Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

May 13, 2024, 11:16:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
718 Guests, 0 Users
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,641
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 724
  • Online ever: 831
  • (May 03, 2024, 12:39:25 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 718
Total: 718

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

Master card & Display card connectivity problem

Started by egkkman, October 19, 2011, 09:58:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

egkkman

Hello,

I have an Opencockpits master card connected to a USB expansion card. It has a tested 5V supply.

When I connect a display card I get inputs 001 & 002 showing up in controlador.exe without any seven segment displays connected. If I move the display card to the adjacent 40 pin connector I get inputs 37 & 38 shownig up.

The same thing happens if I use a different ribbon cable and/or display card.

I am concluding that both display cards have a problem but it seems unlikely they would both have the same problem unless it is a batch issue.

Any ideas on what the problem might be?

I have posted at Opencockpits too.

Thanks in advance.

My regards

Dave

fordgt40

egkkman

Hi,

As mentioned this issue was solved in another forum, I just thought I would say how, in case anyone else makes the same mistake as me.

Opencockpits say that four display cards can be connected to a master card. This is true, however I interpreted the manual as meaning one card per 40 pin header on the master, this is not correct. To connect four cards they should be connected as a 'string' on a 40 wire ribbon cable on the J1 header only.