?

Thanks,
Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,762
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2019, 03:18:18 PM »
Hmmm thats interesting..  I haven't seen that one actually that I can think of.

Don't forget you have to update the Glass Cockpit also not just the CDU's, and if you have active sky you will also want to update that.

Trev


Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 420
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2019, 07:13:50 PM »
...
The only issue left (that I newly found) is that a few frequencies that we use do not match what is in the CDU.  For instance, the frequency for KLAS ILS 26L apparently used to be 111.75 but now is 111.5 in the current update to CDU and confirmed in the IOS.  So obviously FSX has something that is not up to date.  How do I find or fix this?

Thanks,
Scott

Navigraph FMC data only updates the database in the aircraft.
All nav aid (VOR, NDB, ILS etc) frequencies courses etc are all set in the scenery in flight sim as flight sim is what provides the  guidance. Think of it just like the real world, you are just updating the aircraft. If the device on the ground hasn't been update, you won't pick it up on the new frequency.

FSX data was created in 2006, unless you have updated the scenery for that specific airport to be current, the old frequencies are what you actually have to tune.
I believe I've read somewhere that there is an updated nav-aid database available for FSX that would only be a few years old, but I don't remember where that was.

Offline ScottThePilot

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2019, 01:03:07 AM »
Thanks for jumping back in...

Trev, I didn't see anywhere in the Glass Cockpit area to drop any of the updated files.  Perhaps you can point to the directory.  I am assuming you are talking about where the PFD & ND get run.  Just don't remember seeing anything in those directories.  I will look again...

Kyle, that was sort of my understanding and I think the last update was several years ago.  To your point, I found a couple sites that might be what you are talking about.

FXS/P3D Navaids Update:   http://www.aero.sors.fr/navaids3.html
FSAeroData:  https://www.fsaerodata.com

Do you all know anything about these and are they safe to apply?

Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,762
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2019, 07:41:50 AM »
All I do is point the navigraph software to the boeing GC Directory, and it updates.  I am guessing this is for correct drawing of your route on the ND.
Trev
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

For Sale: Jetmax 737 TQ - Texas, USA
by co735
[Today at 11:37:19 AM]
FSUIPC 5 Button Limitations
by GyverX
[February 18, 2019, 05:33:55 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by bernard S
[February 18, 2019, 05:15:19 PM]
Operating System Blues
by Joe Lavery
[February 18, 2019, 02:47:27 PM]
Virtual FO software
by fsaviator
[February 18, 2019, 02:36:20 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[February 17, 2019, 01:48:52 PM]
Throttle
by 727737Nut
[February 17, 2019, 09:14:54 AM]
737 NG Throttle Levers
by mickc
[February 17, 2019, 05:02:01 AM]
For sale: A set of faceplate panel for pedestal
by mickc
[February 17, 2019, 05:01:07 AM]
FlyAB Simparts: A new supplier for your OEM needs
by Trevor Hale
[February 16, 2019, 10:51:54 PM]
B737-800 Flight Sim for sale $85,000.00
by Rob_b
[February 16, 2019, 12:47:11 AM]
PC upgrade-build-or buy advice??
by iwik
[February 15, 2019, 06:47:11 PM]
Which Processor i7 - 8700K or i7 - 9700K
by Joe Lavery
[February 15, 2019, 05:39:06 PM]
Anyone seen OEM 737-900 ER Throttle Quadrant?
by Fly_AB
[February 15, 2019, 10:32:18 AM]
For Sale: P&P Opencockpit VHF, Transponder, and ADF
by Fly_AB
[February 15, 2019, 09:08:24 AM]
737 DIY MIP For Sale
by Trevor Hale
[February 14, 2019, 11:03:35 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[February 14, 2019, 12:18:44 AM]
For Sale Prosim 737 v2.03 License
by mdavenport
[February 12, 2019, 04:00:00 PM]
Complete 737-800 cockpit - moving sale
by navymustang
[February 10, 2019, 12:50:48 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[February 10, 2019, 09:31:17 AM]
Revolution Simproducts out of business?
by fsaviator
[February 09, 2019, 12:18:30 PM]
For sale: CPFlight MIP737SE
by Fly_AB
[February 08, 2019, 11:29:26 PM]
For sale: Engravity sixpack pairs --- SOLD
by Fly_AB
[February 08, 2019, 08:32:04 PM]
German B738NG Homecockpit-Projekt
by MjTom
[February 08, 2019, 08:00:54 AM]
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
by Trevor Hale
[February 08, 2019, 07:41:50 AM]
737 Demonstrator For Sale
by Trevor Hale
[February 08, 2019, 07:39:34 AM]
Looking for B737NG or A320 SIM for Home Use
by KingAviation
[February 08, 2019, 03:17:35 AM]
Zibo 737 FlightControl Dataref/Commands
by kurt-olsson
[February 05, 2019, 05:34:35 PM]
Wrong hiegth above ground when landing and P3D set for Panel Only
by FredK
[February 05, 2019, 12:58:20 AM]
Flight Control Panel A Side
by kurt-olsson
[February 04, 2019, 04:34:38 PM]