Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

May 09, 2024, 12:34:04 PM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
544 Guests, 0 Users
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,641
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 588
  • Online ever: 831
  • (May 03, 2024, 12:39:25 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 544
Total: 544

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

Landing Light Switches?

Started by matta757, April 24, 2010, 02:08:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

matta757

Hey,

Can anyone recommend a reasonably priced supplier or an at-home fix to create Boeing style landing light switches? I am building a 757/767 and am a little sick of the generic switches glaring at me from my overhead. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards,

Matt

Boeing Skunk Works

Why yes...I am a rocket scientist...

Boeing, Collins, Gables, Sperry, PPG, Korry, Pacific Scientific, Honeywell

matta757

Wow, those look great but 36 euros a piece equates to $48 for each switch. That's a bit higher than I was hoping. Anyone else know of any others?

Boeing Skunk Works

There's always the rated switch for $60. This isn't a cheap hobby.

matta757

I'm aware that it's not a cheap hobby. I have been willing to make larger purchases that were more expensive (things like my yoke, for instance), but $48 for a single switch seems just a little bit high.

Boeing Skunk Works

Well then, try this.

Get a piece of 3/4"x1/16" aluminum stock and cut 5/16" rectangles. Round the edges with a file and sand. Run down to the office supply store and buy a box of stick pins. The kind with the plastics heads. Remove them from the pin and cut each in half using an Exacto knife while rolling them on a hard surface. Attach those to the newly made switch heads, prime and paint.

JB Weld those to your choice of baton SPST switches.

matta757

Now that sounds like a great idea. Thanks.

XOrionFE

Email Nick,