Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 0
  • *Guests: 15
  • *Total: 15

Our Discord

Author Topic: How do you manage power amperage for your sim  (Read 475 times)

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,181
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« on: January 06, 2019, 12:55:00 PM »
Hm... A small problem here.

Around 100 Korrys each 80-100ma ~ 8amps
Backlight will be total of around 25-30 panels each around 200-500ma. ~ 8-15 amps
Computers 4-5 amps

I have a fuse that takes 10amps before cutting out.


What max kw draw do you have and how did you solve this issue?

My outlet is 220V * 10 Amps = 2200kw

Korrys example is 24V * (0,08A * 103) = 197kw
Backlight 5V * (~0,5A * 25 panels) = 62kw

If all stuff added, i might hit max kw.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2019, 01:14:14 PM by kurt-olsson »

Offline navymustang

  • Simulation Engineer
  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 511
  • Building a 737-800 full scale cockpit
  • First Name: Jim
  • Home Location: KMCO
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 08:12:49 PM »
I had my electrician wire two 20 amp service outlets (110vac) that my systems plug into.

I use a UPS on the one circuit and all computers are driven by that. All other electrical needs via direct plug in at the wall with a power strip.
Building a full scale 737-800 AATD for home use. Majority of hardware is from Sismo Solutions, software is Prosim under P3D. An AOPA member and LifeTime member of National Association of Flight Instructors
Please note that I am a self-employed professional cockpit builder that provides consulting to defense contractors and civilian schools and airlines.

Offline mickc

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 521
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Mick
  • Home Location: VIC, AU
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2019, 10:11:14 PM »
Hm... A small problem here.

Around 100 Korrys each 80-100ma ~ 8amps
Backlight will be total of around 25-30 panels each around 200-500ma. ~ 8-15 amps
Computers 4-5 amps

I have a fuse that takes 10amps before cutting out.


What max kw draw do you have and how did you solve this issue?

My outlet is 220V * 10 Amps = 2200kw

Korrys example is 24V * (0,08A * 103) = 197kw
Backlight 5V * (~0,5A * 25 panels) = 62kw

If all stuff added, i might hit max kw.

The current drawn from the mains supply will be much lower than the DC current load across your supply.
For example your 8amps @24v  works out to approx 192 watts,  divide that by the 220v input and you are less than 1amp.  Add 15% for the power supply efficency rating and you are somehere in the ballpark.
I measured one of my supplies the other day, 26 amps at 28v DC load.   This was only drawing 2.5A from the AC supply.

Rob would be a good one to advise how much load for all real panels & Korries :)
His would draw more AC current though, as he will be running on 110v

« Last Edit: January 06, 2019, 11:25:19 PM by mickc »

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,181
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2019, 03:02:32 AM »
Thanks for your replies, very interesting reading.
Ive seen from Robs Youtube video that his setup draws 30amps on 5V = 150kw. So i can use his measure as a guidence.

With my calculations i should be fine with an 10Amp fuse with 220AC.

I will be on the lookout for ampmeter gauges so i can monitor my amp readings.

Offline KyleH

  • Administrator
  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 429
  • B763!
  • First Name: Kyle
  • Home Location: Ontario
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2019, 08:30:10 AM »
Thanks for your replies, very interesting reading.
Ive seen from Robs Youtube video that his setup draws 30amps on 5V = 150kw. So i can use his measure as a guidence.

With my calculations i should be fine with an 10Amp fuse with 220AC.

I will be on the lookout for ampmeter gauges so i can monitor my amp readings.

I think you need to check your math. 30 * 5 is 150W, not kW.

150kW is a lot of power. :o

For reference a house in North America (120V) with 200 Amp service for the entire house....that breaker trips off at 24kW.

In case there is confusion on the notation:
k - is a scale of measurement meaning x1000
W is the unit of measurement, in this case Watts, a measurement of power.
150,000 Watts = 150kW
1,500 Watts = 1.5kW
150 Watts = 150W

« Last Edit: January 07, 2019, 09:03:03 AM by KyleH »

Offline bernard S

  • I may as well be Staff!
  • *
  • Posts: 538
  • Aviation Enthusiast
  • First Name: Bernard
  • Home Location: Austin TX
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2019, 08:40:08 AM »
i started out with 225 amps and now  have 500 amps coming in broken out to brk boxes .. plus i hace AC  power running alot of stuff last thing i want is failures but this is tx andbevrrything is big   lol

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,096
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2019, 09:20:23 AM »
but this is TX and everything is big   lol

 :D we already knew but nice of you to pinpoint it!!


