Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 1
  • *Guests: 44
  • *Total: 45

Our Discord

Author Topic: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim  (Read 319 times)

Offline ScottThePilot

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« on: November 14, 2018, 12:32:21 PM »
Hi All,

Have full cockpit Project Magenta currently running and want to update the data from my Navigraph account.  FSX runs on main PC and each CDU is hooked up on separate machines.  I have the files now but where do they get copied to?  Does it install to a FSX directory or do I copy files to the other PC's where CDU are connected?

I know there is an installer but I assume that if I run that and have it update my FSX install on main PC, the other CDU PC's don't have any play in the update process.  Just not sure.

Also, is there anything I need to do to apply the update in the FMC other than restart the SIM and CDU machines.

We are looking at ProSim and I have another machine running P3D with CDU's connected to a different PC.  It appears that maybe the update program would just be needed on Main PC and it would update the ProSim system there.  Perhaps nothing needed on the second PC where CDU's are connected...

Anyway, just want to make sure I don't screw up the PM installation...

Thanks to the brain power as always...
Scott   
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 453
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2018, 07:37:43 PM »
When you tell the install manager that you are adding a data base and search for Prosim, it will set it up in the proper directory for you. Only Prosim needs to see the database. The CDU talks to Prosim and does not interface directly with the Navigraph data.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline ScottThePilot

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2018, 11:45:26 PM »
Thanks Jim (navy mustang)...

I found the directory for ProSim but am going to let installer do its job...

I looked on the main PC where Project Magenta runs and can't find similar data.  I have been directed to look at the machine that is connected to the Captain's CDU as that might be where Nav Data goes.  Then shared with F/O CDU machine and PM.  I guess that I will try that next unless someone has another thought...

Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 453
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2018, 03:35:22 PM »
Help me understand how you are using Project Magenta and Prosim at the same time?
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline Pantu

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • P3Dv4 Full PM Boeing suite, win 10pro OC MCP FSBus
  • First Name: Pete
  • Home Location: Munich
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2018, 04:49:16 PM »
Hi Scott,

basically there are are 2 places where the Nav Data need to go to when using Projectmagenta:
1.) CDU\Data\
2.) PFD\

I´m using successfully Projectmagenta´s Boeing suite together with Prosim´s Flight model.
Forementioned setup works for me. However, not knowing your setup (what parts are PM and what´s from Prosim), it´s rather difficult to give you a 100% correct hint though.

Good luck

Pete

Offline ScottThePilot

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2018, 06:17:48 PM »
Sorry guys for the confusion...  Let me clarify...

We currently use complete FSX-SE & Project Magenta in full cockpit.  PM installed on Main PC with 2 other PC's (identical) that are each connected to a CDU and its monitor in cockpit.  Have a 4th PC for displays that has 4 monitors connected (Captain's Displays, F/O Displays, Upper & Lower EICAS).

So Pete, would I find those directories on each of the PC's that have a CDU connected?  I looked around on the F/O-CDU PC but didn't see a directory that had any navigation files or Data directory.  I didn't look at the Capt-CDU PC nor the display PC.

I downloaded the PM Navigraph update (pm_cdunav_native_1812) which has about 10 files in it including SID, STAR and CDU files.  While I was on the F/O-CDU PC, I looked for some of these files and didn't find any.  Again not sure about other CDU & Display PC's since I haven't looked.  I did look at our Main PC where PM is installed and didn't find these files there either.  So, perhaps you can tell me on which machines I would find these directories and I will go check them out next time I go down to SIM.

To clarify the ProSim info, we are thinking of moving to ProSim in the near future.  We build another Main PC which is where we now have new P3D & ProSim Eval installed.  I was able to download the ProSim version update from Navigraph and it installed just fine (C:\Users\...\AppData\Roaming\NavData).

So ProSim OK now.  Hopefully I downloaded the version needed for PM asI listed above but need to know which machine and directories need to get all the files.

Thanks for your help on this...
Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

Offline Trevor Hale

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 3,664
    • Cockpitbuilders.com
  • First Name: Trevor
  • Home Location: New Liskeard, Ontario
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2018, 07:51:04 AM »
Scott,  I personally don't download the Project Magenta Updates manually,  I us the Navigraph data manager, and have shared the Navdata Directories with the Main FS Machine.
The Navigraph data manager software is told where the navdata is located on all the machines, and it updates them for me.
Don't forget to update Active Sky also if you use it.
Trev
Trevor Hale

Owner
http://www.cockpitbuilders.com

Director of Operations
Worldflight Team USA
http://www.worldflightusa.com

VATSIM:

Offline Bob Reed

  • Administrator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 2,376
  • Bob the Builder!
  • First Name: Bob
  • Home Location: Holley, New York
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2018, 09:39:55 AM »
To update the PM CDU data, just drop the new data in the main CDU folder. When you start the CDU, the software knows what to do with it.

