Cockpit

* User Profile

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Who's Online

  • *Users: 3
  • *Guests: 56
  • *Total: 59

Our Discord

Author Topic: PSU works once but not twice  (Read 388 times)

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,148
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
PSU works once but not twice
« on: January 28, 2019, 02:44:19 PM »
Everything works. i can turn my PSU on/off how many times i want.

If i just connect the FlightControl Panel backlight with nothing else i can turn on my PSU ONCE, but then it goes into shutdown mode. Just like if you had a shortcircuit.

I reset my PSU and it works again, but only ONCE.

Remove the 5V backlight of my FlightControl Panel and i can turn on/off how many times i want.


What on earth can this be?


Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,148
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2019, 02:54:51 PM »
It seems like it is some sort of overhead/overload protection going on.

I changed my FlightControlPanel and added the Windows Heat panel and it is the same problem with that panel, so there is nothing wrong with my panels.

If i disconnect another panel it all works again.

Maybe you can only push a certain amperage through each red cable on the PSU.

the PSU says 30 Amps and i am nowhere near that...


Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,148
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2019, 03:14:59 PM »
Its definently a overload problem.

When connecting all the panels i get this problem, remove a big one, T-panel FlightControlPanel or BleedAirPanel and it works.

Isnt 5V supposed to handle 30 amps?

Offline iwik

  • Forum GURU
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • GA Jockey
  • First Name: Les
  • Home Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2019, 09:55:36 PM »
Kurt,
On any of these panels are there any Solenoids that are energized at power up?
Also any Large Value Capacitors connected across the 5v line.
The problem maybe a spike on power up that trips o/current.
You are using OEM panels and as we dont know exactly what you left in from original.
Just a couple thoughts i had.
Les

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,148
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2019, 01:43:36 AM »
Thanks Les.
Yes, the OEM contains Solenoids but no big capacitors that load up any current.

But my next thing is to buy an ampmeter so i can actually see how much current that is being drawned. But even with 12-15 small bulbs / panel i think it should be a problem. Well well time will tell. :)

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,048
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2019, 04:03:00 PM »
My FDS Overhead  panels are using the same bulbs as the OEM stuff.
You need a strong PSU
Mine is a 900 watts


Jack

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,148
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2019, 08:56:23 AM »
Do you know the total ampdraw of your overhead Jack?
I have a 650w PSU if not misstaken.

Offline jackpilot

  • Moderator
  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 4,048
  • 737-800 Sim-Avionics/Full Cockpit FDS + OEM P3D V4
  • First Name: Jack
  • Home Location: Montreal / Canada
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2019, 01:15:02 PM »
for the backlighting only 650 should be good
You must have other things sucking the amps


Jack

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,148
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2019, 01:55:07 PM »
It was only 400w but this should be enough anyway...
maybe its busted. Will get another one and do some testing together with a new ampmeter

Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,148
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2019, 11:50:47 AM »
Update!

This is a safety feature!
When capacitors load up with lots of current you need to switch it on off also using the green/black cable.
It wont start again by turning the on-off switch!


Offline kurt-olsson

  • I am chained to this website!
  • *
  • Posts: 1,148
  • 737 -mixed year OEM panel builder.
  • First Name: Peter
  • Home Location: Gothenburg
Re: PSU works once but not twice
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2019, 12:10:19 PM »
Just to confirm:

Switch at the back: always on.
Use green / black cable to turn on off.

It now works turn on off with all the panels!

 

FlightSimExpo 2019

FsExpo

COUNTDOWN TO WF2019


WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent Posts

For Sale: Jetmax 737 TQ - Texas, USA
by MistyBlue
[Today at 02:19:22 PM]
What have you done for your simulator today?
by MistyBlue
[Today at 02:17:28 PM]
FSUIPC 5 Button Limitations
by GyverX
[February 18, 2019, 05:33:55 PM]
Operating System Blues
by Joe Lavery
[February 18, 2019, 02:47:27 PM]
Virtual FO software
by fsaviator
[February 18, 2019, 02:36:20 PM]
Join me on Vatsim Tonight
by Trevor Hale
[February 17, 2019, 01:48:52 PM]
Throttle
by 727737Nut
[February 17, 2019, 09:14:54 AM]
737 NG Throttle Levers
by mickc
[February 17, 2019, 05:02:01 AM]
For sale: A set of faceplate panel for pedestal
by mickc
[February 17, 2019, 05:01:07 AM]
FlyAB Simparts: A new supplier for your OEM needs
by Trevor Hale
[February 16, 2019, 10:51:54 PM]
B737-800 Flight Sim for sale $85,000.00
by Rob_b
[February 16, 2019, 12:47:11 AM]
PC upgrade-build-or buy advice??
by iwik
[February 15, 2019, 06:47:11 PM]
Which Processor i7 - 8700K or i7 - 9700K
by Joe Lavery
[February 15, 2019, 05:39:06 PM]
Anyone seen OEM 737-900 ER Throttle Quadrant?
by Fly_AB
[February 15, 2019, 10:32:18 AM]
For Sale: P&P Opencockpit VHF, Transponder, and ADF
by Fly_AB
[February 15, 2019, 09:08:24 AM]
737 DIY MIP For Sale
by Trevor Hale
[February 14, 2019, 11:03:35 AM]
New supplier for your sim
by Fcoq
[February 14, 2019, 12:18:44 AM]
For Sale Prosim 737 v2.03 License
by mdavenport
[February 12, 2019, 04:00:00 PM]
Complete 737-800 cockpit - moving sale
by navymustang
[February 10, 2019, 12:50:48 PM]
737-800 Arduino X-Plane Build
by kurt-olsson
[February 10, 2019, 09:31:17 AM]
Revolution Simproducts out of business?
by fsaviator
[February 09, 2019, 12:18:30 PM]
For sale: CPFlight MIP737SE
by Fly_AB
[February 08, 2019, 11:29:26 PM]
For sale: Engravity sixpack pairs --- SOLD
by Fly_AB
[February 08, 2019, 08:32:04 PM]
German B738NG Homecockpit-Projekt
by MjTom
[February 08, 2019, 08:00:54 AM]
Updating Navigraph FMC Data - Project Magenta / ProSim
by Trevor Hale
[February 08, 2019, 07:41:50 AM]
737 Demonstrator For Sale
by Trevor Hale
[February 08, 2019, 07:39:34 AM]
Looking for B737NG or A320 SIM for Home Use
by KingAviation
[February 08, 2019, 03:17:35 AM]
Zibo 737 FlightControl Dataref/Commands
by kurt-olsson
[February 05, 2019, 05:34:35 PM]
Wrong hiegth above ground when landing and P3D set for Panel Only
by FredK
[February 05, 2019, 12:58:20 AM]
Flight Control Panel A Side
by kurt-olsson
[February 04, 2019, 04:34:38 PM]