Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 3
  • *Guests: 49
  • *Total: 52

Our Discord

Author Topic: How do you manage power amperage for your sim  (Read 365 times)

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,153
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« on: January 06, 2019, 12:55:00 PM »
Hm... A small problem here.

Around 100 Korrys each 80-100ma ~ 8amps
Backlight will be total of around 25-30 panels each around 200-500ma. ~ 8-15 amps
Computers 4-5 amps

I have a fuse that takes 10amps before cutting out.


What max kw draw do you have and how did you solve this issue?

My outlet is 220V * 10 Amps = 2200kw

Korrys example is 24V * (0,08A * 103) = 197kw
Backlight 5V * (~0,5A * 25 panels) = 62kw

If all stuff added, i might hit max kw.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2019, 01:14:14 PM by kurt-olsson »

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 488
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 08:12:49 PM »
I had my electrician wire two 20 amp service outlets (110vac) that my systems plug into.

I use a UPS on the one circuit and all computers are driven by that. All other electrical needs via direct plug in at the wall with a power strip.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline mickc

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 513
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2019, 10:11:14 PM »
Hm... A small problem here.

Around 100 Korrys each 80-100ma ~ 8amps
Backlight will be total of around 25-30 panels each around 200-500ma. ~ 8-15 amps
Computers 4-5 amps

I have a fuse that takes 10amps before cutting out.


What max kw draw do you have and how did you solve this issue?

My outlet is 220V * 10 Amps = 2200kw

Korrys example is 24V * (0,08A * 103) = 197kw
Backlight 5V * (~0,5A * 25 panels) = 62kw

If all stuff added, i might hit max kw.

The current drawn from the mains supply will be much lower than the DC current load across your supply.
For example your 8amps @24v  works out to approx 192 watts,  divide that by the 220v input and you are less than 1amp.  Add 15% for the power supply efficency rating and you are somehere in the ballpark.
I measured one of my supplies the other day, 26 amps at 28v DC load.   This was only drawing 2.5A from the AC supply.

Rob would be a good one to advise how much load for all real panels & Korries :)
His would draw more AC current though, as he will be running on 110v

« Last Edit: January 06, 2019, 11:25:19 PM by mickc »

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,153
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2019, 03:02:32 AM »
Thanks for your replies, very interesting reading.
Ive seen from Robs Youtube video that his setup draws 30amps on 5V = 150kw. So i can use his measure as a guidence.

With my calculations i should be fine with an 10Amp fuse with 220AC.

I will be on the lookout for ampmeter gauges so i can monitor my amp readings.

Online KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 425
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2019, 08:30:10 AM »
Thanks for your replies, very interesting reading.
Ive seen from Robs Youtube video that his setup draws 30amps on 5V = 150kw. So i can use his measure as a guidence.

With my calculations i should be fine with an 10Amp fuse with 220AC.

I will be on the lookout for ampmeter gauges so i can monitor my amp readings.

I think you need to check your math. 30 * 5 is 150W, not kW.

150kW is a lot of power. :o

For reference a house in North America (120V) with 200 Amp service for the entire house....that breaker trips off at 24kW.

In case there is confusion on the notation:
k - is a scale of measurement meaning x1000
W is the unit of measurement, in this case Watts, a measurement of power.
150,000 Watts = 150kW
1,500 Watts = 1.5kW
150 Watts = 150W

« Last Edit: January 07, 2019, 09:03:03 AM by KyleH »

Offline bernard S

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 512
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2019, 08:40:08 AM »
i started out with 225 amps and now  have 500 amps coming in broken out to brk boxes .. plus i hace AC  power running alot of stuff last thing i want is failures but this is tx andbevrrything is big   lol

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,060
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2019, 09:20:23 AM »
but this is TX and everything is big   lol

 :D we already knew but nice of you to pinpoint it!!


Jack

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,153
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2019, 10:12:23 AM »
Thanks for your replies, very interesting reading.
Ive seen from Robs Youtube video that his setup draws 30amps on 5V = 150kw. So i can use his measure as a guidence.

With my calculations i should be fine with an 10Amp fuse with 220AC.

I will be on the lookout for ampmeter gauges so i can monitor my amp readings.

I think you need to check your math. 30 * 5 is 150W, not kW.

150kW is a lot of power. :o

For reference a house in North America (120V) with 200 Amp service for the entire house....that breaker trips off at 24kW.

In case there is confusion on the notation:
k - is a scale of measurement meaning x1000
W is the unit of measurement, in this case Watts, a measurement of power.
150,000 Watts = 150kW
1,500 Watts = 1.5kW
150 Watts = 150W

This is very very true, my bad.

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

737 MAX
by Joe Lavery
[Today at 06:57:10 PM]
Prosim and RSP TQ interfacing
by jfuenmayor
[Today at 02:04:20 PM]
OEM 737 classic liners for sale
by Gallie
[Today at 09:54:39 AM]
Great video on a Caravelle project
by XOrionFE
[Today at 09:37:50 AM]
B737-200 throttle quadrant for sale
by Gallie
[Today at 08:56:25 AM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by 757Simulator
[Today at 04:20:49 AM]
Boeing 737-800 Next Generation Simulator
by blueskydriver
[Today at 03:55:51 AM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[March 17, 2019, 03:28:52 PM]
JetMax TQ for Sale...
by sagrada737
[March 16, 2019, 02:57:19 PM]
Revolution Simproducts V2.0 Plug & Play Throttle help
by jfuenmayor
[March 14, 2019, 10:13:05 PM]
Holy Grail ?
by bernard S
[March 14, 2019, 10:34:11 AM]
Attention All Members and Guests
by Trevor Hale
[March 13, 2019, 06:25:07 PM]
Creality CR-10S 3d printer.
by sagrada737
[March 12, 2019, 07:57:11 PM]
CPFlight EFIS737Pro2
by Lomaric
[March 11, 2019, 05:18:20 PM]
Homebuilt seats and a question
by Trevor Hale
[March 11, 2019, 01:32:17 PM]
777 Throttle - sold
by mattking247
[March 10, 2019, 07:13:29 PM]
General Aiation FLIGHT GEAR, For sale
by fairchild
[March 10, 2019, 05:17:41 PM]
I HAD an idea for an inexpensive B737 cockpit - Not so inexpensive now!
by bernard S
[March 10, 2019, 01:03:02 PM]
B737 Heads Up Guidance Systems (HUD)
by navymustang
[March 10, 2019, 12:48:09 PM]
JetMax components for sale - ALL SOLD
by 737SimGuy
[March 08, 2019, 02:41:41 PM]
Open Cockpits P&P MCP/EFIS/FMC for Sale - NEW in USA
by Fabian
[March 07, 2019, 12:21:17 AM]
CPFLIGHT GEAR FOR SALE
by ivanroberts77
[March 06, 2019, 10:46:27 AM]
OEM AFDS Module 737-NG
by Reensel
[March 05, 2019, 03:59:47 PM]
737 Demonstrator For Sale
by mattford1
[March 05, 2019, 03:16:30 PM]
Wanted: FDS 737NG Nav Radio (USB)
by 737NG-Ed
[March 05, 2019, 06:34:07 AM]
Scott (and Rob's...) Chicago 737-300 Build
by Trevor Hale
[March 04, 2019, 08:47:45 AM]
Fly Elise
by jskibo
[March 03, 2019, 11:36:17 AM]
737 NG Throttle Levers
by Joe Lavery
[March 03, 2019, 07:24:28 AM]
So........Visuals?
by jskibo
[March 02, 2019, 09:34:12 PM]
Busy but back...
by 737NGer
[March 02, 2019, 11:56:05 AM]