Offline ScottThePilot

  • CockpitBuilder
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Scott
  • Home Location: Southern California
Re: Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2018, 02:53:47 PM »
Hi All,

I got the new Navigraph data installed but have an issue...

First, I dropped the files into the Captains CDU machine in the proper directory and all came up on the IDENT page when I restarted.  The F/O CDU machine (different one) uses rCDU so assume it is remote to the master that is on the Captains machines.  Anyway, both CDU's show fine.

My issue became apparent when I went to fly some known routes around KSFO to KSJC.  We have I think 6 waypoints we use on the route and they all work EXCEPT one named FOGGG.  The CDU says it is "not in data base".  Yet as I fly the route without this waypoint, I selected to show Waypoints on the EFIS and it shows up right where it is suppose to be.

I just dropped the update files in the CDU machine and nothing else.  Did I miss something such as rebuilding something?  And how is it showing on ND as I fly yet not found in CDU data base?

Thanks,
Scott
Pilot for 40+ years --- Software Coder for 40+ years -- Simmer For A Day!
Hummm.  Which do I love more...

 

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

U.S. holiday booked!
by Trevor Hale
[Today at 10:35:15 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[Today at 01:12:29 AM]
X-Plane 737-800 Build
by kenrosefire
[December 10, 2018, 08:55:16 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by _alioth_
[December 10, 2018, 07:37:15 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[December 10, 2018, 04:49:22 PM]
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
by ScottThePilot
[December 10, 2018, 02:53:47 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[December 09, 2018, 05:18:02 PM]
Yoke and Rudder Centering with Dynamic Load Control / Force Feedbacl
by bernard S
[December 08, 2018, 12:14:01 PM]
anyone that can help me out get imperial size bolts??
by Gallie
[December 08, 2018, 11:03:29 AM]
OpenCockpits I/O Cards
by al23
[December 08, 2018, 09:22:52 AM]
Level D B767 For FS9
by Goodenough
[December 06, 2018, 08:19:20 PM]
Thickness of a resl 737-800 Glareshield / MCP Light panel
by Joe Lavery
[December 06, 2018, 01:13:54 PM]
Anyone had any experience with JetMax post the FDS sale?
by nickj
[December 05, 2018, 10:13:20 PM]
777 Throttle *price reduced*
by mattking247
[December 04, 2018, 11:05:04 PM]
KLGA curious !!
by jackpilot
[December 03, 2018, 02:55:38 PM]
Opencockpits boards for sale
by navymustang
[December 03, 2018, 12:57:34 PM]
Does something like this Exist? Projection Glass
by fsaviator
[December 02, 2018, 02:49:40 PM]
Move Project Magenta From FSX to P3D Full cockpit
by ScottThePilot
[December 02, 2018, 12:27:31 PM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[December 02, 2018, 06:20:38 AM]
TH2GO Digital vs 3-DV Ports on GPU
by fsaviator
[December 01, 2018, 12:49:54 PM]
Project Magenta with Xplane 11
by Trevor Hale
[November 29, 2018, 03:05:14 PM]
X-plane and SIOC help
by Trevor Hale
[November 29, 2018, 07:43:32 AM]
Prepar3d v4.4 coming to you in 2 days!!!
by Flying_Fox
[November 28, 2018, 10:16:49 AM]
More Throttle Quadrant nightmares.
by iwik
[November 27, 2018, 03:47:31 PM]
Attention All Members and Guests
by Trevor Hale
[November 27, 2018, 02:21:47 PM]
I am now asking for a new world of hurt!
by fsaviator
[November 26, 2018, 11:50:19 PM]
Hello and advice about my 737 sim
by nic
[November 26, 2018, 05:42:07 AM]
B737 Rudder Pedal Adjustment Crank Units
by Reensel
[November 25, 2018, 02:53:25 PM]
For sale! B737 home cockpit - mostly OEM parts!
by Ethanoost
[November 25, 2018, 05:33:48 AM]
The Progression of a build [Phase One]
by Joe Lavery
[November 25, 2018, 03:58:12 AM]