Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

May 09, 2024, 03:29:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
541 Guests, 1 User
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,641
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 588
  • Online ever: 831
  • (May 03, 2024, 12:39:25 PM)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 541
Total: 542

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

Front View - Projector or Monitors

Started by bagpiper, February 16, 2010, 09:35:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bagpiper

Hi Team
As this is my first post I hope you don't mind a little intro as well. I have been considering building a cockpit for about 10 years. I have at long last built my wife's scrap-booking room in the basement so she's happy. First hurdle out of the way.  ;D Now I have her old room for a cockpit. So! I was watching Angus' wonderful video where he uses wideview with a 7 monitor front view. Then I read that Trevor is thinking about using the same multi monitor solution. I know this gets asked all the time about which is better and it really is about how much you can afford. However I was interested as to why Trevor wanted to move to this solution. While projectors are an expensive option as well as bulb replacement, they provide a very good outside view. But Angus has made me believe that using CRT displays (which are cheap) is a wonderful option also. Aargh! I think I am arguing with myself. lol Anhoo any comments welcome. Thanks for letting me ramble.
Cheers and thanks for this site Trevor. Looks like 737 are top on people's list here.

Kindest regards
Jim
CCNA, AMIIE (elec), EngTech, MISM.
General geek and sad git - or so says my wife

ivar hestnes

Welcome Jim  :)

I think that the wideview solution is a good and cheap way to go if you dont demand "all sliders on max" in FS. CRT screens for free, maybe computers for free. For sure a good start on getting a nice visual.