Jack

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,181
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: How do you manage power amperage for your sim
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2019, 10:12:23 AM »
Thanks for your replies, very interesting reading.
Ive seen from Robs Youtube video that his setup draws 30amps on 5V = 150kw. So i can use his measure as a guidence.

With my calculations i should be fine with an 10Amp fuse with 220AC.

I will be on the lookout for ampmeter gauges so i can monitor my amp readings.

I think you need to check your math. 30 * 5 is 150W, not kW.

150kW is a lot of power. :o

For reference a house in North America (120V) with 200 Amp service for the entire house....that breaker trips off at 24kW.

In case there is confusion on the notation:
k - is a scale of measurement meaning x1000
W is the unit of measurement, in this case Watts, a measurement of power.
150,000 Watts = 150kW
1,500 Watts = 1.5kW
150 Watts = 150W

This is very very true, my bad.

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

What have you done for your simulator today?
by blueskydriver
[May 20, 2019, 07:28:19 PM]
GSX across networked client visual computers
by zillmer
[May 20, 2019, 05:38:53 PM]
Jetmax TQ - motorized it?
by FredK
[May 20, 2019, 07:58:36 AM]
Mickey's Flightdeck - A Boeing 737-800 Cockpit on Youtube
by Extraterra
[May 20, 2019, 02:47:37 AM]
FDS CDU old
by kattz
[May 19, 2019, 01:13:46 PM]
Serial Key
by hiflight1
[May 19, 2019, 05:10:00 AM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[May 15, 2019, 01:58:50 PM]
Gauge circuit
by jackpilot
[May 15, 2019, 01:56:51 PM]
Prosim and RSP TQ interfacing
by jfuenmayor
[May 15, 2019, 08:53:22 AM]
Arduino Mega question Newbie
by Yair1956
[May 15, 2019, 02:23:57 AM]
f18 mfd
by bernard S
[May 14, 2019, 11:15:44 PM]
Multi-Projector color calibration
by fsaviator
[May 13, 2019, 04:32:23 PM]
Immersive Calibration Pro help?
by jskibo
[May 13, 2019, 09:22:00 AM]
X-Plane 737-800 Build
by kenrosefire
[May 12, 2019, 08:37:05 PM]
KBD03 Keyboard Emulator
by Yair1956
[May 12, 2019, 03:52:05 PM]
5 Position Rotary Spring return Switch
by Yair1956
[May 12, 2019, 03:09:25 PM]
Flyengravity desktop MIP
by patiju
[May 11, 2019, 05:11:05 PM]
Pfd display.
by Patt737
[May 08, 2019, 12:48:32 PM]
Mini Sim
by jskibo
[May 08, 2019, 08:36:28 AM]
F16 Simulator For Sale
by blueskydriver
[May 08, 2019, 12:14:40 AM]
Wanted: Collins Style radios
by jkbarr30
[May 07, 2019, 08:23:32 PM]
Crap! 26V on 5V backlight!
by Steenos
[May 07, 2019, 05:33:46 PM]
Complete 737-800 cockpit - moving sale
by Ed
[May 07, 2019, 08:01:22 AM]
Prosim 737 iOS help
by Aztrucker
[May 06, 2019, 11:56:30 PM]
Fly Elise Warping
by jskibo
[May 06, 2019, 11:14:31 AM]
CPFlight 737 NG MCP Pro and Efis Pro (SOLD)
by patiju
[May 05, 2019, 10:52:46 AM]
Operating System Blues
by 727737Nut
[May 03, 2019, 11:54:35 AM]
FOR SALE - 737 Sim items
by flymo
[May 02, 2019, 07:43:53 AM]
Cpflight MCP737PRO (SOLD)
by archen
[April 30, 2019, 02:07:33 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by Trevor Hale
[April 29, 2019, 07:29:12 PM]