Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

May 10, 2024, 12:12:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
549 Guests, 0 Users
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,641
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 698
  • Online ever: 831
  • (May 03, 2024, 12:39:25 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 549
Total: 549

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

Incorporating real instruments

Started by EAL727Capt, April 01, 2010, 06:16:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

EAL727Capt

Hello, friends.

I'm in the process of collecting parts for my B727-200 flight deck and haven't begun any type of construction or wiring thus far.  I've been reading many books on flight simulator construction as well as the forums of well-known websites, along with books on electronics as I have very little knowledge on that complicated subject.

I'm reading a Boeing 727 maintenance reference guide which states that the primary electrical power is provided by three 115 volt, 3-phase 400 CPS engine-driven generators, each rated at 40 KVA. 

My question is this:
Can I successfully use real instruments in a cockpit without a lot of reworking of the existing internal components?  As an example, I have an N1 gauge; it has a 7-pin receptacle with two pins used for the dial lighting.  There is, what I believe to be, an air-core.  I had never heard of air-core prior to reading Mike Powell's book on simulated instruments and the subject still baffles me.  I'm assuming that the gauge's operation was designed for this 115 volt, 3-phase 400 cycle power source.  Would I need to build an air-core if there's already an existing one?  Could I simply use a power source compatible with the existing air-core?